DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites “the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack is further configured to output the low voltage”. Claim 6 is unclear, because the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack in claim 1 is capable of outputting intermediate voltage or high voltage, not low voltage.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160020443 A1 (White ‘443).
Regarding claim 1, White ‘443 teaches an electric device system (a power tool system; abstract) comprising:
a low/intermediate-voltage battery pack capable of outputting a low voltage or an intermediate voltage (a low rated voltage battery pack 20A1; [0435]);
an intermediate/high-voltage battery pack capable of outputting the intermediate voltage or a high voltage (a medium rated voltage battery pack 20A2 and a high rated voltage battery pack 20A3; [0435]);
a low-voltage device main body configured to be connected to the low/intermediate-voltage battery pack and supplied with the low voltage (the low rated voltage battery pack 20A1 includes a DC power tool interface 22A configured to be coupled to a battery pack interface 16A on a corresponding low rated voltage power tool 10A1; [0441]);
an intermediate-voltage device main body configured to be connected to the low/intermediate voltage battery pack and the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack and supplied with the intermediate voltage (the medium rated voltage battery pack 20A2 includes a DC power tool interface 22A configured to be coupled to a battery pack interface 16A on a corresponding medium rated voltage power tool 10A2; [0445]); and
a high-voltage device main body configured to be connected to the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack and supplied with the high voltage (the high rated voltage battery pack 20A3 includes a DC power tool interface 22A configured to be coupled to a battery pack interface 16A on a corresponding high rated voltage power tool 10A3; [0448]).
Regarding claim 6, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 1, wherein the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack is further configured to output the low voltage (a low rated voltage battery pack 20A1 (e.g., under 40V); [0435] of White ‘443).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160020443 A1 (White ‘443) in view of US 20190259985 A1 (Hanawa ‘985).
Regarding claim 2, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 1, wherein a battery pack includes a set of cells, the set having at least two cells, two subsets of the set of cells, wherein a converter element, upon actuation, operates with a switching network to configure first, second, and third switches in a first state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a first cell configuration and a second state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a second cell configuration, the first cell configuration being different than the second cell configuration ([0206]). The first cell configuration corresponds to a parallel connection, and the second cell configuration corresponds to a series connection ([0724]).
The converter element 350 may be housed in the tool, i.e., the electrical device body.
The converter element is actuated when the battery pack mates with an electrical device, the converter element comprising a set of terminals ([0207]). The converter element is movable from a first position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage ([0208]).
Likewise, Hanawa ‘985 discloses an electrical device system including a battery pack. The battery pack may include a first switching terminal group and a second switching terminal group, the second switching terminal group, which is formed by adjacently disposing a plurality of switching terminals connected to the plurality of cell units different from the first switching terminal group. A low voltage electrical device body includes a second low voltage switching element engageable with the second switching terminal group, and a high voltage electrical device body includes a second high voltage switching element that is engageable with the second switching terminal group and is formed with a structure different form the second low voltage switching element ([0023]).
When the battery pack is connected to the low voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first low voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second low voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in parallel ([0023)]. When the battery pack is connected to the high voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first high voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second high voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in series ([0023)]. Thus, the battery pack can be shared between electrical devices of different voltages ([0023]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide an intermediate voltage series terminal, a converter element comprising a set of terminals, for the intermediate-voltage device/high-voltage device, and an intermediate voltage parallel terminal, a converter element housed in the tool/electrical device body comprising a set of terminals, for the low/intermediate-voltage device, respectively connecting the plurality of cells in parallel or series, a first configuration or a second configuration, resulting in an output of a first rated voltage and a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage, as suggested by Hanawa ‘985, in the electric device, as taught by White ‘443, wherein the limitations of claim 2 are rendered obvious:
wherein the low/intermediate-voltage battery pack and the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack each have a plurality of cell units,
wherein the intermediate-voltage device main body has an intermediate voltage series terminal that connects the plurality of cell units of the low/intermediate-voltage battery pack in series when connected to the low/intermediate-voltage battery pack and an intermediate voltage parallel terminal that connects the plurality of cell units of the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack in parallel when connected to the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack, and
wherein the high-voltage device main body has a high voltage series terminal that connects the plurality of cell units of the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack in series when connected to the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack.
