DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
The amendments to the drawings and specification fully address the drawing objections. As a result, the drawing objections have been withdrawn.
Applicant's arguments, see pg. 10 of Remarks, filed 05/05/2026, in regards to independent claims 1 and 10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states in the second to last paragraph of pg. 10, that "Shafer does not teach the elongate clamping structure comprising a first end portion and an opposing second end portion, wherein the first and second end portions are configured to compress a portion of the column which surrounds the clamping structure, the first end portion and/or the second end portion of the elongate clamping structure comprising a fixing member having a conical shaped head portion, the elongate opening comprising at least one conical end portion which is shaped correspondent to the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member, the transformer core further comprising at least one washer positioned around the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member and arranged between the conical shaped head portion and the at least one conical end portion of the elongate opening." However, this does not acknowledge that it is combination of Shafer and Shirouzu which teaches these features. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Applicant’s arguments, see pg. 10-11 of Remarks, filed 05/05/2026, in regards to independent claims 1 and 10 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant states that “the stated rejection based on Shafer and Shirouzu is deficient on its face, because the Office Action admits that neither reference discloses a 'fixing member having a conical shaped head portion" or an "elongate opening comprising at least one conical end portion which is shaped correspondent to the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member.". However, the office action discloses that while the embodiment shown in Figure 2A of Shirouzu shows a bolt for the fixing member, paragraph [0041] of Shirouzu teaches that the fixing member could be a screw. Additionally, Shirouzu discloses in paragraph [0045], “a fastener 65 of desired dimensions can be used, irrespective of the gap length G of the gap 100. The recessed portion 75 preferably has a minimum shape corresponding to the fastener 65”. Since fastener 65 can be a screw, one of ordinary skill in the art could conclude that if the screw had a conical shaped head portion, the corresponding recess would have the same shape. Additionally, while element 72 is taught as a nut to correspond with the embodiment using a bolt, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize that a washer could be used with a screw. For these reasons, the rejection of independent claims 1 and 10 are maintained.
Applicant’s arguments regarding the dependent claims do not specifically address any of the rejections of those claims. Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references. As such, the rejections of the claims depending on claim 1 and 10 are maintained.
The objection of claims 6-7 and 15 are maintained as no arguments or amendments were proposed.
For the reasons explained above, the rejection is maintained and thus this action is made final.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer (US PG Pub 20120056706) in view of Shirouzu (US PG Pub 20180268984), hereinafter Schafer and Shirouzu respectively.
Regarding Claim 1, Schafer teaches a transformer core (10), comprising:
a first yoke (24),
a second yoke (22),
a column (28) having a column main axis and extending between the first yoke (24) and the second yoke (22),
and an elongate clamping structure (68) comprising an elongate rigid member (bolt) having a rigid member main axis,
the column (28) including an elongate opening (32) having an opening main axis which is oriented transversal with respect to the column main axis (construed from Figure 1),
the rigid member (bolt) positioned within the elongate opening (32) such that the rigid member main axis is oriented parallel to the opening main axis (construed from Figure 1),
However, Schafer does not teach the elongate clamping structure comprising a first end portion and an opposing second end portion, wherein the first and second end portions are configured to compress a portion of the column which surrounds the clamping structure, the first end portion and/or the second end portion of the elongate clamping structure comprising a fixing member having a conical shaped head portion, the elongate opening comprising at least one conical end portion which is shaped correspondent to the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member, the transformer core further comprising at least one washer positioned around the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member and arranged between the conical shaped head portion and the at least one conical end portion of the elongate opening.
Shirouzu teaches the elongate clamping structure (65) comprising a first end portion (upper portion, Fig 2A) and an opposing second end portion (bottom portion, Fig 2A), wherein the first and second end portions are configured to compress a portion of the column (B1 and B2) which surrounds the clamping structure (Paragraph [0036-0038]; Fig 2A),
the first end portion and/or the second end portion of the elongate clamping structure comprising a fixing member having a conical shaped head portion (Paragraph [0041, 0043-0045]; see Examiner’s note below),
the elongate opening (100) comprising at least one conical end portion (75) which is shaped correspondent to the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member (Paragraph [0044-0045]),
the transformer core further comprising at least one washer (72; in this instance a nut, but is made of insulating material and “mitigates the risk of damaging parts of the transformer core during assembly” as noted in the claimed invention specification) positioned around the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member and arranged between the conical shaped head portion and the at least one conical end portion of the elongate opening (Figure 2A, Paragraph [0041]).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the transformer of Schafer with the clamping structure of Shirouzu to minimize vibration without affecting inductance.
