DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed August 10th, 2026 has been entered.
Claims 1, 7, 10, and 11 are amended.
Claims 1-5, and 7-19 remain pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 12, 15, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 20200011974 A1), in view of Gnecchi (US 20180164412 A1), and Tseng (US 20190079191 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Duan teaches a distance measurement apparatus comprising:
a first light source to emit a first light beam ([0061] The light projection unit 20 is for projecting the laser beam outward, and comprises a laser diode module (LD module) 21);
a scanning mirror to scan the first light beam ([0065] is reflected by minor assembly 31 of the scanning assembly 30 and transmits outward as the projected light L2.); and
a first light receiving optical system to receive a first return light generated by the first light beam being reflected or scattered by at least one object ([0069] The light reception unit 40 might be a module which detects the incident light from the external of the object detecting apparatus 10), and
wherein the first light receiving optical system includes a first focusing optical system, a first light receiving element, and a first aperture located between the first focusing optical system and the first light receiving element ([0069] It might comprise the mirror 41 described above, a collective lens 42, a light-receiving element 43, and an aperture 44.),
the first aperture is disposed on a first focal plane of the first focusing optical system ([Fig. 1]),
the first viewing angle is given by arctan (D1/f1) ([Fig. 17]; [0190] determined by β=arctan(D/d), where the symbol d (equal to the focal length f of the collective lens 42 in the embodiment indicated in FIG. 17)), and
f1 represents a first focal distance of the first focusing optical system, and D1 represents a first diameter of a first hole provided in the first aperture ([0015] and D is a size of a light passing region of the aperture; [0190] where the symbol d (equal to the focal length f of the collective lens 42 in the embodiment indicated in FIG. 17)).
Duan fails to teach the apparatus wherein a first viewing angle of the first light receiving optical system is smaller than a first divergence angle of the first light beam,
However, Gnecchi teaches a first viewing angle of the first light receiving optical system is smaller than a first divergence angle of the first light beam ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the divergent and viewing angle configuration similar to Gnecchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of narrowing the returned beam for a narrower and more desired beam.
Duan fails to teach a light scanning region correcting optical member having a free curved surface shape that corrects a first light scanning region formed by the first light beam scanned by the scanning mirror and applies a negative power to the first light beam, the negative power spreading the first light beam
However, Tseng teaches a light scanning region correcting optical member having a free curved surface shape that corrects a first light scanning region formed by the first light beam scanned by the scanning mirror and applies a negative power to the first light beam, the negative power spreading the first light beam ([0021] The lens module 140 of the present embodiment includes a divergent lens 142...divergent lens 142 is a circular lens in the present embodiment. In other embodiments...the divergent lens 142 may also be a corresponding rectangular lens, in order to reduce the volume of the divergent lens 142; [0022] The oscillating angle of the mirror of the first MEMS scanning mirror 130 is limited. In order to further increase the scanning scope, the divergent lens 142 may be disposed on the optical path of the light beam L10. The divergent lens 142 assists in increasing the scanning angle θ10 to a scanning angle θ20, so as to expand the scanning scope.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan, as modified, to comprise the scanning region correcting optical member similar to Tseng, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a lens known to the art to increase the field of view above that afforded by a scanning mirror when scanning rotation of the mirror is limited.
Regarding claim 2, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a viewing angle of the first light receiving optical system without the first aperture is larger than the first divergence angle of the first light beam ([Fig. 16]; [0179] Such points are described in detail through FIG. 16. FIG. 16 is an illustration of the optical path of the returned light L4 passing through a collective lens 42 in case an aperture 44 is not implemented therein; [0015] wherein α≤β is satisfied, in which α is the divergence angle, and D is a size of a light passing region of the aperture corresponding to the divergence angle along the arrangement direction, and d is a distance between the collective lens and the aperture, and β=arctan(D/d).),
the viewing angle of the first light receiving optical system is given by arctan (Dr1/d1) ([0182] The value of ϕ can be calculated approximately from ϕ=arctan(D′/d′), where the symbol of “arctan” indicates the operation of arc tangent.), and
d1 represents a distance between the first focusing optical system and a light receiving region of the first light receiving element, and Dr1 represents a diameter of the light receiving region ([Fig. 16]).
