DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed February 19, 2026 have been entered. Claims 1, 10, and 12 have been amended and claim 14 is new; support for the amendments can be found in cancelled claims 8 and 9. Claims 1-7 and 10-14 remain pending and have been examined on their merits in this office action.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed February 19, 2026 have been fully considered. Applicant argues that a) the combination of elements set forth in independent is not disclosed or made obvious by the prior art of record because Kawada does not teach a varying thickness of the current collector, Hyo teaches away from claim 1 as now amended because Hyo teaches the ends of the current collector are thicker than adjacent portions, and Sasaki teaches the thickness of the current collector remains constant.
Regarding argument A, Kawada and Sasaki do teach a change in thickness of the active material layer on the current collector and does not explicitly teach a change in thickness of the current collector. However, Hyo teaches the thickness of the current collector correlates to the thickness of the active material in the plurality of recessed portions 113 (see e.g., Figure 2b) in order to improve the battery capacity of the lithium secondary battery. While Hyo teaches the ends of the electrode are thicker than the recessed portion in Figure 2B, Hyo does not teach away from the claimed invention because the claim limitation of “a first portion including an innermost edge of the first electrode” has a broadest reasonable interpretation where there are points in the first portion that could be greater than one point of the second region. Further, as Hyo teaches the thickness of the current collector corresponds to the thickness of the active material, therefore, the combination of Kawada and Hyo would teach that the current collector of the thin portion of Kawada would be thinner than that of the thick portion of Kawada in order to improve the battery capacity of the lithium secondary battery as taught by Hyo.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 1, 4, 6 and 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0013173 A1) in view of Hyo (KR 20060118954 A).
Regarding claim 1, Kawada teaches an electrode assembly (“an electrode assembly”) that is a coil of a positive electrode plate 11 (“a first electrode”) and negative electrode 12 (“a second electrode”) wound via a separator 13 (“a first separator interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode”) (see e.g., paragraph [0015]). Kawada teaches the positive electrode plate 11, the negative electrode 12, and the separator 13 is wound into a coil to form the electrode assembly 14 (“wherein the first electrode, the second electrode, and the first separator are wound together to form a jelly-roll structure”) (see e.g., paragraph [0019] and Figure 1). Kawada teaches the positive electrode plate 11 includes mixture layers disposed on a current collector 30 (see e.g., paragraph [0019]). Kawada teaches the mixture layer 31 has a thin portion 32 (“a first portion”) disposed on an inner coil half of the current collector 30 and a thick portion 33 (“a second portion”) having a larger thickness than the thin portion 32 (“wherein a thickness of the first portion is thinner than a thickness of the second portion”), wherein the inner coil half is a portion that lies between the center of the current collector 30 in the winding direction and the inner coil end R1 and the outer coil half is a portion that lies between the center of the current collector 30 in the winding direction and the outer coil end R2 (“wherein the first electrode comprises a first portion including an innermost edge of the first electrode near a center portion of the jelly-roll structure and a second portion extending from the first portion away from the center portion of the jelly-roll structure”) (see e.g., paragraph [0024] and Figure 2). Kawada teaches the positive electrode plate 11 includes mixture layers 31 (positive electrode mixture layers) disposed on a current collector 30 (a positive electrode current collector) (“the first electrode comprises an electrode current collector and an active material layer formed on the electrode current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0019]).
Kawada Figure 2
Kawada does not explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the electrode current collector at the first portion is thinner than a thickness of the electrode current collector at the second portion.
However, Hyo teaches a battery with a wound assembly (see e.g., Figure 3). Hyo teaches the battery includes an electrode plate comprising an electrode current collector 110 and an active material layer 120 formed on at least one surface of the electrode current collector 110 (see e.g., page 4). Hyo teaches the electrode current collector 110 preferably includes a plurality of recessed portions 113 spaced at predetermined intervals on at least one surface thereof (see e.g., Figure 2b). Hyo teaches the difference in the thickness of the electrode current collector improves the battery capacity (see e.g., page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the thin and thick portions current collector of the positive electrode of Kawada to have a thin thickness near the center of the coil and a thicker thickness moving away from the center of the coil, as taught by Hyo, in order to improve the battery capacity (see e.g., page 5).
