DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claims 1-26 are pending in the application. Claims 26 has been added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hall et al. (US PG Pub No. 2015/0126916), hereinafter “Hall”, in view of Nagasawa (US PG Pub No. 2018/0281730), hereinafter “Nagasawa”.
Regarding claim 1, Hall discloses a safety system for a pneumatic seat (Fig. 1 (1)) of a vehicle, the pneumatic seat (1) comprising: at least one headrest airbag (Fig. 1 (14)), a shoulder support airbag, at least one side airbag (Fig. 1 (15)), at least one lumbar support airbag (Fig. 1 (16)), at least one seat cushion airbag (Fig. 1 (13)), and at least one leg support airbag (Fig. 1 (17)), wherein the safety system for a pneumatic seat (1) further comprises an information collection module, an information integration module, and a control module, wherein the information collection module is configured to collect vehicle body data, motion information, and external environment information of the vehicle (paragraphs 25-28 and 32-41); the information integration module is configured to determine a current working scenario of the vehicle based on the vehicle body data, the motion information, and the external environment information that are collected by the information collection module (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Hall fails to disclose that the control module is configured to inflate the seat cushion airbag based on the current working scenario determined by the information integration module and when it is determined that the current working scenario is a first working scenario comprising detecting an intense driving environment, so as to partially deploy the at least one seat cushion airbag; and is configured to fully inflate and deploy the at least one seat cushion airbag when it is determined that the current working scenario is a second working scenario comprising predicting an unavoidable collision, wherein the at least one seat cushion airbag is configured to adjust a sitting posture of an occupant of the pneumatic seat in the fully inflated and deployed condition.
Nagasawa discloses a control module that is configured to inflate the seat cushion airbag based on the current working scenario determined by the information integration module and when it is determined that the current working scenario is a first working scenario comprising detecting an intense driving environment (Nagasawa (paragraphs 33 & 45)), so as to partially deploy the at least one seat cushion airbag (Nagasawa (paragraphs 33 & 45)); and is configured to fully inflate and deploy the at least one seat cushion airbag when it is determined that the current working scenario is a second working scenario comprising predicting an unavoidable collision (Nagasawa (paragraphs 33 & 45)), wherein the at least one seat cushion airbag is configured to adjust a sitting posture of an occupant of the pneumatic seat in the fully inflated and deployed condition (Nagasawa (paragraphs 37 & 45)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have modified Hall by incorporating the teachings of Nagasawa in order to more efficiently and proactively protect vehicle passenger/s in the event of a collision.
Regarding claim 2, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the control module is further configured to inflate the at least one side airbag and the at least one leg support airbag when it is determined that the current working scenario is the first working scenario (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 3, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the control module is further configured to: when it is determined that the current working scenario is the second working scenario and before or when the at least one seat cushion airbag is fully inflated and deployed, inflate and deflate the at least one lumbar support airbag at a first air pressure to make the at least one lumbar support airbag vibrate in order to prompt the occupant of the pneumatic seat (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); (Nagasawa (paragraphs 25, 33, 37, 38)).
Regarding claim 4, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 3, wherein the control module is further configured to fully inflate and deploy one or more of the at least one headrest airbag, the at least one side airbag, and the at least one leg support airbag when it is determined that the current working scenario is the second working scenario (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 5, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the control module is further configured to fully inflate and deploy one of the at least one side airbags closest to a predicted collision side of the pneumatic seat when it is determined that the current working scenario is the second working scenario (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); (Nagasawa (paragraphs 37, 38 & 45)).
Regarding claim 6, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the control module is configured to control inflation and deflation of the at least one seat cushion airbag based on a size and a weight of an occupant when it is determined that the current working scenario is a third working scenario (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45), comprising detecting a smooth driving environment (Nagasawa (paragraphs 33 & 45)).
Regarding claim 7, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the control module is configured to inflate and deflate the at least one lumbar support airbag at a second air pressure when it is determined that the current working scenario is a third working scenario (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45), comprising detecting a smooth driving environment (Nagasawa (paragraphs 33 & 45)).