Regarding claim 3, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first light source is a laser including a plurality of light emission points arranged or a multi-mode laser ([0170] The LD module 21 of the light projection unit 20 includes a plurality of light-emitting points 21 a 1 to 21 a 3 as illustrated in FIG. 15. Each of the light-emitting points 21 a 1 to 21 a 3 emits its laser beams B1 to B3 with certain divergent angle respectively. The light-emitting points 21 a 1 to 21 a 3 locate close to one another and might be separated with a specific pitch).
Regarding claim 4, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein the first light receiving optical system further includes an optical diffusion element or a diffractive optical element disposed between the first aperture and the first light receiving element ([0196] Hence, as illustrated in FIG. 21, it is preferred to apply a light diffusion member 46 between the aperture 44 and the light-receiving element 43 so as to spread the returned light L4 before it reaches the light-receiving element 43,).
Regarding claim 12, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 1,
Duan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the first viewing angle of the first light receiving optical system is smaller than the first divergence angle of the first light beam in a direction in which a plurality of light emission points of the first light source are arranged.
However, Gnecchi teaches the apparatus wherein the first viewing angle of the first light receiving optical system is smaller than the first divergence angle of the first light beam in a direction in which a plurality of light emission points of the first light source are arranged ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the arrangement of viewing angle and emission points similar to Gnecchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of narrowing the returned beam for a narrower and more desired beam, in an arrangement that best fits the layout of the chosen design.
Regarding claim 15, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 1, wherein a plurality of light emission points of the first light source are arranged in a horizontal direction ([Fig. 1]; [Fig. 15]).
Regarding claim 16, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 12, wherein the plurality of light emission points of the first light source are arranged in a horizontal direction ([Fig. 1]; [Fig. 15]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 20200011974 A1), in view of Gnecchi (US 20180164412 A1), and Tseng (US 20190079191 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamasaki (US 20040080722 A1).
Regarding claim 5, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 1,
Duan fails to teach the apparatus wherein the first light receiving optical system further includes a rear aperture disposed between the first aperture and the first light receiving element, and a diameter of a hole of the rear aperture is larger than the first diameter.
However, Yamasaki teaches wherein the first light receiving optical system further includes a rear aperture disposed between the first aperture and the first light receiving element ([Fig. 7]; [0037] the reference numeral 50 denotes a first variable aperture, which is positioned before the first array lens. The reference numeral 51 denotes a second variable aperture, which is positioned before the second array lens.), and
a diameter of a hole of the rear aperture is larger than the first diameter ([Fig. 7]; [0037] the reference numeral 50 denotes a first variable aperture, which is positioned before the first array lens. The reference numeral 51 denotes a second variable aperture, which is positioned before the second array lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the two apertures similar to Yamasaki, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of further limiting the incoming returned light onto a desired section of the light scanning device, the rearrangement of apertures further being obvious as a difference in design choice given the focal distance of the prior art compared to the immediate application.
Claims 7-11, and 17-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 20200011974 A1), in view of Gnecchi (US 20180164412 A1), and Tseng (US 20190079191 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and further in view of Steinberg (US 20180113200 A1).
Regarding claim 7, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 1, further comprising:
wherein the scanning mirror further scans the second light beam ([0065] is reflected by minor assembly 31 of the scanning assembly 30 and transmits outward as the projected light L2.),
the light scanning region correcting optical member further corrects a second light scanning region formed by the second light beam scanned by the scanning mirror ([0170] The LD module 21 of the light projection unit 20 includes a plurality of light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 as illustrated in FIG. 15. Each of the light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 emits its laser beams B1 to B3 with certain divergent angle respectively.),
the light receiving optical system includes a focusing optical system, a light receiving element, and an aperture located between the focusing optical system and the light receiving element ([0069] It might comprise the mirror 41 described above, a collective lens 42, a light-receiving element 43, and an aperture 44.),
the second aperture is disposed on a second focal plane of the second focusing optical system ([Fig. 1]),
the second viewing angle is given by arctan (D2/f2) ([Fig. 17]; [0190] determined by β=arctan(D/d), where the symbol d (equal to the focal length f of the collective lens 42 in the embodiment indicated in FIG. 17)),
f2 represents a second focal distance of the second focusing optical system, and D2 represents a second diameter of a second hole provided in the second aperture ([0015] and D is a size of a light passing region of the aperture; [0190] where the symbol d (equal to the focal length f of the collective lens 42 in the embodiment indicated in FIG. 17)),
Duan fails to teach a second light source to emit a second light beam; and a second light receiving optical system to receive a second return light generated by the second light beam being reflected or scattered by the at least one object, a second viewing angle of the second light receiving optical system is smaller than a second divergence angle of the second light beam, the second light receiving optical system includes a second focusing optical system, a second light receiving element, and a second aperture located between the second focusing optical system and the second light receiving element, and the second diameter is different from the first diameter.
