DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on 6/19/2020.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-5, 7-8, 11, 13-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US 20120307472 A1, hereinafter Bohn) in view of Kim (US 20190041907 A1, hereinafter Kim)
Claim 1. Bohn teaches an electronic device comprising:
a flexible display (610, fig 6);
a first housing (616) including a first surface (top surface of the bottom of fig 6) facing in a first direction and a second surface (bottom surface of the bottom of fig 6) facing in a second direction opposite to the first direction, wherein at least one portion of the flexible display is disposed on the first surface (fig 6);
a first hinge (hinge nearby 606 of fig 6) connected to a side surface of the first housing is adapted to fold in a first rotation direction (counter clockwise direction, which can be seen by comparing the dotted lines and positions of the display of fig 6) and unfold in a second rotation direction (clockwise);
a second housing (614), connected to the first hinge, including a third surface (top of fig 6) facing in a third direction and a fourth surface (bottom of fig 6) facing in a fourth direction, wherein at least one portion of the flexible display is disposed on the third surface (fig 6);
a second hinge (hinge nearby 608 of fig 6) connected to a side surface of the second housing, adapted to fold in a third rotation direction (clockwise) and unfold in a fourth rotation direction (counter clockwise);
a third housing (618) connected to the second hinge opposite from the second housing with respect to the second hinge (fig 6), including a fifth surface (top surface of the bottom of fig 6) facing in a fifth direction and a sixth surface (bottom surface of the bottom of fig 6) facing in a sixth direction, wherein at least one portion of the flexible display is disposed on the fifth surface (fig 6);
However Bohn fails to specifically teach:
a circuit board located inside the first housing, including a communication circuit;
at least one antenna located inside the third housing;
at least one connection member, electrically connecting the circuit board to the at least one antenna, passing through the first hinge, the second housing, and the second hinge,
wherein the at least one connection member includes:
a first connection member located at a position corresponding to the first hinge having a first physical property, and
a second connection member located at a position corresponding to the second hinge, having a second physical property that is different that the first physical property, and
wherein the first connection member and the second connection member each include a printed circuit board (PCB), a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB), a flat ribbon cable (FRC), or a coaxial cable.
Kim teaches a circuit board (M, fig 4) located inside a first housing (100) and including a communication circuit (since M is connected to antennas 212, 214);
at least one antenna (212, 214) located inside the third housing (200);
at least one connection member (multiple instances of 110, 210, fig 4), electrically connecting the circuit board to the at least one antenna, passing through the first hinge, the second housing, and the second hinge (fig 4 shows 110 passing through each hinge as well as passing through element 100),
wherein the at least one connection member includes:
a first connection member (back right instance of 210, fig 4) located at a position corresponding to a first hinge (back right hinge corresponding to 110, 210 of fig 4, [0049] indicates assembly even in a narrow space such as a hinge) having a first physical property ([0048] recites ‘since the flexible printed circuit board 210 does not require a fixture, unlike the coaxial cable 110, the flexible printed circuit board 210 may be minimized in thickness’)
a second connection member (front left instance of 110, fig 4) located at a position corresponding to a second hinge [0049] having a second physical property [0048] that is different that the first physical property ([0048] indicates that the thickness is different), and
wherein the first connection member and the second connection member each include a printed circuit board (PCB), a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB 210), a flat ribbon cable (FRC), or a coaxial cable (110)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Kim into the device of Bohn. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bohn in the above manner for the purpose of connecting antennas from another housing to a main circuit board.
Claim 4. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first connection member (Kim 210) includes a different one among the PCB, the FPCB (Kim 210), the FRC, or the coaxial cable (Kim 110) than the second connection member includes (Kim 110.
Claim 5. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 4, wherein at least one of the first connection member or the second connection member includes a coaxial cable (Kim 110).
Claim 7. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
a third connection member (part of 110 that connects with C, fig 6) disposed between the first connection member and the second connection member (fig 6), wherein the third connection member includes a coaxial cable (fig 6).
Claim 8. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the at least one connection member includes the coaxial cable (Kim 110).
Claim 11. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, further comprising:
at least one antenna (Kim 212) located adjacent to a side surface far from the second hinge inside the third housing (Kim fig 4).
Claim 13. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein the first hinge includes a first shaft (shaft of first hinge, see figs 3, 5, 6) rotating around a first axis parallel to the first surface, and a second shaft (shaft of first hinge, see figs 3, 5, 6) rotatable around a second axis parallel to the first axis (the hinges are parallel looking into the page of fig 6).