Regarding claim 8, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the information collection module is configured to collect external information provided by the Internet of vehicles and/or in-vehicle information provided by an in-vehicle monitoring system; and the information integration module is further configured to determine the current working scenario of the vehicle based on the external information provided by the Internet of vehicles and/or the in-vehicle information provided by the in-vehicle monitoring system that are collected by the information collection module and based on the vehicle body data, the motion information, and the external environment information (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 9, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 8, wherein the information collection module comprises: a vehicle sensor unit, an ADAS, and an active safety system, wherein the vehicle sensor unit comprises: a velocity sensor, an acceleration sensor, a collision sensor, and a steering wheel angle sensor; the active safety system comprises EPS, an ABS, an ESP, and AEB; and the in-vehicle monitoring system comprises a 2D camera, a 3D camera, an internal radar, and a driver status monitoring unit (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 10, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the control module is configured to inflate, based on the motion information, at least one of the following airbags that are on a side opposite to a moving direction of the vehicle: the at least one shoulder support airbag, the at least one side airbag, the at least one lumbar support airbag, the at least one seat cushion airbag, and the at least one leg support airbag (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 11, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the safety system for a pneumatic seat further comprises an identification module configured to identify internal pressures of the at least one side airbag, the at least one lumbar support airbag, and the at least one seat cushion airbag, and generate an out-of-position signal based on the internal pressures; and the control module is further configured to inflate and deflate one or more of the at least one leg support airbag, the at least one seat cushion airbag, and the at least one lumbar support airbag at a third air pressure based on the out-of-position signal provided by the identification module, to generate vibration (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 12, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the control module is configured to control inflation and deflation of one or more of the at least one headrest airbag, the at least one shoulder support airbag, the at least one side airbag, the at least one lumbar support airbag, the at least one leg support airbag, and the at least one seat cushion airbag when it is determined that the current working scenario is the first working scenario, to move the body of an occupant to be adapted to a motion status of the vehicle and/or a change of the motion status of the vehicle (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 13, the modified invention of Hall discloses a control method for a pneumatic seat (1) of a vehicle, the pneumatic seat (1) comprising: at least one headrest airbag (Fig. 1 (14)), at least one shoulder support airbag, at least one side airbag (Fig. 1 (15)), at least one lumbar support airbag (Fig. 1 (16)), at least one seat cushion airbag (Fig. 1 (13)), and at least one leg support airbag (Fig. 1 (17)), wherein the control method comprises: S1: collecting vehicle body data, motion information, and external environment information of the vehicle (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); S2: determining a current working scenario of the vehicle based on the vehicle body data, the motion information, and the external environment information (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); S3: determining the current working scenario, and if the current working scenario is a first working scenario comprising detecting an intense driving environment (Nagasawa (paragraphs 33 & 45)), proceeding to step S4; or if the current working scenario is a second working scenario comprising predicting an unavoidable collision (Nagasawa (paragraphs 33 & 45)), proceeding to step S5 (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); S4: inflating the at least one seat cushion airbag to partially deploy the at least one seat cushion airbag, and then proceeding to step S6 (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); S5: fully inflating and deploying the at least one seat cushion airbag to adjust a sitting posture of an occupant of the pneumatic seat in anticipation of the unavoidable collision (Nagasawa (paragraphs 37 & 45)), and then ending the process (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); S6: determining whether the current working scenario is changed, and if yes, returning to step S3; or if no, ending the process (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 14, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 13, wherein step S4 further comprises: inflating the at least one side airbag and the at least one leg support airbag (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 15, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 13, wherein step S5 further comprises: before or when the at least one seat cushion airbag is fully inflated and deployed, inflating and deflating the at least one lumbar support airbag at a first air pressure to make the at least one lumbar support airbag vibrate to prompt the occupant of the pneumatic seat (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); (Nagasawa (paragraphs 25, 33, 37, 38)).
Regarding claim 16, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 13, wherein step S5 further comprises: fully inflating and deploying one or more of the at least one headrest airbag, the at least one side airbag, and the at least one leg support airbag (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 17, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 15, wherein step S5 further comprises: fully inflating and deploying one of the at least one side airbags closest to a predicted collision side of the pneumatic seat (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); (Nagasawa (paragraphs 37, 38 & 45)).
