DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1 – 3, 10 – 19, and 22) drawn to a pharmaceutical composition comprising: A) an SV2A inhibitor, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, solvate, isomer, or polymorph thereof; B) a GABAA α5 receptor agonist, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, solvate, isomer, or polymorph thereof; and C) a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier and the species election of
in the reply filed on February 9th, 2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 57, 63, 65 – 67, and 70 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group II (a method of treating cognitive impairment associated with a central nervous system (CNS) disorder), there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on February 9th, 2026.
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 19, 22, 57, 63, 65 – 67, and 70 are currently pending in the application. However, due to a restriction requirement, claims 57, 63, 65 – 67, and 70 are withdrawn from further consideration and claims 1 – 3, 10 – 19, and 22, are being examined on the merits herein.
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because it contains an embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code. Applicant is required to delete the embedded hyperlink and/or other form of browser-executable code; references to websites should be limited to the top-level domain name without any prefix such as http:// or other browser-executable code. See MPEP § 608.01.
Claim Objections
Claims 12 – 16 are objected to because of the following informalities: period marks included within the body of the claim. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 13 is objected to because of the following informalities: still contains the strike through of which was already presented in the claim set dated July 24th, 2023. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 15 is objected to because of the following informalities: appears to contain a hyphen in between the words “Form E” and “exhibiting” in line 3. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 16 is objected to because of the following informalities: missing the word “claim” before the number “11” in line 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, and 17 – 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023) in view of US Patent No. US 8604075 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (here in after Gallagher’075; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023).
Regarding claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, and 17 – 22, Mekonnen’268 teach compounds, compositions, and methods for the treating cognitive impairment associated with central nervous system, (CNS) disorders cognitive impairment associated with brain cancers, and brain cancers in a subject in need thereof (page 1 paragraph 0003). Additionally, Mekonnen’268 teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising a compound of formula I:
(page 1 paragraph 0011) a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, solvate, polymorph, isomer, or combination thereof (page 17 paragraph 0418) as GABAA α5 receptor positive allosteric modulators (page 17 paragraph 0419). More specifically, Mekonnen’268 teach compound 606 5-((3-chloro-7-(methoxymethyl)-9Hbenzo[f]imidazo[ 1,5-a] [1,2,4]triazolo[ 4,3-d] [1,4]diazepin-1 0-yl)ethynyl)-2-methoxythiazole of the structure
(claims 2, 10 – 11, and 17) (page 240 paragraph 2094). Moreover, Mekonnen’268 teach embodiments wherein the dose of compounds of the disclosure, which include compound 606, is between 0.007 and 7000 mg/day (page 134 paragraph 1362). While instant claim 18 recite doses between 5 mg and 1000 mg (claim 18) instant claim doses fall within the range taught by the prior art of Mekonnen’268. Thus in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(MPEP 2144.05(I)). Furthermore, Mekonnen’268 teach that the compounds and compositions of the disclosure, which includes compound 606, may be administered for slow, controlled or extended release form (claim 22) (page 133 paragraph 1359). Additionally, Mekonnen’268 teach embodiments wherein the compositions of the disclosure which includes compounds of the disclosure, which further includes compound 66, can also include other therapeutically useful agents (page 134 paragraph 1366).
While the prior art of Mekonnen’268 does teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising GABAA α5 receptor agonist, other therapeutically useful agents, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier; Mekonnen’268 does explicitly state an SV2A inhibitor (claim 1) wherein the SV2A inhibitor is levetiracetam (claim 3). Moreover, Mekonnen’268 fails to teach the administration of the SV2A inhibitor in an amount between 0.07 mg to 350 mg (claim 19).
