Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, and 4-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2014-124482A refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), in view of Ito et. al. (JP 2020-037088, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 1, Takada teaches an apparatus for producing pure water comprising:
a first membrane (RO membrane module 12) that is connected to a point of use (L1) and that supplies pure water to the point of use;
a first concentrated water return line (L4) that returns concentrated water of the first membrane (12) to an upstream side of the first membrane (refer fig. 1);
a pressure gauge (14) that measures pressure of permeated water of the first membrane (12) (refer paragraph starting with “Moreover, the pressure sensor…” on page 3); and
a first valve (V4) for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water.
Takada teaches that the opening degree of the valve V4 can be adjusted by the control device 15 using the output of the pressure sensor 14 (refer page 7). Tadaka also indicates that permeate output pressure and flow rate is monitored to maintain desired supply of water at sufficient temperature and flow rate to each part of the pure water production device (refer page 4). Therefore, Tadaka indicates controlling flow rate of concentrate by controlling valve V4 on concentrate line based on pressure of permeate line.
Tadaka does not teach use of ultrafiltration membrane to generate pure/ultrapure water. However, use of ultrafiltration membrane to generate pure/ultrapure water is known in the art. Ito teaches an apparatus for producing ultrapure water comprising: a first ultrafiltration membrane (6) that is connected to a point of use (refer POU) and that supplies ultrapure water to the point of use.
It would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to use ultrafiltration membrane in the apparatus of Takada because Ito establishes that it is well known in the art to use ultrafiltration membrane to generate ultrapure water.
Regarding claim 2, regarding the limitation “wherein the predetermined range is within 0.02 MPa, or within 5% of an operation pressure the permeated water of the first ultrafiltration membrane”, "[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). Selecting the pressure would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art.
Regarding claim 4, modified Tadaka teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Tadaka further teaches that the first valve (V4) is provided on the first concentrated water return line (Refer fig. 1).
Regarding claim 5, modified Tadaka teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Tadaka further teaches that the apparatus further comprising a pump (P2) that is positioned upstream of the first ultrafiltration membrane (12), wherein the control section controls the pump based on the pressure of the permeated water that is measured by the pressure gauge such that the change in the pressure of the permeated water of the first ultrafiltration membrane is kept within the predetermined range (refer Page 3 – paragraph starting with “The pure water…”).
Claim(s) 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2014-124482A, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), in view of Maiya et al. (US 2021/0260530A1).
Regarding claim 6, Takada teaches an apparatus for producing pure water comprising:
a first membrane (RO membrane module 12) that is connected to a point of use (L1) and that supplies pure water to the point of use;
a first concentrated water return line (L4) that returns concentrated water of the first membrane (12) to an upstream side of the first membrane (refer fig. 1);
a pressure gauge (14) that measures pressure of permeated water of the first membrane (12) (refer paragraph starting with “Moreover, the pressure sensor…” on page 3); and
a first valve (V4) for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water,
a pure water return line (L7) that is connected to the first membrane (12) and that allows pure water that passes through the first membrane to bypass the point of use and to return to an upstream side of the first membrane (refer fig. 1); and
a second valve (V7) that is provided on the pure water return line (L7). Tadaka also indicates that permeate output pressure and flow rate is monitored to maintain desired supply of water at sufficient temperature and flow rate to each part of the pure water production device (refer page 4). Therefore, Tadaka indicates controlling flow rate of concentrate by controlling valve V4 on concentrate line based on pressure of permeate line.
Takada does not teach that the control section that controls operation of the second valve for adjusting the flow rate of ultrapure water such that a change in the pressure of the permeate water of the first UF membrane that is measured by the pressure gauge is kept withing a predetermined range. Takada also does not teach using ultrafiltration membrane to generate pure/ultrapure water.
Maiya teaches a filtration system comprising a filter unit (20) producing a permeate and concentrate (Refer fig. 1); permeate output line comprising pressure gauge (72), flow sensor (70), permeate pressure control valve (44); and concentrate output line comprises pressure sensor (82), flow sensor (80), and concentrate pressure control valve (52). Maiya also teaches a control unit (86) monitoring and controlling flow and pressure through the system. Maiya teaches that permeate pressure control valve (44) is modulated to control pressure in the permeate output line (Refer [0016]). Maiya also teaches that most common membrane filtration processes are microfiltration (MF), ultrafiltration (UF), and reverse osmosis (RO) (Refer [0003]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the apparatus of Tadaka to include permeate pressure control valve to control pressure of the permeate line using control unit as taught by Maiya. Selecting whether to use ultrafiltration membrane would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to achieve desired quality of water.