Regarding claim 3, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 2, wherein, when the intermediate-voltage device main body is connected to the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack, the intermediate voltage series terminal is not connected to any terminal (the converter element 750 includes switching contacts 784 SC1-SC4 that serve as the switches between the cell string terminals and contact pads 766, wherein when the electrical device 10A2 mates with the convertible battery pack 20A4, the converter element 750 moves from the first position to the second position, such that, the switching contacts 784 disconnect and connect from and to the contact pads 766, for example, when the converter element 750 is in the second position – the medium rated voltage configuration - the first converter element switching contact SC1 electrically couples some of the contact pads 766, but the second converter element switching contact SC2 is not coupled to any contact pads 766; [0842] – [0844] of White ‘443).
Regarding claim 4, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 2, wherein Hanawa ‘985 teaches a connection circuit of a cell unit when the battery pack 600 is connected to an electrical device body, wherein Fig. 22(1) illustrates a state of being connected to an electrical device body for low voltage, and Fig. 22(2) illustrates a state of being connected to an electrical device body for high voltage ([0238]). Hanawa ‘985 discloses a terminal part 650 that is the same as those used conventionally, that is, having a positive input terminal 651 and negative input terminal 652 ([0238]). The terminal part 650 and the output terminal of the battery pack 600 are connected ([0239]). The +output and -output of the cell units 356 and 357 are connected to the positive electrode output terminal 661 and the negative electrode output terminal 662 in the state of parallel connection ([0239]). The +terminal of the cell unit 256 constructed through series connection of five cells is connected to the positive electrode output terminal 661 through the parallel connector 663 a, and the -terminal is connected to the negative electrode output terminal 662 ([0239]). The series connector 664 that connects the +terminal of the cell unit 356 and the -terminal of the cell unit 357 is formed as a series terminal group including a plurality of contact terminals in order to connect the plurality of cell unit 356 and 357 in series ([0239]).
Therefore, the limitations of claim 4 are rendered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art by White ‘443 in view of Hanawa ‘985, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to design the connection structure of the electric device system in such a way that the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage, wherein the desired electrical connection path from the terminals to the cell units is achieved ([0202] of Hanwa ‘985): the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack has a pair of first output terminals connected to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of one of the plurality of cell units and a pair of second output terminals connected to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of another of the plurality of cell units,
wherein the high-voltage device main body has a first input terminal connected to one of a positive electrode and a negative electrode of the pair of first output terminals and a second input terminal connected to the other of a positive and a negative electrode of the pair of second output terminals, and
wherein the high voltage series terminal is connected to the other of the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the pair of first output terminals and to one of the positive electrode and the negative electrode of the pair of second output terminals.
Regarding claim 5, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 3,
wherein the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack has a board disposed above the plurality of cell units (the battery 446 may also include, for example, the PCB 470 and/or some other type of insulating board 490 between the converter element 452 and the cells 448, i.e., above the cells; [0762] of White ‘443), a pair of first output terminals extending upward form the board and connected to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of one of the plurality of cell units, and a pair of second output terminals extending upward from the board and connected to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of one of the plurality of cell units, and a pair of second output terminals extending upward from the board and connected to a positive electrode and a negative electrode of another of the plurality of cell units (the battery PCB 470 and/or insulating board 490 includes a plurality of contact pads 492, wherein the plurality of contact pads 492 are electrically conductive elements that are connectable to the battery cell terminals or nodes by wires or PCB traces or some other type of electrically conductive connection element; [0763] of White ‘443), and
wherein the pair of first output terminals and the pair of second output terminals each have a connection portion connected to an input terminal of the intermediate-voltage device main body and an avoidance portion that avoids the voltage series terminal (the plurality of contact pads 492 allow for contacts to slide along the contacts pads 492 to make and break connections therewith-effectively opening and closing the power and/or signal switches 450; [0763] of White ‘443; the converter element 750 includes switching contacts 784 SC1-SC4 that serve as the switches between the cell string terminals and contact pads 766, wherein when the electrical device 10A2 mates with the convertible battery pack 20A4, the converter element 750 moves from the first position to the second position, such that, the switching contacts 784 disconnect and connect from and to the contact pads 766, for example, when the converter element 750 is in the second position – the medium rated voltage configuration - the first converter element switching contact SC1 electrically couples some of the contact pads 766, but the second converter element switching contact SC2 is not coupled to any contact pads 766, i.e., an avoidance portion; [0842] – [0844] of White ‘443).
