DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11, 15-18, 20, 23-24, 26-27, 30-31, 34-38, and 39-41 are currently pending and are examined herein.
Drawings
New corrected drawings in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in this application because the text in the figures is too small and illegible. See for example, Figs. 11, 12H, 13, 14B, 14E, 14F, 14J, 14L, 14P, 15E, 16A-D, 16H-O, 18C, 18H-J, 19A-K, 19N, and 20F-R, wherein several of the figures have illegible text. This is not a comprehensive list of all illegible text in the figures, but merely some examples found by the examiner in an initial review. Per 37 CFR 1.84(l): “All drawings must be made by a process which will give them satisfactory reproduction characteristics. Every line, number, and letter must be durable, clean, black (except for color drawings), sufficiently dense and dark, and uniformly thick and well-defined. The weight of all lines and letters must be heavy enough to permit adequate reproduction.” Per 37 CFR 1.84(p)(3): “Numbers, letters, and reference characters must measure at least .32 cm. (1/8 inch) in height.” Applicant is advised to employ the services of a competent patent draftsperson outside the Office, as the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office no longer prepares new drawings. The corrected drawings are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. The requirement for corrected drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections – 35 U.S.C. 102
Frisén et al.
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11, 15-18, 20, 23-24, 26-27, 30-31, 34-38, and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Frisén et al. (U.S. 2019/0202175 A1, cited in IDS of 10/10/2024).
Regarding claims 1 and 37, Frisén discloses a kit comprising a substrate for spatial detection of nucleic acid in a tissue sample, the substrate comprising a plurality of capture probes immobilized on a surface of the substrate, wherein:
a. each capture probe comprises a capture domain and a spatial barcode;
b. the plurality of capture probes is arranged in clusters, each cluster comprising multiple capture probes;
c. each capture probe in a cluster comprises the same spatial barcode; and
d. the spatial barcode for each cluster is unique,
wherein the substrate comprises 0.5-2 million clusters per 1mm2 of surface (e.g., as per para [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 2, Frisén discloses the above, wherein:
each cluster comprises at least 200 capture probes, at least 500 capture probes, or at least 800 capture probes
each cluster has a diameter of 500-1200 nm, and/or
the substrate comprises about 1.5 million clusters per 1mm2 of surface (e.g., as per para [0054]-[0055]).
Regarding claim 8, Frisén discloses the above, wherein the surface comprises a material selected from glass, silicon, poly-L-lysine coated materials, nitrocellulose, polystyrene, cyclic olefin copolymers (COCs), cyclic olefin polymers (COPs), polyacrylamide, polypropylene, polyethylene and polycarbonate (e.g., as per para [0042] and/or [0048]).
Regarding claim 9, Frisén discloses the above, wherein the capture domain for each capture probe is the same, and/or wherein the capture domain comprises a poly-T oligonucleotide comprising at least 10 deoxythymidine residues or a DNA sequence complementary to a nucleotide sequence of a target nucleic acid (e.g., as per para [0093] and/or EXAMPLE III).
Regarding claim 11, Frisén discloses the above, wherein each capture probe further comprises a sequencing barcode, each capture probe further comprises one or more filler sequences, each capture probe in a cluster comprises a unique molecular identifier (UMI) barcode, and/or each capture probe further comprises a cleavage domain (e.g., cleavage site as per para [0110]-[0114]).
Regarding claim 15, Frisén discloses the above, wherein the cleavage domain comprises a binding site for a restriction endonuclease (e.g., cleavage site as per para [0110]-[0114]).
Regarding claim 16, Frisén discloses the above, wherein the nucleic acid is RNA (e.g., as per para [0022] and/or [0095]).
Regarding claim 17, Frisén discloses a method comprising replicating the substrate of claim 1 to a second media to produce a second substrate (e.g., as per para [0118]).
Regarding claim 18, Frisén discloses a method for spatial detection of RNA in a tissue sample, comprising:
a. providing the substrate of claim 1 (e.g., as above);
b. contacting the substrate with a tissue sample and allowing RNA molecules of the tissue sample to bind to the capture domain of the capture probes (e.g., tissue sample as per para [0084]-[0088], Fig. 1, 7, and/or 8, allowing RNA to bind as per para []0094]-[0095]);
c. generating cDNA molecules from the bound RNA molecules (e.g., using reverse transcriptase as per para [0099]); and
d. sequencing the cDNA molecules (e.g., sequencing as per para [0118]).