Nevertheless, Gallagher’075 teach a method for treating age-related cognitive impairment in a subject in need or at risk thereof, the method comprising the step of administering to said subject a therapeutically effective amount of a synaptic vesicle protein 2A (SV2A) inhibitor or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof (column 1 lines 20 – 25). Moreover, Gallagher’075 teach embodiments wherein the SV2A inhibitor is administered 7 to 350 mg/day (column 61 lines 4 – 6). While instant claim 19 recite doses between 0.07 mg to 350 mg (claim 19) instant claim doses fall within the range taught by the prior art of Gallagher’075. Thus in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990)(MPEP 2144.05(I)).
Moreover, Gallagher’075 teach in example 2 the administration of the SV2A inhibitor levetiracetam (claim 3) at 5 m/kg/day and 10 mg/kg/day in 6 Age-Impaired (AI) Long-Evans rats through intraperitoneal (i.p.) injection (column 67 lines 1 – 6 and 12 – 24). Furthermore, Gallagher’075 teach that for the AI rats that received the 10 mg/kg/day dose demonstrated significantly improved memory as compared to vehicle-treated controls (column 68 lines 3 – 6).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the composition of Mekonnen’268 comprising GABAA α5 receptor agonist, other therapeutically useful agents, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier in view of Gallagher’075, that is for a composition further comprising an SV2A inhibitor wherein the SV2A inhibitor is levetiracetam. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this motivation because the prior art of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 taught that both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam separately were useful in method of treating cognitive impairment associated. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a composition comprising both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam would at least be as effective as a separate compositions.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 10159648 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (herein after Gallagher’648; cited on the IDS dated September 12th, 2023) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023) and US Patent No. US 8604075 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (here in after Gallagher’075; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023).
Gallagher’648 recite an extended release pharmaceutical composition comprising levetiracetam (instant claim 3), wherein the composition provides a steady state plasma concentration of levetiracetam in a subject of between 1.9 μg/ml and 4.4 μg/ml within 3 hours after administration and extending for at least 8 hours of a 24-hour period after said administration (reference claim 1).
However, Gallagher’648 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist (instant claim 1).
The teachings of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the composition of Gallagher’648 comprising levetiracetam in view of Mekonnen’268, that is to further include a GABAA α5 receptor agonist, and in further view of Gallagher’075 to administer the levetiracetam between 0.07 mg to 350 mg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this motivation because the prior art of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 taught that both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam separately were useful in method of treating cognitive impairment associated. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a composition comprising both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam would at least be as effective as a separate compositions.
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of U.S. Patent No. US 8604075 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (herein after Gallagher’075; cited on the IDS dated September 12th, 2023) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023).
Gallagher’075 recite a method for treating age-related cognitive impairment in a human subject in need thereof, the method comprising the step of administering to said human subject levetiracetam (instant claim 1) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof at a daily dose of 125-250 mg (reference claims 1, 7, and 13; instant claim 19).
However, Gallagher’075 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist (instant claim 1).
The teachings of Mekonnen’268 as it relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the composition of Gallagher’075 comprising levetiracetam in view of Mekonnen’268, that is to further include a GABAA α5 receptor agonist. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this motivation because the prior art of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 taught that both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam separately were useful in method of treating cognitive impairment associated. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a composition comprising both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam would at least be as effective as a separate compositions.
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 4 of U.S. Patent No. US 10925834 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (herein after Gallagher’834; cited on the IDS dated September 12th, 2023) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023) and US Patent No. US 8604075 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (here in after Gallagher’075; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023).
Gallagher’834 recite an extended release pharmaceutical composition comprising levetiracetam (instant claim 3), wherein the composition provides a steady state plasma concentration of levetiracetam in a subject of between 1.9 μg/ml and 4.4 μg/ml within 3 hours after administration and extending for at least 8 hours of a 24-hour period after said administration (reference claim 1).
However, Gallagher’834 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist (instant claim 1).
The teachings of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the composition of Gallagher’834 comprising levetiracetam in view of Mekonnen’268, that is to further include a GABAA α5 receptor agonist, and in further view of Gallagher’075 to administer the levetiracetam between 0.07 mg to 350 mg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this motivation because the prior art of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 taught that both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam separately were useful in method of treating cognitive impairment associated. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a composition comprising both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam would at least be as effective as a separate compositions.