Claim(s) 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2014-124482A, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), in view of Ito et. al. (JP 2020-037088, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), Anfray et al. (US 2019/0168166), and Yoneda et al. (US 2007/0295650).
Regarding claim 7, Takada teaches an apparatus for producing pure water comprising:
a first membrane (RO membrane module 12) that is connected to a point of use (L1) and that supplies pure water to the point of use;
a first concentrated water return line (L4) that returns concentrated water of the first membrane (12) to an upstream side of the first membrane (refer fig. 1);
a pressure gauge (14) that measures pressure of permeated water of the first membrane (12) (refer paragraph starting with “Moreover, the pressure sensor…” on page 3); and
a third valve (V4) for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water, the third valve (V4) is provided on the first concentrate water return line (L4);
and a fourth valve (v3) provided on a second concentrated water line (L3).
Takada teaches that the opening degree of the valve V4 can be adjusted by the control device 15 using the output of the pressure sensor 14 (refer page 7). Tadaka also indicates that permeate output pressure and flow rate is monitored to maintain desired supply of water at sufficient temperature and flow rate to each part of the pure water production device (refer page 4). Therefore, Tadaka indicates controlling flow rate of concentrate by controlling valve V4 on concentrate line based on pressure of permeate line.
Tadaka does not teach use of ultrafiltration membrane to generate pure/ultrapure water. However, use of ultrafiltration membrane to generate pure/ultrapure water is known in the art. Ito teaches an apparatus for producing ultrapure water comprising: a first ultrafiltration membrane (6) that is connected to a point of use (refer POU) and that supplies ultrapure water to the point of use.
It would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to use ultrafiltration membrane in the apparatus of Takada because Ito establishes that it is well known in the art to use ultrafiltration membrane to generate ultrapure water.
Modified Takada does not teach a second concentrated water return line that branches from the first concentrated water return line and that returns the concentrated water of the first ultrafiltration membrane to an upstream side of a point to which the permeated water of the first ultrafiltration membrane is returned; a fine particle detector provided at least at an inlet or at an outlet the first ultrafiltration membrane, and a third valve for adjusting the flow rate of the concentrated water and a fourth valve for adjusting the flow rate of the concentrated water, wherein the third valve is provided on the first concentrated water return line downstream of a branching point of the second concentrated water return line, and the fourth valve is provided on the second concentrated water return line and the third valve and the fourth valve adjusts flow rate of the concentrated water that flows in the second concentrated water return line.
Anfray teaches a water filtration system comprising a membrane (5) having a feed pump (3) supplying water to the membrane, a permeate outlet, a plurality of concentrate return lines (refer 10 and 10’), a plurality of permeate return lines (8 and 8’) and a plurality of valves (refer 7, 7’, 9, 9’) controlling flow through the concentrate and permeate return lines (refer fig. 1). The plurality of concentrate return line comprises a first concentrate return line 10’ having a valve (9’) that returns concentrate to the feed at a point downstream of a permeate return line (refer fig. 1), and a second concentrate return line (10) comprising a valve (9) that returns concentrate to the feed at a point upstream of permeate return line (refer fig. 1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the apparatus of modified Tadaka to include a second concentrated water return line that branches from the first concentrated water return line and that returns the concentrated water of the first ultrafiltration membrane to an upstream side of a point to which the permeated water of the first ultrafiltration membrane is returned; and a third valve for adjusting the flow rate of the concentrated water and a fourth valve for adjusting the flow rate of the concentrated water, wherein the third valve is provided on the first concentrated water return line downstream of a branching point of the second concentrated water return line, and the fourth valve is provided on the second concentrated water return line and the third valve and the fourth valve adjusts flow rate of the concentrated water that flows in the second concentrated water return line to recycle retentate as taught by Anfray. Providing valves and pumps to enable routing of liquid through the system would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art. Tadaka indicates that permeate output pressure and flow rate is monitored to maintain desired supply of water at sufficient temperature and flow rate to each part of the pure water production device (refer page 4). Therefore, Tadaka indicates controlling flow rate of concentrate by controlling valve V4 on concentrate line based on pressure of permeate line. Controlling the fourth valve would have been obvious to one control permeate pressure because Takada discloses controlling the third valve to control permeate pressure and both, third and fourth, valves are provided on the concentrate lines. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in controlling concentrate flow rate to control permeate pressure.
Modified Takada does not teach that the system comprises a fine particle detector that is provided at least at an inlet or at an outlet of the first ultrafiltration membrane.
