DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-8 and 20-31 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 5, 6, 20, 24, 25, 28, and 29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ryu et al (US Publication 2022/0006505 A1).
Regarding to claims 1 and 20, Ryu discloses a user equipment UE 350 (fig. 3) in a wireless communication system 100 (fig. 1), comprising: a transceiver 354; and a processor 359 coupled to the transceiver and configured to: perform communication with a device UE1 using a first beam 720 (fig. 7 page 10 paragraph 0097); detect t0 a beam failure of the first beam (fig. 10 page 11 paragraph 0110); transmit t3 a request signal (SL RACH preamble) including information related to a second beam to replace the first beam (page 12 paragraph 0112); receive t4 a response signal (scrambled PSCCH) corresponding to the request signal from the device (page 12 paragraph 0113); and perform t5 communication with the device using the second beam (page 12 paragraph 0113), wherein the request signal is transmitted through a resource (SSB) associated with the second beam (page 12 paragraph 0112) among resources allocated for a discovery signal or a discovery response signal (page 11 paragraph 0104).
Regarding to claims 5 and 24, Ryu discloses detecting the beam failure based on measurement of a signal (signal strength) transmitted from the device (page 11 paragraph 0110).
Regarding to claims 6 and 25, Ryu discloses receiving, from the device, a measurement report including a measurement result of a signal transmitted from the UE, and detecting the beam failure based on the measurement report (page 11 paragraph 0109).
Regarding to claim 28, Ryu discloses a user equipment UE 350 (fig. 3) in a wireless communication system 100 (fig. 1), comprising: a transceiver 354; and a processor 359 coupled to the transceiver and configured to: perform communication with a device UE2 using a first beam 720 (fig. 7 page 10 paragraph 0097); receive t3, from a device UE2, a request signal (SL RACH preamble) including information related to a second beam to replace the first beam (page 12 paragraph 0112); transmit t4, to the device, a response signal (scrambled PSCCH) corresponding to the request signal from the device (page 12 paragraph 0113); and perform t5 communication with the device using the second beam (page 12 paragraph 0113), wherein the request signal is transmitted through a resource (SSB) associated with the second beam (page 12 paragraph 0112) among resources allocated for a discovery signal or a discovery response signal (page 11 paragraph 0104).
Regarding to claim 29, Ryu discloses transmitting, to the device, a measurement report including a measurement result of a signal transmitted from the UE, and detecting the beam failure based on the measurement report (page 11 paragraph 0109).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 7, 8, 26, 27, and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ryu in view of Tsai et al (US Publication 2022/0399927 A1).
Regarding to claims 7, 8, 26, and 27, Ryu discloses all the limitations with respect to claims 1 and 20, except for detecting the beam failure based on a decoding failure of the data transmitted from the device (claims 7 and 26) or acknowledge (ACK)/negative-ACK (NACK) feedback for data transmitted to the device (claims 8 and 27). However, Tsai discloses a system and method for UE to detect beam failure based on a decoding failure of the data transmitted from the device or acknowledge (ACK)/negative-ACK (NACK) feedback for data transmitted to the device (fig. 2 page 3 paragraph 0061). Thus, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange for the detection beam failure as taught by Tsai into Ryu’s system to confirm beam failure.
Regarding to claim 30, Ryu discloses all the limitations with respect to claim 28, except for transmit, to the device, acknowledge (ACK)/negative-ACK (NACK) feedback for data transmitted to the device. However, Tsai discloses a system and method for UE for transmit, to the device, or acknowledge (ACK)/negative-ACK (NACK) feedback for data transmitted to the device (fig. 2 page 3 paragraph 0061). Thus, it would have obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to arrange for the detection beam failure as taught by Tsai into Ryu’s system to confirm beam failure.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-4, 21-23, and 31 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DUC T DUONG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467