DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 1-16 are pending for examination in the application filed 11/12/2025. Claims 1-16 have been amended.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made of Applicant’s claim for foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119 (a)-(d). The certified copy has been filed in parent application IT102020000017104 filed on 07/14/2020. Acknowledgement is additionally made of the present application as a national stage entry of PCT/EP2021/069497, international filing date: 07/13/2021.
Response to Arguments and Amendments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-16 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument, as facilitated by the newly added amendments.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: claim 8 recites the limitation “wherein the processing unit is configured to predict a next position of the light beam in the two-dimensional image captured by the camera…”. “Processing unit” should be “processor” in accordance with the amended claim language of claim 1. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6, 9-14, and 16 a rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jongsma (US20170328982A1) in view of Sheldon (US20200056578A1).
Regarding claim 1, Jongsma teaches a system for geolocation of an object in water, ([0001] The present invention relates to systems and methods for positioning in an underwater environment and more particularly to a system of beacons for such use. The invention also relates to a subsea metrology system for determining the relative positions and orientations of two objects) the system comprising:
a first device (beacon) configured to be immersed in, or to float on, water, the first device comprising a light source configured to emit a light beam ([0011] the system comprising: at least one beacon having a light source, located at a fixed position within the reference frame. [0015] beacons with light sources may be deployed at fixed positions with respect to the fixed reference frame e.g. on the seabed and/or in/on objects that are assumed to remain stationary with respect to the seabed. In alternative implementations, underwater positioning systems may be configured for providing relative positioning information for a rover with respect to a dynamic reference frame. A dynamic reference frame may for example be associated with another rover or leader vehicle that is provided with at least one beacon light source, and which is moveable underwater);
a second device (ROV underwater imaging device) configured to be immersed in, or to float on, water, the second device comprising a camera configured to take two-dimensional images and a measuring device configured to provide an orientation of the camera relative to a main reference frame defined by three orthogonal axes ([0011] the system comprising: …an underwater imaging device, moveable with the rover in the reference frame to observe the light source from different viewpoints and determine direction data representing a direction or change in direction of the light source with respect to the imaging device; an orientation sensor, associated with the imaging device to determine an orientation of the imaging device with respect to the reference frame and generate orientation data; and a scaling element for providing scaling data representative of a distance between the imaging device and the light source. [0119] A reference frame XYZ is defined with respect to one of the two beacons 504, and this reference frame may be assumed to remain fixed with respect to the body of water 508);
a processor operatively connected to at least the camera (Fig. 10. [0121] The ROV 502 further includes an orientation sensor 514, a processor 516, and a communications interface 518), the processor being configured to: determine a vertical distance between the first device and the second device by depth obtained from a depth gauge ([0048] a scaling element for providing scaling data representative of a distance between the imaging device and the light source. [0022] In another embodiment, the scaling element may comprise a depth sensor associated with the imaging device and capable of resolving changes in depth thereof. In this manner, movement in the Z direction between a first viewpoint and a second viewpoint may be determined and used alone or together with other data to evaluate the scaling data),
capture a two-dimensional image of the first device through the camera ([0103] The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4),
calculate the pixel position in the two-dimensional image of light beam emitted by the light source of the first device ([0070] In embodiments, the beacon may be provided with a processor configured for determining the position information for the rover from the direction data and the scaling data. Alternatively, the processor may only be configured to determine pixel coordinates of detected light sources in images acquired by the imaging device, and to store these coordinates for further use and/or transmission to the rover),
and calculate one of (i): a position of the first device relative to the main reference frame based on the pixel position of the light beam, the orientation of the camera, a position of the second device relative to the main reference frame, and the vertical distance, and (ii) a position of the second device relative to the main reference frame based on the pixel position of the light beam, the orientation of the camera, a position of the first device relative to the main reference frame, and the vertical distance ([0103] Operation of the positioning system 1 will now be explained with reference to FIG. 2, which shows a schematic plan view of the ROV 2 and beacon 4. The ROV 2 has its axis AR directed at a heading H with respect to North N. The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4. Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N. The processor 16 also interrogates the beacon 4 using the transceiver 12 to pulse the transponder 28 and detect a returned pulse. The transmission time is converted into a range R using conventional ranging techniques for the given water depth and temperature. Although not further discussed it will be understood that all additional readings required for performing such ranging will be provided either from sensors aboard the ROV or elsewhere. Once bearing and range are determined for the beacon 4 relative to the ROV, the Δx and Δy offsets from the ROV 2 to the beacon 4 can be evaluated. It will thus be understood that for a fixed location of the beacon 4, the position of the ROV 2 can be established. Conversely, if the position of the ROV 2 is known, the location of the beacon 4 may be established).
