DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The Amendment filed 04/29/2026 in which claims 1, 4-6 were amended, and claims 2-3 was canceled, has been entered. Claims 7-16 were previously withdrawn.
Claims 1, 4-6 are under examination on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) was submitted on 04/29/2026 after the Nonfinal Office Action mailed on 12/29/2025. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Specification
(Previous objection, withdrawn) Applicant’s amendments to the Specification submitted on 04/29/2026 have overcome the objection previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed 12/29/2025.
Claim Objections
(Previous objections, withdrawn as to claims 2-6). Applicant’s amendments to the instant claims have overcome previous objections to claims 2-6.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
(Previous rejection, withdrawn as to claims 1-6) Claims 1-6 were rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
See claims as submitted on 04/29/2026.
The previous rejections of claims 2-3, are moot in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims.
Applicant’s amendment to the instant claims has overcome the previous rejections to claims 1, 4-6.
(New rejection, necessitated by amendment as to claims 1, 4-6) Claims 1, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Amended claim 1 recites “collecting the washing liquid containing an adherent mucosal fluid discharged to an entrance of the nose”. This recitation is unclear because it appears to be grammatically incorrect. For instance, it is not clear if the indicated recitation is meant to be understood as “collecting the washing liquid containing an adherent mucosal fluid previously sprayed to an entrance of the nose” or “collecting the washing liquid containing an adherent mucosal fluid which was sprayed to an entrance of the nose” or a different meaning. Further, it is not clear if the term “discharged” refers to a previous step comprising spraying or not. The dependent claims do not add additional clarity and, therefore, are also indefinite. For purposes of compact prosecution and applying prior art, claim 1 was herein interpreted as referring to collecting the washing liquid containing an adherent mucosal fluid previously sprayed to an entrance of the nose.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
(Previous rejections, withdrawn as to claims 2-3, maintained and modified as necessitated by amendment as to claims 1, 4-6) Claims 1, 4-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Levitz et al. (prior art of record).
See claims 1, 4-6 as submitted on 04/29/2026.
The previous rejections of claims 2-3 are moot in view of Applicant’s cancelation of these claims.
Regarding amended claim 1, it is noted that the limitations previously recited by canceled claims 2, 3, have been incorporated into claim 1. However, these limitations are already taught by Levitz et al., as previously noted. Specifically, Levitz teach a nasal-spray sampling method for detecting an infectious pathogen comprising the following steps:
applying a washing liquid to the nasal cavity of a subject suspected of an infectious disease to wash the mucosal surface of the nasal cavity (Abstract, ¶¶ [0009]-[0015])
collecting the nasal washings containing the mucosal washings of the nasal cavity (Abstract, ¶¶ [0009]-[0015])
collecting the specimen comprising nasal washings after administering 500 microliters of nasal from the nasal cavity (¶¶ [0886], [0874]) which lies between the claimed range
applying the washing liquid into the nostril by spraying (¶ [0066])
detecting the infectious pathogen, for example an influenza virus, in the sample (¶ [0096])
Regarding claim 4-6, as previously noted, Levitz et al. further teach detection of an influenza virus infection (¶ [0096]), wherein testing the specimen sample for the presence of the virus includes performing an immunological assay, for example a lateral flow assay and/or a gene amplification assay, for example a molecular test that utilizes polymerase chain reaction (PCR) (¶ [0090]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/29/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant contends on pages 8 and 9 of the Remarks submitted on 04/29/2026:
“Levitz does not teach or suggest a step of spraying 300 µl to 500 µl of a washing liquid to the nasal cavity of a subject suspected of an infectious disease to wash the mucosal surface of the nasal cavity… Levitz also does not teach or suggest washing liquid containing an adherent mucosal fluid discharged to an entrance of the nose."
In response:
The instant rejection is in view of instant claim language. Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). The disclosure of Levitz et al. teaches and suggests the exact limitations as indicated above, including a step of spraying, the precise volume of 500 µl of a washing liquid (Levitz et al. ¶¶ [0066], [0886]) and collecting the specimen comprising nasal washings from the nasal cavity (¶ [0874], [0886]). In this regard, Levitz states at ¶ [0886]: “Following nasal saline spraying and swabbing, swabs were found to contain between approximately 76-131 microliters of fluid from a single nostril (Table 2), after administering about 500 microliters of nasal wash into the nostril. Utilizing relatively smaller swab tips for respiratory specimen collection may be beneficial because of the limited volumes of lysing buffer included in commercial immunoassay kits (Table 3), which must be sufficient for the extraction of viral antigens from virions, intact infected cells, or infected cell debris which have been collected by the swab.” (emphasis added).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Thomas J. Visone can be reached on (571)270-0684. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/MARLENE V BUCKMASTER/Examiner, Art Unit 1672
/NICOLE KINSEY WHITE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1672