DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Acknowledgment is made to applicant’s amendment filed 01/20/2026 amending claims 1, 5 and 10-13 as well as adding claims 21-23 and cancelling claims 3, 6-9, 14, 16 and 19-20. Currently claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10-13, 15, 17, 18 and 21-23 are pending with claims 13 and 15 withdrawn.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the claimed first connector extending from the first current collector to the first terminal, second connector extending from the second current collector to the second terminal and third connector coupling a first conductive member disposed within the cavity between the electrodes and at least one of the one or more walls and at least one of the first electrodes must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: the specification does not provide antecedent basis for a third connector.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 10-12, 17, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention.
With regards to claim 1, applicants have amended claim 1 to now positively recite a first connector extending the first current collector to the first terminal, a second connector extending the second current collector to the second terminal and a third connector that couples at least one of the first electrodes to a first conductive member. Applicants reply filed 01/20/2026 states that support for the amendment can be found at least in ¶ 0038 of the specification which states that elements 120 and 130 (the first and second connector) “may be” coupled to electrical connections (terminals) and may be connected to the conductive member. This language of “may be” coupled does not provide sufficient support to demonstrate that at the time of filing the inventors were in possession of explicitly a first and second connector from the current collectors to the terminals as well as a third connector from at least one of the electrodes to the conductive member. There does not appear to be a passage in the specification discussing a third connector and none of applicant’s figures demonstrate a connection from the current collectors to the terminals as well as additional connectors to conductive members. As discussed in MPEP 2163.02, the standard for determining compliance with the written description requirement is whether the disclosure reasonably conveys to the artisan that the inventor had possession at that time of the later claimed subject matter. Applicant’s specification does not reasonably convey support for the amended particularly claimed arrangement.
Claims 2, 4, 5, 10-12, 17, and 18 depend upon claim 1 and are therefore also rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 10-12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
With regards to claims 10-12 and 18, the claims depend upon claim 1 which establishes first and second current collectors as well as a first conductive member. However, claim 1 does not establish a second conductive member. Therefore the phrase “the second conductive member” in claims 10-12 and 18 lacks proper antecedent basis.
Claim Objections
Applicant is advised that should claim 10 be found allowable, claim 18 will be objected to under 37 CFR 1.75 as being a substantial duplicate thereof. When two claims in an application are duplicates or else are so close in content that they both cover the same thing, despite a slight difference in wording, it is proper after allowing one claim to object to the other as being a substantial duplicate of the allowed claim. See MPEP § 608.01(m).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 2, 11, 17, 21 and 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or (a)(2) as being anticipated by Chen (US 2022/0006115).
With regards to claims 1 and 11, Chen teaches a battery cell (Abstract) comprising a container (60) with one or more walls that defines a cavity as seen in Figure 1. Chen teaches first and second terminals or posts (70, 71) as seen in Figures 4 and 7a-c. Chen teaches that a power unit comprises a first electrode (10) comprising a first current collector coupled to an active material (40), a second electrode (20) comprising a second current collector coupled to a second active material (40) and a separate (30) therebetween (¶ 0071, Fig. 1). Chen teaches that a plurality of the power unit arrangements may be present in the battery in which each current collector (10) is connected to the terminal (¶ 0063, 0081). Chen teaches that for each power unit a first connector (10) extends from the first current collector to the first terminal (70) and a second connector (20) extends to the second terminal (71). Chen additionally teaches a first conductive member (heat sink) coupled to at least one of the first electrodes by a third connector in order to distribute heat in which the heat sink is in contact with an inner surface of the battery housing outer casing and the electrode is in contact with the heat sink (¶ 0012-0013, 0113-0115) as disclosed in the arrangement of Figure 9.
With regards to claim 2, Chen teaches each current collector (10) contacts the heat sink (¶ 0063).
With regards to claim 17, Chen teaches a rectangular cross-section (Fig. 9).
With regards to claim 21, Chen teaches a battery cell (Abstract) comprising a container (60) with one or more walls that defines a cavity as seen in Figure 1. Chen teaches first and second terminals or posts (70, 71) as seen in Figures 4 and 7a-c. Chen teaches that a power unit comprises a first electrode (10) comprising a first current collector coupled to an active material (40), a second electrode (20) comprising a second current collector coupled to a second active material (40) and a separate (30) therebetween (¶ 0071, Fig. 1). Chen teaches that a plurality of the power unit arrangements may be present in the battery in which each current collector (10) is connected to the terminal (¶ 0063, 0081). Chen teaches that for each power unit a first connector (10) extends from the first current collector to the first terminal (70) and a second connector (20) extends to the second terminal (71). Chen additionally teaches a first conductive member (heat sink) coupled to at least one of the first electrodes by a third connector in order to distribute heat in which the heat sink is in contact with an inner surface of the battery housing outer casing and the electrode is in contact with the heat sink (¶ 0012-0013, 0113-0115) as disclosed in the arrangement of Figure 9. Each respective connector (10) in contact with the heat sink functions as a thermal tab.
With regards to claim 22, Chen teaches that the heat sink is a metal sheet (interpreted to read upon a metal foil, ¶ 0113).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4, 5, 10, 12, 18 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US 2022/0006115) in view of Fogaing et al. (US 2005/0026014).
With regards to claims 4 and 12, Chen teaches connecting the current collectors of a first polarity to a heat sink in order to distribute heat as heat dissipation improves the performance of a battery and prevents thermal runaway (¶ 0003-0004). While Chen does not explicitly teach connecting the second current collectors to a heat sink, it was generally known in the art to provide heat sink connections on both sides of the battery as discussed in Fogaing (Abstract, Fig. 1-5, ¶ 0007). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was effective filed to connect the second electrodes to a heat sink as well in order to provide additional thermal management. Chen teaches that the connection between a first electrode and a heat sink is a predictable arrangement reinforced by the teaching in Fogaing in which heat is conducted presenting a reasonable expectation of success for the duplication of parts, and the mere duplication of parts presents a case of prima facie obviousness in the absence of new or unexpected results as discussed in MPEP 2144.04.
With regards to claims 5 and 23, Chen shows the metal heat sink spanning the entire wall of the battery (Fig. 9). While a depth dimension is not shown in the figures it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to have the heat sink be as large as possible such as the entire area of the wall as the purpose is to conduct heat and transfer the heat away from the cell. The larger the area of the heat sink the more heat sink capacity it has. As modified in claim 4 it would be obvious to have two such large heat sinks.
With regards to claims 10 and 18, Chen teaches that the current collectors are made of metal as is the heat sink (¶ 0083, 0113) and metal being a material.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claim(s) have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/GALEN H HAUTH/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1743