Jongsma does not teach determine a vertical distance between the first device and the second device by subtracting a depth of the first device in the water and a depth of the second device in the water, each of the depth of the first device in the water and the depth of the second device in the water being obtained from a respective depth gauge included in the respective device.
Sheldon, in the same field of endeavor of underwater depth analysis, teaches determine a vertical distance between the first device and the second device by subtracting a depth of the first device in the water and a depth of the second device in the water, each of the depth of the first device in the water and the depth of the second device in the water being obtained from a respective depth gauge included in the respective device (See Fig. 247. [1680] The ROV also incorporates a pressure and/or depth sensor that allows it to determine its depth, at least to an approximate degree. [1682] The embodiment possesses stereoscopic cameras, and other sensors, mounted to an upper portion of the buoy 2150 that allow it to calculate the height of its own waterline, and/or the draft or depth of its inertial water tube 2158. Subtracting this tube depth from the ROV depth determined by the ROV's pressure and/or depth sensor (not shown) permits the embodiment to determine the “tube-relative depth” of the ROV relative to the bottom of its inertial water tube 2158 and/or to the tube-mounted acoustic sensor 2172 mounted thereto).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the system of Jongsma with the teachings of Sheldon to subtract the depth of the first device and second device to determine a distance between the devices because "This enables the embodiment's control system (not shown) to make adjustments to the ROV's position (e.g., through commands to the ROV 2157 causing the ROV to execute specific thrust vectors relative to its own longitudinal axis and/or geometry)" [Sheldon 1683].
Regarding claim 2, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the system of claim 1. Jongsma further teaches wherein the position of the second device or the first device used to calculate the position of the first device or the second device, respectively, is stored in a data storage or provided by a position device ([0025] The system preferably comprises a processor arranged to receive and analyze the direction data and the scaling data to determine the position information),
and wherein the depth of the first device in the water is stored in the data storage or measured by a depth gauge comprised in the first device ([0103] Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N. The processor 16 also interrogates the beacon 4 using the transceiver 12 to pulse the transponder 28 and detect a returned pulse. The transmission time is converted into a range R using conventional ranging techniques for the given water depth and temperature)
and the depth of the second device in the water is stored in the data storage or measured by a depth gauge comprised in the second device ([0048] a scaling element for providing scaling data representative of a distance between the imaging device and the light source. [0022] In another embodiment, the scaling element may comprise a depth sensor associated with the imaging device and capable of resolving changes in depth thereof. In this manner, movement in the Z direction between a first viewpoint and a second viewpoint may be determined and used alone or together with other data to evaluate the scaling data).
Regarding claim 3, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the system of claim 2. Jongsma further teaches wherein the processor is operatively connected to one of the data storage and the position device to obtain one of the position of the second device and the position of the first device to calculate one of the position of the first device and the position of the second device, respectively ([0025] The system preferably comprises a processor arranged to receive and analyze the direction data and the scaling data to determine the position information),
and wherein the processor is operatively connected to one of: (i) the data storage or the depth gauge of the first device to obtain the depth of the first device in the water ([0103] Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N. The processor 16 also interrogates the beacon 4 using the transceiver 12 to pulse the transponder 28 and detect a returned pulse. The transmission time is converted into a range R using conventional ranging techniques for the given water depth and temperature), and (ii) the data storage or the depth gauge of the second device to obtain the depth of the second device in the water to determine the vertical distance ([0121] The ROV 502 further includes an orientation sensor 514, a processor 516, and a communications interface 518. At least one from an acoustic transceiver 512, an INS 513, and a depth sensor 515 may also be present).
