DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5, 7-9, 12-14 and 16-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (EP 2 586 801).
Regarding claims 1-4, 9, 13-14 and 16, Guo teaches a polymer composition comprising a polymer composition containing a propylene butene copolymer comprising propylene as the primary monomer ([0008]) the propylene-butene copolymer containing butene in an amount of 1-6 mol % ([0012]) which can be converted to 1.33-7.84 wt. % butene. The xylene soluble fraction is less than the following fitted line Y=0.77+0.252X (where X is the mole % of butene, and Y is the xylene soluble fraction) given the amount of butene in the copolymer, the xylene soluble fraction can be calculated to overlap the claimed amount. Guo teaches that the molecular weight distribution ranges from 3.5-8 ([0021]). It also has a nucleating agent (Millad 3998) (Table 2, comp 1). Guo teaches that the catalyst is a Ziegler-Natta catalyst ([0029]) and while phthalate-types are listed for component A ([0037]), there are numerous choices which are non-phthalate type Ziggler-Natta catalysts ([0037])
It has a haze rating of less than 10 % ([0050]). It has a heat distortion temperature greater than 105 ([0050]). Given that the material is the exact same as presently claimed and that it has excellent transparency and good heat resistance ([0004]), it would inherently have the desired haze under thermal aging property as recited as well as the desired flexural modulus and melting point.
Guo fails to specifically exemplify the exact recited polymer composition. However, Guo discloses each of the components of the polymer, and teaches that they are all suitable for use in the composition. It is within the ordinary level of skill in the art to make any of the compositions suggested by a reference, including selecting materials from a list in a reference. Therefore, a person of ordinary skill would have been motivated to prepare any of the polymer compositions suggested by Guo, including the claimed invention. In view of this, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the present invention to use the teachings of Guo to arrive at the presently claimed invention. It would have been nothing more than using known compounds in a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. 418, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Regarding claim 5, Guo teaches that the xylene soluble fraction is less than the following fitted line Y=0.77+0.252X (where X is the mole % of butene, and Y is the xylene soluble fraction). Therefore, y/x = 0.77/x + 0.252 which overlaps the claimed range.
Regarding claims 7- 8, Guo teaches that the melt flow rate is 0.5-50 g/min ([0020]).
Regarding claim 12, Guo teaches that the propylene-butene copolymer is present in an amount greater than 70 % by weight ([0074]).
Regarding claim 17, Guo teaches that the composition further comprises an antioxidant (Irganox) and an acid scavenger (calcium stearate) ([0074]).
Regarding claim 18, Guo teaches an injection molded article made from the composition of claim 1 ([0076]).
Regarding claim 19, Guo teaches that the articles can be made via blow molding or thermoforming ([0051]).
Regarding claim 21, Guo teaches an injection molded article ([0051]) having a melt flow rate of 0.5-50 g/10 min ([0020]).
Regarding claim 22, Guo teaches a food package container made from the polymer composition of claim 1 ([0051]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Guo et al (EP 2 586 801) with evidence provided by Bernreitner et al (US 2011/0198311)
The discussion regarding Guo in paragraph 4 above is incorporated here by reference.
Regarding claim 6, in the examples, Guo teaches the use a nucleating agent (Millad 3998), however it fails to teach that the nucleating agent is a nonitol.
However, in the specification, it is noted that Millad NX 8000 can be used as the nucleating agent ([0049]). Millad NX8000 is a nonitol as evidenced by Bernreitner, Table 1.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the Millad NX8000 in place of the Millad 3998. It would have been nothing more than using a known compound in a typical manner to achieve predictable results. KSR v. Teleflex, 550 U.S. _, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed February 24, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the reasons set forth below. It is noted that since the non-phthalate Ziggler-Natta catalyst is now positively recited in the claims, it is no longer considered a product-by-process limitations, the previously presented anticipatory rejection over Guo has been withdrawn (and the arguments that pertain to the 102 rejections are now considered moot). However, as Guo teaches many non-phthalates based Zeigler-Natta catalysts, Guo is continued to be used in an obviousness-type rejection.
Applicant’s argument: Guo provides no teaching to replace the phthalate internal electron donors of its disclosure with a non-phthalate-based internal electron donor as provided in the independent claims.
Examiner’s response: Guo teaches many non-phthalate alternatives for the internal electron donor ([0037]).
Applicant’s argument: The catalyst not only affects the catalyst residue, but also the oligomer and VOC content, the processability, the crystallinity, optical properties and more.
Examiner’s response: It is noted that these properties that the applicant has mentioned are not explicitly recited in the limitations of the claimed invention. As Guo teaches the non-phthalate Ziegler-Natta catalyst, all the limitations of the claims have been met by the Guo reference.
Conclusion
DORIS L. LEE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1764
/DORIS L LEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1764