DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the atomization plate must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Currently, the cavity, labeled “31” in Figure 4, does not show the atomization plate contained within. No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the battery mounted in the accommodation space, the circuit board mounted in the accommodation space, and the fan fixedly mounted in the accommodation space must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). Currently, Figures 12, 16, and 18 do not show the battery (202), circuit board (203), and the fan (205) mounted in the accommodation space (21). No new matter should be entered.
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(4) because reference characters "22" and "23" have both been used to designate the air outlet. Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-6, 9-13, 15, and 17-19 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 1, line 13, “the flexible wick” should read “and the flexible wick”
In claim 2, line 6, “the support frame are arranged” should read “the support frame is arranged”
In claim 4, lines 3-4, “a middle part of a position of the flexible wick abutting against the ceramic” should read “a middle portion of the flexible wick abutting against the ceramic”
In claim 4, line 4, “the at least one spray through-hole,” should read “the at least one spray through-hole, and”
In claim 5, line 3, “the air outlet, the” should read “the air outlet, and the”
In claim 6, line 4, “a conductive spring,” should read “a conductive spring, wherein”
In claim 9, lines 13-14, “the flexible wick” should read “and the flexible wick”
In claim 9, line 21, “the circuit board,” should read “the circuit board, and”
In claim 10, line 2, “a fan,” should read “a fan, wherein”
In claim 11, lines 14-15, “the flexible wick” should read “and the flexible wick”
In claim 11, line 20, “the mounting space,” should read “the mounting space, and”
In claim 11, lines 24-25, “the first terminal and the second terminal” should read “the first terminal and the second terminal of the battery”
In claim 12, line 2, “comprises” should read “comprising”
In claim 12, line 3, “board,” should read “board, wherein”
In claim 13, line 3, “a limiting magnet is arranged” should read “a limiting magnet arranged”
In claim 13, line 3, “an absorption magnet is arranged” should read “an absorption magnet arranged”
In claim 13, line 4, “housing;” should read “housing; wherein”
In claim 15, line 5, “supporting frame are” should read “supporting frame is”
In claim 17, lines 1-2, “a middle part of a position of the flexible wick abutting against the ceramic” should read “a middle portion of the flexible wick abutting against the ceramic”
In claim 17, line 3, “the spray through-hole” should be “the at least one spray through-hole”
In claim 18, line 2, “the support structure” should read “wherein the support structure”
In claim 18, line 3, “the air outlet,” should read “the air outlet, and”
In claim 19, line 3, “a conductive spring,” should read “a conductive spring, wherein”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the shell cover is covered on the bottom shell” in line 3. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to as the claim appears to recite the bottom shell and the cover shell as two different components. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the bottom shell is detachably coupled to the cover shell.
Claim 1 further recites “an air outlet communicated with the accommodation space” in lines 4-5. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the air outlet and the accommodation space. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the air outlet is located within the accommodation space.
Claim 1 further recites “the other side of the connection part way from the essential oil bottle” in line 6. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 1 further recites “an insertion hole communicated with the accommodation space” in lines 7-8. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the insertion hole and the accommodation space. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the insertion hole is the accommodation space’s orifice, that encases the “connection part.”
Claim 1 further recites “one side of the connection part way from the essential oil bottle” in line 11. It is unclear if this limitation discloses the same (or a different) “side” when compared to the limitation “the other side of the connection part away from the essential oil bottle” recited in line 6. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though “the other side,” recited in both limitations, is synonymous.
Claim 2 recites an “oscillation avoidance hole” in line 4. In light of the specification, it is unclear what an “oscillation avoidance hole” is. For examination purposes, the oscillation avoidance hole is being interpreted as an aperture within the atomization chamber.
Claim 2 further recites “both the outlet hole and the oscillation avoidance hole are communicated with the atomization chamber” in lines 4-6. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the outlet and oscillation avoidance holes and the atomization chamber. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the outlet and oscillation avoidance holes are located within the atomization chamber.
Claim 2 further recites “is kept away” in line 7. It is unclear what this limitation is structurally imparting in relation to the wick. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the wick is not connected to the outlet hole.
Claim 2 further recites “the outlet hole is communicated with the air outlet” in line 12. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the outlet hole and the air outlet. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the outlet hole is integrally coupled to the air outlet.
Claim 4 recites “an aperture ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm” in line 5. It is unclear what this range is referring to. For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as referring to the diameter of the aperture, ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm.
Claim 5 recites “a cavity communicated with the air outlet” in line 3. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the cavity and the air outlet. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the cavity and the air outlet are integrally coupled.
Claim 9 recites “an air outlet communicated with the accommodation space” in lines 5-6. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the air outlet and the accommodation space. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the air outlet is located within the accommodation space.