Regarding claim 4, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the system of claim 3. Jongsma further teaches wherein the position device comprises at least one of an absolute position sensor, a real-time kinematic (RTK) positioning system, a mobile-phone tracking system, a real-time locating system based on radio, optical or ultrasonic technology, and a positioning system based on methods of underwater acoustic positioning, wherein the first device or the second device is provided with the position device ([0020] According to another embodiment of the invention, the system further comprises an Inertial Navigation System (INS) associated and moveable together with the imaging device. INS's are generally conventional devices, used to provide relative and absolute local orientation and position information…Additionally, the INS should preferably be an aided INS, in that it is provided with additional inputs to improve the INS accuracy. This may include hydro acoustic positioning, a depth sensor providing an absolute depth measurement and/or a verticality sensor, providing orientation with respect to the earth's gravitational field and the USBL, SBL and DVL systems mentioned above).
Regarding claim 5, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the system of claim 1. Jongsma further teaches wherein the first device comprises a first controller ([0034] The method may be implemented entirely by a suitable control device) connected to the light source to modulate the light beam so that the light beam transmits information about one of the position and a depth of the first device ([0112] The beacon 404 includes three light sources 430a, 430b, 430c, which are adjacently located at predetermined positions to define an origin OR of a local beacon reference frame. The three light sources 430a-c are mounted on a base 422, and are each adapted for projecting a respective beam of light 432a, 432b, 432c into the water 408, in a predetermined direction away from the origin OR of the local reference frame. [0114] Preferably, each of the three light sources 430a-c generates light of a different wavelength range. Alternatively or in addition, the three light sources 430a-c may be configured to flash in different time-patterns, to allow the processor in the rover to resolve the orientation of the projected (local) reference frame)
and wherein the second device comprises an optical sensor configured to detect the light beam, the processor being connected to the optical sensor to obtain one of the position and depth of the first device based on the light beam detected by the optical sensor ([0103] Operation of the positioning system 1 will now be explained with reference to FIG. 2, which shows a schematic plan view of the ROV 2 and beacon 4. The ROV 2 has its axis AR directed at a heading H with respect to North N. The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4. Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N).
Regarding claim 6, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the system of claim 1. Jongsma further teaches wherein one of the first device and the second device has an acoustic emitter configured to emit an acoustic signal which represents one of the position and depth of the respective device ([0071] In further embodiments, the beacon may comprise a communication device arranged for wireless transmission of the position information and/or the determined pixel coordinates of detected light sources through the body of water to the rover. At least one of acoustic transmission, optical transmission, and electromagnetic transmission techniques may be used for conveying the position information from the beacon to the rover)
and the other of the first device and the second device has an acoustic receiver configured to receive the acoustic signal emitted by the acoustic emitter, the processor being connected to the acoustic receiver to obtain one of the position and the depth of the one of the first device and the second device based on the signal received by the acoustic receiver ([0019] In an alternative arrangement, the scaling element may comprise an acoustic transponder located at a known position in or on the beacon with respect to the light source and a corresponding acoustic transceiver associated with the imaging device. By appropriate triangulation between the respective light sources and with the addition of a single distance measurement from one light source to the imaging device, the overall scale of the reference frame can be determined. [0019] In an alternative arrangement, the scaling element may comprise an acoustic transponder located at a known position in or on the beacon with respect to the light source and a corresponding acoustic transceiver associated with the imaging device).
