DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Claims
Claims 42-61 are currently pending and are examined herein.
The following Office Action is in response to Applicant’s communication dated 08/24/2026. Rejection(s) and/or objection(s) not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejection(s) and/or objection(s) are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Drawings
Applicant’s submission of replacement drawings on 08/24/2026 is acknowledged and doing so has overcome the previous objections.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement(s) (IDS) submitted on 08/24/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement(s) is/are being considered by the examiner.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 08/24/2026 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of U.S. 11,713,480 and 12,319,955 has been reviewed and is accepted. The terminal disclaimer has been recorded.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) – Indefiniteness
Necessitated by Amendments
(B) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention.
Claims 43-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention.
Claims 43-61 each depend from canceled claims and therefore the metes and bounds of the claim are unascertainable. In the interest of compact prosecution, these dependent claims will be interpreted as depending directly or indirectly from independent claim 42.
As per MPEP 2173: It is of utmost importance that patents issue with definite claims that clearly and precisely inform persons skilled in the art of the boundaries of protected subject matter. Therefore, claims that do not meet this standard must be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph as indefinite. Further, as per MPEP 2173.02: If the language of the claim is such that a person of ordinary skill in the art could not interpret the metes and bounds of the claim so as to understand how to avoid infringement, a rejection of the claim under 35 U.S.C. 112, second paragraph, would be appropriate. As currently written, the metes and bounds of the rejected claims are unascertainable for the reasons set forth above, thus the above claim(s) and all dependent claims are rejected under 35 USC 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Necessitated by Amendments
Frisén ‘275 and Frisén ‘106
Claims 42-61 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Frisén ‘275 (U.S. PGPub 2019/0203275 A1, cited in IDS of 10/10/2024, of record) in view of Frisén ‘106 (U.S. PGPub 2019/0017106 A1).
Regarding claim 42(in part), Frisén ‘275 discloses a method of generating a spatial transcriptomics gene expression image having subcellular resolution (e.g., as per para 0020-0022, 0054, and 0106-0107), comprising:
providing a flat array surface comprising high density clusters of probes, wherein a location of each cluster on said flat array surface is known (e.g., high-density arrays of capture probes as per para 0054-0055, wherein the capture probes comprise spatial tags as per para 0077-0078);
contacting said flat array surface with a tissue section such that RNA from cells in said tissue section hybridizes to capture domains of probes within the clusters (e.g., as per para 0084-0085 and 0094-0095 and Fig. 1, 7, and/or 8),
wherein a plurality of probes comprising a capture domain, a spatial barcode sequence, and a target RNA sequence or a complement thereof are formed (e.g., as per para 0077-0078 and 0099);
sequencing said sequencing library to generate sequencing data (e.g., as per para 0118); and
generating a spatial transcriptomics gene expression image having subcellular resolution from said sequencing data (e.g., as per para 0019-0020 and 0098).
However, it is noted that Frisén ‘275 is silent about the limitation regarding generating second strand copies of said plurality of probes and eluting said second strand copies from said array and generating a sequencing library from eluted second strand copies, as set forth in claim 42 steps (c)-(d).
Frisén ‘106 similarly discloses methods of measuring spatial transcriptomics in tissue samples by capturing mRNA on arrays of capture probes (e.g., as per para 0158-0160), but explicitly discloses generating second strand copies of said plurality of probes and eluting said second strand copies from said array (e.g., as per para 0163-0167) then generating a sequencing library (e.g., as per para 0179).
It would have been prima facie obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the application to perform the second strand synthesis directly on the array as per Frisén ‘106 in the subcellular resolution spatial transcriptomics method of Frisén ‘275. One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so since this would avoid the need to ligate adaptors to the 3’ end of the cDNA first strand (e.g., as disclosed by Frisén ‘106 in para 0174).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success as of the application’s effective filing date in combining the teachings of the prior art references to arrive at the invention as presently claimed since both references are drawn to similar methods of measuring spatial transcriptomics in tissue samples by capturing mRNA on arrays of capture probes, noting that Frisén ‘106 states in para 0174 that “second strand synthesis may use a method of template switching … technology that is well established in the art” and may be performed using commercially available kits that are readily available.
Regarding claim 43, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein the spatial barcode sequence of probes in a given cluster is identical, and wherein said spatial barcode sequence for each cluster is unique (e.g., as per para 0030 and 0043 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 44, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein said flat array surface comprises 0.5-2 million clusters per 1 mm2 of surface (e.g., as per para 0054-0055 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 45, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein said flat array surface comprises about 1.5 million clusters per 1 mm2 of surface (e.g., as per para 0054-0055 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claims 46-48, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein each cluster comprises at least 800 probes (e.g., products of bridge amplification as per para 0121 and 0129 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 49, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein each cluster has a diameter of 500-1200 nm (e.g., as per para 0055 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 50, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein each cluster has an average diameter of 0.6 μm (e.g., as per para 0055 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 51, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein said flat array surf ace comprises a material selected from glass, silicon, poly-L-lysine coated materials, nitrocellulose, polystyrene, cyclic olefin copolymers (COCs), cyclic olefin polymers (COPs), polyacrylamide, polypropylene, polyethylene and polycarbonate (e.g., as per para 0042 and 0048 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 52, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein said capture domain is identical for each of the plurality of probes (e.g., as per para 0094 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 53, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein said capture domain comprises a poly-T oligonucleotide comprising at least 10 deoxythymidine residues (e.g., as per para 0094 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 54, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein each of the plurality of probes further comprises a sequencing barcode (e.g., as per EXAMPLE I of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 55, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein each of the plurality of probes further comprises one or more filler sequences (e.g., as per EXAMPLE I of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 56, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein each of the plurality of probes further comprises a unique molecular identifier (UMI) barcode sequence (e.g., as per para 0056-0058 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 57, Frisén ‘106 discloses the above method, wherein each of the plurality of probes further comprises a cleavage domain comprising a binding site for a restriction endonuclease (e.g., as per para 0105 of Frisén ‘106).
Regarding claim 58, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, further comprising imaging the tissue section (e.g., as per para 0107 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 59, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, further comprising correlating the known location of each cluster on said flat array surface with a corresponding location within said tissue section (e.g., as per para 0103-0109 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 60, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein the distance between centers of said clusters is 1 μm or less (e.g., as per para 0054 of Frisén ‘275).
Regarding claim 61, Frisén ‘275 discloses the above method, wherein said clusters are produced by bridge amplification (e.g., as per para 0121 and 0129 of Frisén ‘275).
***
Response to Arguments
The 08/24/2026 remarks argue: not all elements are taught.
Applicant's arguments have been fully considered but are moot due to the new grounds of rejection necessitated by Applicant’s amendments. To the extent possible, Applicant’s arguments have been fully addressed in the body of the rejection above.
Conclusion
No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEREMY C FLINDERS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1684