Claim 9 recites “the shell cover is covered on the bottom shell” in line 4. It is unclear what this limitation is referring to as the claim appears to recite the bottom shell and the cover shell as two different components. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the bottom shell is detachably coupled to the cover shell.
Claim 9 further recites “an insertion hole communicated with the accommodation space” in lines 8-9. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the insertion hole and the accommodation space. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the insertion hole is the accommodation space’s orifice, that encases the “connection part.”
Claim 10 recites “a support frame” in line 3. Because of the claim’s grammatical issues, it is unclear how the support frame is tied to the atomizer. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the atomizer further comprises a support frame.
Claim 10 further recites “a gas inlet communicated with an atomization chamber” in line 3-4. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the gas inlet and the atomization chamber. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the air inlet is located within the atomization chamber.
Claim 11 recites “an air outlet communicated with the accommodation space” in lines 5-6. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the air outlet and the accommodation space. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the air outlet is located within the accommodation space.
Claim 11 further recites “the other side of the connection part way from the essential oil bottle” in lines 7-8. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 11 further recites “an insertion hole communicated with the accommodation space” in lines 8-9. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the insertion hole and the accommodation space. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the insertion hole is the accommodation space’s orifice, that encases the “connection part.”
Claim 11 further recites “one side of the connection part way from the essential oil bottle” in lines 12-13. It is unclear if this limitation discloses the same (or a different) “side” when compared to the limitation “the other side of the connection part away from the essential oil bottle” recited in line 6. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though “the other side,” recited in both limitations, is synonymous.
Claim 12 recites “a support frame” in lines 5-6. Because of the claim’s grammatical issues, it is unclear how the support frame is tied to the atomizer. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the atomizer further comprises a support frame.
Claim 12 further recites “an air inlet communicated with an atomization chamber” in line 6. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the air inlet and the atomization chamber. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the air inlet is located within the atomization chamber.
Claim 12 further recites “the air inlet is communicated with the gas inlet” in lines 6-7. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the air inlet and the gas inlet. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the air inlet is detachably coupled to the gas inlet.
Claim 12 further recites “the gas inlet is communicated with the air outlet” in lines 8-9. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the gas inlet and the air outlet. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the gas inlet is detachably coupled to the air outlet.
Claim 15 recites an “oscillation avoidance hole” in line 3. In light of the specification, it is unclear what an “oscillation avoidance hole” is. For examination purposes, the oscillation avoidance hole is being interpreted as an aperture within the atomization chamber.
Claim 15 further recites “both the outlet hole and the oscillation avoidance hole are communicated with the atomization chamber” in lines 3-5. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the outlet and oscillation avoidance holes and the atomization chamber. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the outlet and oscillation avoidance holes are located within the atomization chamber.
Claim 15 further recites “is kept away” in line 6. It is unclear what this limitation is structurally imparting in relation to the wick. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the wick is not connected to the outlet hole.
Claim 15 further recites “the outlet hole is communicated with the air outlet” in line 11. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the outlet hole and the air outlet. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the outlet hole is integrally coupled to the air outlet.
Claim 17 recites “an aperture ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm” in line 4. It is unclear what this range is referring to. For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as referring to the diameter of the aperture, ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm.
Claim 18 recites “a cavity communicated with the air outlet” in line 3. It is unclear what “communicated” is indicating structurally, relative to the arrangement of the cavity and the air outlet. For examination purposes, the claim is being interpreted as though the cavity and the air outlet are integrally coupled.
The dependent claims not specifically addressed above are rejected under 35 U.S.C 112(b) as indefinite due to their dependence from indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 5, 9, 11, 13, 15, and 18 as best understood in light of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Zhang (CN 217796977) in view of Ma (US 2017/0157281), further in view of Gao (WO 2020/063055).