Regarding claim 9, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the system of claim 1. Jongsma further teaches wherein the first device comprises at least two light sources configured to emit respective light beams, the distance between each couple of light sources being fixed ([0112] The beacon 404 includes three light sources 430a, 430b, 430c, which are adjacently located at predetermined positions to define an origin OR of a local beacon reference frame. The three light sources 430a-c are mounted on a base 422, and are each adapted for projecting a respective beam of light 432a, 432b, 432c into the water 408, in a predetermined direction away from the origin OR of the local reference frame), and wherein the processor is configured to:
calculate the pixel position in the two-dimensional image of each light beam emitted by the at least two light sources of the first device, and one of (i): calculate the position of each of the at least two light sources relative to the main reference frame [0070] the processor may only be configured to determine pixel coordinates of detected light sources in images acquired by the imaging device, and to store these coordinates for further use and/or transmission to the rover) based on the pixel position of the relevant light beam, the orientation of the camera, a position of the second device relative to the main reference frame and the vertical distance ([0103] Operation of the positioning system 1 will now be explained with reference to FIG. 2, which shows a schematic plan view of the ROV 2 and beacon 4. The ROV 2 has its axis AR directed at a heading H with respect to North N. The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4. Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N. The processor 16 also interrogates the beacon 4 using the transceiver 12 to pulse the transponder 28 and detect a returned pulse. The transmission time is converted into a range R using conventional ranging techniques for the given water depth and temperature. Although not further discussed it will be understood that all additional readings required for performing such ranging will be provided either from sensors aboard the ROV or elsewhere. Once bearing and range are determined for the beacon 4 relative to the ROV, the Δx and Δy offsets from the ROV 2 to the beacon 4 can be evaluated. It will thus be understood that for a fixed location of the beacon 4, the position of the ROV 2 can be established. Conversely, if the position of the ROV 2 is known, the location of the beacon 4 may be established. In FIG. 2, the situation is illustrated for a two-dimensional configuration in which, for simplicity, only bearing is taken into consideration. It will be understood that in practice, elevation will also be taken into account and the Δz value will also be determined),
and determine the orientation of the first device relative to the second device based on the calculated positions of the at least two light sources ([0103] Operation of the positioning system 1 will now be explained with reference to FIG. 2, which shows a schematic plan view of the ROV 2 and beacon 4. The ROV 2 has its axis AR directed at a heading H with respect to North N. The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4. Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N. The processor 16 also interrogates the beacon 4 using the transceiver 12 to pulse the transponder 28 and detect a returned pulse. The transmission time is converted into a range R using conventional ranging techniques for the given water depth and temperature. Although not further discussed it will be understood that all additional readings required for performing such ranging will be provided either from sensors aboard the ROV or elsewhere. Once bearing and range are determined for the beacon 4 relative to the ROV, the Δx and Δy offsets from the ROV 2 to the beacon 4 can be evaluated. It will thus be understood that for a fixed location of the beacon 4, the position of the ROV 2 can be established. Conversely, if the position of the ROV 2 is known, the location of the beacon 4 may be established),
and (ii) calculate the position of each of the at least two light sources relative to the main reference frame based on the pixel position of the relevant light beam, an orientation of a rigid surface of the first device relative to the main reference frame, a position of the first device relative to the main reference frame and the vertical distance, and determine the orientation of the second device relative to the first device based on the calculated positions of the at least two light sources.