However, Steinberg teaches a second light source to emit a second light beam ([0153] which one or more light sources 112); and
a second light receiving optical system to receive a second return light generated by the second light beam being reflected or scattered by the at least one object ([0153] one or more sensors 116 are installed),
the second light receiving optical system includes a second focusing optical system, ([0153] one or more sensors 116 are installed)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the second source and second light receiving optical system, modified by Duan’s configuration, similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of emitting and scanning a scene with sources in multiple phases, frequencies, or wavelengths, broadening the overall detections.
Duan, as modified, still fails to teach a second viewing angle of the second light receiving optical system is smaller than a second divergence angle of the second light beam, the second diameter is different from the first diameter.
However, Gnecchi teaches a second viewing angle of the second light receiving optical system is smaller than a second divergence angle of the second light beam ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.),
the second diameter is different from the first diameter ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the divergent and viewing angle configuration, as well as the configurable diameter of the aperture, similar to Gnecchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of narrowing the returned beam for a narrower and more desired beam.
Regarding claim 8, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein a direction in which a light scanning region of the distance measurement apparatus is expanded by a first end portion of the first light scanning region overlapping only a second end portion of the second light scanning region or being in contact with the second end portion of the second light scanning region is defined as a first axis ([Fig. 1]; [Fig. 15]; [0170] The LD module 21 of the light projection unit 20 includes a plurality of light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 as illustrated in FIG. 15. Each of the light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 emits its laser beams B1 to B3 with certain divergent angle respectively.),
a normal line of the scanning mirror when the scanning mirror is at a center of a rotation range of the scanning mirror corresponding to the first light scanning region and the second light scanning region is defined as a second axis ([Fig. 1]),
Duan fails to teach a second angle between the second axis and a second optical axis, which is projected on a plane including the first axis and the second axis, of the second light beam to enter the scanning mirror is larger than a first angle between the second axis and a first optical axis, which is projected on the plane, of the first light beam to enter the scanning mirror, and the second diameter is larger than the first diameter.
However, Steinberg teaches a second angle between the second axis and a second optical axis, which is projected on a plane including the first axis and the second axis, of the second light beam to enter the scanning mirror is larger than a first angle between the second axis and a first optical axis, which is projected on the plane, of the first light beam to enter the scanning mirror ([Fig. 2B])
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the angle configuration set up in the immediate application, similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring a known configuration and angles of incidence for the emittance and detection of returned signals.
Duan, as modified, still fails to teach the second diameter is larger than the first diameter.
However, Gnecchi teaches the second diameter is larger than the first diameter ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the adjustable aperture diameter, configured such that the second diameter is larger than the first, similar to Gnecchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of configuring the apertures to change the effective fields of view for each source and sensor.
Regarding claim 9, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 7,
wherein a direction in which a light scanning region of the distance measurement apparatus is expanded by a first end portion of the first light scanning region overlapping only a second end portion of the second light scanning region or being in contact with the second end portion of the second light scanning region is defined as a first axis ([Fig. 1]; [Fig. 15]; [0170] The LD module 21 of the light projection unit 20 includes a plurality of light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 as illustrated in FIG. 15. Each of the light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 emits its laser beams B1 to B3 with certain divergent angle respectively.),
a normal line of the scanning mirror when the scanning mirror is at a center of a rotation range of the scanning mirror corresponding to the first light scanning region and the second light scanning region is defined as a second axis ([Fig. 1]),
Duan fails to teach a second angle between the second axis and a second optical axis, which is projected on a plane including the first axis and the second axis, of the second light beam to enter the scanning mirror is larger than a first angle between the second axis and a first optical axis, which is projected on the plane, of the first light beam to enter the scanning mirror, and the second diameter is larger than the first diameter.