Regarding claim 1, Zhang teaches a detachable essential oil atomizer head (Abstract; page 7, para. 1, “the atomizing device is used for atomizing the liquid (such as water, water solution mixed with the essential oil)”; page 10, para. 5, “the spent atomizing bottle 20 can be removed from the atomizing host 95 and a new atomizing bottle 20 is replaced”) comprising,
a bottom shell (Fig. 1, supporting cover 211)
a shell cover (Fig. 1, end cover 175),
a connection part (Fig. 1, atomizing bottle plug 21 and the bottle neck part 24) and an atomization structure (page 8, para. 3, “the atomizing bottle plug 21 further comprises an atomizer 62"),
wherein the shell cover (175) is covered on the bottom shell (211) and encloses the bottom shell to form an accommodation space (page 11, para. 3, “the supporting cover 211 comprises an opening 179 aligned with the end cover 175”),
the bottom shell or the shell cover is provided with an air outlet communicated with the accommodation space (Fig. 5; page 9, para. 8, “the end cover 175 further comprises an opening 179 and an air outlet 195”);
an essential oil bottle (bottle body 22) is mounted at one side of the connection part (as shown in Figures 1 and 3, the bottle body 22 is attached to the bottle neck part 24),
the other side of the connection part away from the essential oil bottle is detachably connected to the bottom shell (page 10, para. 5, “the bottle body 22 of the neck part 24 can be separated from the supporting cover 211”);
the bottom shell (211) is provided with an insertion hole (Fig. 1, channel 213) communicated with the accommodation space (Fig. 1, opening 179);
the atomization structure comprises an atomizing vibration film (the film being construed as the claimed “atomization plate”) (page 9, para. 1, “the atomizer comprises an atomizing vibration film”) and cotton transport member (the transport member being construed as the claimed “flexible wick”) (page 3, para. 4, “the transport member 86 may preferably be made of a material”),
wherein the atomizing vibration film is mounted in the accommodation space (Fig. 9B where 64 is within the end cover 175 that comprises the opening 179),
one end of the cotton transport member is arranged on one side of the connection part away from the essential oil bottle and abuts against the atomizing vibration film (Fig. 4; page 9, para. 1, “The supporting spring end 88 of the delivery member 86 is biased against the atomizing diaphragm 64 of the atomizer 62”; page 8, para. 8, “supporting pipe 76 and a conveying piece 86 combined with the main plug body 32”),
an other end of the cotton transport member penetrates through the connection part and is extended into the essential oil bottle (Fig. 4 where the conveying piece 86 is contained within the atomizing bottle plug 21 and the bottle neck part 24);
the cotton transport member is provided with at least one spray-through hole (Fig. 2, module through hole 72).
While Zhang teaches an atomizing vibration film, Zhang specifically fails to disclose that the plate/film is ceramic. Ma teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising an atomization plate made from ceramic (para. 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the atomizing vibration film/plate of Zhang with the ceramic feature of Ma, as modifying the atomization film/plate of Zhang to include a ceramic material would produce the desired effect of ultrasonic atomization (Ma, paragraphs 0014 and 0020).
While Zhang teaches a transport member configured to transport fluid, the combination of Zhang and Ma specifically fails to disclose that the transport member is a flexible wick. Gao teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising a flexible wick (Fig. 1, absorbent cotton wick 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have simply substituted the transport member of Zhang with the flexible wick of Gao. Implementing a flexible wick facilitates the absorption and transfer of the essential oil, in the liquid storage bottle, to the atomizing structure (Gao, page 10, para. 2, “continuously transmits the liquid…”).
Regarding claim 2, a modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao teaches the detachable essential oil atomizer head according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the connection part comprises a connection body and a support frame (Zhang, Fig. 1 where the atomizing bottle plug 21 is the support frame and the bottle neck part 24 is the connection body),
the support frame is provided with an atomization chamber (Zhang, page 7, para. 3, “the atomizing bottle plug 21 comprises a main plug body 32…the main plug body 32 further comprises a concave chamber 38”; page 2, para. 7, “the atomizer is contained in the concave chamber and sealing the main plug body through hole”),
an outlet hole (Zhang, page 7, para. 3, “the main plug body 32 further comprises an air passage 41…”) and an oscillation avoidance hole (Zhang, page 8, para. 3, “the atomizing diaphragm 64 is provided with a plurality of micro-holes”),
both the outlet hole and the oscillation avoidance hole are communicated with the atomization chamber (Zhang, Fig. 2 where the concave chamber 38 is located adjacent to 41; Fig. 1 where the atomizing diaphragm 65 is within the concave chamber 38);
the support frame is arranged to be inserted in the connection body (Zhang, page 7, para. 4, “the outer peripheral surface 37 of the main plug body 32 is saleably bonded to the neck portion 24 of the bottle body 22 through the sealing ring 46" and "the main plug body 32 is inserted into the opening section 28 of the bottle body 22, the inner surface 36 against the step surface 30, the main plug body 32 of the outer surface 34 and the bottle neck 24"),
the transport member encloses the support frame so as to cover the oscillation avoidance hole and is kept away from the outlet hole (Zhang, Fig. 4, where the delivery member 86 extends to atomizing diaphragm 64 and is kept away from the air passage 41; page 7, para. 3, "main plug body 32 comprises an inner surface 36…a concave member 39… the concave member comprises a first bottom surface 38A and a second bottom surface 38B"),
the transport member is arranged to penetrate through the support frame and the connection body and extend into the essential oil bottle (Zhang, Fig. 4, where the transport member/conveying piece 86 extends into the bottle body 22, and is enclosed by the atomizing bottle plug 21 and the bottle neck part 24)
the support frame penetrates through the insertion hole and is inserted into the accommodation space, such that a part of the transport member corresponding to the oscillation avoidance hole abuts against the atomization film/plate (Zhang, page 9, para. 1, “The supporting spring end 88 of the delivery member 86 is biased against the atomizing diaphragm 64 of the atomizer 62”), and
the outlet hole is communicated with the air outlet; wherein the connection body is detachably connected with the bottom shell (Zhang, page 10, para. 5, “neck part 24 can be separated from the supporting cover 211”; page 7, para. 5, “the secondary plug body 43 is inserted into the air channel 41 from the outer surface 34…”; page 8, para. 7, “The liquid in the chamber 26 is introduced into the holding chamber 82 of the support tube 76 from each of the connecting grooves 84”; subsequentially, the atomization liquid is transferred to the air outlet 195 (page 10, para. 1)).