Regarding claim 20, Frisén discloses the above, further comprising determining the location of each cluster of capture probes on the substrate prior to contacting the substrate with the tissue sample, wherein determining the location of each cluster comprises determining the sequence of the spatial barcode for at least one capture probe in each cluster, and assigning the sequence to a location on the substrate (e.g., decoding of the spatial barcodes as per para [0077]-[0078] and/or as per Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 23, Frisén discloses the above, further comprising correlating the sequence of the spatial barcode for each sequenced cDNA molecule with the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate having a corresponding spatial barcode (e.g., decoding of the spatial barcodes as per para [0077]-[0078] and/or as per Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 24, Frisén discloses the above, further comprising imaging the tissue before or after generating the cDNA molecules, and determining the spatial location of the RNA molecules within the tissue sample by correlating the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate with a corresponding location within the tissue sample (e.g., imaging as per [0103]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 26, Frisén discloses a method for spatial detection of nucleic acid in a tissue sample, comprising:
a. providing the substrate of claim 1 (e.g., as above);
b. contacting the substrate with a tissue sample and allowing nucleic acid molecules of the tissue sample to bind to the capture domain of the capture probes (e.g., tissue sample as per para [0084]-[0088], Fig. 1, 7, and/or 8, allowing RNA to bind as per para []0094]-[0095]); and
c. sequencing the bound nucleic acid molecules (e.g., by reverse transcribing the mRNA into cDNA as per para [0099], then sequencing as per para [0118]).
Regarding claim 27, Frisén discloses the above, further comprising determining the location of each cluster of capture probes on the substrate prior to contacting the substrate with the tissue sample, wherein determining the location of each cluster comprises determining the sequence of the spatial barcode for at least one capture probe in each cluster, and assigning the sequence to a location on the substrate (e.g., decoding of the spatial barcodes as per para [0077]-[0078] and/or as per Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 30, Frisén discloses the above, further comprising correlating the sequence of the spatial barcode for each sequenced nucleic acid molecule with the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate having a corresponding spatial barcode (e.g., decoding of the spatial barcodes as per para [0077]-[0078] and/or as per Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 31, Frisén discloses the above, further comprising imaging the tissue before or after sequencing the nucleic acid molecules, and determining the spatial location of the nucleic acid molecules within the tissue sample by correlating the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate with a corresponding location within the tissue sample (e.g., imaging as per [0103]-[0109]).
Regarding claim 34, Frisén discloses the above, wherein the method determines RNA expression in a single cell within the tissue sample (e.g., mRNA detection and sequencing at the cellular resolution as per para [0020]-[0022] and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 35, Frisén discloses the above, wherein the method determines RNA expression in subcellular components within the single cell (e.g., single cell and subcellular resolution as per para [0020]-[0022] and [0104]).
Regarding claim 36, Frisén discloses the above, wherein the method determines RNA expression within subcellular components comprise the nucleus, the cytoplasm and/or the mitochondria of the cell (e.g., single cell and subcellular resolution as per para [0020]-[0022] and [0104]).
Regarding claim 39, Frisén discloses a method of determining RNA expression in a single cell in a tissue sample, comprising contacting the tissue sample with the substrate of claim 1 (e.g., mRNA detection and sequencing at the cellular resolution as per para [0020]-[0022] and Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 40, Frisén discloses a method of determining RNA expression in subcellular components of a single cell in a tissue sample, comprising contacting the tissue sample with the substrate of claim 1 (e.g., single cell and subcellular resolution as per para [0020]-[0022] and [0104]).
Regarding claim 41, Frisén discloses the above, wherein the subcellular components comprise the nucleus, the cytoplasm, and/or the mitochondria (e.g., single cell and subcellular resolution as per para [0020]-[0022] and [0104]).
Double Patenting
Effective January 1, 1994, a registered attorney or agent of record may sign a terminal disclaimer. A terminal disclaimer signed by the assignee must fully comply with 37 CFR 3.73(b).
U.S. 11,713,480 B2
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11, 15-16, 18, 20, 23-24, 26-27, 30-31, 34-38, and 39-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 11,713,480 B2 (the ‘480 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rejected claims of the present invention would be anticipated and/or rendered obvious by the subject matter in the claims of the reference patent.