Regarding claim 13, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 1, wherein a battery pack includes a set of cells, the set having at least two cells, two subsets of the set of cells, wherein a converter element, upon actuation, operates with a switching network to configure first, second, and third switches in a first state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a first cell configuration and a second state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a second cell configuration, the first cell configuration being different than the second cell configuration ([0206]). The first cell configuration corresponds to a parallel connection, and the second cell configuration corresponds to a series connection ([0724]).
The converter element 350 may be housed in the tool, i.e., the electrical device body.
The converter element is actuated when the battery pack mates with an electrical device, the converter element comprising a set of terminals ([0207]). The converter element is movable from a first position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage ([0208]).
Likewise, Hanawa ‘985 discloses an electrical device system including a battery pack. The battery pack may include a first switching terminal group and a second switching terminal group, the second switching terminal group, which is formed by adjacently disposing a plurality of switching terminals connected to the plurality of cell units different from the first switching terminal group. A low voltage electrical device body includes a second low voltage switching element engageable with the second switching terminal group, and a high voltage electrical device body includes a second high voltage switching element that is engageable with the second switching terminal group and is formed with a structure different form the second low voltage switching element ([0023]).
When the battery pack is connected to the low voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first low voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second low voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in parallel ([0023)]. When the battery pack is connected to the high voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first high voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second high voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in series ([0023)]. Thus, the battery pack can be shared between electrical devices of different voltages ([0023]).
Therefore, the limitations of claim 13 are rendered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art by White ‘443 in view of Hanawa ‘985, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to design the connection structure of the electric device system, to include a first slot and a second slot is provided for connecting the convertible battery pack to a high voltage device main body or an intermediate voltage device main body, with a short-circuiting bar provided in the device main body, wherein the desired electrical connection path from the terminals to the cell units is achieved ([0202] of Hanwa ‘985), i.e., parallel or series configuration, and an intermediate voltage output or a high voltage output is correctly supplied to the respective intermediate voltage device main body or the high voltage device main body:
a battery pack which is an intermediate/high-voltage battery pack that has a plurality of first cell units, is capable of switching an output voltage between an intermediate voltage and a high voltage according to a connection state of the plurality of first cell units and is capable of being connected to a high-voltage device main body and an intermediate-voltage device main body, the battery pack comprising:
a first slot into which power supply terminals of the high-voltage device main body and the intermediate-voltage device main body are able to be inserted (the battery pack includes a first slot; [0048] of Hanawa ‘985); and
a second slot into which none of the terminals of the high-voltage device main body is inserted when connected to the high-voltage device main body (the battery pack includes a second slot; [0048] of Hanaway ‘985),
wherein, when the battery pack is connected to the intermediate-voltage device main body, a short-circuiting bar provided in the intermediate-voltage device main body (a short circuit element disposed on the electrical tool body side; [0053]; a switch part capable of connecting or cutting off by an operation of an operator is disposed in the short circuit element; [0059]; the short circuit element is a short bar; [0060] of Hanawa ‘985), which connects a plurality of second cell units of a low/intermediate-voltage battery pack capable of switching an output voltage between a low voltage and the intermediate voltage in series when the intermediate-voltage device main body is connected to the low/intermediate-voltage battery pack, is inserted into the second slot.
