DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-5 and 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the circumferential surface” in lines 4-5. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “and a cap section
Claim 14 recites “the roughened section” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. For examination purposes, claim 14 has been construed as being dependent on claim 13 rather than claim 1 such that “the roughened section” in claim 14 refers to the same roughened section introduced in claim 13.
Claim 15 recites “the circumferential surface” in line 2. This is unclear because two circumferential surfaces—one for the sealing roller and one for the backing roller—are previously recited. It is unclear which circumferential surface is being further limited in claim 15, and one of ordinary skill in the art is not reasonably apprised of the metes and bounds of the claim. For examination purposes, the claim has been construed as reciting “the circumferential surface of the backing roller”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 7-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sperry (US 2006/0218880) in view of Murch (US 2015/0075114).
Sperry teaches an apparatus (10) for making inflated articles (12) by sealing an advancing film web (14), the apparatus comprising: a sealing roller (66,166) that includes a heating element (82) located on its outer circumferential surface and a backing roller (68) positioned adjacent to the sealing roller such that a nip is formed between the sealing roller and the backing roller, wherein one or both of the sealing roller and backing roller are driven by a motor such that they counter-rotate and drive the film web in a forward direction (See Figures; [0029]-[0034]; [0050]-[0055]). The heating element reads on the instantly claimed sealing element. Sperry shows in Fig. 3 that the backing roller is wider than the sealing roller such that a circumferential surface of the backing roller extends axially farther into the web than the circumferential surface of the sealing roller such that the backing roller contacts the film web at a transverse location that is farther away from a longitudinal edge (112) of the film web than the sealing roller contacts the film web.
Sperry does not expressly disclose a cap section on the sealing roller as claimed.
Murch teaches a machine for inflating and sealing an inflatable web, the machine comprising a sealing roller (62) and a backing roller (64) which correspond to the sealing roller and backing roller of Sperry and function in the same manner (See Figures; [0093]-[0098]). The figures of Murch also clearly show a cap section on the sealing roller, as labeled below:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to include a cap section on the sealing roller of Sperry because Murch teaches that such cap sections were recognized in the prior art as being suitable for inclusion on a sealing roller in a machine for making inflated articles.
In the proposed combination, the backing roller remains wider than the sealing roller as shown in Fig. 3 of Sperry and detailed above. Since the sealing roller also includes the cap section, the newly added limitations “wherein the nip extends substantially across the cap section” and “wherein the circumferential surface of the backing roller extends transversely beyond the cap section in a direction away from the longitudinal edge of the web and toward the containers” are satisfied in the proposed combination.
Regarding claim 2, Sperry teaches that the backing roller may be made of rubber (See [0067]).
Regarding claim 3, the sealing roller and backing roller of Sperry are arranged with parallel rotational axes (see Figures).
Regarding claims 4-5, Sperry teaches that the sealing roller and backing roller may be inclined relative to the film web (See [0061]), which is substantially horizontal (See [0084]).
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 3 of Sperry shows that the backing roller is wider than the sealing roller such that the backing roller extends beyond the nip formed between the sealing roller and the backing roller.
Regarding claim 8, Sperry does not expressly disclose what portion of the backing roller extends beyond the nip. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to select the extent to which the backing roller extends beyond the nip. Such a selection is a routine matter of design choice which does not patentably distinguish the instantly claimed invention from the system taught by the combination of Sperry and Murch.
Regarding claim 9, Sperry teaches a nozzle (118) for inflating the articles (12) prior to sealing (See Figures; [0073]).
Regarding claim 10, Murch teaches an inflation nozzle (82) which is offset relative to a nip between a sealing roller (62) and a backing roller (64) such that the web contacts the backing roller prior to contact with the sealing roller (See Fig. 13; [0149]-[0151]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the offset nozzle of Murch in the apparatus of Sperry. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Murch that to do so would predictably form an isolation zone (202) which dampens relative movement between sheets of the web, thereby preventing irregularities and improving quality and consistency (See [0149]).
Regarding claim 11, Sperry teaches that the heating element is disposed in a helical pattern around the circumference of the sealing roller (See Fig. 6; [0058]).
Regarding claim 12, Sperry teaches that the heating element is disposed in a helical pattern around the circumference of the sealing roller (See Fig. 6; [0058]). Sperry does not expressly disclose a heating element having an annular shape as claimed. Murch teaches a sealing element (66) (See Figures; [0093]-[0095]) which may have a helical pattern for discontinuous sealing (See [0100]) or an annular pattern for continuous sealing (See [0099]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to use an annular shape for the heating element of Sperry. Murch teaches that both annular shapes and helical shapes were recognized in the prior art as being suitable for use in sealing rollers (See [0099]-[0100]). Therefore the substitution of one conventional element shape for another conventional element shape which was recognized in the prior art as being suitable for the same purpose would have been obvious.
Regarding claim 13, Murch teaches a knurled section (74) of the sealing roller (See Figures; [0096]). The knurled section reads on the instantly claimed roughened section. The roughened section, sealing section, and cap section have substantially equal diameters as shown below:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a knurled (i.e. roughened) section on the sealing roller of Sperry. The rationale to do so would have been the motivation provided by the teaching of Murch that to do so would predictably facilitate traction between the sealing roller and the web to prevent slippage (See [0096]).
Regarding claim 14, in the proposed combination, the nip extends across all sections of the sealing roller, and the cap section is substantially coextensive with the circumferential surface of the sealing roller.
Regarding claim 15, Murch discloses a backing roller with chamfered corners and a substantially linear profile between the chamfered corners, as shown below:
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to provide the backing roller of Sperry with chamfered corners since Murch teaches that such a shape was recognized in the prior art as being suitable for a backing roller in a machine for making inflated articles (See Figures). Examiner notes that changes in shape are generally considered an obvious matter of design choice which a person of ordinary skill in the art would find obvious absent persuasive evidence that the particular shape is significant (See MPEP 2144.04). There is no such evidence provided by Applicant in regard to the chamfered edges.
Regarding claim 16, Sperry shows in Fig. 3 that the backing roller is wider than the sealing roller, as detailed above. In this arrangement, a point at which the web contacts the backing roller lies outside the nip because the nip requires contact between both the backing roller and the sealing roller. Sperry also discloses a sealing roller (166) which includes a heating element (82) centered on the sealing roller (See Figs. 6 and 7; [0054]). Where such a sealing roller is used with a wider backing roller as shown in Fig. 3, the heating element necessarily lies farther from an inner transverse edge of the backing roller than an outer transverse edge, which satisfies the claimed relationships. Examiner notes that the mere selection of material and/or roller dimensions and the resulting transverse distances claimed are routine matters of design choice which do not materially impact the operation of the system. In particular, Applicant has provided no showing that the instantly claimed relationship between the two claimed transverse distances materially impacts the operation of the system in any way.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/08/2026, with respect to the Sperry reference have been fully considered and are persuasive. Examiner agrees that the Sperry reference does not expressly disclose the instantly claimed cap section of the sealing roller. Therefore, the previous prior art rejections which relied on Sperry to teach all limitations of claim 1 are withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, new grounds of rejection are made in view of Murch (US 2015/0075114), as detailed above.
Conclusion
/CARSON GROSS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1746