Regarding claims 1 and 37, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose a kit comprising a substrate for spatial detection of nucleic acid in a tissue sample, the substrate comprising a plurality of capture probes immobilized on a surface of the substrate, wherein:
a. each capture probe comprises a capture domain and a spatial barcode;
b. the plurality of capture probes is arranged in clusters, each cluster comprising multiple capture probes;
c. each capture probe in a cluster comprises the same spatial barcode; and
d. the spatial barcode for each cluster is unique,
wherein the substrate comprises 0.5-2 million clusters per 1mm2 of surface (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 2, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein:
each cluster comprises at least 200 capture probes, at least 500 capture probes, or at least 800 capture probes
each cluster has a diameter of 500-1200 nm, and/or
the substrate comprises about 1.5 million clusters per 1mm2 of surface (e.g., as per claims 3-8 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 8, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein the surface comprises a material selected from glass, silicon, poly-L-lysine coated materials, nitrocellulose, polystyrene, cyclic olefin copolymers (COCs), cyclic olefin polymers (COPs), polyacrylamide, polypropylene, polyethylene and polycarbonate (e.g., as per claim 10 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 9, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein the capture domain for each capture probe is the same, and/or wherein the capture domain comprises a poly-T oligonucleotide comprising at least 10 deoxythymidine residues or a DNA sequence complementary to a nucleotide sequence of a target nucleic acid (e.g., as per claim 12 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 11, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein each capture probe further comprises a sequencing barcode, each capture probe further comprises one or more filler sequences, each capture probe in a cluster comprises a unique molecular identifier (UMI) barcode, and/or each capture probe further comprises a cleavage domain (e.g., as per claims 13-16 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 15, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein the cleavage domain comprises a binding site for a restriction endonuclease (e.g., as per claim 16 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 16, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein the nucleic acid is RNA (e.g., as per claim 1 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 18, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose a method for spatial detection of RNA in a tissue sample, comprising:
a. providing the substrate of claim 1;
b. contacting the substrate with a tissue sample and allowing RNA molecules of the tissue sample to bind to the capture domain of the capture probes;
c. generating cDNA molecules from the bound RNA molecules; and
d. sequencing the cDNA molecules (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 20, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, further comprising determining the location of each cluster of capture probes on the substrate prior to contacting the substrate with the tissue sample, wherein determining the location of each cluster comprises determining the sequence of the spatial barcode for at least one capture probe in each cluster, and assigning the sequence to a location on the substrate (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 23, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, further comprising correlating the sequence of the spatial barcode for each sequenced cDNA molecule with the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate having a corresponding spatial barcode (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 24, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, further comprising imaging the tissue before or after generating the cDNA molecules, and determining the spatial location of the RNA molecules within the tissue sample by correlating the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate with a corresponding location within the tissue sample (e.g., as per claim 17 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 26, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose a method for spatial detection of nucleic acid in a tissue sample, comprising:
a. providing the substrate of claim 1;
b. contacting the substrate with a tissue sample and allowing nucleic acid molecules of the tissue sample to bind to the capture domain of the capture probes; and
c. sequencing the bound nucleic acid molecules (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 27, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, further comprising determining the location of each cluster of capture probes on the substrate prior to contacting the substrate with the tissue sample, wherein determining the location of each cluster comprises determining the sequence of the spatial barcode for at least one capture probe in each cluster, and assigning the sequence to a location on the substrate (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 30, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, further comprising correlating the sequence of the spatial barcode for each sequenced nucleic acid molecule with the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate having a corresponding spatial barcode (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 31, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, further comprising imaging the tissue before or after sequencing the nucleic acid molecules, and determining the spatial location of the nucleic acid molecules within the tissue sample by correlating the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate with a corresponding location within the tissue sample (e.g., as per claim 17 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 34, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein the method determines RNA expression in a single cell within the tissue sample (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 35, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein the method determines RNA expression in subcellular components within the single cell (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 36, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein the method determines RNA expression within subcellular components comprise the nucleus, the cytoplasm and/or the mitochondria of the cell (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 39, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose a method of determining RNA expression in a single cell in a tissue sample, comprising contacting the tissue sample with the substrate of claim 1 (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 40, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose a method of determining RNA expression in subcellular components of a single cell in a tissue sample, comprising contacting the tissue sample with the substrate of claim 1 (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
Regarding claim 41, The claims of the ‘480 patent disclose the above, wherein the subcellular components comprise the nucleus, the cytoplasm, and/or the mitochondria (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘480 patent).
U.S. 12,319,955 B2
Claims 1-2, 8-9, 11, 15-16, 18, 20, 23-24, 26-27, 30-31, 34-38, and 39-41 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,319,955 B2 (the ‘955 patent). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the rejected claims of the present invention would be anticipated and/or rendered obvious by the subject matter in the claims of the reference patent.
