Double Patenting
Claims 4 and 7-13 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-5 of copending Application No. 18/267475. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the instant claims are broader than the claims of SN 18/267475.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 4 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. It is indefinite as to whether the claims recite a product or a process, since line 1 of claim 4 recites “a peracetic acid-based solution, which would connote a product, but also recites that “the concentrate is diluted with potable water to provide a working solution…”, which would connote a process. If the claims are directed to a product, it is indefinite as to whether the product would be the “aqueous peracetic acid concentrate” recited in lines 2 and 3 of claim 4, or the working solution recited in the last.5 lines.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over CN 106729920 A. CN 106729920 A discloses a disinfectant comprising 50% hydrogen peroxide, 1-5% activator and 2-10% stabilizer. (See Paragraph [0019] of the English translation.) CN 106729920 A teaches in Paragraph [0020] that the stabilizer comprises acetic acid and peracetic acid, and in Paragraph [0021] that the activator can be sulfuric acid. The acetic acid and hydrogen peroxide would react to form peracetic acid, and the hydrogen peroxide would stabilize a molecule in the composition of CN 106729920 A, to no less extent than in the composition recited in applicant’s claims. CN 106729920 A further teaches in Paragraphs [0018] and [0092] of the English translation that the disinfectant solution is used as the stock solution to prepare different concentrations. It would be obvious to dilute the disinfectant solution of CN 106729920 A with potable water to provide a working solution comprising about 1% hydrogen peroxide, 0.75% acetic acid and 0.5% sulfuric acid volume/volume with potable water, and having a concentration of about 200 to 400 ppm of peracetic acid. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since CN 106729920 A discloses in Paragraph [0092] that the solution is used as a stock solution, which would suggest the solution should be diluted with water. It would not be unexpected that the diluted solution would include the components and concentrations of the working solution as recited in claim 4.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument, that CN 106729920 A is silent regarding an aqueous peracetic acid concentration comprising about 23% (w)w) peracetic acid in water, is not convincing, Applicant’s claims do not require an aqueous peracetic acid concentrate comprising about 23% (w/w) peracetic acid in water, since the final product recited in claim 4 requires a working solution comprising about 1% hydrogen peroxide, o.75% acetic acid and 0.5% sulfuric acid volume/volume with potable water, and having a concentration of about 200 to 400 ppm of peracetic acid. The aqueous peracetic acid concentrate comprising about 23% (w/w) in water, recited in applicant’s claim 4 is merely the solution before dilution, and would not be present in the final working solution. In any event, it would be obvious to provide a concentration comprising about 23% (w/w) peracetic acid in water in the stock solution, since the acetic acid and hydrogen peroxide present in the stock solution would react to form peracetic acid, to no less extent than in the solution recited in claim 4.
Claims 4 and 7-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Glasbey et al (US 12,427,215) (newly cited). Glasbey et al disclose an endoscope disinfectant comprising 200 ppm to 10,000 ppm PAA at col. 14, lines 63-67. The difference between the solution disclosed by Glasbey et al, and that recited in applicant’s claims, is that Glasbey et al do not disclose that that solution contains about 1% hydrogen peroxide, 0.75% acetic acid and o.5% sulfuric acid volume/volume with potable water. It would be obvious to include about 1% hydrogen peroxide, 0.75% acetic acid and o.5% sulfuric acid volume/volume with potable water in the solution of Glasbey et al. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so, since Glasbey et al suggest at col.13, lines 49-55 and the paragraph bridging columns 8 and 9, that the concentrate may include sulfuric acid, and also teach at col. 8, lines 48-54 that the concentrate contains hydrogen peroxide and acetic acid. Gladsbey et al also teach in col. 9, lines 1-4 that he final solution will be comprised of a mixture containing PAA, water , hydrogen peroxide and acetic acid. It would be obvious from such teachings of Gladsbey et al to provide a working solution comprising about 1% hydrogen peroxide, 0.75% acetic acid and o.5% sulfuric acid volume/volume with potable water in the solution, as well as 200 ppm to 400 ppm peracetic acid.
Regarding claims 7-13, the properties recited therein would be inherent in the composition of Gladsbey et al, since the composition of Gladsbey et al entails the same ingredients as recited in applicant’s claim 4, including 200 ppm to 400 ppm peracetic /WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736 acid.
Hamidi et al (US 12,484,470) is made of record for disclosing a sanitizing agent comprising peracetic acid at col. 11, lines 25-35.
/WAYNE A LANGEL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736