DETAILED ACTION
Status of claims
Claims 1 and 7 are amended.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
No new claim is added.
Applicant’s amendments are entered. Applicant’s remarks are also entered into
the record. A new search was made necessitated by the applicant’s amendments
and remarks.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s remarks and arguments filed on 01/16/2026 are respectfully considered but not persuasive. Applicant’s stands on page 6 that” Kim, AG and Konrardy do not account for the deficiency (“wherein the piece of the interaction data is uploaded when a percentage of empty storage space in an internal storage of the vehicle reaches a predetermined threshold percentage”) of Ryu.
According to para [0033] and [0071] , A G teaches the media status update flag is used for indicating availability of the media data on the cloud server. It would be considered that when percentage of empty storage reaches a predetermined threshold percentage, the media status update flag indicates the availability of storage media to upload the interaction data. So, the amended subject matter covered by the Ryu in view of A G.
For the above reasons, the rejection of claims is believed to be proper and is hereby maintained and repeated as follows:
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4,6-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over KR20200086632A to Ryu et al. (herein after “Ryu”) in view of WO 2016093553A1 to Hwan Su Kim (herein after “Kim”) and US20200079387A1 to A G et al. (herein after “A G”).
Regarding claim 1, Ryu discloses A data recording system of a vehicle (see Ryu para [0001] system for collecting and storing vehicle generation data from a vehicle, an in-vehicle monitoring system (10) ), the system including:
a telecommunication device (see Ryu a Telecommunication device 15 ) configured to enable communication between the vehicle and a remote server(see Ryu at least para [0029} The communication device 15 can transmit an event report message to the VM server 20 via a communication network);
a first data recorder configured to record a plurality of interaction data representing timestamped interactions that occur between an autonomous driving system of the vehicle and a driver while driving
(see Ryu para[0021] the system 100 proposed below is In this regard, it is applicable to other types of data created, recorded or stored by other types of devices in the vehicle. For example, the system of FIG. 1 includes autonomous driving data (e.g., state transition of ADAS functions, MRM (Minimal Risk Maneuver)) recorded in the recently discussed Data Storage System for Automated Driving Vehicles (DSSAD). ) It can also be applied to time-stamped data such as initiation, transfer of control to the driver, errors in the autonomous driving system, etc.); and
a second data recorder (see Ryu event data recorder (EDR) 11) configured to record event data representing a state of the vehicle for a predetermined time before and after a predefined event occurs(see Ryu para [0025] The event data recorder (EDR) 11 may receive trigger signal(s) notifying the occurrence of an event from an electronic control unit(s), such as, for example, an airbag control unit (ACU). The event data recorder 11 may be able to access values measured by at least one sensor 13. At least one sensor 13 may be designed to detect vehicle speed/acceleration/deceleration/moving distance, and the like.),
wherein the telecommunication device (see Ryu The communication device 15) is further configured to upload a piece of the interaction data accumulated over a period of time to the remote server according to a predefined schedule, and (see Ryu at least para [0029] The communication device 15 may generate an event report message. The event report message includes vehicle identifiable information (VII) and event data (EDR data and/or additional information). The communication device 15 can transmit an event report message to the VM server 20 via a communication network; para[0010] and figure 1)
wherein the telecommunication device (see Ryu The communication device 15) is further configured to, in response to an occurrence of the event, upload main interaction data that is at least one interaction data recorded in proximity to an occurrence time point of the event to the remote server together with the event data or subsequent to the event data (see Ryu VM server as remote server, para[0016] FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating a method for providing event data to a neutral server by a VM server in the system illustrated in FIG. 1 (similar as 1st data recorder, interaction data). 6 shows an exemplary version of event data transmitted to a neutral server. 7 is an exemplary control flow diagram showing a process for a vehicle owner to obtain event data generated in his vehicle in the system illustrated in FIG. 1. 8 is an exemplary control flow diagram showing a process for obtaining event data generated in a specific vehicle of interest to a third party in the system illustrated in FIG. 1. 9 is a flow chart showing a process in which a VM server obtains event data related to a specific vehicle from a neutral server in the system illustrated in FIG. 1. para[0024] The event data recorder (EDR) 11 may receive data from various sensors and/or electronic control units (ECUs) mounted on a vehicle. In the volatile memory of the event data recorder 11, data for a certain period of time is continuously updated and temporarily stored. When the occurrence of one or more predefined events is detected, the event data recorder (EDR) 11 records data stored in the volatile memory into the internal nonvolatile memory within a predetermined time before and after the detection, figure 1).
