DETAILED ACTION
Priority
This application is a 371 of PCT/IB2021/056420 filed 07/15/2021.
PCT/IB2021/056420 has PRO of 63051997 filed 07/15/2020.
However, at least the subject matters of a polymer or a crosslinked polymer of a poly-β-amino-ester or a poly-β-thio-ester or their copolymers or terpolymers or mixtures thereof” as recited in independent claim 1 are not present in the provisional application of 63051997. Accordingly, claim 1 and all claims (claims 2-94) dependent directly or indirectly therefrom will not receive priority filing benefit of provisional application of 63051997.
Accordingly, claims 1-94 are afforded the effective filing date of 07/15/2021.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 01/11/2023 and 09/09/2025 have been considered by the examiner and initialed copies of the IDS are included with the mailing of this office action.
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-41, drawn to a microcapsule, in the reply filed on 09/09/2025 is acknowledged.
In addition, Applicant’s election without traverse of species “a poly-β-amino-ester or a poly-β-thio-ester,” in the reply filed on 09/09/2025 is also acknowledged. Applicant indicated that all claims 1-41 read on the elected species. However, the Examiner disagrees. Claims 2-10 are drawn to aliphatic polyester and thus, do not read on the elected species of “a poly-β-amino-ester or a poly-β-thio-ester.” In addition, claims 14, 18, 24, and 26 are drawn to copolymers of β-amino-ester and β-thio-ester and thus, do not read on the elected species of “a poly-β-amino-ester or a poly-β-thio-ester.” It is noted that only claims 1, 11-13, 15-17, 19-23, 25, and 27-41 read on the elected species.
Applicant is noted that two (2) telephone calls were made on 12/08/2025 and 12/10/2025, as well as, two (2) voicemails were left for Applicant’s representative, Nathalie Tietcheu, to inquire a telephone conservation to discuss the issue above regarding the claims that were indicated by Applicant as readable on the elected species. However, Ms. Tietcheu failed to return the Examiner’s inquiry.
Accordingly, for the reason above, claims 2-10, 14, 18, 24, and 26 do not read on the elected species of “a poly-β-amino-ester or a poly-β-thio-ester,” and thereby, are withdrawn as being drawn to a non-elected species.
As a result, claims 2-10, 14, 18, 24, 26, and 42-94 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species/group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/09/2025.
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-94 are pending in this instant application, of which claims 2-10, 14, 18, 24, 26, and 42-94 are withdrawn at this time as being drawn to non-elected species/group.
Claims 1, 11-13, 15-17, 19-23, 25, and 27-41 are examined herein on the merits for patentability.
Drawings
The drawings filed 01/11/2023 are objected to because it is noted that brief descriptions that are presented in the Drawings for all the Figures (FIG(s). 1-18 are not permissible. Brief descriptions of the Drawings should be in the Specification, which are already presented in the originally filed Specification, on pages 7-8. Please remove the brief descriptions for all the Figures in the Drawings. Furthermore, the labels for the x and y axis in FIG.17 are not legible. Please provide a legible FIG. 17.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: for claim language clarity, please amend “a polymer or a crosslinked polymer of an aliphatic polyester or a poly-β-amino-ester or a poly-β-thio-ester or their co-polymers or terpolymers or mixtures thereof” to “a polymer or a crosslinked polymer of an aliphatic polyester, a poly-β-amino-ester, a poly-β-thio-ester, co-polymers thereof, terpolymers thereof, or mixtures thereof.” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 22 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of the acceptor is selected from the group consisting of …” followed by multiple “or,” is an improper Markush language. When materials recited in a claim are so related as to constitute a proper Markush groups, they may be recited in the conventional manner, or alternatively. For example, if “wherein R is a material selected from the group consisting of A, B, C and D” is a proper limitation, then “wherein R is A, B, C or D” shall also be considered proper. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 27 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of “the lipophilic core is selected from the group comprising … and combinations thereof” is an improper Markush language. See above for proper Markush language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities: please remove the “s” in “compositions” in line 2 of claim 29. Also, the recitation of “a consumer care compositions selected from the group comprising …and cleaning composition” is an improper Markush language. See above for proper Markush language. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim 37 is objected to because of the following informalities: the recitation of the formulation is selected from the group consisting of …hair or skin protectant ... dishwashing washing fluid or tablet, washing powder or tablet, and cosmetic formulation” is an improper Markush language due to the multiple recitation of “or” followed by “and”. See above for proper Markush language. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim 40 is objected to because of the following informalities: for language clarity purpose, please amend “the double layered or multilayered or an overcoated microcapsule also comprises a hydrogel or a crosslinked alginate” to “the double layered microcapsule, the multilayered microcapsule, or the overcoated microcapsule comprises a hydrogel or a crosslinked alginate”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 16-17 and 37-38 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 16, the recitation of “wherein the amine comprises” renders claim 16 indefinite because it appeared that said recitation is an incomplete limitation, and thus, the metes and bounds of “wherein the amine comprises” is unclear. Clarification by amendment in claim 16 is required.