Regarding claim 4, Kawada, as modified by Hyo, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Kawada teaches a coil of a positive electrode plate 11 (the “first electrode”) and negative electrode 12 (the “second electrode”) (“wherein the first electrode is a positive electrode, and the second electrode is a negative electrode”) (see e.g., paragraph [0015]).
Regarding claim 6, Kawada, as modified by Hyo, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Kawada teaches the ratio (a1/a2) of the thickness a1 of the thin portion 32 to the thickness a2 of the thick portion 33 is less than 1, preferably 0.4<(a1/a2)<0.8 (“a thickness of the first portion is 0.4 times or more and 0.8 times or less than a thickness of the second portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0027]).
Regarding claim 11, Kawada, as modified by Hyo, teaches a secondary battery comprising the electrode assembly as set forth in claim 1 (see e.g., paragraph [0015]).
Claims 2-3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0013173 A1) in view of Hyo (KR 20060118954 A), and further in view of Matsushita et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2014/0141303 A1), hereinafter referred to as Matsushita.
Regarding claim 2, Kawada, as modified by Hyo, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Kawada, as modified by Hyo, does not explicitly teach wherein an innermost edge of the second electrode is located closer to the center portion of the jelly-roll structure than the innermost edge of the first electrode is located to the center portion of the jelly-roll structure.
However, Matsushita teaches a battery including a spirally wound electrode body (see e.g., paragraph [0008]). Matsushita teaches the spirally wound electrode body 20 in which a cathode 21 (“first electrode”) and the anode 22 (“second electrode”) are layered with a separator 23 in between and are spirally wound (see e.g., paragraph [0044]) in a direction of an arrow P from each of the electrode ends on each of the right sides of the figures (see e.g., paragraph [0049] and Figures 4A-4B). Matsushita teaches a length of the anode 22 is wound around the center before the cathode 21 is wound around the center (“wherein an innermost edge of the second electrode is located closer to the center portion of the jelly-roll structure than the innermost edge of the first electrode is located to the center portion of the jelly-roll structure”) (see e.g., Figures 3 and 4A-4B and paragraph [0075]) in order to prevent winding gaps, explosion, thermal runaway, and/or the like of the battery that may occur during cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0075]).
Annotated Matsushita Figures 4A-4B
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the winding of the positive electrode and negative electrode of Kawada, as modified by Hyo, to have the anode wound around the center before the cathode is wound around the center to have the innermost edge of the anode be closer to the center than the innermost edge of the cathode, as taught in Matsushita, in order to winding gaps, explosion, thermal runaway, and/or the like of the battery that may occur during cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0075]).
Regarding claim 3, Kawada, as modified by Hyo, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Kawada, as modified by Hyo, does not explicitly teach wherein in the center portion of the jelly-roll structure, the second electrode is wound to extend past the first electrode.
However, Matsushita teaches the spirally wound electrode body 20 in which a cathode 21 (“first electrode”) and the anode 22 (“second electrode”) are layered with a separator 23 in between and are spirally wound (see e.g., paragraph [0044]) in a direction of an arrow P from each of the electrode ends on each of the right sides of the figures (see e.g., paragraph [0049] and Figures 4A-4B). Matsushita teaches a length of the anode 22 is wound around the center before the cathode 21 is wound around the center (“wherein in the center portion of the jelly-roll structure, the second electrode is wound to extend past the first electrode” ) (see e.g., Figures 3 and 4A-4B and paragraph [0075]) in order to prevent winding gaps, explosion, thermal runaway, and/or the like of the battery that may occur during cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0075]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the winding of the positive electrode and negative electrode of Kawada, as modified by Hyo, to have the anode wound around the center before the cathode is wound around the center to have the anode extend past the cathode in the center, as taught in Matsushita, in order to winding gaps, explosion, thermal runaway, and/or the like of the battery that may occur during cycling (see e.g., paragraph [0075]).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0013173 A1) in view of Hyo (KR 20060118954 A), and further in view of Sugaya et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2020/0119406 A1), hereinafter referred to as Sugaya.