However, Steinberg teaches a second angle between the second axis and a second optical axis, which is projected on a plane including the first axis and the second axis, of the second light beam to enter the scanning mirror is larger than a first angle between the second axis and a first optical axis, which is projected on the plane, of the first light beam to enter the scanning mirror ([Fig. 2B]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the angle configuration set up in the immediate application, similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of ensuring a known configuration and angles of incidence for the emittance and detection of returned signals.
Duan, as modified, still fails to teach the second diameter is larger than the first diameter.
However, Gnecchi teaches the second diameter is smaller than the first diameter ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the adjustable aperture diameter, configured such that the second diameter is smaller than the first, similar to Gnecchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of configuring the apertures to change the effective fields of view for each source and sensor.
Regarding claim 10, Duan teaches a distance measurement apparatus comprising: a scanning mirror to scan the plurality of light beams ([0065] is reflected by minor assembly 31 of the scanning assembly 30 and transmits outward as the projected light L2.);
a light scanning region correcting optical member to correct at least one of a plurality of light scanning regions formed by the plurality of light beams scanned by the scanning mirror ([0170] The LD module 21 of the light projection unit 20 includes a plurality of light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 as illustrated in FIG. 15. Each of the light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 emits its laser beams B1 to B3 with certain divergent angle respectively.); and
each of the plurality of light receiving optical systems includes a focusing optical system, a light receiving element, and an aperture located between the focusing optical system and the light receiving element ([0069] It might comprise the mirror 41 described above, a collective lens 42, a light-receiving element 43, and an aperture 44.),
the aperture is disposed on a focal plane of the focusing optical system ([Fig. 1]),
the viewing angle is given by arctan (D/f) ([Fig. 17]; [0190] determined by β=arctan(D/d), where the symbol d (equal to the focal length f of the collective lens 42 in the embodiment indicated in FIG. 17)), and
f represents a focal distance of the focusing optical system, and D represents a diameter of a hole provided in the aperture ([0015] and D is a size of a light passing region of the aperture; [0190] where the symbol d (equal to the focal length f of the collective lens 42 in the embodiment indicated in FIG. 17)),
a direction in which a light scanning region is expanded by a first end portion of one of a pair of light scanning regions adjacent to each other among the plurality of light scanning regions overlapping only a second end portion of another one of the pair of light scanning regions or being in contact with the second end portion of the other one of the pair of light scanning regions is defined as a first axis ([Fig. 1]; [Fig. 15]; [0170] The LD module 21 of the light projection unit 20 includes a plurality of light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 as illustrated in FIG. 15. Each of the light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 emits its laser beams B1 to B3 with certain divergent angle respectively.),
a normal line of the scanning mirror when the scanning mirror is at a center of a rotation range of the scanning mirror corresponding to the plurality of light scanning regions is defined as a second axis ([Fig. 1]),
Duan fails to teach a plurality of light sources to respectively emit a plurality of light beams; a plurality of light receiving optical systems to respectively receive a plurality of return lights generated by the plurality of light beams being reflected or scattered by at least one object, a viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than a divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems, as an angle between the second axis and an optical axis, which is projected on a plane including the first axis and the second axis, of each of the plurality of light beams to enter the scanning mirror is larger, the diameter of the hole provided in the aperture corresponding to each of the plurality of light beams is larger.
However, Steinberg teaches a plurality of light sources to respectively emit a plurality of light beams ([0153] which one or more light sources 112), wherein
the optical components are in each of the plurality of light receiving optical systems ([Fig. 2B])
a plurality of light receiving optical systems to respectively receive a plurality of return lights generated by the plurality of light beams being reflected or scattered by at least one object ([0153] one or more sensors 116 are installed),
as an angle between the second axis and an optical axis, which is projected on a plane including the first axis and the second axis, of each of the plurality of light beams to enter the scanning mirror is larger ([Fig. 2B]),
Duan, as modified, still doesn’t teach a viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than a divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems, and the diameter of the hole provided in the aperture corresponding to each of the plurality of light beams is larger.