While Zhang teaches a transport member configured to transport fluid, the combination of Zhang and Ma specifically fails to disclose that the transport member is a flexible wick. Gao teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising a flexible wick (Fig. 1, absorbent cotton wick 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have simply substituted the transport member of Zhang with the flexible wick of Gao. Implementing a flexible wick facilitates the absorption and transfer of the essential oil, in the liquid storage bottle, to the atomizing structure (Gao, page 10, para. 2, “continuously transmits the liquid…”).
Regarding claim 5, a modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao teaches the detachable essential oil atomizer head according to claim 2 as stated above further comprising a support structure fixedly mounted in the accommodation space (Zhang, see Modified Figure 1);
the support structure is provided with a cavity (Zhang, as shown in Figure 1, the channel 213 and opening 179 provide a hole) communicated with the air outlet (Zhang, air outlet 195; page 4, para. 6, “the air outlet is towards the extending part of the opening”),
the atomization film/plate is mounted in the support structure (Zhang, Fig. 9B where the support structure depicted in modified Fig. 1 encloses the atomizer 62 comprising the atomizing diaphragm 64) and is located in the cavity.
Modified Figure 1
Regarding claim 9, Zhang teaches an aromatherapy atomizer, comprising:
a detachable essential oil atomizer (Abstract; page 7, para. 1, “the atomizing device is used for atomizing the liquid (such as water, water solution mixed with the essential oil)”; page 10, para. 5, “the spent atomizing bottle 20 can be removed from the atomizing host 95 and a new atomizing bottle 20 is replaced”), comprising:
a bottom shell (Fig. 1, supporting cover 211),
a shell cover (Fig. 1, end cover 175),
a connection part (Fig. 1, atomizing bottle plug 21 and the bottle neck part 24) and an atomization structure (page 8, para. 3, “the atomizing bottle plug 21 further comprises an atomizer 62"),
wherein the shell cover (175) is covered on the bottom shell (211) and encloses the bottom shell to form an accommodation space (page 11, para. 3, “the supporting cover 211 comprises an opening 179 aligned with the end cover 175”),
the bottom shell or the shell cover is provided with an air outlet communicated with the accommodation space (Fig. 5; page 9, para. 8, “the end cover 175 further comprises an opening 179 and an air outlet 195”);
an essential oil bottle (bottle body 22) is mounted at one side of the connection part (as shown in Figures 1 and 3, the bottle body 22 is attached to the bottle neck part 24),
the other side of the connection part away from the essential oil bottle is detachably connected to the bottom shell (page 10, para. 5, “the bottle body 22 of the neck part 24 can be separated from the supporting cover 211”);
the bottom shell (211) is provided with an insertion hole (Fig. 1, channel 213) communicated with the accommodation space (Fig. 1, opening 179);
the atomization structure comprises an atomizing vibration film (the film being construed as the claimed “atomization plate”) (page 9, para. 1, “the atomizer comprises an atomizing vibration film”) and cotton transport member (the transport member being construed as the claimed “flexible wick”) (page 3, para. 4, “the transport member 86 may preferably be made of a material”),
wherein the atomizing vibration film is mounted in the accommodation space (Fig. 9B where 64 is within the end cover 175 that comprises the opening 179),
one end of the cotton transport member is arranged on one side of the connection part away from the essential oil bottle and abuts against the atomizing vibration film (Fig. 4; page 9, para. 1, “The supporting spring end 88 of the delivery member 86 is biased against the atomizing diaphragm 64 of the atomizer 62”; page 8, para. 8, “supporting pipe 76 and a conveying piece 86 combined with the main plug body 32”),
an other end of the cotton transport member penetrates through the connection part and is extended into the essential oil bottle (Fig. 4 where the conveying piece 86 is contained within the atomizing bottle plug 21 and the bottle neck part 24);
the cotton transport member is provided with at least one spray-through hole (Fig. 2, module through hole 72);
the aromatherapy atomizer further comprising:
a housing (Fig. 6, an atomizing host 95),
wherein the housing is provided with an accommodation compartment for accommodating the essential oil bottle (Fig. 6; page 9, para. 3, “the atomizing main machine 95 comprises a main body 96";
page 9, para. 4, "the main body 96 further comprises a groove chamber 117"), and
the bottom shell is detachably connected with the housing (page 11, para. 3, “main body 96 of the bottom end face 115A is fixed with an end cover 175, the end cover 175 comprises an opening 179 aligned with the groove chamber 117, the end cover 175 and located in the groove chamber 117 is fixedly provided with a supporting cover 211”);
a battery mounted in the accommodation space (page 9, para. 4, “the main body 96 further comprises a mounting part extending from the second side 111 of the mounting part 131"; page 9, para. 5, “the mounting part 131 is provided with a power supply module 133...The power supply module 133 may be composed of a known battery or a rechargeable battery”); and
a circuit board (control module 134), wherein the circuit board is mounted in the accommodation space (Fig. 1),
the battery is electrically connected with the circuit board, both a first terminal and a second terminal of the battery are electrically connected with the circuit board (page 9, para. 5, “a control module 134 electrically connected with the power supply module 133"; as shown in Fig.1, the control module 135 is connected to both terminals of the battery 133).