Regarding claim 17, the limitation of “the difunctional amine or multi-functional amine” renders claim 17 indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 13. It is unclear what “the difunctional amine or multi-functional amine” is claim 17 referencing to because claim 13 does not recite anything pertaining to “difunctional amine” or “multifunctional amine.” Clarification by amendment in claim 17 is required.
Regarding claim 37, the limitation of “the formulation” renders claim 37 indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 35. It is unclear what “the formulation” is claim 37 referencing to because claim 35 recites two type of formulations “a water-based formulation” and “a solvent-based formulation”. Clarification by amendment in claim 37 is required.
Regarding claim 38, the limitation of “the formulation” renders claim 38 indefinite because there is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in claim 35. It is unclear what “the formulation” claim 38 is referencing to because claim 35 recites two type of formulations “a water-based formulation” and “a solvent-based formulation”. Clarification by amendment in claim 38 is required.
As a result, claims 16-17 and 37-38 do not clearly set forth the metes and bounds of patent protection desired.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-13, 15-17, 19-22, 25, 27-39 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Ortais et al (US 2020/0360889 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Ortais teaches biodegradable microcapsules containing an oil core and a shell wall comprising poly(beta-amino ester) (Abstract; [0015]-[0104]; Examples 1-18; claims 1-21). Ortais teaches the biodegradable microcapsules are storage stable ([0020], [0022], [0064], [0109]).
Regarding claims 11-13, Ortais teaches the poly(beta-amino ester) is formed by Michael addition (conjugate addition) reaction between a multi-acrylate (a donor) and an amine (an acceptor) (Abstract; [0015]-[0104]; Examples 1-18; claims 1-21). Ortais teaches the muti-acrylate is selected from the group consisting of diacrylates, triacrylates, and mixtures thereof ([0034]-[0037]; claims 3, 10, and 11). Ortais teaches diamines, tetraethylene pentamine, and polyethyleneimine as suitable amines ([0039]-[0048], [0078]-[0082]; claims 5, 12, and 13).
Regarding claims 15-17, Ortais teaches diamines such as piperazine, tetraethylene pentamine, and polyethyleneimine as suitable amines ([0039]-[0048], [0078]-[0082]; claims 5, 12, and 13).
Regarding claim 19, as discussed above, Ortais teaches the poly(beta-amino ester) is formed by Michael addition (conjugate addition) reaction between a multi-acrylate (a donor) and an amine (an acceptor), thereby is a crosslinked polymer.
Regarding claims 20-22, Ortais teaches the multi-acrylate is diacrylate, triacrylate such as trimethylol propane triacrylate, tetracrylate, pentacrylate, hexaacrylate and mixtures thereof ([0034]-[0037]; claims 3, 10, and 11).
Regarding claim 25, as discussed above, Ortais teaches the multi-acrylate is a diacrylate.
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Ortais teaches the oil core contains an active substance selected from the group consisting of essential oils and fragrances; inks, paints, thermochromic and/or photochromic substances, dyes, and glues, biocidal effect products, fungicidal effect products, antiviral effect products, phytosanitary effect products, cosmetic effect products, pharmaceutical active ingredients; and natural and edible oils, vegetable and edible oils, liquid alkanes, esters and fatty acids ([0088]; claim 8).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, it is noted that the limitation of “the microcapsule is used in a consumer care compositions selected from the group comprising laundry care compositions, oral care compositions, hair care compositions, skin care compositions, cosmetic care compositions, home care and cleaning compositions” as recited in claim 29 and “the microcapsule is used in a fabric conditioner composition or a laundry detergent composition” as recited in claim 30 are recitations of intended use. It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is further noted that Ortais teaches the microcapsule is useful in cosmetic formulations ([0012] and [0088]). As discussed above, Ortais teaches structural the same microcapsule of claim 1 and thus, the microcapsule of Ortais is capable of performing the intended uses as recited in claims 29 and 30.
Regarding claims 31 and 32, Ortais teaches the microcapsule is biodegradable ([0015]-[0022] and [0103]-[0104]; Examples 1-18; claims 18-21).
Regarding claim 33, Ortais teaches the microcapsule shows a biodegradation of at least 90%, measured by a manometric respirometry test, according to the method 301 F of the “OECD Guidelines for Testing of Chemicals: Ready Biodegradability” after an incubation of 28 days ([0015]-[0022] and [0103]-[0104]; Examples 1-18; claims 18-21).
Regarding claim 34, as discussed above, Ortais teaches the microcapsule shows a biodegradation of at least 90%, measured by a manometric respirometry test, according to the method 301 F of the “OECD Guidelines for Testing of Chemicals: Ready Biodegradability” after an incubation of 28 days.