Regarding claims 1 and 37, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose a kit comprising a substrate for spatial detection of nucleic acid in a tissue sample, the substrate comprising a plurality of capture probes immobilized on a surface of the substrate, wherein:
a. each capture probe comprises a capture domain and a spatial barcode;
b. the plurality of capture probes is arranged in clusters, each cluster comprising multiple capture probes;
c. each capture probe in a cluster comprises the same spatial barcode; and
d. the spatial barcode for each cluster is unique,
wherein the substrate comprises 0.5-2 million clusters per 1mm2 of surface (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 2, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein:
each cluster comprises at least 200 capture probes, at least 500 capture probes, or at least 800 capture probes
each cluster has a diameter of 500-1200 nm, and/or
the substrate comprises about 1.5 million clusters per 1mm2 of surface (e.g., as per claims 3-8 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 8, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein the surface comprises a material selected from glass, silicon, poly-L-lysine coated materials, nitrocellulose, polystyrene, cyclic olefin copolymers (COCs), cyclic olefin polymers (COPs), polyacrylamide, polypropylene, polyethylene and polycarbonate (e.g., as per claim 10 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 9, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein the capture domain for each capture probe is the same, and/or wherein the capture domain comprises a poly-T oligonucleotide comprising at least 10 deoxythymidine residues or a DNA sequence complementary to a nucleotide sequence of a target nucleic acid (e.g., as per claim 12 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 11, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein each capture probe further comprises a sequencing barcode, each capture probe further comprises one or more filler sequences, each capture probe in a cluster comprises a unique molecular identifier (UMI) barcode, and/or each capture probe further comprises a cleavage domain (e.g., as per claims 13-16 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 15, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein the cleavage domain comprises a binding site for a restriction endonuclease (e.g., as per claim 16 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 16, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein the nucleic acid is RNA (e.g., as per claim 1 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 18, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose a method for spatial detection of RNA in a tissue sample, comprising:
a. providing the substrate of claim 1;
b. contacting the substrate with a tissue sample and allowing RNA molecules of the tissue sample to bind to the capture domain of the capture probes;
c. generating cDNA molecules from the bound RNA molecules; and
d. sequencing the cDNA molecules (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 20, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, further comprising determining the location of each cluster of capture probes on the substrate prior to contacting the substrate with the tissue sample, wherein determining the location of each cluster comprises determining the sequence of the spatial barcode for at least one capture probe in each cluster, and assigning the sequence to a location on the substrate (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 23, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, further comprising correlating the sequence of the spatial barcode for each sequenced cDNA molecule with the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate having a corresponding spatial barcode (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 24, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, further comprising imaging the tissue before or after generating the cDNA molecules, and determining the spatial location of the RNA molecules within the tissue sample by correlating the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate with a corresponding location within the tissue sample (e.g., as per claim 17 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 26, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose a method for spatial detection of nucleic acid in a tissue sample, comprising:
a. providing the substrate of claim 1;
b. contacting the substrate with a tissue sample and allowing nucleic acid molecules of the tissue sample to bind to the capture domain of the capture probes; and
c. sequencing the bound nucleic acid molecules (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 27, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, further comprising determining the location of each cluster of capture probes on the substrate prior to contacting the substrate with the tissue sample, wherein determining the location of each cluster comprises determining the sequence of the spatial barcode for at least one capture probe in each cluster, and assigning the sequence to a location on the substrate (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 30, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, further comprising correlating the sequence of the spatial barcode for each sequenced nucleic acid molecule with the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate having a corresponding spatial barcode (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 31, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, further comprising imaging the tissue before or after sequencing the nucleic acid molecules, and determining the spatial location of the nucleic acid molecules within the tissue sample by correlating the location of the cluster of capture probes on the substrate with a corresponding location within the tissue sample (e.g., as per claim 17 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 34, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein the method determines RNA expression in a single cell within the tissue sample (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 35, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein the method determines RNA expression in subcellular components within the single cell (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 36, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein the method determines RNA expression within subcellular components comprise the nucleus, the cytoplasm and/or the mitochondria of the cell (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 39, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose a method of determining RNA expression in a single cell in a tissue sample, comprising contacting the tissue sample with the substrate of claim 1 (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 40, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose a method of determining RNA expression in subcellular components of a single cell in a tissue sample, comprising contacting the tissue sample with the substrate of claim 1 (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Regarding claim 41, The claims of the ‘955 patent disclose the above, wherein the subcellular components comprise the nucleus, the cytoplasm, and/or the mitochondria (e.g., as per claims 1-4 of the ‘955 patent).
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
/JEREMY C FLINDERS/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684