Claims 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160020443 A1 (White ‘443) in view of US 20190259985 A1 (Hanawa ‘985), and further in view of CN 110783651 B (Li ‘651 - citing to US 20210175551 A1 as an English translation).
Regarding claim 7, White ‘443 teaches a convertible battery pack 20A4 that may be converted between a first rated voltage and a second rated voltage ([0451]).
However, White ‘443 does not disclose a high-voltage device main body, an intermediate -voltage device main body, and a low voltage-device main body that is connectable to the three-voltage battery pack that can be supplied by an appropriate voltage from the three-voltage battery pack.
Hanawa ‘985 discloses an electrical device system including a battery pack. The battery pack may include a first switching terminal group and a second switching terminal group, the second switching terminal group, which is formed by adjacently disposing a plurality of switching terminals connected to the plurality of cell units different from the first switching terminal group. A low voltage electrical device body includes a second low voltage switching element engageable with the second switching terminal group, and a high voltage electrical device body includes a second high voltage switching element that is engageable with the second switching terminal group and is formed with a structure different form the second low voltage switching element ([0023]).
When the battery pack is connected to the low voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first low voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second low voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in parallel ([0023)]. When the battery pack is connected to the high voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first high voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second high voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in series ([0023)]. Thus, the battery pack can be shared between electrical devices of different voltages.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a high/intermediate/or low voltage-device main body that is connectable to a variable voltage battery pack, that supplies a first or second voltage to the appropriate voltage device body, as suggested by Hanawa ‘985, in the electric device, as taught by White ‘443.
However, the convertible battery pack of White ‘443 does not provide three different voltages to be applied to three different voltage device main bodies.
Li ‘651 an electric energy storage device, configured to be detachably coupled with an electrical device, the electric energy storage device comprising a housing, N sets of battery units received in the housing, each battery unit comprising at least one battery cell, a plurality of switches, each switch connected to the output end of two different battery units, a control unit electrically connected to the switches, and configured to control the switches to switch on or off in order to connect the battery units in parallel or series, wherein the electric energy storage device can output at least three different voltages (abstract). The electric energy storage device can be used for different types of power tools with different voltage requirements (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify they convertible battery pack, as taught by White ‘443, to be configured to output at least three different voltages, when connected to three different voltage device main bodies that have three different requisite voltages, as suggested by Li ‘651, wherein the limitations of claim 7 are rendered obvious.
Regarding claim 8, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 7, wherein the intermediate-voltage device main body has an intermediate voltage series terminal configured to connect the plurality of cell units in series by being connected to some of the output terminals when connected to the three-voltage battery pack and to connect all of the plurality of the cell units in series by being connected to some of the output terminals when connected to the low/intermediate-voltage battery pack (White ‘443 discloses a battery pack that includes a set of cells, the set having at least two cells, two subsets of the set of cells, wherein a converter element, upon actuation, operates with a switching network to configure first, second, and third switches in a first state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a first cell configuration and a second state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a second cell configuration, the first cell configuration being different than the second cell configuration ([0206]). The first cell configuration corresponds to a parallel connection, and the second cell configuration corresponds to a series connection ([0724]).
The converter element 350 may be housed in the tool, i.e., the electrical device body.
The converter element is actuated when the battery pack mates with an electrical device, the converter element comprising a set of terminals ([0207]). The converter element is movable from a first position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage ([0208]).
Likewise, Hanawa ‘985 discloses an electrical device system including a battery pack. The battery pack may include a first switching terminal group and a second switching terminal group, the second switching terminal group, which is formed by adjacently disposing a plurality of switching terminals connected to the plurality of cell units different from the first switching terminal group. A low voltage electrical device body includes a second low voltage switching element engageable with the second switching terminal group, and a high voltage electrical device body includes a second high voltage switching element that is engageable with the second switching terminal group and is formed with a structure different form the second low voltage switching element ([0023]).