While Zhang teaches an atomizing vibration film, Zhang specifically fails to disclose that the plate/film is ceramic. Ma teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising an atomization plate made from ceramic (para. 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the atomizing vibration film/plate of Zhang with the ceramic feature of Ma, as modifying the atomization film/plate of Zhang to include a ceramic material would produce the desired effect of ultrasonic atomization (Ma, paragraphs 0014 and 0020).
While Zhang teaches a transport member configured to transport fluid, the combination of Zhang and Ma specifically fails to disclose that the transport member is a flexible wick. Gao teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising a flexible wick (Fig. 1, absorbent cotton wick 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have simply substituted the transport member of Zhang with the flexible wick of Gao. Implementing a flexible wick facilitates the absorption and transfer of the essential oil, in the liquid storage bottle, to the atomizing structure (Gao, page 10, para. 2, “continuously transmits the liquid…”).
Regarding claim 11, Zhang teaches an aromatherapy atomizer, comprising:
a detachable essential oil atomizer (Abstract; page 7, para. 1, “the atomizing device is used for atomizing the liquid (such as water, water solution mixed with the essential oil)”; page 10, para. 5, “the spent atomizing bottle 20 can be removed from the atomizing host 95 and a new atomizing bottle 20 is replaced”), comprising:
a bottom shell (Fig. 1, supporting cover 211),
a shell cover (Fig. 1, end cover 175),
a connection part (Fig. 1, atomizing bottle plug 21 and the bottle neck part 24) and an atomization structure (page 8, para. 3, “the atomizing bottle plug 21 further comprises an atomizer 62"),
wherein the shell cover (175) is covered on the bottom shell (211) and encloses the bottom shell to form an accommodation space (page 11, para. 3, “the supporting cover 211 comprises an opening 179 aligned with the end cover 175”),
the bottom shell or the shell cover is provided with an air outlet communicated with the accommodation space (Fig. 5; page 9, para. 8, “the end cover 175 further comprises an opening 179 and an air outlet 195”);
an essential oil bottle (bottle body 22) is mounted at one side of the connection part (as shown in Figures 1 and 3, the bottle body 22 is attached to the bottle neck part 24),
the other side of the connection part away from the essential oil bottle is detachably connected to the bottom shell (page 10, para. 5, “the bottle body 22 of the neck part 24 can be separated from the supporting cover 211”);
the bottom shell (211) is provided with an insertion hole (Fig. 1, channel 213) communicated with the accommodation space (Fig. 1, opening 179);
the atomization structure comprises an atomizing vibration film (the film being construed as the claimed “atomization plate”) (page 9, para. 1, “the atomizer comprises an atomizing vibration film”) and cotton transport member (the transport member being construed as the claimed “flexible wick”) (page 3, para. 4, “the transport member 86 may preferably be made of a material”),
wherein the atomizing vibration film is mounted in the accommodation space (Fig. 9B where 64 is within the end cover 175 that comprises the opening 179),
one end of the cotton transport member is arranged on one side of the connection part away from the essential oil bottle and abuts against the atomizing vibration film (Fig. 4; page 9, para. 1, “The supporting spring end 88 of the delivery member 86 is biased against the atomizing diaphragm 64 of the atomizer 62”; page 8, para. 8, “supporting pipe 76 and a conveying piece 86 combined with the main plug body 32”),
an other end of the cotton transport member penetrates through the connection part and is extended into the essential oil bottle (Fig. 4 where the conveying piece 86 is contained within the atomizing bottle plug 21 and the bottle neck part 24);
the cotton transport member is provided with at least one spray-through hole (Fig. 2, module through hole 72);
the aromatherapy atomizer further comprising:
a housing (Fig. 6, an atomizing host 95),