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 3, and 7 – 8, and 22 of U.S. Patent No. US 11414425 to Mekonnen et. al. (herein after Mekonnen’425) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023) and US Patent No. US 8604075 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (here in after Gallagher’075; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023).
Mekonnen’425 recite a compound of formula XI:
(reference claim 1 – 3, and 6). More specifically, Mekonnen’425 recite the compound of (reference) claim 1 which is
(reference claim 8 and 26; instant claims 1 – 2, and 10 – 11). Additionally, Mekonnen’425 recite a pharmaceutical composition (reference claim 27) comprising a compound according to any one of (reference) claims 1, 2, 7 or 8, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, isomer, or combination thereof, in a therapeutically effective amount; and an acceptable carrier, adjuvant or vehicle (reference claim 9; instant claim 1).
However, Gallagher’834 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist (instant claim 1).
The teachings of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the composition of Gallagher’834 comprising levetiracetam in view of Mekonnen’268, that is to further include a GABAA α5 receptor agonist, and in further view of Gallagher’075 to administer the levetiracetam between 0.07 mg to 350 mg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this motivation because the prior art of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 taught that both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam separately were useful in method of treating cognitive impairment associated. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a composition comprising both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam would at least be as effective as a separate compositions.
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 6, and 8 – 9, and 26 of U.S. Patent No. US 12291535 to Mekonnen et. al. (herein after Mekonnen’535) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023) and US Patent No. US 8604075 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (here in after Gallagher’075; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023).
Mekonnen’268 recite a compound of formula X:
(reference claim 1 - 6). More specifically, Mekonnen’268 recite the compound of (reference) claim 1 which is
(reference claim 8 and 26; instant claims 1 – 2, and 10 – 11). Additionally, Mekonnen’425 recite a pharmaceutical composition (reference) claim 1 comprising a compound according to (reference) claim 1, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, isomer, or combination thereof, in a therapeutically effective amount; and an acceptable carrier, adjuvant or vehicle (reference claim 9; instant claim 1).
However, Mekonnen’425 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist (instant claim 1).
The teachings of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the composition of Mekonnen’425 comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist in view of Mekonnen’268, at the dose recited, and in further view of Gallagher’075 to administer the levetiracetam between 0.07 mg to 350 mg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this motivation because the prior art of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 taught that both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam separately were useful in method of treating cognitive impairment associated. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a composition comprising both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam would at least be as effective as a separate compositions.
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 57, 63, 67, and 70 of copending Application No. App. 17/372405 to Gallagher et. al. (herein after Gallagher’405).
Gallagher’405 recite a method of treating cognitive impairment associated with a central nervous system (CNS) disorder in a subject in need or at risk thereof, the method comprising administering to the subject a combination comprising: Component A: levetiracetam (instant claim 3), or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, solvate, isomer, or polymorph thereof, or a first pharmaceutical composition comprising the levetiracetam, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, solvate, polymorph or isomer thereof, the levetiracetam being present in Component A in an amount between 0.07 mg to 350 mg (instant claim 19); Component B: a GAB AA a5 receptor agonist having the formula
(instant claim 1 – 2, 10 – 11, and 17) or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, solvate, isomer, or polymorph thereof, or a second pharmaceutical composition comprising the GABAA a5 receptor agonist, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, solvate, polymorph or isomer thereof, the GABAA a5 receptor agonist being present in Component B in the amount between 5 mg to 1000 mg (instant claim 18) ; and wherein one or both of the first pharmaceutical composition or the second pharmaceutical composition further comprise a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (reference claim 57; instant claim 1).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 12, 17 – 19, and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 2, and 44 – 45 of copending Application No. 18/015445 to Gandla et. al. (herein after Gandla’445) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023) and US Patent No. US 8604075 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (here in after Gallagher’075; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023).