Regarding claim 5, Kawada, as modified by Hyo, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Kawada, as modified by Hyo, does not explicitly teach wherein the first portion is wound 0.5 times of a winding circumference at the center portion of the jelly-roll structure.
However, Sugaya teaches a battery including a wound electrode assembly 14 formed by spirally winding via a separator 13, a positive electrode 11, and a negative electrode 12 (see e.g., Abstract). Sugaya teaches the negative electrode 12 includes a non-opposing portion 12a that includes a negative electrode mixture layer-formed portion 12c and a negative electrode core-exposed portion 12d, which is a thinner portion near the center of the coil (see e.g., paragraph [0021] and Figure 4). Sugaya teaches the non-opposing portion 12a is wound 1.25 turns or more, without facing the positive electrode 11 via the separator 13, from the inner edge (point E1 in FIG. 2) (see e.g., paragraph [0020]). Sugaya teaches the negative electrode core-exposed portion 12d is wound less than 1 times from the center (see e.g., Figure 2) or 0.75 turns or more (see e.g., paragraph [0040]), and the negative electrode mixture layer-formed portion 12c is wound 1.5 turns from the inner edge in the winding direction (“wherein the first portion is wound 0.5 times or more and 1.5 times or less of a winding circumference at the center portion of the jelly-roll structure”) (see e.g., paragraph [0020]). Sugaya teaches the non-opposing portion 12a including the thinner negative electrode core-exposed portion 12d being wound 0.75 turns or more prevents a reaction with the other electrode in case the battery catches fire (see e.g., paragraph [0040]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the winding of the positive electrode of Kawada, as modified by Hyo, to be wound 1.25 turns or more, as taught by Sugaya, in order to prevent a reaction with the other electrode in case the battery catches fire (see e.g., paragraph [0040]).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0013173 A1) in view of Hyo (KR 20060118954 A), and further in view of Sasaki et al. (JP 2011138729 A), hereinafter referred to as Sasaki.
Regarding claim 7, Kawada, as modified by Hyo, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Kawada, as modified by Hyo, does not explicitly teach the first electrode further comprises a third portion located between the first portion and the second portion and a thickness of the third portion gradually decreases from the second portion to the first portion.
However, Sasaki teaches a secondary battery that has an electrode winding group in which a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate that are stacked and wound in a spiral shape (see e.g., paragraph [0008]). Sasaki teaches the electrode plate 10 has an electrode mixture coating layer 16 in which a lowermost first layer 16a is applied, then overlapping the second layer 16b on the first layer 16a at a position moved by a predetermined distance to the other side in the longitudinal direction, and then similarly, the third layer 16c, the fourth layer 16d, and the fifth layer 16e may be sequentially applied while moving to the other side in the longitudinal direction (“the first electrode further comprises a third portion located between the first portion and the second portion and a thickness of the third portion gradually decreases from the second portion to the first portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0033] and Figure 3).Sasaki teaches the gradual decrease in active material along the longitudinal direction allows for fewer lithium ions to be released, to reduce the current density at the center, and reduce the heat generation at the center (see e.g., paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the positive electrode of Kawada, as modified by Hyo, to have a gradual decrease in active material along the longitudinal direction, as taught by Sasaki, in order to allow for fewer lithium ions to be released, to reduce the current density at the center, and reduce the heat generation at the center (see e.g., paragraph [0044]).
Claim 14 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kawada et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 2018/0013173 A1) view of Sasaki et al. (JP 2011138729 A), and further in view of Hyo (KR 20060118954 A).