Examiner’s Note: While Shirouzu does not explicitly state "a conical end portion", Paragraph [0043] teaches that gap (100) is formed in a shape corresponding to the fastener (65). In Paragraph [0041], Shirouzu discloses that the fastener may be "a bolt, a screw, or the like" and one of ordinary skill in the art could discern that a screw may have a conical-shape head portion (specifically, in cases where the fastener must be flush with a surface, one of ordinary skill in the art could choose a countersunk screw) and thus require a conical shaped recess portion to fit such a fastener.
Regarding Claim 2, The combination of Schafer and Shirouzu teaches the transformer core according to claim 1, wherein the elongate opening comprises at least one conical end portion which is shaped correspondent to the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member, wherein the transformer core is designed such that the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member is positioned completely within the elongate opening (Shirouzu, Paragraph [0043-0045, 0066]).
As stated under Claim 1, while Shirouzu does not explicitly state "a conical end portion", Paragraph [0043] teaches that gap (100) is formed in a shape corresponding to the fastener (65). In Paragraph [0041], Shirouzu discloses that the fastener (i.e. fixing member) may be "a bolt, a screw, or the like" and one of ordinary skill in the art could discern that a screw may have a conical-shape head portion and thus require a conical shaped recess portion to fit such a fastener. Additionally, because the recess portion is formed in a shape corresponding to the fastener, it is understood that the fastener (whether a bolt, a screw, or the like) will fit within the recess portion.
Regarding Claim 3, The combination of Schafer and Shirouzu teaches the transformer core according to claim 1, wherein the fixing member comprises a screw which is screwable connected to the rigid member (Shirouzu, Paragraph [0041; 0043-0045]).
Regarding Claim 4, The combination of Schafer and Shirouzu teaches the transformer core according to claim 1, wherein the at least one washer (72) is made from an electrically insulating material (Shirouzu, Paragraph [0034-0035]).
Regarding Claim 5, The combination of Schafer and Shirouzu teaches the transformer core according to claim 1, further comprising at least one further elongate clamping structure (65) which is constructed analog to the first mentioned elongate clamping structure (Shirouzu, Paragraph [0034-0035]).
Regarding Claim 8, Schafer teaches the transformer core according to claim 1, further comprising at least one further column (28), wherein a main axis of the at least one further column and the main axis of the first mentioned column are positioned within a common plane, and wherein the opening main axis of the elongate opening is further oriented normal to said plane (Schafer, Paragraph [0022, 0035], Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 9, Schafer teaches the transformer core according to claim 8, wherein the at least one further column is constructed analog to the first mentioned column (Schafer, Paragraph [0035]; Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 10, Schafer teaches a transformer (10), comprising:
a first yoke (24),
a second yoke (22),
a column (28) having a column main axis and extending between the first yoke (24) and the second yoke (22),
and an elongate clamping structure (68) comprising an elongate rigid member (bolt) having a rigid member main axis,
the column (28) including an elongate opening (32) having an opening main axis which is oriented transversal with respect to the column main axis (construed from Figure 1),
the rigid member (bolt) positioned within the elongate opening (32) such that the rigid member main axis is oriented parallel to the opening main axis (construed from Figure 1),
and a winding (Paragraph [0033]); not pictured wound around the column.
However, Schafer does not teach the elongate clamping structure comprising a first end portion and an opposing second end portion, wherein the first and second end portions are configured to compress a portion of the column which surrounds the clamping structure, the first end portion and/or the second end portion of the elongate clamping structure comprising a fixing member having a conical shaped head portion, the elongate opening comprising at least one conical end portion which is shaped correspondent to the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member, the transformer core further comprising at least one washer positioned around the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member and arranged between the conical shaped head portion and the at least one conical end portion of the elongate opening;
Shirouzu teaches the elongate clamping structure (65) comprising a first end portion (upper portion, Fig 2A) and an opposing second end portion (bottom portion, Fig 2A), wherein the first and second end portions are configured to compress a portion of the column (B1 and B2) which surrounds the clamping structure (Paragraph [0036-0038]; Fig 2A),
the first end portion and/or the second end portion of the elongate clamping structure comprising a fixing member having a conical shaped head portion (Paragraph [0041, 0043-0045]; see note below
the elongate opening (100) comprising at least one conical end portion (75) which is shaped correspondent to the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member (Paragraph [0041; 0044-0045]),
the transformer core further comprising at least one washer (72; in this instance a nut, but is made of insulating material and “mitigates the risk of damaging parts of the transformer core during assembly” as noted in the claimed invention specification) positioned around the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member and arranged between the conical shaped head portion and the at least one conical end portion of the elongate opening (Figure 2A, Paragraph [0041])
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the transformer of Schafer with the clamping structure of Shirouzu to minimize vibration without affecting inductance. It should be noted that while Shirouzu does not explicitly state "a conical end portion", Paragraph [0043] teaches that gap (100) is formed in a shape corresponding to the fastener (65). In Paragraph [0041], Shirouzu discloses that the fastener may be "a bolt, a screw, or the like" and one of ordinary skill in the art could discern that a screw may have a conical-shape head portion and thus require a conical shaped recess portion to fit such a fastener.