wherein the housing is provided with a mounting space and an accommodation compartment for accommodating the essential oil bottle (Fig. 6; page 9, para. 3, “the atomizing main machine 95 comprises a main body 96"; page 9, para. 4, "the main body 96 further comprises a groove chamber 117"), and
the bottom shell is detachably connected with the housing (page 11, para. 3, “main body 96 of the bottom end face 115A is fixed with an end cover 175, the end cover 175 comprises an opening 179 aligned with the groove chamber 117, the end cover 175 and located in the groove chamber 117 is fixedly provided with a supporting cover 211”);
a battery mounted in the mounting space (page 9, para. 4, “the main body 96 further comprises a mounting part extending from the second side 111 of the mounting part 131"; page 9, para. 5, “the mounting part 131 is provided with a power supply module 133...The power supply module 133 may be composed of a known battery or a rechargeable battery”); and
a circuit board (control module 134), wherein the circuit board is mounted in the mounting space (Fig. 1),
the battery is electrically connected with the circuit board (page 9, para. 5, “a control module 134 electrically connected with the power supply module 133); and
a contact member (page 10, para. 3, “two conductive pieces 199”), wherein the contact member is electrically connected with the circuit board (page 4, para. 4, “an electrode module electrically connected with the control module, the electrode module comprises two conductive pieces”),
the contact member pierces through the mounting space (Fig. 1, electrode module 197 comprises two conductive pieces 199; see Modified Figures 1 and 8),
both a first terminal and a second terminal of the battery pierce through the bottom shell (page 11, para. 3, “the main body 96…is fixed with an end cover 175…the end cover 175…is fixedly provided with a supporting cover 211; page 9, para. 3, “the atomizing main machine 95 comprises a main body 96”; as shown in Fig. 6, the battery is situated in the main body 96), and
the first terminal and the second terminal are electrically connected with the contact member (page 4, para. 3, “a power supply module electrically connected with the control module…an electrode module electrically connected with the control module”) when the essential oil bottle (20) is inserted into the accommodation compartment (groove chamber 117).
While Zhang teaches an atomizing vibration film, Zhang specifically fails to disclose that the plate/film is ceramic. Ma teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising an atomization plate made from ceramic (para. 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the atomizing vibration film/plate of Zhang with the ceramic feature of Ma, as modifying the atomization film/plate of Zhang to include a ceramic material would produce the desired effect of ultrasonic atomization (Ma, paragraphs 0014 and 0020).
While Zhang teaches a transport member configured to transport fluid, the combination of Zhang and Ma specifically fails to disclose that the transport member is a flexible wick. Gao teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising a flexible wick (Fig. 1, absorbent cotton wick 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have simply substituted the transport member of Zhang with the flexible wick of Gao. Implementing a flexible wick facilitates the absorption and transfer of the essential oil, in the liquid storage bottle, to the atomizing structure (Gao, page 10, para. 2, “continuously transmits the liquid…”).
Modified Figure 1 Modified Figure 8
Regarding claim 13, a modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao teaches the aromatherapy atomizer according to claim 11 as stated above further comprising a limiting magnet (Zhang, Fig. 5, second magnetic component 191A) arranged in the shell cover, and an absorption magnet (Zhang, Fig. 5, first magnetic component 119A) arranged in the housing;
the absorption magnet is configured to be magnetically connected with the limiting magnet when the essential oil bottle is inserted into the accommodation compartment (Zhang, page 10, para. 3, “atomizing bottle 20 can be placed in the groove chamber 117, further the bottom 25 of the bottle body 22…”).
