DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 28-30, 33-35, 37 and 40 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (CN 101333091A).
Regarding claims 28, 30, 33-35, 37: Luo et al. teach a composition comprising gypsum [0032] and a polycarboxylate superplasticizer comprising 5-50 wt% of an unsaturated carboxylic acid and its derivative and 45-95 wt% of polyoxyethylene acrylate and its derivative and 0 wt% of other monomers [0011]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to select methyl methacrylate as the unsaturated carboxylic acid [0012]. Luo et al. teach that the polyoxyethylene acrylate derivative is methoxy polyethylene glycol acrylate (n=9) [Examples]. The superplasticizer is also considered to be the claimed plasticizer.
The amount taught in Luo et al. provides an overlapping mole ratio.
The subject matter as a whole would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, since it has been held that choosing the overlapping portion, of the range taught in the prior art and the range claimed by the applicant, has been held to be a prima facie case of obviousness, see In re Malagari, 182 USPQ 549, In re Geisler 43 USPQ2d 1365 (Fed. Cir. 1997); In re Woodruff, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (CCPA 1976) and MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 29: Luo et al. teach the claimed amount of cement and polycarboxylate [0038; Examples]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use gypsum in place of cement in the examples of Luo et al. [0032]. It is a simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 40: It would have been obvious to use a mixture of polycarboxylate superplasticizers within the composition of Luo et al. It is obvious to combine separately taught prior art ingredients which perform the same function; it is logical that they would produce the same effect and supplement each other. In re Crockett 126 USPQ 186. See MPEP 2144.06.
Claim(s) 41 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (CN 101333091A) as applied to claim 28 above further in view of Schwartz et al. (7,261,772).
Luo et al. fail to teach a clay.
However, Schwartz et al. teach adding 0.01 to 10 wt% of a clay to improve the flame retardancy of gypsum compositions (column 2, lines 7-16).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add 0.01 to 10 wt% of a clay as taught by Schwartz et al. to the gypsum composition of Luo et al. to improve the flame retardancy of the composition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/JOHN E USELDING/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1763