However, Gnecchi teaches a viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than a divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems and the diameter of the hole provided in the aperture corresponding to each of the plurality of light beams is larger ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the adjustable aperture diameter, configured such that the divergent and viewing angle configuration and such that the second diameter is larger than the first, similar to Gnecchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of narrowing the returned beam for a narrower and more desired beam and configuring the apertures to change the effective fields of view for each source and sensor.
Duan fails to teach the light scanning region correcting optical member applies a negative power that spreads each of the plurality of light beams, and applies a larger negative power to a light beam, among the plurality of light beams, that enters the scanning mirror at a larger angle between the second axis and the optical axis of the light beam projected on the plane including the first axis and the second axis,
However, Tseng teaches the light scanning region correcting optical member applies a negative power that spreads each of the plurality of light beams, and applies a larger negative power to a light beam, among the plurality of light beams, that enters the scanning mirror at a larger angle between the second axis and the optical axis of the light beam projected on the plane including the first axis and the second axis ([0021] The lens module 140 of the present embodiment includes a divergent lens 142...divergent lens 142 is a circular lens in the present embodiment. In other embodiments...the divergent lens 142 may also be a corresponding rectangular lens, in order to reduce the volume of the divergent lens 142; [0022] The oscillating angle of the mirror of the first MEMS scanning mirror 130 is limited. In order to further increase the scanning scope, the divergent lens 142 may be disposed on the optical path of the light beam L10. The divergent lens 142 assists in increasing the scanning angle θ10 to a scanning angle θ20, so as to expand the scanning scope.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan, as modified, to comprise the scanning region correcting optical member similar to Tseng, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a lens known to the art to increase the field of view above that afforded by a scanning mirror when scanning rotation of the mirror is limited.
Regarding claim 11, Duan teaches a distance measurement apparatus comprising: a scanning mirror to scan the plurality of light beams ([0065] is reflected by minor assembly 31 of the scanning assembly 30 and transmits outward as the projected light L2.);
a light scanning region correcting optical member to correct at least one of a plurality of light scanning regions formed by the plurality of light beams scanned by the scanning mirror ([0170] The LD module 21 of the light projection unit 20 includes a plurality of light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 as illustrated in FIG. 15. Each of the light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 emits its laser beams B1 to B3 with certain divergent angle respectively.); and
each of the plurality of light receiving optical systems includes a focusing optical system, a light receiving element, and an aperture located between the focusing optical system and the light receiving element ([0069] It might comprise the mirror 41 described above, a collective lens 42, a light-receiving element 43, and an aperture 44.),
the aperture is disposed on a focal plane of the focusing optical system ([Fig. 1]),
the viewing angle is given by arctan (D/f) ([Fig. 17]; [0190] determined by β=arctan(D/d), where the symbol d (equal to the focal length f of the collective lens 42 in the embodiment indicated in FIG. 17)), and
f represents a focal distance of the focusing optical system, and D represents a diameter of a hole provided in the aperture ([0015] and D is a size of a light passing region of the aperture; [0190] where the symbol d (equal to the focal length f of the collective lens 42 in the embodiment indicated in FIG. 17)),
a direction in which a light scanning region is expanded by a first end portion of one of a pair of light scanning regions adjacent to each other among the plurality of light scanning regions overlapping only a second end portion of another one of the pair of light scanning regions or being in contact with the second end portion of the other one of the pair of light scanning regions is defined as a first axis ([Fig. 1]; [Fig. 15]; [0170] The LD module 21 of the light projection unit 20 includes a plurality of light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 as illustrated in FIG. 15. Each of the light-emitting points 21a1 to 21a3 emits its laser beams B1 to B3 with certain divergent angle respectively.),
a normal line of the scanning mirror when the scanning mirror is at a center of a rotation range of the scanning mirror corresponding to the plurality of light scanning regions is defined as a second axis ([Fig. 1]),
Duan fails to teach a plurality of light sources to respectively emit a plurality of light beams; a plurality of light receiving optical systems to respectively receive a plurality of return lights generated by the plurality of light beams being reflected or scattered by at least one object, a viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than a divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems, as an angle between the second axis and an optical axis, which is projected on a plane including the first axis and the second axis, of each of the plurality of light beams to enter the scanning mirror is larger, the diameter of the hole provided in the aperture corresponding to each of the plurality of light beams is larger.
