Claim Objection:
Claims 6-10, and 14-17 are objected to under 37 CFR 1.75(c) as being in improper form because a multiple dependent claims 6-10, and 14-17. See MPEP § 608.01(n). Accordingly, the claims 6-10, and 14-17 have not been further treated on the merits. Further, claim 10 is no longer further limiting. Correction required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WO 2007022200.
WO 2007022200 (cited by applicant) teaches the following ;
Regarding claim 1, providing a method for forming carbon nano-onions comprising: providing carbon nanodiamond (per claim 4) starting material to a substrate; locating the starting material in an inert atmosphere at a pressure of at least about 5 pounds per square inch; (meeting applicant’s claims 1 and 8) heating the inert atmosphere to a temperature between about 1000 C and about 2750 C (meeting applicant’s claims 1, and 9) using a heating ramp up time of 20 C per minute (See [0080]), while the starting material held on the substrate is in the inert atmosphere; (meeting applicant’s claim 6) and following the heating step, cooling the inert atmosphere to ambient temperature at a cooling rate of between about 1O.sup.0C and about 30.sup.0C per minute; wherein the method forms carbon nano-onions from the carbon nanodiamond starting material (see claim 1 ref.).
Regarding claims 2-3, WO 2007022200 teaches nano-onions formed form carbon layers at thicknesses or diameters in the nanometer range [0028, 0040] and therefore the nano-onions are considered to structurally provide an overlapping range of less than 5 mm.
Exemplary final temperature can be maintained for 1hr (See [0080]). Regarding claim 10, the heating ramp up is at 20 degrees C per minute (See [0080]).
The method can further comprise annealing the product carbon nano-onions in air at a temperature of between about 300 .sup.0C and about 400 .sup.0C.
The method provides for the substrate comprising a base and walls surrounding the base or vessel (as claimed) to contain an inert environment and maintain desired pressure (see claims and figures).
A planar substrate can be provided, or crucible, formed from graphite (See claims).
Regarding claim 7, the inert atmosphere is a helium.
The method further comprising oxidizing the carbon nano-onions.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, the pressure is between about 15 pounds pSi and about 20 pounds per square inch; or about 10^6 Pa within the claimed range.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Fu- (Preparation of Carbon nano-onion ant their application as Anode material for Lithium-ion Batteries) (2011) in view of WO 2007022200 (cited by applicant).
The new amendments to the claims are noted and are considered met by the art as discussed below.
Regarding claims 1, and 11, Fu- teaches forming carbon nano-onions from a mixture of Copper chloride and Calcium Carbide and annealing for 11hrs in an exemplary embodiment (See abstract, and top of second page 1st paragraph as submitted by applicant).
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Fu teaches providing the copper chloride hydrate in excess of the amount required to react with the Calcium Carbide because it is easier to remove and aids in the later removal process (See Experimental section). Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide the claimed ratios consistent with the arts teachings to aid in removal.
Fu- may not teach all the limitations.
WO 2007022200 (cited by applicant) teaches the following ;
Regarding claim 1, providing a method for forming carbon nano-onions comprising: providing carbon nanodiamond (per claim 4) starting material to a substrate; locating the starting material in an inert atmosphere at a pressure of at least about 5 pounds per square inch; (meeting applicant’s claims 1 and 8) heating the inert atmosphere to a temperature between about 1000 C and about 2750 C (meeting applicant’s claims 1, and 9) using a heating ramp up time of 20 C per minute (See [0080]), while the starting material held on the substrate is in the inert atmosphere; (meeting applicant’s claim 6) and following the heating step, cooling the inert atmosphere to ambient temperature at a cooling rate of between about 1O.sup.0C and about 30.sup.0C per minute; wherein the method forms carbon nano-onions from the carbon nanodiamond starting material (see claim 1 ref.).
Regarding claims 2-3, WO 2007022200 teaches nano-onions formed form carbon layers at thicknesses or diameters in the nanometer range [0028, 0040] and therefore the nano-onions are considered to structurally provide an overlapping range of less than 5 mm.
Exemplary final temperature can be maintained for 1hr (See [0080]). Regarding claims 1 and 10, the heating ramp up is at 20 degrees C per minute (See [0080]).
The method can further comprise annealing the product carbon nano-onions in air at a temperature of between about 300 .sup.0C and about 400 .sup.0C.
The method provides for the substrate comprising a base and walls surrounding the base or vessel (as claimed) to contain an inert environment and maintain desired pressure (see claims and figures); alternatively it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to provide the claimed inert environment and maintain desired pressure.
A planar substrate can be provided, or crucible, formed from graphite (See claims).
Regarding claim 7, the inert atmosphere is a helium.
The method further comprising oxidizing the carbon nano-onions.
Regarding claims 1 and 8, the pressure is between about 15 pounds pSi and about 20 pounds per square inch; or about 10^6 Pa within the claimed range.
Regarding claim 12, the art inherently provides concentration of the two materials, as taught above, and therefore it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide the claimed concentrations or ratios through routine experimentation as to proper formation amounts and resulting properties to optimize the process.
Regarding claim 13, it would have been obvious to provide known cooling methods depending upon desired final product and how fast you want the article cooled as in WO above.
Regarding claims 14-18, the art teaches functionalization and possible end uses and therefore it would have been obvious to provide filtering or acid treatment or rinsing dependent upon the end use including filtering agents to produce a distinct final product
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The art is considered to teach the newly amended claim limitations filed 12/3/2025. For instance;
Regarding claim 1, The art teaches using a heating ramp up time of 20 C per minute (See [0080]),
Regarding claims 11 and 12, Fu teaches providing the copper chloride hydrate in excess of the amount required to react with the Calcium Carbide because it is easier to remove and aids in the later removal process (See Experimental section). Therefore, it would have been obvious to provide the claimed ratios consistent with the arts teachings to aid in removal.
Otherwise, the applicant has not argued patentability with specificity.
The notations to support for the claim amendments are noted and appreciated.
Rejection maintained.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL H MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783