Response to Arguments
The rejection of claim 3 under 35 USC 112(d) has been overcome by the amendment and is withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments filed February 10, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends that the system of Jenneus requires reducing pressure in the chamber below ambient pressure, rather than below the pressure of the device being tested, as required by the amended claims (pp. 6-8). However, Jenneus explicitly states that gas escapes from the leaks on the low-pressure side (Jenneus [0004]) and refers to the chamber and tested device as having lower and higher pressures, respectively (Jenneus [0036]). The pressure in the device is therefore necessarily less than the pressure in the chamber.
Applicant contends that the method of Jenneus detects tracer gases supplied into the object rather than vapors from parts or substances inside a battery as required by the instant claims (p. 8). However, Jenneus does not limit acceptable tracer gases, and Go teaches that leaks in batteries are detected by detecting volatilized solvents (Go [0026]-[0029]). The solvents are therefore tracer gases supplied into the battery during its manufacture.
The rejections are maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Introducing gas into a chamber will necessarily raise the pressure in the chamber. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Interpretation
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10, 11, 15-17, 20, and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenneus et al. (US 2007/0157704 A1) in view of Go (KR 101198857 B1; citations refer to the English translation attached to the office action mailed November 10, 2025).
Regarding claim 1, Jenneus teaches a method of detecting leaks in a sealed object in which the object is placed in a vacuum chamber (Jenneus [0047]), the pressure in the chamber is lowered (i.e. sealing the chamber and starting a vacuum creation phase) below the internal pressure of the tested device (Jenneus [0004] and [0036]) until a tracer gas escapes the object (i.e. starting a stabilization phase) (Jenneus [0048]-[0049]), and introducing a transport gas into the chamber, which will necessarily increase pressure in the system, to carry the gas to the detector (i.e. starting an acceleration phase) (Jenneus [0056]) so that non-zero leak rates are registered by the detector (Jenneus [0079]-[0080]).
Jenneus does not teach that the method is used to detect leaks in a battery. Jenneus teaches that the method is applicable to any object that must be leak tested for environmental or quality concerns (Jenneus [0002]). Go teaches that leaks in batteries may similarly be detected by placing a battery cell in a vacuum chamber and detecting volatilized solvents (i.e. the tracer gas; Go [0026]-[0029]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to test any device requiring leak testing, including battery cells, in the testing device of Jenneus, since Jenneus teaches that that is its intended purpose.
Regarding claim 2, modified Jenneus teaches that the gas is introduced during a controlled time period (Jenneus [0056]), which implies that it is introduced in a predetermined quantity.
Regarding claim 10, the pressure in the chamber is lowered until a tracer gas escapes the object (i.e. starting a stabilization phase) (Jenneus [0048]-[0049]).
Regarding claim 11, modified Jenneus teaches that the gas is introduced during a controlled time period (Jenneus [0056]), which implies that it is introduced impulsively (i.e. in a controlled burst or pulse).
Regarding claim 15, modified Jenneus does not teach any particular operating temperature. The system is therefore assumed to operate at room temperature, which will necessarily involve heating the room (and therefore the chamber).
Regarding claim 16, modified Jenneus does not teach that testing is stopped based on a determination that the leak has reached a threshold value. Jenneus teaches that it is desirable to increase average productive time of the testing system (Jenneus [0051]). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to stop testing as soon as a leak has been detected in order to increase productive time of the testing system.
Regarding claim 17, modified Jenneus teaches that the system is for determining "leakproofedness" (Jenneus Abstract) and that the system detects tracer gas concentration (Jenneus [0018]). Determining whether the system is leakproof (i.e. whether a leak exists) therefore necessarily depends on determining whether tracer gas concentration is above a threshold value (e.g., the minimum detection value or a typical background value).
Regarding claim 20, Jenneus teaches the use of air or nitrogen for the transport gas (Jenneus [0056]).
Regarding claim 21, modified Jenneus teaches introducing a transport gas into the chamber, which will necessarily increase pressure in the system, to carry the gas to the detector (i.e. starting an acceleration phase) (Jenneus [0056]).
Claim(s) 4-5 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenneus in view of Go as applied to claims 1 and 2 above, and further in view of Ford (US Patent 4,374,476 A).
Regarding claim 4, modified Jenneus does not teach that pressure in the system is raised by actuating mechanical means that reduces the volume of the system and compresses the leaked gases. Jenneus teaches that a pump (13) moves air from the chamber to the detector (Jenneus [0054] and Figs. 1 and 2). Ford teaches a pumping system for a test chamber comprising a variable volume vacuum chamber with a piston to decrease and increase pressure, alternately vaporizing a sample liquid and forcing the vapor to a detector (Ford Abstract and 1:53-2:2). The transport gas of modified Jenneus and the variable volume vacuum chamber of Ford are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and combining or substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use either or both of the transport gas system and chamber piston pump system in the testing system of modified Jenneus.