Claim 14. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the first housing (616, fig 6) includes a first side surface (left side surface of the bottom of fig 6) between the first surface and the second surface and a second side surface (right side surface of the bottom of fig 6) facing in a direction opposite to the first side surface, wherein
the second housing (614) includes a third side surface (left side surface of the bottom of fig 6) connected to the first hinge and a fourth side surface (right side surface) facing in a direction opposite to the third side surface, wherein
at least one antenna module located adjacent to a side surface far from the second hinge inside the third housing (antennas of Kim are located adjacent to a side surface far from the second hinge inside the third housing), wherein
the third housing (618) includes a fifth side surface (left side surface of the bottom of fig 6) connected to the second hinge and a sixth side surface (right side surface) facing in a direction opposite to the fifth side surface, and wherein the at least one antenna module is located adjacent to the sixth side surface inside the third housing (Kim fig 4 shows the antenna located adjacent to the side surface that is farthest from the first housing).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US 20120307472 A1, hereinafter Bohn) in view of Kim (US 20190041907 A1, hereinafter Kim), further in view of Kimmel (US 20060146488 A1, hereinafter Kimmel)
Claim 2. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, but fails to teach the first hinge is an in-fold type hinge, and the second hinge is an out-fold type hinge
Kimmel teaches a first hinge (bottom hinge of fig 12) is an in-fold type hinge, and the second hinge (top hinge of fig 12) is an out-fold type hinge (fig 12)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Kimmel into the device of Bohn in view of Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bohn in view of Kim in the above manner for the purpose of having a smaller width in the closed position.
Claim 3. Bohn in view of Kim further in view of Kimmel teaches the electronic device of claim 2, wherein a curvature of the flexible display corresponding to the first hinge is smaller than a curvature of the flexible display corresponding to the second hinge (Kimmel fig 12).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US 20120307472 A1, hereinafter Bohn) in view of Kim (US 20190041907 A1, hereinafter Kim), further in view of Watanabe ((US 20100319972 A1) , hereinafter Watanabe)
Claim 6. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, wherein , and the second connection member includes the coaxial cable (Kim 110).
However Bohn in view of Kim fails to teach the first connection member includes the FRC
Watanabe [0103] recites ‘In addition, the present invention can be applied to not only the flexible printed circuit (FPC) but also a rigid printed circuit (RPC) and a hybrid circuit board with the FRC and RPC that have a connection terminal for connection of a connector.’
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate a FRC as taught by Watanabe into the device of Bohn in view of Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bohn in view of Kim in the above manner for the purpose of saving money.
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US 20120307472 A1, hereinafter Bohn) in view of Kim (US 20190041907 A1, hereinafter Kim), further in view of Kim (US 20170346164 A1, hereinafter Kim’164)
Claim 12. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 11, but fails to specifically teach:
at least one antenna located inside the first housing, wherein a distance between the at least one antenna located inside the third housing and the communication circuit is greater than a distance between the at least one antenna located inside the first housing and the communication circuit
Kim’164 teaches at least one antenna located inside the first housing ([0240] recites ‘In a state where the first and second electronic devices overlap (as shown in FIG. 25B), at least one slot antenna provided in the first electronic device may be disposed to face each of at least one slot antenna provided in the second electronic device, or may be disposed in an overlapping manner’)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Kim’164 into the device of Bohn in view of Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bohn in view of Kim in the above manner for the purpose of having more antennas that would work in different frequency bands.