Regarding claim 35, Ortais teaches the microcapsule is stable in a medium at neutral pH ([0020]). It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claims 36-38, Ortais teaches the microcapsule is storage stable in cosmetic formulations ([0012], [0020], [0022], [0064], [0088], [0109]). It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 39, Ortais teaches the microcapsule further contains a coating deposited onto the surface of the microcapsule ([0052]-[0053], [0093]; claim 17).
Regarding claim 41, Ortais teaches the microcapsule has an average diameter of about 100 nm to 100 µm, preferably between 1 μm and 50 μm, and even more preferably between 10 μm and 40 μm ([0101]; claim 16).
As a result, the aforementioned teachings from Ortais are anticipatory to claims 1, 11-13, 15-17, 19-22, 25, 27-39 and 41 of the instant invention.
Claim(s) 1, 11-13, 19-23, 27-38 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) or 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Abedin ("Effect of process mixing on the size distribution and mean diameter of the thioltriacrylate microcapsules" (2014). LSU Master's Theses. 3767), and as evidenced by Wang et al (Material Horizons, 2014, 1: 535-539).
Regarding claim 1, Abedin teaches microcapsules formed from Michael addition reaction between trithiol and triacrylate to form thiol-triacrylate (poly-β-thio-ester) microcapsules (Abstract; pages 21-31). Abedin teaches the microcapsules contain an oil core (pages 5-8 and 21-31). As evidenced by Wang, the microcapsules formed from Michael addition reaction between trithiol and triacrylate to form thiol-triacrylate (poly-β-thio-ester) are known to be stable and biodegradable (Wang: pages 535-530).
Regarding claims 11-13, as discussed above, Abedin teaches microcapsules formed from Michael addition reaction between trithiol (donor) and triacrylate (acceptor) to form thiol-triacrylate (poly-β-thio-ester) microcapsules (Abstract; pages 21-31).
Regarding claims 19-23, as discussed above, Abedin teaches microcapsules formed from Michael addition reaction between trithiol and triacrylate to form thiol-triacrylate (poly-β-thio-ester) microcapsules. Abedin teaches the triacrylate is trimethylolpropane triacrylate (pages 21-31).
Regarding claims 27 and 28, Abedin teaches the oil core contains an active ingredient selected from vitamin, fats and oils, aroma compounds, pesticides, essential oils, and perfumes (pages 5-8 and 21-31).
Regarding claims 29 and 30, it is noted that the limitation of “the microcapsule is used in a consumer care compositions selected from the group comprising laundry care compositions, oral care compositions, hair care compositions, skin care compositions, cosmetic care compositions, home care and cleaning compositions” as recited in claim 29 and “the microcapsule is used in a fabric conditioner composition or a laundry detergent composition” as recited in claim 30 are recitations of intended use. It is noted that a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. It is further noted that Abedin teaches the microcapsule is useful in cosmetic formulations (Abstract; page 5). As discussed above, Abedin teaches structural the same microcapsule of claim 1 and thus, the microcapsule of Abedin is capable of performing the intended uses as recited in claims 29 and 30.
Regarding claims 31-34, as discussed above, as evidenced by Wang, the microcapsules formed from Michael addition reaction between trithiol and triacrylate to form thiol-triacrylate (poly-β-thio-ester) are known to be stable and biodegradable (Wang: pages 535-530). As discussed above, Abedin teaches structural the same microcapsule of claim 1 (see page 12 of this office action), and thus, the biodegradation properties as recited in claims 31-34 are inherent to the structurally same microcapsule of Abedin. It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claims 35-38, as discussed above, as evidenced by Wang, the microcapsules formed from Michael addition reaction between trithiol and triacrylate to form thiol-triacrylate (poly-β-thio-ester) are known to be stable and biodegradable (Wang: pages 535-530). As discussed above, Abedin teaches structural the same microcapsule of claim 1 (see page 12 of this office action), and thus, the stability properties as recited in claims 35-38 are inherent to the structurally same microcapsule of Abedin. It is noted that "[p]roducts of identical chemical composition cannot have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the properties applicant discloses and/or claims are necessarily present.
Regarding claim 41, Abedin teaches the microcapsules have a particle size from 57 microns to 70 microns (page 31).
As a result, the aforementioned teachings from Abedin (and as evidenced by Wang) are anticipatory to claims 1, 11-13, 19-23, 27-38 and 41 of the instant invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 11-13, 15-17, 19-22, 25, and 27-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ortais et al (US 2020/0360889 A1), and further in view of Mistry et al (US 2013/0302392 A1).
The microcapsule of claims 1, 11-13, 15-17, 19-22, 25, 27-39 and 41 are discussed above from Ortais, said discussion being incorporated herein in its entirety.