Regarding claim 10, Jongsma teaches a method for geolocation of an object in water, ([0001] The present invention relates to systems and methods for positioning in an underwater environment and more particularly to a system of beacons for such use. The invention also relates to a subsea metrology system for determining the relative positions and orientations of two objects) the method comprising:
putting a first device (beacon) into water, the first device comprising a light source configured to emit a light beam ([0011] the system comprising: at least one beacon having a light source, located at a fixed position within the reference frame. [0015] beacons with light sources may be deployed at fixed positions with respect to the fixed reference frame e.g. on the seabed and/or in/on objects that are assumed to remain stationary with respect to the seabed. In alternative implementations, underwater positioning systems may be configured for providing relative positioning information for a rover with respect to a dynamic reference frame. A dynamic reference frame may for example be associated with another rover or leader vehicle that is provided with at least one beacon light source, and which is moveable underwater);
putting a second device (ROV underwater imaging device) into the water, the second device comprising a camera configured to take images; emitting the light beam by the light source; obtaining an orientation of the camera relative to a main reference frame defined by three orthogonal axes ([0011] the system comprising: …an underwater imaging device, moveable with the rover in the reference frame to observe the light source from different viewpoints and determine direction data representing a direction or change in direction of the light source with respect to the imaging device; an orientation sensor, associated with the imaging device to determine an orientation of the imaging device with respect to the reference frame and generate orientation data; and a scaling element for providing scaling data representative of a distance between the imaging device and the light source. [0119] A reference frame XYZ is defined with respect to one of the two beacons 504, and this reference frame may be assumed to remain fixed with respect to the body of water 508);
obtaining a depth of the first device and a depth of the second device in the water; determining a vertical distance between the first device and the second device ([0048] a scaling element for providing scaling data representative of a distance between the imaging device and the light source. [0022] In another embodiment, the scaling element may comprise a depth sensor associated with the imaging device and capable of resolving changes in depth thereof. In this manner, movement in the Z direction between a first viewpoint and a second viewpoint may be determined and used alone or together with other data to evaluate the scaling data),
capturing a two-dimensional image of the first device through the camera ([0103] The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4),
calculating the pixel position in the two-dimensional image of the light beam emitted by the light source of the first device ([0070] In embodiments, the beacon may be provided with a processor configured for determining the position information for the rover from the direction data and the scaling data. Alternatively, the processor may only be configured to determine pixel coordinates of detected light sources in images acquired by the imaging device, and to store these coordinates for further use and/or transmission to the rover),
and one of: (i) obtaining a position of the second device relative to the main reference frame and calculating a position of the first device relative to the main reference frame based on the pixel position of the light beam, the orientation of the camera, the position of the second device relative to the main reference frame and the vertical distance, and (ii) obtaining a position of the first device relative to the main reference frame and calculating a position of the second device relative to the main reference frame based on the pixel position of the light beam, the orientation of the camera, the position of the first device relative to the main reference frame and the vertical distance ([0103] Operation of the positioning system 1 will now be explained with reference to FIG. 2, which shows a schematic plan view of the ROV 2 and beacon 4. The ROV 2 has its axis AR directed at a heading H with respect to North N. The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4. Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N. The processor 16 also interrogates the beacon 4 using the transceiver 12 to pulse the transponder 28 and detect a returned pulse. The transmission time is converted into a range R using conventional ranging techniques for the given water depth and temperature. Although not further discussed it will be understood that all additional readings required for performing such ranging will be provided either from sensors aboard the ROV or elsewhere. Once bearing and range are determined for the beacon 4 relative to the ROV, the Δx and Δy offsets from the ROV 2 to the beacon 4 can be evaluated. It will thus be understood that for a fixed location of the beacon 4, the position of the ROV 2 can be established. Conversely, if the position of the ROV 2 is known, the location of the beacon 4 may be established).
Jongsma does not teach determining a vertical distance between the first device and the second device by subtracting the depth of the first device in the water and the depth of the second device in the water, each of the depth of the first device in the water and the depth of the second device in the water being obtained from a respective depth gauge included in the corresponding device.
Sheldon, in the same field of endeavor of underwater depth analysis, teaches determining a vertical distance between the first device and the second device by subtracting the depth of the first device in the water and the depth of the second device in the water, each of the depth of the first device in the water and the depth of the second device in the water being obtained from a respective depth gauge included in the corresponding device (See Fig. 247. [1680] The ROV also incorporates a pressure and/or depth sensor that allows it to determine its depth, at least to an approximate degree. [1682] The embodiment possesses stereoscopic cameras, and other sensors, mounted to an upper portion of the buoy 2150 that allow it to calculate the height of its own waterline, and/or the draft or depth of its inertial water tube 2158. Subtracting this tube depth from the ROV depth determined by the ROV's pressure and/or depth sensor (not shown) permits the embodiment to determine the “tube-relative depth” of the ROV relative to the bottom of its inertial water tube 2158 and/or to the tube-mounted acoustic sensor 2172 mounted thereto).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Jongsma with the teachings of Sheldon to subtract the depth of the first device and second device to determine a distance between the devices because "This enables the embodiment's control system (not shown) to make adjustments to the ROV's position (e.g., through commands to the ROV 2157 causing the ROV to execute specific thrust vectors relative to its own longitudinal axis and/or geometry)" [Sheldon 1683].
