DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I and species SEQ ID NO: 1, 21, and 36, as well as probe that hybridize to SEQ ID NO: 2, 22, and 37 in the reply filed on 2/12/26 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-10 and 15-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
It is unclear what is meant by the text in parentheticals. First, the moniker “mASCL2” is not a term of art, nor are the other two monikers. ASCL2, LDHB, and LGALS3 are genes that are known and understood in the prior art, but it is unclear what is meant or required by adding the “m” before the gene names. Furthermore, ASCL2 is broader than SEQ ID NO: 1, encompassing polymorphic variants, for example, whereas SEQ ID NO: 1 appears to be a singular fixed genetic sequence, and it is not clear if the broader recitation in the parenthetical is meant to be optional or how it is meant to be related to SEQ ID NO: 1. A similar argument applies to the parentheticals after SEQ ID NO: 21 and SEQ ID NO: 36.
Further, the recitation “the genomic DNA may comprise DNA derived from liver cancer (LC) cells” is indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation following “may” is part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Regarding claim 6, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claims 8, 9, 10, are indefinite when they refer to “the absence of detected methylation” because claim 1 requires detecting methylation and does not encompass methods in which DNA methylation is not detected. Therefore, this phrase lacks proper antecedent basis. As a consequence, is not clear if the independent claim is intended to encompass detecting whether or not there is methylation within the recited genomic sequences, or whether the independent claim is intended to require detecting methylation is present. For the purposes of compact prosecution, the claims are interpreted to mean the former in light of the dependent claims but should be clarified.
Claims 15-17 are indefinite because they recite a method for detecting liver cancer, or monitoring liver cancer in the preamble, but the body of the claims do not include any steps related to detecting or monitoring liver cancer. It is unclear if the claims are meant to require some step of detecting or monitoring liver cancer, or if mere practice of the method steps as written is sufficient to practice the method. If it is the former, it appears the claim is missing steps to elucidate this requirement and these should be added.
Regarding claim 16, the phrase "preferably" renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear whether the limitation(s) following the phrase are part of the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
With regard to claim 16, the claim is confusing because it recites the use of “an oligonucleotide” that comprises a sequence substantially identical to a stretch of contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 2, SEQ ID NO: 22, and SEQ ID NO: 37. It is not clear how “an oligonucleotide” would be structured that comprises a sequence substantially identical to all three of these, or if in fact the oligonucleotide must comprise a sequence substantially identical to only one of these or if in fact applicant intended to require three oligonucleotides, one comprising sequence substantially identical to each of these. Claim 17 is similarly indefinite because the claim requires use of a kit comprising “at least a first oligonucleotide and a second oligonucleotide” comprising a sequence substantially identical to a stretch of contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 2, SEQ ID NO: 22, and SEQ ID NO: 37. The claims must be clarified, and were interpreted so as to require one or two oligonucleotides wherein the oligonucleotide or oligonucleotides each independently comprise a sequence substantially identical to a stretch of contiguous nucleotide of one of the three recited SEQ ID NO.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 8, 9, 10, 15, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to a law of nature without significantly more. The claim(s) recite(s) that methylated genomic DNA indicates the presence of liver cancer and unmethylated genomic DNA indicates the absence of liver cancer. This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application because the claims do not use or apply the judicial exception in any way. There is no treatment or other use of the judicial exception. The claim(s) does/do not include additional elements that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception because the steps in addition to the judicial exception, namely detecting DNA methylation in a sample are data gathering steps recited at an extremely high level of generality that employ well established and routine steps to gather the data. This is evidenced by the instant specification teach teaches using routine real-time PCCR methods for detecting methylation markers (p. 39, line 23, and also the Revill reference cited herein which exemplifies measuring methylation in the recited genes using a commercially available bead array using probes that hybridize to the bisulfite treated sequences).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 10, 15, 16 and 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Revill et al. (GASTROENTEROLOGY 2013; 145:1424–1435, including supplementary materials), as evidenced by Geo Platform Record having accession GPL8490 (https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/geo/query/acc.cgi?acc=GPL8490).
Revill teaches performing array-based analysis on primary hepatocellular carcinoma samples and nondiseased normal tissues (p. 1424, col. 2). Namely whole genome methylation analysis was performed using the HumanMethylation27 BeadChip (p. 1425, Methylation Profiling), which included bisulfite converting genomic DNA and then hybridizing genomic DNA to a BeadChip to detect DNA methylation within the genomic DNA of the biological sample (p. 1435e.1, DNA Methylation Analysis). The reference reports detecting methylation in ASCL2, LDHB and LGALS3, see Supplementary Table 1, with all three genes having increased methylation in tumors.
Revill further teaches obtaining AFP levels from the patients (Table 1).
Revill quantifies the amount of methylated genomic DNA, see Supplementary Table 1. (p. 1435e.1, DNA Methylation Analysis).
Revill teaches a biological sample that is liver tissue (Methylation profiling, p. 1425).
Revill teaches detecting methylation from subjects that have Liver Cancer.
Regarding claims 8 and 10, the reference teaches increased methylation in the genes was present in Liver Cancer, and that patients with liver cancer had increased AFP. The “wherein” clauses in the claims state an inherent property of the observation, it does not instruct any further action or activity.
Regarding claims 16 and 17, the HumanMethylation27 bead array taught by the reference inherently uses oligonucleotides comprising a sequence that is substantially identical to a stretch of contiguous nucleotides of SEQ ID NO: 2, SEQ ID NO: 22 and SEQ ID NO: 27. The supplemental table in the reference gives the “cg” identifier for the CpG assayed and detected as differentially methylated in each of the genes. The data supporting the HumanMethylation27 bead array including the probes present on the array for each CpG site assayed. The data was accessed online, and the probes for the relevant CpG are below, with an alignment of the first probe in each set to the respective SEQ ID NO from the claim:
ASCL2 cg06263495
AAAACTCACAAATTTCACCAATTAAACACACTAAAAATCTATAAACTACA AAAACTCGCAAATTTCGCCAATTAAACGCACTAAAAATCTATAAACTACG
LDHB cg03243946
AAACTCTTCAATACAAAAACCAAATTATTTATAAAACTTACCCATCCCCA AAACTCTTCAATACGAAAACCAAATTATTTATAAAACTTACCCATCCCCG
LGALS3 cg19099850
AAAAAAACAAACCAAACAAAACTAAAAATATTTAAAACTCAAAACCACCA AAAAAAACGAACCGAACGAAACTAAAAATATTTAAAACTCGAAACCACCG
With regard to anticipation of claim 16, the claim is extremely broadly drawn to require that the probe “comprises” a sequence that is “substantially identical to” the SEQ ID NO. In teach case the probe of the prior art “comprises” such a sequence.
With regard to anticipation of claim 17, the reference teaches using the commercially available bead array (i.e. a kit) that comprises first and second probes that comprise a sequence substantially identical to each of the SEQ ID NO. See above.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Revill et al. (GASTROENTEROLOGY 2013; 145:1424–1435, including supplementary materials).
Revill teaches the method according to claim 8, as discussed fully in this Office action and fully incorporated here.
Revill teaches measuring the methylation status of patients but does not teach carrying out the method more than once, i.e. “repeatedly,” as claimed.
Revill teaches that patients had recurrence (Table 1).
It would have been obvious to have modified the method taught by Revill so as to have additionally measured methylation using the HumanMethylation27 BeadChip in tissue from the recurrent tumors in order to further study the methylation patterns in recurrent tumors.
Juliet Switzer
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 1682
/JULIET C SWITZER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1682