Regarding claim 18, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 13, wherein step S3 further comprises: determining the current working scenario, and if the current working scenario is a third working scenario comprising detecting a smooth driving environment (Nagasawa (paragraphs 33 & 45)), proceeding to step S7; and S7: controlling inflation and deflation of the at least one seat cushion airbag based on a size and a weight of an occupant (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 19, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 18, wherein step S7 further comprises: inflating and deflating the at least one lumbar support airbag at a second air pressure (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 20, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 18, wherein step S7 further comprises: identifying internal pressures of the at least one side airbag, the at least one lumbar support airbag, and the at least one seat cushion airbag, generating an out-of-position signal based on the internal pressures, and inflating and deflating one or more of the at least one leg support airbag, the at least one seat cushion airbag, and the at least one lumbar support airbag at a third air pressure based on the out-of-position signal, to generate vibration (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 21, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 13, wherein step S1 further comprises: collecting external information provided by the Internet of vehicles and/or in-vehicle information provided by an in-vehicle monitoring system; and step S2 further comprises: determining the current working scenario of the vehicle based on the external information provided by the Internet of vehicles and/or the in- vehicle information provided by the in-vehicle monitoring system and based on the vehicle body data, the motion information, and the external environment information (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 22, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 21, wherein the motion information comprises a velocity, an acceleration, steering information, and information from ESP, an ABS, an ESP, and AEB; and the external environment information is information from an ADAS of the vehicle (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 23, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 13, wherein step S4 further comprises: inflating, based on the motion information, at least one of the following airbags that are on a side opposite to a moving direction of the vehicle: the at least one shoulder support airbag, the at least one side airbag, the at least one lumbar support airbag, the at least one seat cushion airbag, and the at least one leg support airbag (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 24, the modified invention of Hall discloses the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 13, wherein step S4 further comprises: controlling inflation and deflation of one or more of the at least one headrest airbag, the at least one shoulder support airbag, the at least one side airbag, the at least one lumbar support airbag, the at least one leg support airbag, and the at least one seat cushion airbag, to move the body of an occupant to be adapted to a motion status of the vehicle and/or a change of the motion status of the vehicle (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 25, the modified invention of Hall discloses a computer-readable medium, wherein the computer-readable medium stores computer instructions that, when executed by a processor, implement the steps of the control method for a pneumatic seat of claim 13 (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45).
Regarding claim 26, the modified invention of Hall discloses the safety system for a pneumatic seat of claim 1, wherein the control module is further configured to, when it is determined that the current working scenario is the first working scenario, inflate and deflate one or more of the at least one headrest airbag, the at least one shoulder support airbag, the at least one side airbag, the at least one lumbar support airbag, the at least one seat cushion airbag, and the at least one leg support airbag to prompt the occupant with at least one of an out-of-position vibration prompt, a rapid acceleration vibration prompt, a sharp turn vibration prompt, and a collision vibration prompt (paragraphs 25-28, 32-41 and 45); (Nagasawa (paragraphs 25, 33, 37, 38)).
Response to Arguments
Applicants’ remarks filed on October 29, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not deemed persuasive.
Applicants contend that the combination of Hall et al. (US PG Pub No. 2015/0126916), hereinafter “Hall”, in view of Nagasawa (US PG Pub No. 2018/0281730), hereinafter “Nagasawa” fails to disclose configuring a seat airbag to adjust a sitting posture of an occupant in response to detecting an unavoidable collision. Examiner submits that the reference of Nagasawa in paragraph 37 discloses “…Therefore, not only when the automobile 1 is in a collision, but also when, for example, the automobile 1 sharply turns, it is possible to support the sides of the upper body of the passenger sitting on the seat 4 by the armrest airbags 22 to adjust the position or posture of the upper body, and to prevent the upper body from moving…”. Examiner further submits that paragraph 45 of Nagasawa discloses “…when predicting that the automobile 1 will take an unusual behavior or be in a collision, for example, during the automatic driving, the controller 19 deploys the armrest airbags 22… and …Therefore, when the automobile 1 is in a collision, it is possible to prevent the upper body of the passenger sitting on the seat 4 from changing in the adjusted position or posture by the armrest airbags 22 appropriately deployed along the sides of the upper body…”. Therefore, it is understood that the combination of Hall, in view of Nagasawa teaches a seat airbag that adjusts a sitting posture of an occupant in response to detecting an unavoidable collision as it is claimed by the independent claims of the current application.
Conclusion
/O.M/Examiner, Art Unit 3747
/LINDSAY M LOW/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3747