DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of invention I (claims 1-13), species 1a (hinge embodiment is a c-shaped gap seen in figures 3-7), species 2a (the frame is unitary), and species 3a (the locking mechanism includes two rails and a toothed central member (seen in figures 3-8a) in the reply filed on 10/30/25 is acknowledged.
Claims 14-21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 10/30/25.
Further, the Examiner withdraws claims 6-8 for being drawn towards non-elected species 1b-1d, respectively.
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 9 is objected to for claiming there is a plurality of interconnects between each pair of adjacent posts of the plurality of posts, when the figures and specification appear to only indicate one interconnect between two posts. See for example, Figure 3. While interconnects are not labeled, it can be seen there is only one location of connection between two posts.
Appropriate correction is required.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the plurality of interconnects between each pair of posts must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2-4 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claim 2 is indefinite for claiming the compliant joints comprise a flexible neck portion defining a gap between the posts and links. This is indefinite, since claim 1, from which this claim depends, has already stated that the compliant joint couples the links to the posts. It is unclear how there can be both a joint connecting the two structures, as well as a gap (which indicates space). As best the Examiner can understand, the two structures are either connected, or they are not.
Remaining claims are rejected for depending on a rejected claim.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “expansion and locking mechanism” in claim 12.
Because this/these claim limitation(s) is/are being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it/they is/are being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. In this case, the “expansion and locking mechanism” is understood to comprise one of the structures defined in the specification in: [022]-[027], [0136]-[0137], [0140], [0165]-[0166], [0171], [0182], [0187]-[0189], [0193]-[0195], [0204]-[0205], etc.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 11-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Cartledge et al. (US 20130166017 A1) hereinafter known as Cartledge.
Regarding claim 1 Cartledge discloses a prosthetic device comprising:
a frame (Figure 204 (with reference to Figure 5 item 110)) that is radially expandable and compressible between a radially compressed state (Figure 2) and a fully radially expanded state (Figure 9), the frame comprising:
a plurality of posts (Figure 204 items 20412/14320/20414 together) extending axially from an inflow end to an outflow end (Figure 204 shows the posts extending the entire length of the frame),
a plurality of links that extend circumferentially between adjacent posts of the plurality of posts (Figure 204 (with reference to Figure 1 items 112, 114)), and
a plurality of compliant joints that each pivotably couples one of the plurality of links to one of the plurality of posts (considered to be the locations where the links join to the posts), and
wherein as the frame moves from the radially compressed state to the fully radially expanded state, the plurality of compliant joints deflect circumferentially ([0287]).
Regarding claim 11 Cartledge discloses the device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Cartledge further discloses each post comprises a commissure window extending through a thickness of the post (Figure 208 item 18810; [0395] the commissure connector with windows can be attached to the proximal jack).
Regarding claim 12 Cartledge discloses the device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Cartledge further discloses one of the posts is configured as an expansion and locking mechanism (Figure 204 shows an axially extending first member 14320, an axially extending second member 20414, and a cap 14330), and comprises an inner member (Figure 204 item 14320) and one or more outer members (Figure 204 item 20614 and 20612).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartledge as is applied above in view of Shanley et al. (US 8545545 B2) hereinafter known as Shanley.
Regarding claim 2 Cartledge discloses the device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to each joint including a flexible neck portion defining a gap between one of the posts and one of the links.
However, regarding claim 2 Shanley teaches that compliant joints (Figure 4a-b item 37) within prosthetic devices can comprise a flexible neck portion defining a gap between two connecting parts (Figures 4a-b show how the thicker struts 29, 31 connect at a hinge joint which forms a c-shaped gap (at neck parts 45, 47)). Cartledge and Shanley are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely endovascular prosthetic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Cartledge so that the joints include a neck portion and gap as is taught by Shanley in order to provide a weak point within the stent frame which concentrates the location of deformation during expansion so that the location of deformation is predictable and does not affect the structural integrity of the links, thus ensuring uniform and consistent expansion of the device, and which facilitates retaining the device in its expanded condition.
Regarding claim 3 the Cartledge Shanley Combination teaches the device of claim 2 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination further teaches the gap widens as the frame moves from the radially compressed state (Shanley Figure 4a) to the fully radially expanded state (Shanley Figure 4b).
Regarding claim 4 the Cartledge Shanley Combination teaches the device of claim 2 substantially as is claimed,
wherein the Combination further teaches the flexible neck portion of each joint is thinner or narrower than the links and posts (Shanley Figures 4a-b show the relatively thinner neck portion compared to the struts they connect).