Regarding claim 11, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the method of claim 10. Jongsma further teaches wherein the position of the second device or the first device used to calculate the position of the first device or the second device, respectively, is stored in a data storage or provided by a position device ([0025] The system preferably comprises a processor arranged to receive and analyze the direction data and the scaling data to determine the position information),
and wherein the depth of the first device in the water is stored in the data storage or measured by a depth gauge comprised in the first device ([0103] Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N. The processor 16 also interrogates the beacon 4 using the transceiver 12 to pulse the transponder 28 and detect a returned pulse. The transmission time is converted into a range R using conventional ranging techniques for the given water depth and temperature)
and the depth of the second device in the water is stored in the data storage or measured by a depth gauge comprised in the second device ([0048] a scaling element for providing scaling data representative of a distance between the imaging device and the light source. [0022] In another embodiment, the scaling element may comprise a depth sensor associated with the imaging device and capable of resolving changes in depth thereof. In this manner, movement in the Z direction between a first viewpoint and a second viewpoint may be determined and used alone or together with other data to evaluate the scaling data).
Regarding claim 12, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the method of claim 11. Jongsma further teaches wherein the position device comprises at least one of an absolute position sensor, a real-time kinematic (RTK) positioning system, a mobile-phone tracking, a real-time locating system based on radio, optical or ultrasonic technology, and a positioning system based on methods of underwater acoustic positioning, wherein the first device or the second device is provided with the position device ([0020] According to another embodiment of the invention, the system further comprises an Inertial Navigation System (INS) associated and moveable together with the imaging device. INS's are generally conventional devices, used to provide relative and absolute local orientation and position information…Additionally, the INS should preferably be an aided INS, in that it is provided with additional inputs to improve the INS accuracy. This may include hydro acoustic positioning, a depth sensor providing an absolute depth measurement and/or a verticality sensor, providing orientation with respect to the earth's gravitational field and the USBL, SBL and DVL systems mentioned above).
Regarding claim 13, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the method of claim 10. Jongsma further teaches wherein the obtaining the position or the obtaining the depth of the first device comprises: modulating the emitted light beam so that the light beam transmits information about the position or depth of the first device, detecting the light beam by an optical sensor ([0112] The beacon 404 includes three light sources 430a, 430b, 430c, which are adjacently located at predetermined positions to define an origin OR of a local beacon reference frame. The three light sources 430a-c are mounted on a base 422, and are each adapted for projecting a respective beam of light 432a, 432b, 432c into the water 408, in a predetermined direction away from the origin OR of the local reference frame. [0114] Preferably, each of the three light sources 430a-c generates light of a different wavelength range. Alternatively or in addition, the three light sources 430a-c may be configured to flash in different time-patterns, to allow the processor in the rover to resolve the orientation of the projected (local) reference frame)
and determining the position or depth of the first device based on the light beam detected by the optical sensor ([0103] Operation of the positioning system 1 will now be explained with reference to FIG. 2, which shows a schematic plan view of the ROV 2 and beacon 4. The ROV 2 has its axis AR directed at a heading H with respect to North N. The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4. Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N).
Regarding claim 14, Jongsma teaches the method of claim 10. Jongsma further teaches wherein the obtaining the position or the obtaining the depth of at least one of the first device and the second device in the water comprises: emitting an acoustic or electric signal which represents the position or depth of one between the first device or the second device ([0071] In further embodiments, the beacon may comprise a communication device arranged for wireless transmission of the position information and/or the determined pixel coordinates of detected light sources through the body of water to the rover. At least one of acoustic transmission, optical transmission, and electromagnetic transmission techniques may be used for conveying the position information from the beacon to the rover).
receiving the acoustic or electric signal, determining the position or depth of the one between the first device or the second device based on the received acoustic or electric signal ([0019] In an alternative arrangement, the scaling element may comprise an acoustic transponder located at a known position in or on the beacon with respect to the light source and a corresponding acoustic transceiver associated with the imaging device. By appropriate triangulation between the respective light sources and with the addition of a single distance measurement from one light source to the imaging device, the overall scale of the reference frame can be determined. [0019] In an alternative arrangement, the scaling element may comprise an acoustic transponder located at a known position in or on the beacon with respect to the light source and a corresponding acoustic transceiver associated with the imaging device).