Yoneda also teaches a water quality sensor (8) connected to inlet of the UF membrane (3), the water quality sensor (8) is connected to the controller (30), and wherein the water quality sensor 8 is a conductivity sensor for measuring the conductivity of the feed water, a hardness sensor for measuring the concentration of hardness components contained in the feed water, a silica sensor for measuring the concentration of silica contained in the feed water, or a turbidity sensor for measuring the concentration of suspended matter contained in the feed water (refer [0025]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the system of modified Takada to include a fine particle detector that is provided at least at an inlet or at an outlet of the first ultrafiltration membrane for measuring water quality as taught by Yoneda.
Claim(s) 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2014-124482A refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), in view of Ito et. al. (JP 2020-037088, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), and Ladha et al. (US 4000065).
Regarding claim 9, Takada teaches an apparatus for producing pure water comprising:
a first membrane (RO membrane module 12) that is connected to a point of use (L1) and that supplies pure water to the point of use;
a first concentrated water return line (L4) that returns concentrated water of the first membrane (12) to an upstream side of the first membrane (refer fig. 1); and
a pressure gauge (14) that measures pressure of permeated water of the first membrane (12) (refer paragraph starting with “Moreover, the pressure sensor…” on page 3).
Takada teaches that the opening degree of the valve V4 can be adjusted by the control device 15 using the output of the pressure sensor 14 (refer page 7). Tadaka also indicates that permeate output pressure and flow rate is monitored to maintain desired supply of water at sufficient temperature and flow rate to each part of the pure water production device (refer page 4). Therefore, Tadaka indicates controlling flow rate of concentrate by controlling valve V4 on concentrate line based on pressure of permeate line.
Tadaka does not teach use of ultrafiltration membrane to generate pure/ultrapure water. However, use of ultrafiltration membrane to generate pure/ultrapure water is known in the art. Ito teaches an apparatus for producing ultrapure water comprising: a first ultrafiltration membrane (6) that is connected to a point of use (refer POU) and that supplies ultrapure water to the point of use.
It would have been an obvious matter of choice to one of ordinary skill in the art to use ultrafiltration membrane in the apparatus of Takada because Ito establishes that it is well known in the art to use ultrafiltration membrane to generate ultrapure water.
Modified Takada does not teach that the system further comprising: a second ultrafiltration membrane that is provided on the first concentrated water return line, that filters the concentrated water of the first ultrafiltration membrane, and that returns permeated water to an upstream side of the first ultrafiltration membrane; a third concentrated water return line that returns concentrated water of the second ultrafiltration membrane to an upstream side of a point to which the permeated water is returned; and a fifth valve for adjusting the flow rate of the concentrated water that is provided on the third concentrated water return line.
Ladha teaches a water treatment system comprising a first membrane module (RO unit) producing a permeate (RO permeate) and a concentrate (RO concentrate) from a feed (contaminated water), wherein the concentrate (RO concentrate) is returned to an upstream side of the first membrane module (refer 14 returning RO concentrate), wherein the concentrate (RO concentrated) is treated with a second membrane module (UF unit) prior to returning to the upstream side of the first membrane module (refer fig. 1). Fig. 3 of Ladha teaches a similar configuration using two UF modules.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the system of modified Takada to provide a second ultrafiltration membrane that is provided on the first concentrated water return line, that filters the concentrated water of the first ultrafiltration membrane, and that returns permeated water to an upstream side of the first ultrafiltration membrane; a third concentrated water return line that returns concentrated water of the second ultrafiltration membrane to an upstream side of a point to which the permeated water is returned to further treat the concentrated water prior to returning it to the upstream side of the first membrane module as taught by Ladha. Providing valves and pumps to enable routing/controlling of liquid through the system would have been an obvious matter of design choice to one of ordinary skill in the art. Tadaka indicates that permeate output pressure and flow rate is monitored to maintain desired supply of water at sufficient temperature and flow rate to each part of the pure water production device (refer page 4). Therefore, Tadaka indicates controlling flow rate of concentrate by controlling valve on concentrate line based on pressure of permeate line. Controlling the fifth valve would have been obvious to one control permeate pressure because Takada discloses controlling the concentrate valve to control permeate pressure. One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in controlling concentrate flow rate to control permeate pressure.
Claim(s) 10 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2014-124482A refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), in view of Ito et. al. (JP 2020-037088, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), and Ladha et al. (US 4000065) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Ichihara et al. (US 2019/0217250).
Regarding claim 10, modified Takada teaches limitations of claim 9 as set forth above. Modified Takada does not teach that the apparatus comprises another first ultrafiltration membrane that is connected to the point of use, that is provided in parallel with the first ultrafiltration membrane, and that supplies ultrapure water to the point of use, wherein the concentrated water of the first ultrafiltration membrane and concentrated water of the another first ultrafiltration membrane are supplied to the second ultrafiltration membrane.