Regarding Claim 11, The combination of Schafer and Shirouzu teaches the transformer according to claim 10, wherein the elongate opening comprises at least one conical end portion which is shaped correspondent to the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member, wherein the transformer core is designed such that the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member is positioned completely within the elongate opening (Shirouzu, Paragraph [0043-0045, 0066]). Refer to Claim 2 for further explanation.
Regarding Claim 12, The combination of Schafer and Shirouzu teaches the transformer according to claim 10, wherein the fixing member comprises a screw which is screwable connected to the rigid member (Shirouzu, Paragraph [0041; 0043-0045]).
Regarding Claim 13, The combination of Schafer and Shirouzu teaches the transformer core according to claim 10, wherein the at least one washer (72) is made from an electrically insulating material (Shirouzu, Paragraph [0034-0035]).
Regarding Claim 14, The combination of Schafer and Shirouzu teaches the transformer according to claim 10, the transformer core further comprising at least one further elongate clamping structure (60) which is constructed analog to the first mentioned elongate clamping structure (Shirouzu, Paragraph [0035]; Fig 1).
Regarding Claim 19, The combination of Schafer and Shirouzu teaches the transformer core of claim 5, wherein the elongate rigid member of the at least one further elongate clamping structure is oriented parallel to the elongate rigid member of the first mentioned elongate clamping structure (construed from Fig 1 of Shirouzu).
Claim(s) 21-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer in view of Shirouzu, and in further view of Masaru (JPH06290964A), hereinafter Masaru.
Regarding Claim 21, Masaru teaches the transformer core according to claim 1, wherein the elongate clamping structure further comprises an insulation tube (8, called insulating sleeve) positioned between the rigid member and an inner surface of the elongate opening and configured to effectuate an isolation between the rigid member and the column (Paragraph [12]; Fig 1, 5).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to combine the transformer of Schafer modified by Shirouzu with the teachings of Masaru by adding an insulating tube around a rigid member (fastener) in order to implement increased electrical isolation between components and reduce interference.
Regarding Claim 22, Masaru teaches the transformer core according to claim 21, wherein the washer (5) formed as a part of the insulation tube (8) (Paragraph [12]; Fig 1).
The washer (5) is an extension of insulation tube (8) as seen in Figure 1, showing that the washer is a part of the insulation tube structure. Additionally, while Masaru refers to element 5 as an “insulation plate”, it provides the same structure and function as the washer of the claimed invention through providing insulation and electrical isolation.
Regarding Claim 23, Masaru teaches the transformer core according to claim 21, wherein the washer (5) is positioned between the conical shaped head portion of the fixing member and the insulation tube (8) (Paragraph [12]; Fig 5).
Claims 1-5, 8-14, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shafer (US PG Pub 20120056706) in view of Shirouzu (US PG Pub 20180268984), hereinafter Schafer and Shirouzu respectively.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6-7, 15 and 20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim 6 recites, inter alia, the transformer core, comprising at least three elongate clamping structures such that a row of elongate clamping structures along the column is formed, comprising a first elongate clamping structure, a second elongate clamping structure, and a third elongate clamping structure, in that order, wherein a first distance between the first and the second elongate clamping structures differs from a second distance between the second and the third elongate clamping structures.
Claim 15 recites, inter alia, the transformer core further comprising at least three elongate clamping structures such that a row of elongate clamping structures along the column is formed, comprising a first elongate clamping structure, a second elongate clamping structure, and a third elongate clamping structure, in that order, wherein a first distance between the first and the second elongate clamping structures differs from a second distance between the second and the third elongate clamping structures.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/AISLIN M WEST/Examiner, Art Unit 2837
/SHAWKI S ISMAIL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2837