However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach transmit the event data to the remote server without delay after an event has occurred. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention Kim teaches and transmit the event data to the remote server without delay after an event has occurred (see Kim Afterwards, the procedure indicated by the bold box in Fig. 6 (“Optional”) may be performed, or the procedure (671) in which the information collection device (210) transmits event data to the server may be performed immediately without performing the procedure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu method and system of collecting and storing vehicle generation data from a vehicle with Kim’s immediate transition of the event data to the server to collect event data from one device to acquire data related to the event from the event occurrence point in order to determine the appropriate event when specific events occur. (see Kim Technology described below is a method to which the system to collect event data from one device to acquire data related to the event from the event occurrence point in order to determine the appropriate event when specific events occur.)
However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the piece of the interaction data is uploaded when it is determined, upon an ignition-on state of the vehicle, that a time interval defined by the predefined schedule has elapsed after a last upload time. Nevertheless, A G same field of endeavor teaches wherein the piece of the interaction data is uploaded when it is determined, upon an ignition-on state of the vehicle, that a time interval defined by the predefined schedule has elapsed after a last upload time (see A G para[0093]The values or instructions set by the fleet manager 114 on the setting page 400 may be stored on the cloud server 118 at regular time intervals to ensure that correct metrics are enforced while the vehicle 102 is driven by the driver 108.)
wherein the piece of the interaction data is uploaded when a percentage of empty storage space in an internal storage of the vehicle reaches a predetermined threshold percentage (See A G para[0033] Therefore, in the present disclosure, a media status update flag is used for indicating availability of the media data on the cloud server. This ensures that the fleet manager does not face broken links, etc. When the media status update flag is set, the cloud server knows that the media data associated with the metadata is available or uploaded to the cloud server and can be used by the fleet manager, para[0071] At 235, the on-board detection device is configured to upload the media data associated with the detected event to the cloud server. The metadata is almost sent in the real time by the on-board detection device but the media data due to its file size takes a bit longer to be delivered and hence a media status update flag is rendered by the on-board detection device to indicate availability of the media data at the cloud server.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu method and system of collecting and storing vehicle generation data from a vehicle with A G’s upon the on state of the vehicle, stored date and a time interval has elapsed after the last upload time in order to allow to determine the events to be uploaded in the current hour (see A G para[0094]).
Regarding claim 2, Ryu, Kim and A G remain applied as claim 1. Ryu discloses wherein the main interaction data is used to identify a subject who was controlling the vehicle at the time the event occurred (see Ryu para[0029] The communication device 15 may generate an event report message. The event report message includes vehicle identifiable information (VII) and event data (EDR data and/or additional information). The communication device 15 can transmit an event report message to the VM server 20 via a communication network; and figure 1).
Regarding claim 3, Ryu, Kim and A G remain applied as claim 1. Ryu discloses wherein each of the plurality of interaction data is timestamped data indicating a type of interaction. (see Ryu para[0021] the system 100 proposed below is In this regard, it is applicable to other types of data created, recorded or stored by other types of devices in the vehicle. For example, the system of FIG. 1 includes autonomous driving data (e.g., state transition of ADAS functions, MRM (Minimal Risk Maneuver)) recorded in the recently discussed Data Storage System for Automated Driving Vehicles (DSSAD). ) It can also be applied to time-stamped data such as initiation, transfer of control to the driver, errors in the autonomous driving system, etc.);
Regarding claim 4, Ryu, Kim and A G remain applied as claim 1. Ryu discloses wherein the type of interaction includes changing a state of the autonomous driving system, starting and ending Minimal Risk Maneuver (MRM) by the autonomous driving system, and taking over control of a driving task to the driver. (see Ryu para[0021] the system 100 proposed below is In this regard, it is applicable to other types of data created, recorded or stored by other types of devices in the vehicle. For example, the system of FIG. 1 includes autonomous driving data (e.g., state transition of ADAS functions, MRM (Minimal Risk Maneuver)) recorded in the recently discussed Data Storage System for Automated Driving Vehicles (DSSAD). ) It can also be applied to time-stamped data such as initiation, transfer of control to the driver, errors in the autonomous driving system, etc.).