However, Steinberg teaches a plurality of light sources to respectively emit a plurality of light beams ([0153] which one or more light sources 112), wherein
the optical components are in each of the plurality of light receiving optical systems ([Fig. 2B])
a plurality of light receiving optical systems to respectively receive a plurality of return lights generated by the plurality of light beams being reflected or scattered by at least one object ([0153] one or more sensors 116 are installed),
as an angle between the second axis and an optical axis, which is projected on a plane including the first axis and the second axis, of each of the plurality of light beams to enter the scanning mirror is larger ([Fig. 2B]),
Duan, as modified, still doesn’t teach a viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than a divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems, and the diameter of the hole provided in the aperture corresponding to each of the plurality of light beams is larger.
However, Gnecchi teaches a viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than a divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems and the diameter of the hole provided in the aperture corresponding to each of the plurality of light beams is smaller ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the adjustable aperture diameter, configured such that the divergent and viewing angle configuration and such that the second diameter is smaller than the first, similar to Gnecchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of narrowing the returned beam for a narrower and more desired beam and configuring the apertures to change the effective fields of view for each source and sensor.
Duan fails to teach the light scanning region correcting optical member applies a negative power that spreads each of the plurality of light beams, and applies a larger negative power to a light beam, among the plurality of light beams, that enters the scanning mirror at a larger angle between the second axis and the optical axis of the light beam projected on the plane including the first axis and the second axis,
However, Tseng teaches the light scanning region correcting optical member applies a negative power that spreads each of the plurality of light beams, and applies a larger negative power to a light beam, among the plurality of light beams, that enters the scanning mirror at a larger angle between the second axis and the optical axis of the light beam projected on the plane including the first axis and the second axis ([0021] The lens module 140 of the present embodiment includes a divergent lens 142...divergent lens 142 is a circular lens in the present embodiment. In other embodiments...the divergent lens 142 may also be a corresponding rectangular lens, in order to reduce the volume of the divergent lens 142; [0022] The oscillating angle of the mirror of the first MEMS scanning mirror 130 is limited. In order to further increase the scanning scope, the divergent lens 142 may be disposed on the optical path of the light beam L10. The divergent lens 142 assists in increasing the scanning angle θ10 to a scanning angle θ20, so as to expand the scanning scope.),
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan, as modified, to comprise the scanning region correcting optical member similar to Tseng, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a lens known to the art to increase the field of view above that afforded by a scanning mirror when scanning rotation of the mirror is limited.
Regarding claim 17, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 1,
Duan fails to teach the apparatus further comprising an optical beam splitter including a reflective portion and a transmissive portion, wherein the transmissive portion transmits the first light beam toward the scanning mirror, and the reflective portion reflects the first return light toward the first light receiving optical system.
However, Steinberg teaches the apparatus further comprising an optical beam splitter including a reflective portion and a transmissive portion ([0133] One example of an asymmetrical deflector may include a polarization beam splitter. In another example, asymmetrical 216 may include an optical isolator that allows the passage of light in only one direction.), wherein
the transmissive portion transmits the first light beam toward the scanning mirror ([Fig. 2B]; [0138] in order to allow a common optical path for transmission and for reception of light via the at least one deflector 114, e.g. as illustrated in FIGS. 2B and 2C.), and
the reflective portion reflects the first return light toward the first light receiving optical system ([Fig. 2B]; [0133] In one example, the asymmetrical deflector does not deflect projected light 204 and deflects reflected light 206 towards sensor 116).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the semi-transmissive splitter similar to Steinberg, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of using a technology known to the art to compress the apparatus design into a more efficient package.
