DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
This Office Action is in response to Applicant's Restriction Requirement remarks filed on November 24, 2025. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 13, 17, and 46-56 are pending. Claim(s) 48, 49, 51, 52, and 55-56 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Applicant's election of Group I drawn to a method for treating or attenuating a mood disorder and election of species of CBD (first cannabinoid), kaempferol (additional therapeutic), and major depressive disorder (mood disorder) of the restriction requirement in the reply is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.03(a)). The requirement is deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL. Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 7-8, 13, 17, 46, 47, 50, 53, and 54 are examined herein insofar as they read on the elected invention and species.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 13, 17, 46, 47, 50, 53, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Leone-Bay (WO 2018/175992) of record in view of Yirmiya (Trends in Neuroscience, 2015) of record.
Leone-Bay teaches a fast-acting oral formulation comprising: (i) a cannabinoid comprising THC and/or CBD, (ii) an entourage-restoring molecule (claim 1). The entourage-restoring molecule is an additional cannabinoid, a terpene, a flavonoid, and an aroma- and flavor-conferring volatile (claim 4), wherein the additional cannabinoid is selected from: Δ8- tetrahydrocannabinol (Δδ-THC), Δ1 1-tetrahydrocannabinol (A1 1-THC), cannabigerol (CBG), cannabichromene (CBC), cannabinol (CBN), cannabinodiol (CBDL), cannabicyclol (CBL), cannabivarin (CBV), tetrahydrocannabivarin (THCV), cannabidivarin (CBDV), cannabichromevarin (CBCV), cannabigerovarin (CBGV), cannabigerol monomethyl ether (CBGM), cannabinerolic acid, cannabidiolic acid (CBDA), Cannabinol propyl variant (CBNV), cannabitriol (CBO), tetrahydrocannabinolic acid (THCA), and tetrahydrocannabivarinic acid (THCVA) (claim 5). The terpene is selected from: β-myrcene, a- pinene, β-pinene, linalool, d-limonene, β-caryophyllene, caryophyllene oxide, nerolidol, phytol, ocimene, terpinolene, terpinene, humulene, carene, bisabolol, valencene, elemene, farnesene, menthol, geraniol, guaiol, camphene, camphor, eucalyptol, pulegone, sabinene and phellandrene (claim 6); the flavonoid is selected from: cannaflavin A, cannaflavin B, cannaflavin C, vitexin, isovitexin, apigenin, kaempferol, quercetin, luteolin, cinnamaldehyde, and orientin (claim 7).
Leone-Bay teaches a method of reducing or eliminating one or more symptoms of a disease or disorder in a human subject, wherein said disease or disorder is acquired hypothyroidism, acute gastritis, addiction, ADHD, agoraphobia, AIDS, AIDS-related anorexia, alcoholism, Alzheimer's disease, amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS), ankyloses, anxiety, arthritis, Asperger's syndrome, asthma, atherosclerosis, autism, auto-immune diseases, bacterial infections, bipolar disorder, bone loss, blood disorders, brain injury/stroke, cachexia, cancer, carpal tunnel syndrome, cerebral palsy, cervical disk disease, cervicobrachial syndrome, chronic fatigue syndrome, chronic pain, cluster headache, conjunctivitis, Crohn's disease, cystic fibrosis, depression, dermatitis, diabetes, dystonia, eating disorders, eczema, epilepsy, fever, fibromyalgia, flu, fungal infection, gastrointestinal disorders, glaucoma, glioma, Graves' disease, heart disease hepatitis, herpes, Huntington's disease, hypertension, impotence, incontinence, infant mortality, inflammation, inflammatory bowel disease (IBD), insomnia, liver fibrosis, mad cow disease, menopause, metabolic disorders, migraine headaches, motion sickness, MRSA, multiple sclerosis (MS), muscular dystrophy, mucosal lesions, nail patella syndrome, nausea and vomiting associated with cancer chemotherapy, neuroinflammation, nicotine addiction, obesity, obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD), osteoporosis, osteopenia, pain, pancreatitis, panic disorder, Parkinson's disease, periodontal disease, peripheral neuropathy, phantom limb pain, poison ivy allergy, premenstrual syndrome (PMS), proximal myotonic myopathy, post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD), psoriasis, Raynaud's disease, restless leg syndrome, schizophrenia, scleroderma, septic shock, shingles herpes zoster), sickle cell disease, seizures, sleep apnea, sleep disorders, spinal injuries, stress, stuttering, temporomandibular joint disorder (TMJ), tension headaches, tinnitus, Tourette's syndrome, traumatic memories, wasting syndrome, or withdrawal syndrome (claim 73).
Leone-Bay does not specifically teach determining whether said subject has a high inflammatory state and/or microglial activation state (claim 1), more specifically wherein said high inflammatory/microglia state, is characterized by any one of: (a) plasma C-reactive protein (CRP) levels greater than 1 mg/L; (b) plasma IL-1b levels greater than 60 pg/ml; (c) plasma IL-6 levels greater than 2.0 pg/ml; (d) plasma TNFα levels greater than 3.8 pg/ml; (e) plasma CCL11 (eotaxin-1) levels greater than 72 pg/ml; (g) plasma IL-8 levels greater than 12.0 pg/ml; (h) plasma MIP-1α greater than 7.1 pg/ml; (i) plasma MCP1 levels greater than 80.0 pg/ml, (j) plasma RANTES greater than 2978 pg/ml, and any combination thereof, as required by the limitations of claim 2.
Yirmiya, teaches the peripheral and central triggers of microglial activation can induce the development of depression (page 645, Figure 6).
Yirmiya, teaches patients with high levels of inflammatory markers (e.g., CRP, TNF-a, IL-1, IL-6) should be treated with microglia-suppressive drugs such as TNF-a inhibitors (infliximab), COX-2 inhibitor (celecoxib) (page 653).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have administered the CBD/THC containing formulation for the treatment of depression as taught by Leone-Bay and envisioned employing the therapeutic formulation to a patient population characterized as exhibiting one or more of the specific plasma markers of claim 2. The motivation, provided by Yirmiya, teaches patients with high levels of inflammatory markers (e.g., CRP, TNF-a, IL-1, IL-6) should be treated with microglia-suppressive drugs. Therefore, the skilled artisan would have found it obvious that a patient population suffering from depression would exhibit high levels of inflammatory markers and increased microglial status, thereby benefitting from the antidepressive formulations of Leone-Bay.
Thus, based on the foregoing reasons, the instant claims are deemed unpatentable over the cited reference.
Conclusion
Claims 1-3, 5, 7-8, 13, 17, 46, 47, 50, 53, and 54 are not allowed.
/SAHAR JAVANMARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1627