Regarding claim 6, Ryu, Kim and A G remain applied as claim 1. Ryu discloses wherein the plurality of interaction data is expressed in a data format including a type field in which a type flag indicating a type of interaction is defined, a cause field in which data indicating a cause of the interaction is defined, a date field in which data indicating a date when the interaction occurred is defined, and a timestamp field in which data indicating a time when the interaction occurred is defined.(see Ryu para[0021] and figure 1; system 100 is used to applied to other types of data generated, recorded or stored in vehicle device in relation to the operation of a vehicle and behavior of a driver)
Regarding claim 7, Ryu discloses A method (see Ryu para[0001] The present invention relates to a method and system for collecting and storing vehicle generation data from a vehicle.) performed by a data recording system of a vehicle (see Ryu para [0001] system for collecting and storing vehicle generation data from a vehicle, an in-vehicle monitoring system (10) ), comprising a first data recorder and a second data recorder, the method including:
recording, by the first data recorder, a plurality of interaction data indicating timestamped interactions that occur between an autonomous driving system of the vehicle and a driver while driving; (see Ryu para[0021] the system 100 proposed below is In this regard, it is applicable to other types of data created, recorded or stored by other types of devices in the vehicle. For example, the system of FIG. 1 includes autonomous driving data (e.g., state transition of ADAS functions, MRM (Minimal Risk Maneuver)) recorded in the recently discussed Data Storage System for Automated Driving Vehicles (DSSAD). ) It can also be applied to time-stamped data such as initiation, transfer of control to the driver, errors in the autonomous driving system, etc.);
uploading a piece of the interaction data accumulated over a period of time to a remote server according to a predefined schedule;
recording, by the second data recorder, event data indicating a vehicle state for a predetermined time before and after a predefined event occurs, in response to an occurrence of the predefined event; and(see Ryu para [0025] The event data recorder (EDR) 11 may receive trigger signal(s) notifying the occurrence of an event from an electronic control unit(s), such as, for example, an airbag control unit (ACU). The event data recorder 11 may be able to access values measured by at least one sensor 13. At least one sensor 13 may be designed to detect vehicle speed/acceleration/deceleration/moving distance, and the like.),
wherein the method further includes: identifying main interaction data that is at least one interaction data recorded in proximity to an occurrence time point of the event; and uploading the main interaction data to the remote server together with the event data or subsequent to the event data. (see Ryu VM server as remote server, para[0016] FIG. 5 is a flowchart illustrating a method for providing event data to a neutral server by a VM server in the system illustrated in FIG. 1 (similar as 1st data recorder, interaction data). 6 shows an exemplary version of event data transmitted to a neutral server. 7 is an exemplary control flow diagram showing a process for a vehicle owner to obtain event data generated in his vehicle in the system illustrated in FIG. 1. 8 is an exemplary control flow diagram showing a process for obtaining event data generated in a specific vehicle of interest to a third party in the system illustrated in FIG. 1. 9 is a flow chart showing a process in which a VM server obtains event data related to a specific vehicle from a neutral server in the system illustrated in FIG. 1. para[0024] ).
However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach transmit the event data to the remote server without delay after an event has occurred. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention Kim teaches and transmit the event data to the remote server without delay after an event has occurred (see Kim Afterwards, the procedure indicated by the bold box in Fig. 6 (“Optional”) may be performed, or the procedure (671) in which the information collection device (210) transmits event data to the server may be performed immediately without performing the procedure).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu method and system of collecting and storing vehicle generation data from a vehicle with Kim’s immediate transition of the event data to the server to collect event data from one device to acquire data related to the event from the event occurrence point in order to determine the appropriate event when specific events occur. (see Kim Technology described below is a method to which the system to collect event data from one device to acquire data related to the event from the event occurrence point in order to determine the appropriate event when specific events occur).
However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the piece of the interaction data is uploaded when it is determined, upon an ignition-on state of the vehicle, that a time interval defined by the predefined schedule has elapsed after a last upload time. Nevertheless, A G same field of endeavor teaches wherein the piece of the interaction data is uploaded when it is determined, upon an ignition-on state of the vehicle, that a time interval defined by the predefined schedule has elapsed after a last upload time (see A G para[0093]The values or instructions set by the fleet manager 114 on the setting page 400 may be stored on the cloud server 118 at regular time intervals to ensure that correct metrics are enforced while the vehicle 102 is driven by the driver 108.)
wherein the piece of the interaction data is uploaded when a percentage of empty storage space in an internal storage of the vehicle reaches a predetermined threshold percentage (See A G para[0033] Therefore, in the present disclosure, a media status update flag is used for indicating availability of the media data on the cloud server. This ensures that the fleet manager does not face broken links, etc. When the media status update flag is set, the cloud server knows that the media data associated with the metadata is available or uploaded to the cloud server and can be used by the fleet manager, para[0071] At 235, the on-board detection device is configured to upload the media data associated with the detected event to the cloud server. The metadata is almost sent in the real time by the on-board detection device but the media data due to its file size takes a bit longer to be delivered and hence a media status update flag is rendered by the on-board detection device to indicate availability of the media data at the cloud server.)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu method and system of collecting and storing vehicle generation data from a vehicle with A G’s upon the on state of the vehicle, stored date and a time interval has elapsed after the last upload time in order to allow to determine the events to be uploaded in the current hour (see A G para[0094]).