Regarding claim 16, Jongsma teaches the method of claim 10. Jongsma further teaches wherein the first device comprises at least two light sources configured to emit respective light beams, the distance between each pair of light sources being fixed ([0112] The beacon 404 includes three light sources 430a, 430b, 430c, which are adjacently located at predetermined positions to define an origin OR of a local beacon reference frame. The three light sources 430a-c are mounted on a base 422, and are each adapted for projecting a respective beam of light 432a, 432b, 432c into the water 408, in a predetermined direction away from the origin OR of the local reference frame), the method further comprising:
calculating the pixel position in the two-dimensional image of each light beam emitted by each light source of the first device; and one of: (i) calculating the position of each of the at least two light sources relative to the main reference frame [0070] the processor may only be configured to determine pixel coordinates of detected light sources in images acquired by the imaging device, and to store these coordinates for further use and/or transmission to the rover) based on the pixel position of the respective light beam, the orientation of the camera, a position of the second device relative to the main reference frame and the vertical distance ([0103] Operation of the positioning system 1 will now be explained with reference to FIG. 2, which shows a schematic plan view of the ROV 2 and beacon 4. The ROV 2 has its axis AR directed at a heading H with respect to North N. The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4. Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N. The processor 16 also interrogates the beacon 4 using the transceiver 12 to pulse the transponder 28 and detect a returned pulse. The transmission time is converted into a range R using conventional ranging techniques for the given water depth and temperature. Although not further discussed it will be understood that all additional readings required for performing such ranging will be provided either from sensors aboard the ROV or elsewhere. Once bearing and range are determined for the beacon 4 relative to the ROV, the Δx and Δy offsets from the ROV 2 to the beacon 4 can be evaluated. It will thus be understood that for a fixed location of the beacon 4, the position of the ROV 2 can be established. Conversely, if the position of the ROV 2 is known, the location of the beacon 4 may be established. In FIG. 2, the situation is illustrated for a two-dimensional configuration in which, for simplicity, only bearing is taken into consideration. It will be understood that in practice, elevation will also be taken into account and the Δz value will also be determined),
and determining the orientation of the first device relative to the second device based on the calculated positions of the at least two light sources ([0103] Operation of the positioning system 1 will now be explained with reference to FIG. 2, which shows a schematic plan view of the ROV 2 and beacon 4. The ROV 2 has its axis AR directed at a heading H with respect to North N. The processor 16 controls operation of the camera 10 to produce a photogrammetric image of the light source 30 on beacon 4. Based on the reading, the processor can calculate the bearing B to the light source 30 and its angle a with respect to North N. The processor 16 also interrogates the beacon 4 using the transceiver 12 to pulse the transponder 28 and detect a returned pulse. The transmission time is converted into a range R using conventional ranging techniques for the given water depth and temperature. Although not further discussed it will be understood that all additional readings required for performing such ranging will be provided either from sensors aboard the ROV or elsewhere. Once bearing and range are determined for the beacon 4 relative to the ROV, the Δx and Δy offsets from the ROV 2 to the beacon 4 can be evaluated. It will thus be understood that for a fixed location of the beacon 4, the position of the ROV 2 can be established. Conversely, if the position of the ROV 2 is known, the location of the beacon 4 may be established),
and (ii) calculating the position of each of the at least two light sources relative to the main reference frame based on the pixel position of the respective light beam, an orientation of a rigid surface of the first device relative to the main reference frame, a position of the first device relative to the main reference frame and the vertical distance, and to determine the orientation of the second device relative to the first device based on the calculated positions of the at least two light sources.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jongsma in view of Sheldon and Shigeta (US20180263500A1).