When the battery pack is connected to the low voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first low voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second low voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in parallel ([0023)]. When the battery pack is connected to the high voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first high voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second high voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in series, and thus, the battery pack can be shared between electrical devices of different voltages; [0023]).
Therefore, the limitations of claim 8 are rendered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art by White ‘443 in view of Hanawa ‘985, and further in view of Li ‘651, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to design the connection structure of the electric device system in such a way that the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage, wherein the desired electrical connection path from the terminals to the cell units is achieved ([0202] of Hanwa ‘985).
Regarding claim 9, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 8, wherein the intermediate-voltage device main body has an intermediate voltage series terminal configured to connect the plurality of cell units in parallel by being connected to output terminals other than the some of the output terminals when connected to the three-voltage battery pack and to connect the plurality of the cell units to the output terminals when connected to the low/intermediate-voltage battery pack (White ‘443 discloses a battery pack that includes a set of cells, the set having at least two cells, two subsets of the set of cells, wherein a converter element, upon actuation, operates with a switching network to configure first, second, and third switches in a first state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a first cell configuration and a second state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a second cell configuration, the first cell configuration being different than the second cell configuration ([0206]). The first cell configuration corresponds to a parallel connection, and the second cell configuration corresponds to a series connection ([0724])).
The converter element 350 may be housed in the tool, i.e., the electrical device body.
The converter element is actuated when the battery pack mates with an electrical device, the converter element comprising a set of terminals ([0207]). The converter element is movable from a first position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage ([0208]).
Likewise, Hanawa ‘985 discloses an electrical device system including a battery pack. The battery pack may include a first switching terminal group and a second switching terminal group, the second switching terminal group, which is formed by adjacently disposing a plurality of switching terminals connected to the plurality of cell units different from the first switching terminal group. A low voltage electrical device body includes a second low voltage switching element engageable with the second switching terminal group, and a high voltage electrical device body includes a second high voltage switching element that is engageable with the second switching terminal group and is formed with a structure different form the second low voltage switching element ([0023] of Hanwa ‘985).
When the battery pack is connected to the low voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first low voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second low voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in parallel ([0023] of Hanwa ‘985). When the battery pack is connected to the high voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first high voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second high voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in series, and thus, the battery pack can be shared between electrical devices of different voltages ([0023] of Hanwa ‘985).
Therefore, the limitations of claim 9 are rendered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art by White ‘443 in view of Hanawa ‘985, and further in view of Li ‘651, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to design the connection structure of the electric device system in such a way that the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage, wherein the desired electrical connection path from the terminals to the cell units is achieved ([0202] of Hanwa ‘985).
Regarding claim 10, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 9, wherein an intermediate/high-voltage battery pack that has a plurality of cell units and output terminals connected to the plurality of cell units and is capable of outputting the intermediate voltage and the high voltage (electric energy device of Li ‘651 may be able to output a voltage of 18V, 36V (intermediate), or 72V (high); [0038] – [0041]),
wherein the intermediate voltage series terminal is configured to not be connected to the output terminals when the intermediate-voltage device main body is connected to the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack (the plurality of contact pads 492 allow for contacts to slide along the contacts pads 492 to make and break connections therewith-effectively opening and closing the power and/or signal switches 450; [0763] of White ‘443; the converter element 750 includes switching contacts 784 SC1-SC4 that serve as the switches between the cell string terminals and contact pads 766, wherein when the electrical device 10A2 mates with the convertible battery pack 20A4, the converter element 750 moves from the first position to the second position, such that, the switching contacts 784 disconnect and connect from and to the contact pads 766, for example, when the converter element 750 is in the second position – the medium rated voltage configuration - the first converter element switching contact SC1 electrically couples some of the contact pads 766, but the second converter element switching contact SC2 is not coupled to any contact pads 766; [0842] – [0844] of White ‘443), and the intermediate voltage parallel terminal is configured to connect the plurality of cell units in parallel by being connected to the output terminals when the intermediate-voltage device main body is connected to the intermediate/high-voltage battery pack (when the battery pack is connected to the low voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first low voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second low voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in parallel ([0023] of White ‘443). When the battery pack is connected to the high voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first high voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second high voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in series ([0023] of White ‘443). Thus, the battery pack can be shared between electrical devices of different voltages ([0023] of White ‘443)).