Regarding claim 8, Ryu, Kim and A G remain applied as claim 7. Ryu discloses wherein the main interaction data is used to identify a subject that was controlling the vehicle at the time the event occurred. (see Ryu para[0029] The communication device 15 may generate an event report message. The event report message includes vehicle identifiable information (VII) and event data (EDR data and/or additional information). The communication device 15 can transmit an event report message to the VM server 20 via a communication network; and figure 1).
Regarding claim 9, Ryu, Kim and A G remain applied as claim 7. Ryu discloses wherein each of the plurality of interaction data is timestamped data indicating a type of interaction. . (see Ryu para[0021] the system 100 proposed below is In this regard, it is applicable to other types of data created, recorded or stored by other types of devices in the vehicle. For example, the system of FIG. 1 includes autonomous driving data (e.g., state transition of ADAS functions, MRM (Minimal Risk Maneuver)) recorded in the recently discussed Data Storage System for Automated Driving Vehicles (DSSAD). ) It can also be applied to time-stamped data such as initiation, transfer of control to the driver, errors in the autonomous driving system, etc.);
Regarding claim 10, Ryu, Kim and A G remain applied as claim 7. Ryu discloses wherein the type of interaction includes changing a state of the autonomous driving system, starting and ending Minimal Risk Maneuver (MRM) by the autonomous driving system, and taking over control of a driving task to the driver. (see Ryu para[0021] the system 100 proposed below is In this regard, it is applicable to other types of data created, recorded or stored by other types of devices in the vehicle. For example, the system of FIG. 1 includes autonomous driving data (e.g., state transition of ADAS functions, MRM (Minimal Risk Maneuver)) recorded in the recently discussed Data Storage System for Automated Driving Vehicles (DSSAD). ) It can also be applied to time-stamped data such as initiation, transfer of control to the driver, errors in the autonomous driving system, etc.);
Regarding claim 12, Ryu, Kim and A G remain applied as claim 7. Ryu discloses wherein the plurality of interaction data is expressed in a data format including a type field in which a type flag indicating a type of interaction is defined, a cause field in which data indicating a cause of the interaction is defined, a date field in which data indicating a date when the interaction occurred is defined, and a timestamp field in which data indicating a time when the interaction occurred is defined. .(see Ryu para[0021] and figure 1; system 100 is used to applied to other types of data generated, recorded or stored in vehicle device in relation to the operation of a vehicle and behavior of a driver).
Claims 5 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatented over KR20200086632A to Ryu et al. (herein after “Ryu”) in view of WO2016093553A1 to Hwan Su Kim (herein after “Kim”), US20200079387A1 to A G et al. (herein after “A G”) and US10482226B1 of Konrardy et al. (herein after “Konrardy”)
Regarding claim 5, Ryu, Kim and A G remain apply as claim 1. However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the type of interaction further includes an occurrence of an event that triggers recording of the [[first]] second data recorder and an occurrence of a minor event that does not trigger recording of the [[first]] second data recorder. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Konrardy teaches wherein the type of interaction further includes an occurrence of an event that triggers recording of the [[first]] second data recorder and an occurrence of a minor event that does not trigger recording of the [[first]] second data recorder. (see Konrardy [column 12 lines 17-57] and figures 1A to 2, autonomous operation features in the vehicle 108 and the operation of the vehicle (108) are uploaded to a server (140) via a network (13) and stored the database).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu method and system of collecting and storing vehicle generation data from a vehicle with Konrardy’s major and minor event data storing to safely control the vehicle during heavy rain and fog (see Konrardy para[0005]).
Regarding claim 11, Ryu, Kim and A G remain apply as claim 7. However, Ryu does not expressly disclose or otherwise teach wherein the type of interaction further includes an occurrence of an event that triggers recording of the [[first]] second data recorder and an occurrence of a minor event that does not trigger recording of the [[first]] second data recorder. Nevertheless, in a related field of invention, Konrardy teaches wherein the type of interaction further includes an occurrence of an event that triggers recording of the [[first]] second data recorder and an occurrence of a minor event that does not trigger recording of the [[first]] second data recorder. (see Konrardy [column 12 lines 17-57] and figures 1A to 2, autonomous operation features in the vehicle 108 and the operation of the vehicle (108) are uploaded to a server (140) via a network (13) and stored the database).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention with a reasonable expectation of success to combine Ryu method and system of collecting and storing vehicle generation data from a vehicle with Konrardy’s major and minor event data storing to safely control the vehicle during heavy rain and fog (see Konrardy para[0005]).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NAZIA AFRIN/Examiner, Art Unit 3666
/SCOTT A BROWNE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3666