DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the casing recited in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Objections
Claims 4-5 and 7are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 4, line 1, “coil, comprises” should read “coil, comprising”
In claim 5, line 1, “claim 4, a shape of” should read “claim 4, wherein a shape of”
In claim 7, line 1 “stimulator, comprises” should read “stimulator, comprising”
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites “the metal conduit or a multi-stranded wire is configured to be energized and generate a magnetic field” in lines 4-5. It is unclear whether the multi-stranded wire is required by the claim. The claim further appears to refer to the multi-stranded wire as an alternative to the metal conduit, which is previously positively recited without any alternative. For examination purposes, the limitation will read as though the metal conduit which may conceivably be a multi-stranded wire, is configured to generate a magnetic field.
Claim 2 recites the limitation "The wire for transcranial magnetic stimulation" and “the insulating tube” in lines 1-2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The claim appears to be intended as a dependent claim referencing claim 1, and is read as such for the purposes of examination.
Claim 3 recites the limitation “The wire for transcranial magnetic stimulation” and “the insulating tube” in line 1. There is insufficient antecedent basis for these limitations in the claim. The claim appears to be intended as a dependent claim referencing claim 1, and is read as such for the purposes of examination.
Claim 4 recites the limitation “a wire coil reeled with the wire for transcranial magnetic stimulation” in lines 1-2. It is unclear if the claimed “wire coil” is intended to be a separate structure unrelated to “the wire for transcranial magnetic stimulation”. For examination purposes, the limitation is read as though “the wire for transcranial magnetic stimulation” is coiled; thus, denoting only one claimed coiled wire.
Claim 5 recites the limitation “a shape of the wire coil is any of circular, splayed, conical, dual-conical, dual-conical and splayed shape with an included angle” in lines 2-3. It is unclear if each disclosed shape must have the “included angle” or if the splayed shape distinctly requires the included angle. For examination purposes, the limitation is read as though the splayed shape is the only shape that necessitates the included angle.
The dependent claims not specifically addressed above are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as
indefinite due to their dependence from indefinite claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7 as best understood in light of the rejections under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) above, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wei et al. (CN 109091758).
Regarding claim 1, Wei et al. teaches a wire (page 4, para. 1, “copper wire”) for transcranial magnetic stimulation (page 2, para. 4, “transcranial magnetic stimulation”; page 4, para. 3, “magnetic stimulation” “scalp” “head”), configured for making a transcranial magnetic stimulation coil (Fig. 2, magnetic stimulation coil strand wound 1; page 3, para. 6, “the magnetic stimulation coil”) comprising:
an insulating tube (page 4, para. 5, “thin wall Teflon pipe…Teflon is a high performance insulating material”) and a metal conduit sleeved over the insulating tube (see Modified Fig. 3);
the insulating tube is a hollow structure (page 5, para. 3, “the cooled liquid medium flows through the Teflon pipe”),
an inner portion of the insulation tube is configured for circulation and flowing of liquids or gases (page 5, para. 3, “cooling liquid”), and
the metal conduit or a multi-stranded wire is configured to be energized and generate a magnetic field (page 3, para. 4, “stimulation efficiency and stimulating amount”; page 4, para. 1, “magnetic field”).
Modified Figure 3
Regarding claim 2, Wei et al. teaches the wire for transcranial magnetic stimulation according to claim 1 as stated above wherein a cross section of the insulating tube is any rectangular, circular, and oval (shown in Figure 3, the cross section of the Teflon tube 3 is circular).
Regarding claim 3, Wei et al. teaches the wire for transcranial magnetic stimulation according to claim 1 as stated above wherein the insulating tube is made of flexible materials (“Teflon (polytetrafluoroethylene)”, recited in claim 2, is flexible).
Regarding claim 4, Wei et al. teaches a transcranial magnetic stimulation coil (Fig. 2, magnetic stimulation coil strand wound 1; page 3, para. 5, “the magnetic stimulation coil”), comprises a casing (see Modified Figure 2) and a wire coil reeled with the wire for transcranial magnetic stimulation (Fig. 3, where the magnetic stimulation coil 1 comprises the Teflon tube 3 and the wound metal conduit 4) as defined in claim 1; a shape of the casing is adaptive to a shape of the wire coil and the casing is configured for housing the wire coil (Fig. 2; page 4, para. 3, “cap-coil”).
Modified Figure 2
Regarding claim 5, Wei et al. teaches the transcranial magnetic stimulation coil according to claim 4 as stated above wherein a shape of the wire coil is any of circular, splayed, conical, dual-conical and splayed shape with an included angle (Fig. 2, where the magnetic stimulation coil is conical).
Regarding claim 6, Wei et al. teaches the transcranial magnetic stimulation coil according to claim 4 as stated above wherein the casing is made from insulating materials (page 5, para. 14, “stimulating coil outer wrapped with heat-insulated asbestos material”; see modified Figure 2 where the magnetic stimulation coil 1 comprises a casing).
Regarding claim 7, Wei et al. teaches a transcranial magnetic stimulator (page 4, para. 3, “magnetic stimulation” “scalp” “head”; Fig. 1), comprising the transcranial stimulation coil as defined in claim 4.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Phillips (GB 2459157) teaches a magnetic stimulator for the brain wherein the insulating tube sheathes the metal conduit. Kim et al. (KR 100841596) discloses a cooling device coupled to a cooling liquid storage tank adapted for a magnetic stimulator. Fujimoto et al. (WO 2016171131) teaches a coil device for magnetic stimulation treatments but does not specifically disclose an insulating tube within the conductive wiring. Vaidya (US 2021/0008382) teaches a transcranial magnetic stimulation coil supplemented with a display. Sun et al. (CN 101947359) teaches a method for cooling a magnetic field stimulator which constitutes a cooling coil. Talebinejad and Musallam (2010) disclose a TMS coil design with an insulated Litz wire.
/B.R.L./Examiner, Art Unit 3791
/JENNIFER ROBERTSON/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3791