Gandla’445 recite a crystalline form of a compound having the structure
wherein the crystalline form is Form A (reference claim 1; instant claims 1 – 2, 10 – 12). Moreover, Gandla’445 recite the crystalline form according to (reference claim 1) wherein the crystalline form is anhydrous Form A, wherein said Perm A is anhydrous and is characterized by one or more of: (a) an X-ray diffraction pattern (XRPD) comprising at least one peak selected from 3.0 and 21.0 degrees 2θ ± 0.2 degrees 2θ (instant claim 12); (b) a C2/c single crystal x-ray diffraction space group;(c) a single crystal x-ray diffraction unit cell having the parameters: a= 58.1415(14) A, b = 4.03974(8) A, c = 17.1204(3) A, α= 90°, β= 90.261(2)0, γ = 90°, V = 4021.15(14) Å3 ; and (d) a differential scanning calorimetry (DSC) curve having an exotherm with an onset at about 207°C (reference claim 2). Furthermore, Gandla’445 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising the crystalline Form A of the compound according to (reference) claim 1, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (reference claim 44; instant claim 1) and further comprising one or more additional pharmaceutical compositions comprising one or more therapeutic agents selected from the group consisting of an antipsychotic, memantine, an SV2A inhibitor (instant claims 1 and 3), and an AChEI, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, solvate, polymorph or prodrug of any of the foregoing (reference claim 45).
However, Gandla’445 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist and a SV2A inhibitor wherein the SV2inhibitor is levetiracetam (instant claim 3).
The teachings of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the composition of Gandla’445 comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist in view of Mekonnen’268, at the dose recited, and in further view of Gallagher’075 to administer the levetiracetam between 0.07 mg to 350 mg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this motivation because the prior art of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 taught that both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam separately were useful in method of treating cognitive impairment associated. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a composition comprising both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam would at least be as effective as a separate compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of copending Application No. 18/411753 to Mohs (herein after Mohs’753) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023) and US Patent No. US 8604075 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (here in after Gallagher’075; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023).
Mohs’753 a method of preventing or slowing the progression of cognitive impairment or preventing the development or reducing the rate of cognitive decline in an APOE4 non-carrier subject, the method comprising administering to the subject one or more of levetiracetam (instant claim 3), brivaracetam or seletracetam, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein the levetiracetam, brivaracetam or seletracetam are administered at a daily dose of 0.7-350 mg (instant claim 19), or comprising administering to the subject a pharmaceutical composition comprising the daily dose of the levetiracetam, brivaracetam or seletracetam, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, and a pharmaceutically acceptable carrier (reference claim 1).
However, Mohs’753 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist (instant claim 1).
The teachings of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the method of Mohs’753 comprising levetiracetam in view of Mekonnen’268, that is to further include a GABAA α5 receptor agonist, and in further view of Gallagher’075 to administer the levetiracetam between 0.07 mg to 350 mg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this motivation because the prior art of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 taught that both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam separately were useful in method of treating cognitive impairment associated. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a composition comprising both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam would at least be as effective as a separate compositions.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 6 – 9 of U.S. Patent No. US 10624875 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (herein after Gallagher’875) in view of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023) and US Patent No. US 8604075 B2 to Gallagher et. al. (here in after Gallagher’075; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023).