Regarding claim 18, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 10,
Duan fails to teach the apparatus wherein in each of the plurality of light receiving optical systems, the viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than the divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems in a direction in which a plurality of light emission points of each of the plurality of light sources are arranged.
However, Gnecchi teaches the apparatus wherein in each of the plurality of light receiving optical systems, the viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than the divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems in a direction in which a plurality of light emission points of each of the plurality of light sources are arranged ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the arrangement of viewing angle and emission points similar to Gnecchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of narrowing the returned beam for a narrower and more desired beam, in an arrangement that best fits the layout of the chosen design.
Regarding claim 19, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 11,
Duan fails to teach the apparatus wherein in each of the plurality of light receiving optical systems, the viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than the divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems in a direction in which a plurality of light emission points of each of the plurality of light sources are arranged.
However, Gnecchi teaches the apparatus wherein in each of the plurality of light receiving optical systems, the viewing angle of the light receiving optical system is smaller than the divergence angle of each of the plurality of light beams corresponding to the light receiving optical systems in a direction in which a plurality of light emission points of each of the plurality of light sources are arranged ([0081] An aperture stop 715 is provided intermediate the lens 710 and the sensing area 705 which blocks the light coming from a larger angle and diffuses the collected light onto the sensor area 705 overcoming therefore the need of longer focal lengths…The amount of incoming rays are also determined by the size of the aperture; [0083] The dimensions and the position of the aperture stop relate both to the size of the sensor area and the desired angle of view and the focal length of the receiver lens.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the arrangement of viewing angle and emission points similar to Gnecchi, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of narrowing the returned beam for a narrower and more desired beam, in an arrangement that best fits the layout of the chosen design.
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 20200011974 A1), in view of Gnecchi (US 20180164412 A1), Tseng (US 20190079191 A1) and Steinberg (US 20180113200 A1), as applied to Claim 12 above, and further in view of Pacala (US 20180329061 A1).
Regarding claim 13, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 1,
Duan fails to teach the apparatus wherein optical axes of a plurality of light emission points of the first light source are parallel to one another.
However, Pacala teaches the apparatus wherein optical axes of a plurality of light emission points of the first light source are parallel to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the parallel optical axes similar to Pacala, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of aligning the emitting beams to be coordinated in their optical path.
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Duan (US 20200011974 A1), in view of Gnecchi (US 20180164412 A1), and Tseng (US 20190079191 A1), as applied to Claim 1 above, and, and further in view of Pacala.
Regarding claim 14, Duan, as modified above, teaches the distance measurement apparatus according to claim 12,
Duan fails to teach the apparatus wherein optical axes of a plurality of light emission points of the first light source are parallel to one another.
However, Pacala teaches the apparatus wherein optical axes of a plurality of light emission points of the first light source are parallel to one another.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of this invention to modify the invention of Duan to comprise the parallel optical axes similar to Pacala, with a reasonable expectation of success. This would have the predictable result of aligning the emitting beams to be coordinated in their optical path.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 10th, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
The applicant argues that the amendments made to the claims on August 10th, 2026 have overcome the prior art rejection and have placed the application in an allowable state. The examiner notes that while the amendments appear to have overcome the prior art of record and specifically the recited rejection posted on June 9th, 2026, after further search and consideration, the prior art of Tseng has been entered in as a new prior art. The prior art of Tseng teaches a free form lens intended for diverging the light from the scanning mirror with the objective of increasing the output scanning range of the emitting light. Tseng therefore teaches the amended claim limitation and reasons for obviousness to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the prior art is provided above. As such the application remains rejected after the amended claims.
Applicant further argues that the prior art of record, including Gnecchi, fails to disclose the relationship between the angle at which light enters the scanning mirror and the diameter of the corresponding aperture hole. Examiner notes that Gnecchi teaches an adjustable aperture stop, specifically intended for adjusting the angle in a desired relationship. This, combined with the prior art of Duan, which teaches a relationship aligned closely with the claimed limitations, teaches the application under the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claims to one of ordinary skill in the art. As such, the rejection is maintained in this Non-Final Office Action.
Conclusion
/ROBERT W VASQUEZ/Examiner, Art Unit 3645
/JAMES R HULKA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3645