Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments have been considered but are unpersuasive. As discussed below in the rejection, the references Zhang and Kim do in fact disclose the new features of the amended claims, if the claim limitations are interpreted pursuant to the broadest reasonable interpretation standard. Please see rejections below for details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 24, 26, 28,29-31 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Patent Publication No. 2021/0051767 A1 to Zhang et al., in view of U.S. Patent Publication No. 2020/0178208 A1 to Kim et al.
As to claim 26, Zhang discloses
A terminal device comprising: a transmitter configured to (Fig. 9, 189-197, UE 904):
communicate with a first network device and a second network device (Fig. 9, 189-197, “UE configured in DC mode 908”, meaning the UE is in communication with both MN 902 [“first network device”] and SN 906 [“second network device”]); and
transmit, to the first network device using a network resource, UE assistance information (Fig. 9, 189-197, SCG activation request 932 [“UE assistance information” pursuant to broadest reasonable interpretation bRI of this claim term] transmitted to MN 902 [“first network device”]) in a case where the terminal device has uplink data to be sent to the second network device and the uplink data is related to a deactivated Secondary Cell Group (SCG) of the second network device (Fig. 9, 189-197, “SCG deactivated 924”, “SCG activation request 932”, 934, especially paragraphs 193-195, teaching “[i]n response to determining that uplink data is available for transmission to the SN [which is associated with deactivated SCG 924]” 932 is sent to the MN, teaching this limitation since the sending of 932 would indicate that “uplink data is available for transmission to the SN”, i.e., “in a case where the terminal device has uplink data to be sent to the second network device”),
wherein the UE assistance information includes availability of the uplink data (see citations and discussion immediately above, teaching that 932, i.e., “UE assistance information”, is sent when “uplink data is available for transmission to the SN”, meaning that the reception of 932 would indicate that uplink data is “availab[le]”, teaching this limitation pursuant to the BRI of “availability of the uplink data” ; paragraph 195 further teaching that 932 may include “the available data amount for transmission to the sCG”, which is an indication that UL data is “availab[le]”, teaching this limitation pursuant to the BRI of this limitation).
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose a signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1).
Kim discloses a signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1) (paragraph 84,85,92).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to utilize the teachings of Kim, in conjunction with and to modify Zhang’s teachings, to reject the limitations of this claim, at least because both references pertain to dual connectivity featuring master and secondary nodes. In particular, it would have been obvious to a phosita that the network resource utilized by the UE in Zhang to transmit UE assistance information message to the first network device may be embodied by the SRB1 disclosed in Kim that is also a network resource utilized in the dual connectivity environment associated with the UE and the first/master node, so that Zhang’s teaching of “ transmit, to the first network device using a network resource, UE assistance information …” and Kim’s teaching of “a signaling radio bearer 1 (SRB1)” may be combined to reject “ transmit, to the first network device using a SRB1, UE assistance information …”. The suggestion or motivation would have been to provide an improved method of radio/frame resource allocation in wireless communications systems, especially dual-connectivity DC systems. (Kim, paragraphs 1-20; Zhang, paragraphs 1-34). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
As to claims 24 and 28, see rejection for claim 26.
As to claim 29, Zhang and Kim teach the method as in the claim 24.
Zhang further discloses wherein the communicating with the first network device and the second network device comprises communicating with the first network device and the second network device in dual connectivity (paragraphs 4, 18,23,26: dual connectivity).
Zhang does not appear to explicitly disclose wherein the first network device is associated with a Master Cell Group (MCG) and the second network device is associated with the Secondary Cell Group (SCG).
Kim discloses wherein the first network device is associated with a Master Cell Group (MCG) and the second network device is associated with the Secondary Cell Group (SCG). (paragraphs 84 and 92, disclosing MN [“first network device”] may be associated with a MCG and SN [“second network device”] may be associated with SCG).
Before the effective filing date, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skilled in the art to utilize the teachings of Kim, in conjunction with and to modify Zhang’s teachings, to reject the limitations of this claim, at least because both references pertain to dual connectivity featuring master and secondary nodes. The suggestion or motivation would have been to provide an improved method of radio/frame resource allocation in wireless communications systems, especially dual-connectivity DC systems. (Kim, paragraphs 1-20; Zhang, paragraphs 1-34). Furthermore, note that with regard to the claimed invention, especially the limitation above, all of the claimed elements have been shown to be known in the cited art, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions and the combination would have yielded predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention.
AS to claims 30,31, see rejection for claim 29.
Conclusion
/CHI TANG P CHENG/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2463