Regarding claim 7, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the system of claim 1. Jongsma further teaches wherein the first device and the second device are connected through which one of: (i) the first device transmits to the second device information on its depth or position, and (ii) the second device transmits to the first device information on its depth or position ([0071] In further embodiments, the beacon may comprise a communication device arranged for wireless transmission of the position information and/or the determined pixel coordinates of detected light sources through the body of water to the rover. At least one of acoustic transmission, optical transmission, and electromagnetic transmission techniques may be used for conveying the position information from the beacon to the rover).
Jongsma does not teach wherein the first device and the second device are connected to each other by a marine communication cable.
Shigeta, in the same field of endeavor of underwater imaging, teaches wherein the first device and the second device are connected to each other by a marine communication cable ([0032] As shown in FIG. 1, the photoacoustic imaging apparatus 100 according to the embodiment of the present invention includes an illumination portion 1a and an illumination portion 1b, a probe body 2, and an apparatus body 3. The photoacoustic imaging apparatus 100 includes a cable 4a for connecting the illumination portion 1a (1b) and the apparatus body 3, and a cable 4b for connecting the probe body 2 and the apparatus body 3).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the system of Jongsma with the teachings of Shigeta to use a cable so that "The light source drive circuit 32 is configured to supply the power to the light source portion 11 based on a light trigger signal from the control portion 33" (Figure 2) [Shigeta 0048].
Claims 8 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Jongsma and Sheldon in view of Long (JP2018084976A).
Regarding claim 8, Jongsma and Sheldon teach the system of claim 1. Long, in the same field of endeavor of light beam position prediction, teaches wherein the processing unit is configured to predict a next position of the light beam in the two-dimensional image captured by the camera (optical camera 11) by performing a recursive filtering algorithm based on at least an actual position and previous positions of the light beam in the two-dimensional image ([pg. 3 para. 3] The light beam recognition device 12 repeatedly performs the processing from S200 to S400. [pg. 7 para. 2] Alternatively, the light spot position may be set using a Kalman filter. That is, the positions of a plurality of maxima pixels extracted to the prediction pixel B .sub.t by updated using a Kalman filter may be set shaft of light position. In other words, may be set straight line update from the positional relationship between the shaft of light pixels detected a straight line representing the state vector s .sub.t-1 using a Kalman filter as the expected line S .sub.t. Specifically, the prediction straight line S .sub.1 may be a straight line obtained by updating the initially set state vector s .sub.0 using the Kalman filter based on the positional relationship with the position z .sub.1 of the light beam pixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the system of Jongsma with the teachings of Long to use recursive filtering to "update the predicted straight line" of a light beam [Long pg. 8 para. 13].
Regarding claim 15, Jongsma and Sheldon teaches the method of claim 10. Long, in the same field of endeavor of light beam position prediction, teaches predicting a next position of the light beam in the two-dimensional image captured by the camera (optical camera 11) by performing a recursive filtering based on at least an actual position and previous positions of the light beam in the two-dimensional image ([pg. 3 para. 3] The light beam recognition device 12 repeatedly performs the processing from S200 to S400. [pg. 7 para. 2] Alternatively, the light spot position may be set using a Kalman filter. That is, the positions of a plurality of maxima pixels extracted to the prediction pixel B .sub.t by updated using a Kalman filter may be set shaft of light position. In other words, may be set straight line update from the positional relationship between the shaft of light pixels detected a straight line representing the state vector s .sub.t-1 using a Kalman filter as the expected line S .sub.t. Specifically, the prediction straight line S .sub.1 may be a straight line obtained by updating the initially set state vector s .sub.0 using the Kalman filter based on the positional relationship with the position z .sub.1 of the light beam pixel).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time that the invention was made to modify the method of Jongsma with the teachings of Long to use recursive filtering to "update the predicted straight line" of a light beam [Long pg. 8 para. 13].
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JACQUELINE R ZAK/Examiner, Art Unit 2666
/EMILY C TERRELL/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2666