Regarding claim 5 Cartledge discloses the device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to one of the joints elastically deforming, and subsequently plastically deforming.
However, regarding claim 5 Shanley teaches that joints of prosthetic devices are known to plastically deform when the frame radially expands to a fully expanded state in a “subsequent expansion range” (Column 4 lines 3-4 references US 6241762. The ‘762 patent Column 4 lines 30-37 describes how the thinner cross-sectional area of the hinge-shaped joint allows plastic deformation). As regards the joints elastically deforming as the frame radially expands from the compressed to a partially expanded state during an initial range of expansion of the frame, the Examiner notes that this elastic deformation is inherent, since all materials which exhibit plastic deformation inherently experience elastic deformation before it reaches its yield point (e.g. from the compressed position to a position between that and its fully expanded configuration).
Claim 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartledge as is applied above in view of Maimon et al. (US 20180153689 A1) hereinafter known as Maimon.
Regarding claim 9 Cartledge discloses the device of claim 1 substantially as is claimed,
wherein Cartledge further discloses an interconnect positioned circumferentially between each pair of adjacent posts (Figure 204 (with reference to Figure 2 item 210)), wherein the interconnect pivotally couples four of the links (Figures 2, 5, 204; wherein each of the “links” is understood only from the post 20412/1430/20414 to the interconnect 210, so there are four total links forming one “x” shape),
but is silent with regards to there being a plurality of interconnects.
However, regarding claim 9 Maimon teaches that there can be a plurality of interconnects within a prosthetic device (Figure 14 shows a post member and at least two interconnects connecting four links in an x-shape between posts). Cartledge and Maimon are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely endovascular prosthetic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Cartledge so that there are more interconnects as is taught by Maimon in order to change the length of the device, thus enabling it to fit within different patients or in different locations throughout the body.
Claim 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartledge and Maimon as is applied above, further in view of Shanley as is applied above.
Regarding claim 10 the Cartledge Maimon Combination teaches the device of claim 9 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the interconnect elastically and then plastically deforming.
However, regarding claim 10 Shanley teaches that interconnects of prosthetic devices are known to plastically deform when the frame radially expands to a fully expanded state in a “subsequent expansion range” (Column 4 lines 3-4 references US 6241762. The ‘762 patent Column 4 lines 30-37 describes how the thinner cross-sectional area of the hinge-shaped connection allows plastic deformation). As regards the interconnects elastically deforming as the frame radially expands from the compressed to a partially expanded state during an initial range of expansion of the frame, the Examiner notes that this elastic deformation is inherent, since all materials which exhibit plastic deformation inherently experience elastic deformation before it reaches its yield point (e.g. from the compressed position to a position between that and its fully expanded configuration). Cartledge and Shanley are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely endovascular prosthetic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Cartledge so that the joints include a neck portion and gap (which creates the shape which permits elastic/plastic deformation) as is taught by Shanley in order to provide a weak point within the stent frame which concentrates the location of deformation during expansion so that the location of deformation is predictable and does not affect the structural integrity of the links, thus ensuring uniform and consistent expansion of the device, and which facilitates retaining the device in its expanded condition.
Claim 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cartledge as is applied above in view of Mueller (US 5797951 A).
Regarding claim 13 Cartledge discloses the device of claim 12 substantially as is claimed,
but is silent with regards to the inner member comprising a linear rack with teeth, and the outer member comprises a pawl to allow movement in one direction but not an opposite direction.
However, regarding claim 13 Mueller teaches a prosthetic device which includes an expansion and locking mechanism that includes an inner member comprising a linear rack having a plurality of teeth arrayed along a length of the inner member (Figures 1-3 item 16), and at least one outer member comprising a pawl configured to engage the rack (Figures 1-3 item 12) to allow movement of the inner member relative to the outer member in a first direction and prevent movement of the inner member relative to the outer member in a second direction opposite the first direction (Column 4 lines 12-19). Cartledge and Mueller are involved in the same field of endeavor, namely endovascular prosthetic devices. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to modify the device of Cartledge so substitute the jack struts and inner screw for a linear rack and pawl as is taught by Mueller since the courts have held that the simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results in a prima facie case of obviousness. See MPEP 2143 (I)(B).
Conclusion
/Jacqueline Woznicki/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774 12/04/25