Ichihara teaches an ultrapure water production apparatus (fig. 3) comprising a plurality of UF membrane modules (11) connected in parallel that supplies ultrapure water to a point of use.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the system of modified Takada to provide another first ultrafiltration membrane that is connected to the point of use, that is provided in parallel with the first ultrafiltration membrane, and that supplies ultrapure water to the point of use as taught by Ichihara because Ichihara establishes that it is known in the art to use parallel configuration.
Claim(s) 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2014-124482A refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), in view of Ito et. al. (JP 2020-037088, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Takahiro (JP 6512322, refer attached English language machine translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 11, modified Takada teaches limitations of claim 1 as set forth above. Modified Takada does not teach that the control section controls a speed of operation of the fifth valve for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water.
Takahiro teaches water production apparatus comprising RO membrane, wherein backpressure valves is controller slowly to control overconcentration to prevent decrease in permeation flux (refer page 3, page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the apparatus of modified Takada to control a speed of operation of the fifth valve for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water to control overconcentration to prevent decrease in permeation flux as taught by Takahiro.
Claim(s) 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2014-124482A, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), in view of Maiya et al. (US 2021/0260530A1) as applied to claim 6 above, and further in view of Takahiro (JP 6512322, refer attached English language machine translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 12, modified Takada teaches limitations of claim 6 as set forth above. Modified Takada does not teach that the control section controls a speed of operation of the fifth valve for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water.
Takahiro teaches water production apparatus comprising RO membrane, wherein backpressure valves is controller slowly to control overconcentration to prevent decrease in permeation flux (refer page 3, page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the apparatus of modified Takada to control a speed of operation of the fifth valve for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water to control overconcentration to prevent decrease in permeation flux as taught by Takahiro.
Claim(s) 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2014-124482A, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), in view of Ito et. al. (JP 2020-037088, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), Anfray et al. (US 2019/0168166), and Yoneda et al. (US 2007/0295650) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Takahiro (JP 6512322, refer attached English language machine translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 13, modified Takada teaches limitations of claim 7 as set forth above. Modified Takada does not teach that the control section controls a speed of operation of the fifth valve for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water.
Takahiro teaches water production apparatus comprising RO membrane, wherein backpressure valves is controller slowly to control overconcentration to prevent decrease in permeation flux (refer page 3, page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the apparatus of modified Takada to control a speed of operation of the fifth valve for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water to control overconcentration to prevent decrease in permeation flux as taught by Takahiro.
Claim(s) 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Takada (JP 2014-124482A refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), in view of Ito et. al. (JP 2020-037088, refer English language machine translation for claim mapping), and Ladha et al. (US 4000065) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Takahiro (JP 6512322, refer attached English language machine translation for claim mapping).
Regarding claim 14, modified Takada teaches limitations of claim 9 as set forth above. Modified Takada does not teach that the control section controls a speed of operation of the fifth valve for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water.
Takahiro teaches water production apparatus comprising RO membrane, wherein backpressure valves is controller slowly to control overconcentration to prevent decrease in permeation flux (refer page 3, page 4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of invention to modify the apparatus of modified Takada to control a speed of operation of the fifth valve for adjusting flow rate of the concentrated water to control overconcentration to prevent decrease in permeation flux as taught by Takahiro.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 05/07/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argued that “the rationale of the rejection overstates what Takada actually teaches. As pointed out the in rationale itself, Takada adjust its valves "using the output of pressure sensor 14". That is a generic teaching of pressure control, but does not teach or suggest the specific perimeter of change in pressure control as recited in claim 1. Controlling based on a measured pressure is fundamentally different from constraining the magnitude of pressure variation. For example, a valve may maintain a fixed flow rate once a threshold pressure is reached, regardless of whether the pressure is increasing, decreasing, or constant. In contrast, the claimed invention requires that the control action be triggered by or based on a variation in pressure, which requires additional structure or logic ( e.g., differential sensing, temporal comparison, or derivative-based control) not disclosed in the reference.”
This is not found to be persuasive because Takada teaches that the opening degree of the valve V4 can be adjusted by the control device 15 using the output of the pressure sensor 14 (refer page 7). Tadaka also indicates that permeate output pressure and flow rate is monitored to maintain desired supply of water at sufficient temperature and flow rate to each part of the pure water production device (refer page 4). Therefore, Tadaka indicates controlling flow rate of concentrate by controlling valve V4 on concentrate line based on pressure of permeate line.
Conclusion
/PRANAV N PATEL/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1777