Regarding claim 15, a modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao teaches the aromatherapy atomizer according to claim 11 as stated above wherein the connection part comprises a connection body and a support frame (Zhang, Fig. 1 where the atomizing bottle plug 21 is the support frame and the bottle neck part 24 is the connection body),
the support frame is provided with an atomization chamber (Zhang, page 7, para. 3, “the atomizing bottle plug 21 comprises a main plug body 32…the main plug body 32 further comprises a concave chamber 38”; page 2, para. 7, “the atomizer is contained in the concave chamber and sealing the main plug body through hole”),
an outlet hole (Zhang, page 7, para. 3, “the main plug body 32 further comprises an air passage 41…”) and an oscillation avoidance hole (Zhang, page 8, para. 3, “the atomizing diaphragm 64 is provided with a plurality of micro-holes”),
both the outlet hole and the oscillation avoidance hole are communicated with the atomization chamber (Zhang, Fig. 2 where the concave chamber 38 is located adjacent to 41; Fig. 1 where the atomizing diaphragm 65 is within the concave chamber 38);
the support frame is arranged to be inserted in the connection body (Zhang, page 7, para. 4, “the outer peripheral surface 37 of the main plug body 32 is saleably bonded to the neck portion 24 of the bottle body 22 through the sealing ring 46" and "the main plug body 32 is inserted into the opening section 28 of the bottle body 22, the inner surface 36 against the step surface 30, the main plug body 32 of the outer surface 34 and the bottle neck 24"),
the transport member encloses the support frame so as to cover the oscillation avoidance hole and is kept away from the outlet hole (Zhang, Fig. 4, where the delivery member 86 extends to atomizing diaphragm 64 and is kept away from the air passage 41; page 7, para. 3, "main plug body 32 comprises an inner surface 36…a concave member 39… the concave member comprises a first bottom surface 38A and a second bottom surface 38B"),
the transport member is arranged to penetrate through the support frame and the connection body and extend into the essential oil bottle (Zhang, Fig. 4, where the transport member/conveying piece 86 extends into the bottle body 22, and is enclosed by the atomizing bottle plug 21 and the bottle neck part 24)
the support frame penetrates through the insertion hole and is inserted into the accommodation space, such that a part of the transport member corresponding to the oscillation avoidance hole abuts against the atomization film/plate (Zhang, page 9, para. 1, “The supporting spring end 88 of the delivery member 86 is biased against the atomizing diaphragm 64 of the atomizer 62”), and
the outlet hole is communicated with the air outlet; wherein the connection body is detachably connected with the bottom shell (Zhang, page 10, para. 5, “neck part 24 can be separated from the supporting cover 211”; page 7, para. 5, “the secondary plug body 43 is inserted into the air channel 41 from the outer surface 34…”; page 8, para. 7, “The liquid in the chamber 26 is introduced into the holding chamber 82 of the support tube 76 from each of the connecting grooves 84”; subsequentially, the atomization liquid is transferred to the air outlet 195 (page 10, para. 1)).
While Zhang teaches a transport member configured to transport fluid, the combination of Zhang and Ma specifically fails to disclose that the transport member is a flexible wick. Gao teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising a flexible wick (Fig. 1, absorbent cotton wick 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have simply substituted the transport member of Zhang with the flexible wick of Gao. Implementing a flexible wick facilitates the absorption and transfer of the essential oil, in the liquid storage bottle, to the atomizing structure (Gao, page 10, para. 2, “continuously transmits the liquid…”).
Regarding claim 18, a modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao teaches the aromatherapy atomizer according to claim 15 as stated above further comprising a support structure fixedly mounted in the accommodation space (Zhang, see Modified Figure 1);
the support structure is provided with a cavity (Zhang, as shown in Figure 1, the channel 213 and opening 179 provide a hole) communicated with the air outlet (Zhang, air outlet 195; page 4, para. 6, “the air outlet is towards the extending part of the opening”),
the atomization film/plate is mounted in the support structure (Zhang, Fig. 9B where the support structure depicted in modified Fig. 1 encloses the atomizer 62 comprising the atomizing diaphragm 64) and is located in the cavity.
Modified Figure 1
Claim(s) 4 and 17 as best understood in light of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhang in view of Gao (WO 2020/063055) and Ma, further in view of Gao (US 11,197,941)
Regarding claim 4, a modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao teaches the detachable essential oil atomizer head according to claim 2 as stated above wherein a middle part of a position of the transport member (the transport member being construed as the claimed “flexible wick”) abutting against the atomizing vibration film (the film being construed as the claimed “atomization plate”) is provided with the at least one spray through-hole (Zhang, Fig. 2, module through hole 72; page 9, para. 1, “The supporting spring end 88 of the delivery member 86 is biased against the atomizing diaphragm 64 of the atomizer 62”).
While Zhang teaches a transport member configured to transport fluid, the combination of Zhang and Ma specifically fails to disclose that the transport member is a flexible wick. Gao teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising a flexible wick (Fig. 1, absorbent cotton wick 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have simply substituted the transport member of Zhang with the flexible wick of Gao. Implementing a flexible wick facilitates the absorption and transfer of the essential oil, in the liquid storage bottle, to the atomizing structure (Gao, page 10, para. 2, “continuously transmits the liquid…”).
A modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao fails to teach wherein the at least one spray through-hole has an aperture ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm.