Further, White ‘443 discloses a battery pack that includes a set of cells, the set having at least two cells, two subsets of the set of cells, wherein a converter element, upon actuation, operates with a switching network to configure first, second, and third switches in a first state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a first cell configuration and a second state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a second cell configuration, the first cell configuration being different than the second cell configuration ([0206]). The first cell configuration corresponds to a parallel connection, and the second cell configuration corresponds to a series connection ([0724]).
Therefore, the limitations of claim 10 are rendered obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art by White ‘443 in view of Hanawa ‘985, and further in view of Li ‘651, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to design the connection structure of the electric device system in such a way that the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage, wherein the desired electrical connection path from the terminals to the cell units is achieved, ([0202] of Hanwa ‘985) i.e., a parallel connection of the cell units.
Regarding claim 11, White ‘443 teaches a convertible battery pack 20A4 that may be converted between a first rated voltage and a second rated voltage ([0451]). White ‘443 additionally disclose a power tool that may be a medium/high rated voltage power tool that is configured to operate with a medium rated voltage battery pack or a high rated voltage AC power supply ([0429]).
However, White ‘443 does not disclose a high-voltage device main body, an intermediate -voltage device main body, and a low voltage-device main body that is connectable to the three-voltage battery pack that can be supplied by an appropriate voltage from the three-voltage battery pack.
Hanawa ‘985 discloses an electrical device system including a battery pack. The battery pack may include a first switching terminal group and a second switching terminal group, the second switching terminal group, which is formed by adjacently disposing a plurality of switching terminals connected to the plurality of cell units different from the first switching terminal group. A low voltage electrical device body includes a second low voltage switching element engageable with the second switching terminal group, and a high voltage electrical device body includes a second high voltage switching element that is engageable with the second switching terminal group and is formed with a structure different form the second low voltage switching element ([0023]).
When the battery pack is connected to the low voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first low voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second low voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in parallel ([0023)]. When the battery pack is connected to the high voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first high voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second high voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in series ([0023)]. Thus, the battery pack can be shared between electrical devices of different voltages.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to provide a high/intermediate/or low voltage-device main body that is connectable to a variable voltage battery pack, that supplies a first or second voltage to the appropriate voltage device body, as suggested by Hanawa ‘985, in the electric device, as taught by White ‘443.
However, the convertible battery pack of White ‘443 does not provide three different voltages to be applied to three different voltage device main bodies.
Li ‘651 an electric energy storage device, configured to be detachably coupled with an electrical device, the electric energy storage device comprising a housing, N sets of battery units received in the housing, each battery unit comprising at least one battery cell, a plurality of switches, each switch connected to the output end of two different battery units, a control unit electrically connected to the switches, and configured to control the switches to switch on or of fin order to connect the battery units in parallel or series, wherein the electric energy storage device can output at least three different voltages (abstract). The electric energy storage device can be used for different types of power tools with different voltage requirements (abstract).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify they convertible battery pack, as taught by White ‘443, to be configured to output at least three different voltages, when connected to three different voltage device main bodies that have three different requisite voltages, as suggested by Li ‘651, wherein the limitations of claim 11 are rendered obvious, each power tool being powered by appropriate one-voltage battery pack, two-voltage battery pack, or three-voltage battery pack.