Regarding the limitation:
wherein a distance between the at least one antenna located inside the third housing and the communication circuit is greater than a distance between the at least one antenna located inside the first housing and the communication circuit
The combination of references teach these limitations since secondary reference Kim already teaches antennas 212, 214 that are farther away from the communication circuit than every part of housing 100.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US 20120307472 A1, hereinafter Bohn) in view of Kim (US 20190041907 A1, hereinafter Kim), further in view of Ochi (US 20130094161 A1, hereinafter Ochi)
Claim 9. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1, but fails to specifically teach:
a first fixing member to fix at least one connection member to a first housing at a position adjacent to a first hinge; and
a second fixing member to fix the at least one connection member to a second housing at a position adjacent to the first hinge ()
Ochi a first fixing member (40, fig 1) to fix at least one connection member (120) to a first housing (102) at a position adjacent to a first hinge (111); and
a second fixing member (unlabeled part within 103 that holds 120) to fix the at least one connection member (120) to a second housing (103) at a position adjacent to the first hinge (fig 1)
Claims 10, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bohn (US 20120307472 A1, hereinafter Bohn) in view of Kim (US 20190041907 A1, hereinafter Kim), further in view of Ochi (US 20130094161 A1, hereinafter Ochi), still further in view of Maatta (US 6308377 B1, hereinafter Maatta)
Claim 10. Bohn in view of Kim further in view of Ochi teaches electronic device of claim 9, but fails to specifically teach:
a third fixing member to fix the at least one connection member to the second housing at a position adjacent to the second hinge; and
a fourth fixing member to fix the at least one connection member to the third housing at a position adjacent to the second hinge
Maatta teaches a third fixing member (742 including the top of T3, fig 7) to fix at least one connection member (CBL) to a second housing (hinge housing in the middle of fig 7) at a position adjacent to a second hinge (H1); and
a fourth fixing member (bottom of T2) to fix the at least one connection member to a third housing (700) at a position adjacent to the second hinge (fig 7).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Maatta into the device of Bohn in view of Kim further in view of Ochi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bohn in view of Kim further in view of Ochi in the above manner for the purpose of providing protection for an antenna cable, hiding it, providing slack and preventing it from getting caught (Maatta col 6 lines 23-25).
Claim 15. Bohn in view of Kim teaches the electronic device of claim 1,
wherein the at least one connection member includes a coaxial cable (Kim 110), but fail to specifically teach that the electronic device further comprises:
a first fixing member to fix the coaxial cable to the first housing at a position adjacent to the first hinge,
a second fixing member to fix the coaxial cable to the second housing at a position adjacent to the first hinge,
a third fixing member to fix the coaxial cable to the second housing at a position adjacent to the second hinge, and
a fourth fixing member to fix the coaxial cable to the third housing at a position adjacent to the second hinge
Ochi teaches a first fixing member (40, fig 1) to fix a coaxial cable (120, [0003]) to a first housing (102) at a position adjacent to a first side of a first hinge (111),
a second fixing member (unlabeled part within 103 that holds 120) to fix the coaxial cable to a second housing (103) at a position adjacent to a second side of the first hinge (fig 1) opposite from the first side of the first hinge,
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Ochi into the device of Bohn in view of Kim. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bohn in view of Kim in the above manner for the purpose of electrically connecting circuit boards in different housings (Ochi [0004] recites ‘a connector 121 is connected to one end of the signal cable 120, and the connector 121 is connected to a connector 122 mounted on the second circuit board 106. Another identical connector 121 (not shown) is also connected to the other end of the signal cable 120 and the connector 121 is connected to a connector 122 (not shown) mounted on the first circuit board 105 in the first housing 101’).
However Ochi still fails to specifically teach:
a third fixing member to fix the coaxial cable to the second housing at a position adjacent to a first side of the second hinge, and
a fourth fixing member to fix the coaxial cable to a third housing at a position adjacent to a second side of the second hinge opposite from the first side of the second hinge
Maatta teaches a third fixing member (742 including the top of T3, fig 7) to fix a coaxial cable (CBL) to a second housing (hinge housing in the middle of fig 7) at a position adjacent to a first side of a second hinge (H1), and
a fourth fixing member (bottom of T2) to fix the coaxial cable to a third housing (700) at a position adjacent to a second side of the second hinge (fig 7) opposite from the first side of the second hinge (fig 7)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate the arrangement as taught by Maatta into the device of Bohn in view of Kim further in view of Ochi. The ordinary artisan would have been motivated to modify Bohn in view of Kim further in view of Ochi in the above manner for the purpose of providing protection for an antenna cable, hiding it, providing slack and preventing it from getting caught (Maatta col 6 lines 23-25).
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular elements, columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims above for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in their entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/24/2025 have been fully considered but they are not found persuasive. Applicant argues in response to claim 1:
‘First, Applicant submits that BOHN and KIM do not combine in a manner corresponding amended claim 1. In particular, Applicant submits that BOHN and KIM do not describe, in the context of the features of a first housing including a circuit board, a second housing, a third housing including at least one antenna, a first hinge connected to the first housing and the second housing, and a second hinge connected to the second housing and the third housing, the features "at least one connection member, electrically connecting the circuit board to the at least one antenna, passing through the first hinge, the second housing, and the second hinge," as recited in claim 1.