Gao (US 11,197,941) teaches an analogous aroma diffuser wherein at least one spray through-hole has an aperture ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm (Col. 6, lines 53-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the detachable essential oil atomizer head of Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao with the spray through-hole that has an aperture ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm of Gao (US 11,197,941). Doing so allows the liquified essential oil to be evenly and stably formed into a fine mist before it is expelled into the environment (Gao (US 11,197,941), Col. 6, lines 23-40).
Regarding claim 17, a modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao teaches the detachable essential oil atomizer head according to claim 15 as stated above wherein a middle part of a position of the transport member (the transport member being construed as the claimed “flexible wick”) abutting against the atomizing vibration film (the film being construed as the claimed “atomization plate”) is provided with the at least one spray through-hole (Zhang, Fig. 2, module through hole 72; page 9, para. 1, “The supporting spring end 88 of the delivery member 86 is biased against the atomizing diaphragm 64 of the atomizer 62”).
While Zhang teaches a transport member configured to transport fluid, the combination of Zhang and Ma specifically fails to disclose that the transport member is a flexible wick. Gao teaches an analogous aroma diffuser comprising a flexible wick (Fig. 1, absorbent cotton wick 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have simply substituted the transport member of Zhang with the flexible wick of Gao. Implementing a flexible wick facilitates the absorption and transfer of the essential oil, in the liquid storage bottle, to the atomizing structure (Gao, page 10, para. 2, “continuously transmits the liquid…”).
A modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao fails to teach wherein the at least one spray through-hole has an aperture ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm.
Gao (US 11,197,941) teaches an analogous aroma diffuser wherein at least one spray through-hole has an aperture ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm (Col. 6, lines 53-58).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have modified the detachable essential oil atomizer head of Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao with the spray through-hole that has an aperture ranging from 0.5mm to 5mm of Gao (US 11,197,941). Doing so allows the liquified essential oil to be evenly and stably formed into a fine mist before it is expelled into the environment (Gao (US 11,197,941), Col. 6, lines 23-40).
Claim(s) 14 as best understood in light of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over the combination of Zhang (CN 217796977) in view of Ma and Gao (WO 2020/063055) as applied to claim 11 above, further in view of Lee et al. (WO 2022169314).
Regarding claim 14, a modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao teaches the aromatherapy atomizer according to claim 11 as stated above. A modified Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao fails to teach wherein, the connection part is provided with a detection magnet, the aromatherapy atomizer further comprises a Hall sensor arranged in the mounting space and electrically connected with the circuit board; wherein the Hall sensor is configured to detect whether the detection magnet is mounted in place when the essential oil bottle is inserted into the accommodation space.
Lee et al. teaches an analogous aerosol-generating device wherein the connection part is provided with a detection magnet (Fig. 5A, magnetic body 23; page 13, para. 4, “the magnetic body may be implemented as a magnet”), the aromatherapy (page 4, para. 11, “aroma”) atomizer (page 5, para. 8, “atomizer”) further comprises a Hall sensor (page 13, para. 6, “the magnetic sensor 151 may be, for example, a Hall sensor) arranged in the mounting space and electrically connected with the circuit board (controller 170); wherein the Hall sensor is configured to detect whether the detection magnet is mounted in place when the essential oil bottle is inserted into the accommodation space (page 13, para. 11, “The controller 170 may determine…”and page 19, para. 8, “stick 11 is inserted into the insertion space...based on a magnetic field sensed by the magnetic sensor 151”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have combined the aromatherapy atomizer of Zhang in view of Ma, further in view of Gao with the connection part provided with a detection magnet, the aromatherapy atomizer further comprising a Hall sensor arranged in the mounting space and electrically connected with the circuit board; wherein the Hall sensor is configured to detect whether the detection magnet is mounted in place when the essential oil bottle is inserted into the accommodation space of Lee et al. Implementing a detection magnet and Hall sensor would enable to circuit board to automatically detect the wick’s insertion into the essential oil bottle, thus reducing unnecessary consumption of power, improving user convenience, and providing a configurable standby mode (Lee et al., page 3, paragraphs 2-3, “According to at least one of embodiments…”).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3, 6-8, 10, 12, 16, and 19-20 would be allowable if rewritten to overcome the rejection(s) under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), 2nd paragraph, set forth in this Office action and to include all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Li (CN 215584943) teaches an aromatherapy atomization device; however, an air pump is utilized. Sevy (US 7,878,418) teaches an integrated essential oil atomizer with a detachable atomizer and reservoir. Li (US 9,511,166) teaches an aroma diffuser; however, a gasification element and pump element commands the diffusing method. Serene House International Enterprise LTD. (DE 202013102215) teaches a fragrance atomizer that encompasses a fragrance bottle enclosed within a lid body.
/B.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/CHRISTINE H MATTHEWS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3791