Gallagher’875 recite a pharmaceutical composition comprising an SV2A inhibitor (instant claim 1) and an antipsychotic or their pharmaceutically acceptable salts, hydrates, solvates, polymorphs or prodrugs, wherein the SV2A inhibitor in the composition is present: a) in an amount of 0.07-350 mg (instant claim 19); b) in an amount of 50-250 mg; c) in an amount of 3-50 mg; or d) in an amount less than 350 mg, less than 250 mg, less than 200 mg, less than 150 mg, less than 100 mg, less than 50 mg, less than 10 mg, less than 5 mg, less than 1 mg, less than 0.5 mg, less than 0.1 mg, or less than 0.07 mg (reference claim 6); wherein the Moreover, both the invention of Gallagher’875 and the instant application direct to a pharmaceutical composition wherein the composition is in a solid form, a liquid form, a suspension form, a sustained release form, a delayed release form, or an extended release form (reference claim 8; instant claim 22); and wherein the SV2A inhibitor is selected from the group consisting of levetiracetam, brivaracetam and seletracetam (instant claims 3) and derivatives analogs pharmaceutically acceptable salts, hydrates, solvates, polymorphs and prodrugs thereof (reference claim 9).
However, Gallagher’875 fails to recite a pharmaceutical composition further comprising a GABAA α5 receptor agonist (instant claim 1).
The teachings of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 as they relate to the prior art rejections of instant claims 1 – 3, 10 – 11, 17 – 19, and 22, are given previously in this office action and are fully incorporated here.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the instant application to modify the composition of Gallagher’875 comprising levetiracetam in view of Mekonnen’268, that is to further include a GABAA α5 receptor agonist, and in further view of Gallagher’075 to administer the levetiracetam between 0.07 mg to 350 mg. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this motivation because the prior art of Mekonnen’268 and Gallagher’075 taught that both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam separately were useful in method of treating cognitive impairment associated. Thus one of ordinary skill in the art would have a reasonable expectation that a composition comprising both the GABAA α5 receptor agonist and levetiracetam would at least be as effective as a separate compositions.
Discussion of the Prior art
The closet prior art of US Patent Application Publication Number US 2020/0048268 A1 to Mekonnen et.al. (herein after Mekonnen’268; cited on the IDS submitted September 12th, 2023) teach compounds, compositions, and methods for the treating cognitive impairment associated with central nervous system, (CNS) disorders cognitive impairment associated with brain cancers, and brain cancers in a subject in need thereof (page 1 paragraph 0003). Additionally, Mekonnen’268 teach pharmaceutical compositions comprising a compound of formula I:
(page 1 paragraph 0011) a pharmaceutically acceptable salt, hydrate, solvate, polymorph, isomer, or combination thereof (page 17 paragraph 0418) as GABAA α5 receptor positive allosteric modulators (page 17 paragraph 0419). More specifically, Mekonnen’268 teach compound 606 5-((3-chloro-7-(methoxymethyl)-9Hbenzo[f]imidazo[ 1,5-a] [1,2,4]triazolo[ 4,3-d] [1,4]diazepin-1 0-yl)ethynyl)-2-methoxythiazole of the structure
(page 240 paragraph 2094). Moreover, Mekonnen’268 teach embodiments wherein the dose of compounds of the disclosure, which include compound 606, is between 0.007 and 7000 mg/day (page 134 paragraph 1362). Furthermore, Mekonnen’268 teach that the compounds and compositions of the disclosure, which includes compound 606, may be administered for slow, controlled or extended release form (page 133 paragraph 1359). Additionally, Mekonnen’268 teach embodiments wherein the compositions of the disclosure which includes compounds of the disclosure, which further includes compound 66, can also include other therapeutically useful agents (page 134 paragraph 1366).
However, Mekonnen’268 fails to teach a pharmaceutical composition comprising a polymorph crystalline Form A as recited in claim 12, Form B as recited in claim 13, Form C as recited in claim 14, Form E as recited in claim 15, and Form F as recited in claim 16. Moreover, the prior art fails to provide motivation obvious the polymorphs as recited in claims 12 – 16. Thus given that the closet prior art fails to anticipate or render obvious the crystal forms of claims 12 – 16; the crystal forms are free of the prior art.
Conclusion
Claims 1 – 3, 10 – 12, 17 – 19, and 22 are rejected. Claims 13 – 16 are objected.
/DAWANNA SHAR-DAY WHITE/Examiner, Art Unit 1627