DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claims 14 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 4 of claim 14, claim recites “said temple body”. Due to amendments, claim limitation should read “said single temple body.”
Appropriate correction is required.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 14, 17-26 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant's arguments filed 03/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose the limitations of amended claim 14, specifically, “the single temple body”. Examiner respectfully disagrees. Examiner notes that the claimed are interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation. In the instant case, Examiner is interpreting the temple body to be element 11 as it comprises a singular unit forming the body of the temple. Examiner does not interpret component 122 as a part of the temple body as it does not form part of the structure of the temple and merely overlies the cover 121. For these reasons examiner maintains the rejection of claim 14 under USC 103.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14, 17-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu (Machine Translation of CN 108897143, of record) in view of Baek (US 2020/0271960, of record).
Regarding claim 14, Liu discloses a temple for eyeglasses (see Fig 1) comprising: a single temple body which is provided internally with a cavity configured for accommodating electronic components (see Fig 1; Para [0028-0029]; containing body 11 has chamber 111 configured for accommodating circuit assembly 13), wherein said cavity is accessible via an opening formed at a lower surface of said single temple body (see Fig 1; Para [0028-0029]; chamber 111 has opening 112 formed at a lower surface of the containing body 11), a single covering element being adapted to close said cavity by insertion in said cavity (see Fig 1; Para [0028-0029]; Bracket 121 which is adapted to close cavity 111 by inserting and attaching to containing body 11), wherein said single covering element defines part of a lower outer profile of the single temple body (Fig 1; Para [0028-0029]; The hard bracket 121 which provides the structural rigidity defines a lower outer profile of the temple body). Liu does not disclose wherein said single covering element supports and retains said electronic components, wherein said single covering element has a profile that is complementary to a profile of said electronic components, so that said electronic components are supported and retained to said single covering element. Liu in view of Baek are related because both disclose temples for eyeglasses.
Baek discloses a temple for eyeglasses (see Fig 3) wherein said single covering element supports and retains said electronic components, wherein said single covering element has a profile that is complementary to a profile of said electronic components, so that said electronic components are supported and retained to said single covering element (see Fig 3; Para [0046]; a single cover 400 on each temple supports circuits of the auxiliary frame and has a linear profile that compliments the linear terminal containing electronic elements 320, 340, and 360).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to modify Liu with wherein said single covering element supports and retains said electronic components, wherein said single covering element has a profile that is complementary to a profile of said electronic components, so that said electronic components are supported and retained to said single covering element of Baek for the purpose of improving the capabilities of the device to protect sensitive electronic components by proper element fixing (Para [0046]).
Regarding claim 17, Liu in view of Baek discloses the temple for eyeglasses according to claim 14 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses wherein said single covering element has a profile that is configured to enter said cavity and occupy at least part of a space of said cavity (see Figs 1 and 3; Para [0032-0033]; bracket 121 which is physically connected to temple body 11 extending into the cavity of 111 as seen in Fig 3) and allow at the same time a seal between said single covering element and internal walls of said cavity (see Figs 1 and 3; Para [0032-0033]; bracket 121 closes cavity 111 by sealing up into the internal walls of said cavity as seen in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 18, Liu in view of Baek discloses the temple for eyeglasses according to claim 14 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses further comprising a layer of overmolded material that is adapted to be overmolded on said covering element when said single covering element is inserted in said cavity so as to close said cavity (see Fig 1 and 3; Para [0030-0032]; the soft cap layer 122 is overmolded over bracket 121 further sealing the cavity 111).
Regarding claim 19, Liu in view of Baek discloses the temple for eyeglasses according to claim 14 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses further comprising an undercut formed at an internal shape of said temple body, said single covering element abutting against said undercut (see Fig 4; Para [0036-0038]; containing body 11 has inner region 1131 that examiner is interpreting as undercut; inner region 1131 abuts element 121).
Regarding claim 20, Liu in view of Baek discloses the temple for eyeglasses according to claim 19 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses wherein said undercut is formed by a gasket (see Fig 5; Para [0036-0038]; examiner is interpreting this to mean the undercut is formed with a gasket which examiner interprets as element 122 which acts as a seal).
Regarding claim 21, Liu in view of Baek discloses the temple for eyeglasses according to claim 19 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses wherein said undercut is coupled with a gasket which abuts against said undercut (see Fig 5; Para [0036-0038]; element 122 acts as gasket and abuts interpreted undercut region).
Regarding claim 22, Liu in view of Baek discloses a method for the assembly of a temple for eyeglasses according to claim 14 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses the method including the following steps: coupling said single covering element to said electronic components (see Fig 1; Para [0028-0029]; containing body 11 has chamber 111 configured for accommodating circuit assembly 13), inserting, through said opening for access to said cavity, said single covering element coupled to said electronic elements in said cavity of the body of the temple, and sealing said single covering element against said internal walls of the cavity of the body of the temple (see Fig 1; Para [0028-0029]; cover 12 has a bracket 121 which is adapted to close cavity 111 by attaching to the walls of containing body 11 as seen in Fig 4).
Regarding claim 23, Liu in view of Baek discloses the method according to claim 22 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses wherein said single covering element, when inserted in said cavity, is flush with adjacent surface portions of the temple body (see Fig 4; Para [0036-0038]; covering may be interpreted as both elements 121 and 122 which produce a flush surface with the side walls of the device).
Regarding claim 24, Liu in view of Baek discloses the method according to claim 22 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses further comprising a step of overmolding a layer of material on said covering element, in order to seal said single covering element in said cavity of the temple body (see Fig 4; Para [0030-0034]; a soft cap layer may be placed over the bracket 121 in order to further seal the device).
Regarding claim 25, Liu in view of Baek discloses the method according to claim 24 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses wherein said covering element, when inserted in said cavity, is in a recessed position with respect to the adjacent surface portions of the temple body, said recess being filled by said layer of overmolded material (see Fig 6; Para [0041]; bracket 121 may be recessed with respect to containing body 11 as seen in Fig 6 creating a gap which may be filled by cap layer 122).
Regarding claim 26, Liu in view of Baek discloses a method for assembling a temple for eyeglasses according to claim 14 (see Fig 1). Liu further discloses the method including the steps of: inserting, through said opening for access to said cavity, said electronic components in said cavity of the body of the temple (see Fig 1; Para [0028-0029]; containing body 11 has chamber 111 configured for accommodating circuit assembly 13; can be inserted as seen in Fig 4), inserting, through said opening for access to said cavity, said single covering element, separately from said electronic components, and sealing said single covering element against said internal walls of the cavity of the body of the temple (see Fig 1; Para [0028-0029]; cover 12 has a bracket 121 which is adapted to close cavity 111 by attaching to the walls of containing body 11 as seen in Fig 4).
Conclusion
/G.A.S./Examiner, Art Unit 2872
/WILLIAM R ALEXANDER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2872