Regarding claim 5, the system of modified Jenneus includes a piston in the chamber (Ford Figs. 1 and 2).
Regarding claim 9, modified Jenneus does not teach that pressure in the system is raised by actuating mechanical means that reduces the volume of the system and compresses the leaked gases. Jenneus teaches that a pump (13) moves air from the chamber to the detector (Jenneus [0054] and Figs. 1 and 2). Ford teaches a pumping system for a test chamber comprising a variable volume vacuum chamber with a piston to decrease and increase pressure, alternately vaporizing a sample liquid and forcing the vapor to a detector (Ford Abstract and 1:53-2:2). The transport gas of modified Jenneus and the variable volume vacuum chamber of Ford are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and combining or substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use either or both of the transport gas system and chamber piston pump system in the testing system of modified Jenneus.
Regarding claim 20, modified Jenneus teaches the use of nitrogen or air (Jenneus [0056]).
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenneus in view of Go and Ford as applied to claims 4 above, and further in view of Inomata et al. (JP 2015161555 A; citations refer to the English translation attached to the office action mailed November 10, 2025).
Regarding claim 6, modified Jenneus does not teach the use of a piston between the vacuum chamber and the sensor. Jenneus teaches that a pump (13) moves air from the chamber to the detector (Jenneus [0054] and Figs. 1 and 2). Inomata teaches that a cylinder with a piston between the vacuum chamber and the sensor is a suitable means of compression to supply test gas to the sensor (Inomata [0076]). The piston of Inomata and the pump of modified Jenneus are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any appropriate pump, including the cylinder piston pump system of Ford, in the testing system of modified Jenneus.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenneus in view of Go as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Applicant's admitted prior.
Regarding claim 7, modified Jenneus teaches that detected vapors may include solvents from the electrolyte, and that such solvents typically include carbonates such as methylene-carbonate-based solvents ([Go [0027]-[0029]). Applicant has indicated that dimethyl carbonate is one such commonly-used solvent (p. 5, lines 9-11 of the instant specification). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to try any commonly used solvent, including dimethyl carbonate, as indication of a leak.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenneus in view of Go as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhu (CN 107806969 A; citations refer to the English translation attached to the office action mailed November 10, 2025).
Regarding claim 8, modified Jenneus does not teach that the auxiliary gas is argon. Jenneus teaches the use of air or nitrogen (Jenneus [0056]). Zhu teaches that air, nitrogen, and argon are all acceptable carrier gases for vacuum battery leak detection systems (Zhu [0022]). Air, nitrogen, and argon are therefore art-recognized equivalents for the same purpose, and substituting equivalents known for the same purpose is prima facie obvious (MPEP 2144.06 II). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any conventional carrier gas, including argon, in the system of modified Jenneus.
Claim(s) 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenneus in view of Go as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Snyder et al. ("Miniature and Fieldable Mass Spectrometers: Recent Advances," Analytical Chemistry 88(1), pp. 2-29, September 2015).
Regarding claim 12, modified Jenneus does not teach that the detector is a mass spectrometer. Jenneus teaches that detector should be an atmospheric pressure detector (Jenneus [0054]). Snyder teaches that miniature mass spectrometers are operable at atmospheric pressures (Snyder Vacuum Systems); are cheap, convenient, and less bulky than alternative benchtop instruments (Snyder Mesoscale Systems); and have wide applicability and high sensitivity (Snyder Introduction). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use a miniature mass spectrometer as the detector of Snyder as the detector of modified Jenneus for their wide applicability and high sensitivity.
Claim(s) 13, 14, 18, and 19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jenneus in view of Go as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Gu et al. ("Investigation of leak detection method by means of measuring the pressure increment in vacuum," Vacuum 80(9), pp. 996-1002, June 2006).
Regarding claim 13, modified Jenneus does not teach that a pressure difference between the chamber and the battery is determined based on the type of battery cell. Gu is directed to methods of leak testing. Gu teaches that leakage rate is determined in part by pressure differences (Gu Fig. 6). This difference would necessarily depend on the internal pressure of the battery, which would necessarily depend on the type of battery cell.
Regarding claim 14, modified Jenneus does not teach that pressure is detected inside the chamber using a pressure detector. Gu teaches that pressure detectors are used to measure the pressure inside vacuum chambers (Gu Fig. 2). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any conventional testing configuration, including one in which pressure of the chamber is measured by a pressure detector.
Regarding claims 18 and 19, modified Jenneus does not teach how the leak rate is determined. Gu teaches that both mean (i.e. average) leak rate and maximum leak rate may be considered for leak testing (Gu 6. Conclusions). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the instant invention to use any conventional measure, including average or maximum leak rate, as both are known to be useful quantities.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/J.A.C/ Examiner, Art Unit 1722
/NIKI BAKHTIARI/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1722