That is, in claim 1, the at least one connection member extends from the circuit board inside the first housing, through the first hinge, the second housing, and the second hinge, and is connected to the at least one antenna in the third housing. With respect to this feature, the Office relies on BOHN and KIM.’
However this is not exactly accurate since claim 1 is not this specific. Claim 1 does not specifically require for the at least one connection member extends from the circuit board inside the first housing, through the first hinge, the second housing, and the second hinge, and is connected to the at least one antenna in the third housing.
Instead claim 1 specifically requires at least one connection member that electrically connects the circuit board to the antenna (which Kim teaches).
Claim 1 also requires at least one connection member passes through first hinge, second housing, and second hinge (which Kim teaches).
Claim 1 does not specifically require a connection member to start at a first housing, pass through a first hinge, pass through a second housing and second hinge, pass through a third housing to an antenna, all in that order.
Instead claim 1 specifies that the at least one connection member includes first connection member corresponding to first hinge (which Kim teaches) and second connection member corresponding to second hinge (which Kim teaches).
Applicant further argues:
‘As seen above, the two connections through a same folding axis in KIM do not combine with the two separate hinges in BOHN as to describe an at least one connection member that extends from the circuit board inside the first housing, through the first hinge, the second housing, and the second hinge, and is connected to the at least one antenna in the third housing.
Rather, at best, the combination of KIM with BOHN would merely describes two connection members though one of the hinges of BOHN.’
Kim teaches a motherboard in the middle with a coaxial cable connected to a hinge, electrically connected to an antenna through an FPCB in another housing. Kim teaches that motherboard connected to another coaxial cable on the other side with another hinge, FPCB, antenna in a mirror relationship.
A modification to Bohn in view of Kim would present no difficulty whether the two hinges are in the same axis of Kim or not.
Applicant further argues:
‘Accordingly, the relationship with the hinges and the at least one connection member as mapped by the Office is different from that set forth in amended claim 1.
Thus, BOHN and KIM do not describe, in the context of the features of a first housing including a circuit board, a second housing, a third housing including at least one antenna, a first hinge connected to the first housing and the second housing, and a second hinge connected to the second housing and the third housing, the features "at least one connection member, electrically connecting the circuit board to the at least one antenna, passing through the first hinge, the second housing, and the second hinge," as recited in claim 1.’
As explained above, claim 1 is broader than Applicants have argued and the mappings match the limitations of claim 1.
Applicant further argues:
‘However, as discusses above, each of the first connection and second connections described in KIM includes a coaxial cable 110 connected to the circuit board in the first housing, that passes through the first hinge and connects to a flexible printed circuit board 210 in the second housing, with the flexible printed circuit board 210 connecting to an antenna. Thus, KIM describes that the first connection and second connections, located at positions corresponding to a same hinge, include different runs of a same coaxial cable 110. KIM is silent with respect to the physical properties of the coaxial cable 110, let alone that the coaxial cable 110 used for each the first connection and second connections, located at positions corresponding to a same hinge, having respective first and second physical properties (i.e., different physical properties).’
Kim teaches two coaxial cables 110 and two FPCBs 210, and two hinges. One instance of 110 corresponding to a first hinge is electrically connected to the instance of 210 corresponding to a second hinge since they different sides are connected to the same motherboard. The thickness of 210 is different from the thickness of 110 as shown in the rejections above.
Applicant further argues:
‘For example, with respect to claim 4, Applicant urges that BOHN and KIM do not describe the features "wherein the first connection member includes a different one among the PCB, the FPCB, the FRC, or the coaxial cable than the second connection member includes."
With respect to Applicant's claimed first and second connection members, the Office relied on KIM's first connection and second connections, located at positions corresponding to a same hinge, that are different runs of a same coaxial cable 110. Thus, KIM merely describes that both first connection and second connections, located at positions corresponding to a same hinge, are a coaxial cable. It was conceded that BOHN does not describe Applicant's claimed first and second connection members.
Thus, KIM do not describe the features "wherein the first connection member includes a different one among the PCB, the FPCB, the FRC, or the coaxial cable than the second connection member includes," as recited in claim 4.’
However the first connection is mapped to FPCB 210 while the second connection is mapped to coaxial cable 110.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DOUGLAS R BURTNER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2841
/ROCKSHANA D CHOWDHURY/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2841