Regarding claim 40, Mistry teaches a polymeric microcapsule coated with a cationic hydrogel to improve the deposition of the polymeric microcapsule onto different substrates such as skin, hair, and textiles (Abstract; [0027]-[0083], [0104]-[0112] and [0121]-[0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a hydrogel coating on the microcapsule of Ortais, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Mistry provided the guidance to do by teaching that a cationic hydrogel coating can be applied on polymeric microcapsules so to improve deposition of the polymeric microcapsule onto different substrates such as skin, hair, and textiles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success because Ortais and Mistry are commonly drawn to using the polymeric microcapsules in cosmetic formulations (Ortais: ([0012] and [0088]; Mistry: Abstract; [0082] and [0104]), and Ortais indicated that a coating can be further applied on the microcapsules (Ortais: [0052]-[0053], [0093]; claim 17). Thus, an ordinary artisan would have looked to modifying the microcapsule of Ortais with a hydrogel coating so as to improve deposition of the microcapsules on substrate such as skin to which the cosmetic formulation are applied, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1, 11-13, 19-23, 25, 27-38 and 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedin ("Effect of process mixing on the size distribution and mean diameter of the thioltriacrylate microcapsules" (2014). LSU Master's Theses. 3767) and as evidenced by Wang et al (citation supra), and further in view of Wang et al (Material Horizons, 2014, 1: 535-539).
The microcapsule of claims 1, 11-13, 19-23, 27-38 and 41 are discussed above from Abedin (and as evidenced by Wang), said discussion being incorporated herein in its entirety.
Regarding claim 25, Wang teaches microcapsules formed from Michael addition reaction between multi-thiol and multi-acrylate to form thiol-acrylate (poly-β-thio-ester) microcapsules (pages 535-530). Wang teaches suitable multi-acrylates include diacrylate and triacrylate (pages 536-537).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the triacrylate with diacrylate as the acrylate component in the formation of the thiol-acrylate (poly-β-thio-ester) microcapsules of Abedin, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Wang provided the guidance to do so by teaching that aside from triacrylates, diacrylates are also suitable acrylates for use in the Michael addition reaction with thiol to form the thiol-acrylate microcapsules. Thus, an ordinary artisan would have looked to other known acrylates including diacrylates as guided by Wang and use said diacrylate as the acrylate in the Michael addition reaction with thiol and achieve Applicant’s claimed poly-β-thio-ester microcapsule with reasonable expectation of success.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claim(s) 1, 11-13, 19-23, and 27-41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Abedin ("Effect of process mixing on the size distribution and mean diameter of the thioltriacrylate microcapsules" (2014). LSU Master's Theses. 3767) and as evidenced by Wang et al (citation supra), and further in view of Mistry et al (US 2013/0302392 A1).
The microcapsule of claims 1, 11-13, 19-23, 27-38 and 41 are discussed above from Abedin (and as evidenced by Wang), said discussion being incorporated herein in its entirety.
Regarding claims 39 and 40, Mistry teaches a polymeric microcapsule coated with a cationic hydrogel to improve the deposition of the polymeric microcapsule onto different substrates such as skin, hair, and textiles (Abstract; [0027]-[0083], [0104]-[0112] and [0121]-[0123]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include a hydrogel coating on the microcapsule of Abedin, and produce the claimed invention. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Mistry provided the guidance to do by teaching that a cationic hydrogel coating can be applied on polymeric microcapsules so to improve deposition of the polymeric microcapsule onto different substrates such as skin, hair, and textiles. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success because Abedin and Mistry are commonly drawn to using the polymeric microcapsules in cosmetic formulations (Abedin: Abstract; page 5; Mistry: Abstract; [0082] and [0104] ). Thus, an ordinary artisan would have looked to modifying the microcapsule of Abedin with a hydrogel coating so as to improve deposition of the microcapsules on substrate such as skin to which the cosmetic formulation are applied, and achieve Applicant’s claimed invention with reasonable expectation of success.
From the teachings of the references, it is apparent that one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success in producing the claimed invention. Therefore, the invention as a whole was prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of Applicant’s invention, as evidenced by the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 11-13, 15-17, 19-23, 25, and 27-41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-86 of copending Application No. 18729490 (reference application).
Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims in copending application ‘490 significantly overlap with the subject matter of the instant claims i.e., a microcapsule comprising a polymeric microcapsule shell; and a lipophilic core, wherein the polymeric microcapsule shell comprises a poly-β-amino-ester polymer, a co-polymer of poly- β-amino-ester, a terpolymer of poly- β -amino-ester, a crosslinked polymer of poly- β -amino-ester, or mixtures thereof, and wherein the microcapsule is storage stable and biodegradable.
Consequently, the ordinary artisan would have recognized the obvious variation of the instant claimed subject matter over copending Application No. 18729490.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed.
/DOAN T PHAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613