Regarding claim 12, White ‘443 teaches the electric device system according to claim 11, wherein the three-voltage battery pack (each battery unit comprising at least one battery cell, a plurality of switches, each switch connected to the output end of two different battery units, a control unit electrically connected to the switches, and configured to control the switches to switch on or off in order to connect the battery units in parallel or series, wherein the electric energy storage device can output at least three different voltages; abstract of Li ‘551; wherein each battery unit comprises five battery cells; [0035] of Li ‘551) and the two-voltage battery pack each have a plurality of cell units (the convertible battery pack 20A4 that can switch between a low rated voltage or medium rated voltage includes a plurality of cells; [0739] of White ‘443),
White ‘443 further discloses a battery pack includes a set of cells, the set having at least two cells, two subsets of the set of cells, wherein a converter element, upon actuation, operates with a switching network to configure first, second, and third switches in a first state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a first cell configuration and a second state wherein the set of cells are electrically connected in a second cell configuration, the first cell configuration being different than the second cell configuration ([0206]). The first cell configuration corresponds to a parallel connection, and the second cell configuration corresponds to a series connection ([0724]).
The converter element 350 may be housed in the tool, i.e., the electrical device body.
The converter element is actuated when the battery pack mates with an electrical device, the converter element comprising a set of terminals ([0207]). The converter element is movable from a first position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second position wherein the plurality of cells are configured to provide a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage ([0208]).
Likewise, Hanawa ‘985 discloses an electrical device system including a battery pack. The battery pack may include a first switching terminal group and a second switching terminal group, the second switching terminal group, which is formed by adjacently disposing a plurality of switching terminals connected to the plurality of cell units different from the first switching terminal group. A low voltage electrical device body includes a second low voltage switching element engageable with the second switching terminal group, and a high voltage electrical device body includes a second high voltage switching element that is engageable with the second switching terminal group and is formed with a structure different form the second low voltage switching element ([0023]).
When the battery pack is connected to the low voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first low voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second low voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in parallel ([0023)]. When the battery pack is connected to the high voltage electrical device body, the first switching terminal group and the first high voltage switching element are engaged, and the second switching terminal group and the second high voltage switching element are engaged, the plurality of cell units are connected to each other in series ([0023)]. Thus, the battery pack can be shared between electrical devices of different voltages ([0023]).
Thus, the following limitations claim 12 are rendered obvious by White ‘443 in view of Hanawa ‘985, and further in view of Li ‘651, because a person of ordinary skill in the art would find it obvious to design the connection structure of the electric device system in such a way that the plurality of cells are configured to provide a first rated voltage and a second rated voltage different from the first rated voltage, wherein the desired electrical connection path from the terminals to the cell units is achieved ([0202] of Hanwa ‘985), i.e., parallel or series configuration, and a requisite voltage output is correctly supplied to the corresponding voltage device main body from the three-voltage battery pack or the two voltage battery pack when the battery pack is connected to the device main body:
wherein the intermediate-voltage device main body has an intermediate voltage series terminal that connects some of the plurality of cell units of the three-voltage battery pack or the two-voltage battery pack in series when connected to the three-voltage battery pack or the two-voltage battery pack capable of outputting the intermediate voltage and the high voltage and connects the plurality of cell units of the two-voltage battery pack in series when connected to the two-voltage battery pack capable of outputting the low voltage and the intermediate voltage, and
an intermediate voltage parallel terminal that connects some of the plurality of cell units of the three-voltage battery pack or the two-voltage battery pack in parallel when connected to the three-voltage battery pack or the two-voltage battery pack capable of outputting the intermediate voltage and the high voltage and connects the plurality of cell units of the two-voltage battery pack in parallel when connected to the two-voltage battery capable of outputting the low voltage and the intermediate voltage, and
wherein the high-voltage device main body has a high voltage series terminal that connects the plurality of cell units of the three-voltage battery pack or the two-voltage battery pack in series when connected to the three-voltage battery pack or the two-voltage battery pack capable of outputting the intermediate voltage and the high voltage.
Conclusion
/TAYLOR HARRISON KRONE/Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/NICOLE M. BUIE-HATCHER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725