Regarding claim 14, Kawada teaches an electrode assembly (“an electrode assembly”) that is a coil of a positive electrode plate 11 (“a first electrode”) and negative electrode 12 (“a second electrode”) wound via a separator 13 (“a first separator interposed between the first electrode and the second electrode”) (see e.g., paragraph [0015]). Kawada teaches the positive electrode plate 11, the negative electrode 12, and the separator 13 is wound into a coil to form the electrode assembly 14 (“wherein the first electrode, the second electrode, and the first separator are wound together to form a jelly-roll structure”) (see e.g., paragraph [0019] and Figure 1). Kawada teaches the positive electrode plate 11 includes mixture layers disposed on a current collector 30 (see e.g., paragraph [0019]). Kawada teaches the mixture layer 31 has a thin portion 32 (“a first portion”) disposed on an inner coil half of the current collector 30 and a thick portion 33 (“a second portion”) having a larger thickness than the thin portion 32 (“wherein a thickness of the first portion is thinner than a thickness of the second portion”), wherein the inner coil half is a portion that lies between the center of the current collector 30 in the winding direction and the inner coil end R1 and the outer coil half is a portion that lies between the center of the current collector 30 in the winding direction and the outer coil end R2 (“wherein the first electrode comprises a first portion including an innermost edge of the first electrode near a center portion of the jelly-roll structure and a second portion extending from the first portion away from the center portion of the jelly-roll structure”) (see e.g., paragraph [0024] and Figure 2). Kawada teaches the positive electrode plate 11 includes mixture layers 31 (positive electrode mixture layers) disposed on a current collector 30 (a positive electrode current collector) (“the first electrode comprises an electrode current collector and an active material layer formed on the electrode current collector”) (see e.g., paragraph [0019]).
Kawada does not explicitly teach a third portion located between the first portion and the second portion and wherein a thickness of the first portion is thinner than a thickness of the second portion and a thickness of the third portion gradually decreases from the second portion to the first portion.
However, Sasaki teaches a secondary battery that has an electrode winding group in which a positive electrode plate and a negative electrode plate that are stacked and wound in a spiral shape (see e.g., paragraph [0008]). Sasaki teaches the electrode plate 10 has an electrode mixture coating layer 16 in which a lowermost first layer 16a is applied, then overlapping the second layer 16b on the first layer 16a at a position moved by a predetermined distance to the other side in the longitudinal direction, and then similarly, the third layer 16c, the fourth layer 16d, and the fifth layer 16e may be sequentially applied while moving to the other side in the longitudinal direction (“the first electrode further comprises a third portion located between the first portion and the second portion and a thickness of the third portion gradually decreases from the second portion to the first portion”) (see e.g., paragraph [0033] and Figure 3).Sasaki teaches the gradual decrease in active material along the longitudinal direction allows for fewer lithium ions to be released, to reduce the current density at the center, and reduce the heat generation at the center (see e.g., paragraph [0044]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the active material layer of positive electrode of Kawada, to have a gradual decrease in active material along the longitudinal direction, as taught by Sasaki, in order to allow for fewer lithium ions to be released, to reduce the current density at the center, and reduce the heat generation at the center (see e.g., paragraph [0044]).
Kawada, as modified by Sasaki, does not explicitly teach wherein a thickness of the electrode current collector at the second portion and a thickness of the electrode current collector at the third portion gradually decreases form the second portion to the first portion.
However, Hyo teaches a battery with a wound assembly (see e.g., Figure 3). Hyo teaches the battery includes an electrode plate comprising an electrode current collector 110 and an active material layer 120 formed on at least one surface of the electrode current collector 110 (see e.g., page 4). Hyo teaches the electrode current collector 110 preferably includes a plurality of recessed portions 113 spaced at predetermined intervals on at least one surface thereof (see e.g., Figure 2b). Hyo teaches the difference in the thickness of the electrode current collector improves the battery capacity (see e.g., page 5).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the thickness of the current collector of the positive electrode of Kawada, as modified by Sasaki, to have a thin thickness near the center of the coil and a thicker thickness moving away from the center of the coil and correspond to the thickness of the active material layer, as taught by Hyo, in order to improve the battery capacity (see e.g., page 5).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728