DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 17 February 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that Cohen in view of Wung does not teach the claimed equation for the prior probability of speech absence. As applicant notes, Cohen alone is not used to read on the claimed equation, but the combination of the references. The differences between Cohen’s equation 29 and applicant’s claimed equation are addressed by the cited portions of Wung. Paragraph [0007] of Wung, partially quoted by applicant, states “The Wiener filter is updated (its filter coefficients are computed) based on a speech presence probability (SPP), and the latter in turn is computed based on an a priori speech presence probability (a priori SPP.) The latter is computed by a multi-channel voice activity detector (MVAD), whose two input thresholds are dynamically adapted and are derived from i) an instantaneous a priori signal to noise ratio (SNR), and ii) an average a priori SNR, of the multi-channel dereverberated signal”. The MVAD referred to by the applicant and cited by the prior rejection is calculating a priori speech presence probability, as the claim requires. The two input thresholds are dynamically adapted and based on “a characteristic of noise distribution” as required by the claim (signal to noise ratio is a characteristic of noise distribution). Thus, the modification of Cohen by Wung renders the claim limitation obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4-13, 15-16, 19-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cohen in view of Wung (US 20180350379 A1).
Claim 1: Cohen discloses a method for suppressing noise by quickly calculating a speech presence probability, comprising:
obtaining an input signal, and converting the input signal from a time-domain signal to a frequency-domain signal; (Section 2 paragraph 2: observed signal converted into frequency domain using STFT)
calculating a real-time power spectrum of the frequency-domain signal, and tracking a minimum power in the real-time power spectrum; (Section 3, Paragraph 2: minimum tracking)
performing noise estimation based on the minimum power to obtain an estimated noise power spectrum; (Section 1: Noise estimation is based on the tracked minimum power)
calculating a gain coefficient based on the estimated noise power spectrum, and enhancing the frequency-domain signal based on the gain coefficient to obtain an enhanced frequency-domain signal; (Section 4 Equation 33, Section 5 Figure 1: Calculate gain based on estimated noise power)
and converting the enhanced frequency-domain signal to a time-domain signal to obtain an output signal. (Section 5 Figure 4: Output enhanced signal c in time domain)
wherein the performing noise estimation based on the minimum power to obtain an estimated noise power spectrum comprises:
calculating a ratio of a real-time power to the minimum power in the real-time power spectrum; (Section 3 Equation 18)
obtaining a threshold and comparing the ratio with the threshold to obtain a prior probability of speech absence; (Section 3 Equation 29)
calculating a posterior signal-to-noise ratio based on the real-time power spectrum, wherein the posterior signal-to-noise ratio is a ratio of a real-time power of a current frame to an estimated noise power of a previous frame; (Section 2 Equation 3)
calculating a prior signal-to-noise ratio through a decision-directed approach; (Section 3 Equation 32 and surrounding paragraphs: decision-directed approach to obtain a priori SNR)
calculating a speech presence probability based on the prior signal-to-noise ratio, the posterior signal-to-noise ratio, and the prior probability of speech absence; (Section 2 Equation 7)
and calculating the estimated noise power spectrum based on the speech presence probability. (Section 2 Equations 9-10 and surrounding paragraphs: use speech probability to obtain the estimated noise spectrum)
wherein a calculation for probability of speech absence is obtained as:
; (Section 3 Equation 29)
However, Cohen does not disclose wherein Δ represents a threshold set by frequencies based on a characteristic of noise distribution.
Wung does disclose wherein Δ represents a threshold set by frequencies based on a characteristic of noise distribution. (Figure 10 MVAD 50 and psiZERO/psiTideZero thresholds, [0007]: a priori speech presence probability is determined by thresholds derived from a priori SNR)
It would have been obvious to one with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to dynamically adapt the threshold for q(m, k) because it generates less distortion and performs more noise removal than a conventional fixed speech absence probability (see Wung [0063]).
Claim 4: Elements of parent claim 1 are addressed above. Wung further teaches the method wherein the threshold set as:
(Figure 10 MVAD 50 and psiZERO/psiTideZero thresholds, [0007]: a priori speech presence probability is determined by thresholds derived from a priori SNR).
Claim 5: Elements of parent claim 1 are addressed above. Cohen further teaches the method wherein the calculating a speech presence probability based on the prior signal-to-noise ratio, the posterior signal-to- noise ratio, and the prior probability of speech absence comprises:
calculating a likelihood ratio based on the prior signal-to-noise ratio and the posterior signal-to-noise ratio, wherein the likelihood ratio indicates a ratio of a probability that a received data frame conforms to a distribution of a noisy speech signal to a probability that the data frame conforms to a distribution of a noise signal; (Section 2 Equation 7, Bayes Rule)
and calculating the speech presence probability based on the likelihood ratio and the prior probability of speech absence. (Section 2 Equation 7).
Claim 6: Elements of parent claim 5 are addressed above. Cohen further teaches the method wherein the noisy speech signal and the noise signal each satisfies a Gaussian distribution (Section 2 Paragraph 2), and the likelihood ratio is expressed as:
(Section 2 Equation 7).
Claim 7: Elements of parent claim 6 are addressed above. Cohen further teaches the method wherein the speech presence probability is calculated as:
(Section 2 Equation 7)
Claim 8: Elements of parent claim 6 are addressed above. Cohen further teaches the method wherein after the calculating a likelihood ratio based on the prior signal-to-noise ratio and the posterior signal-to-noise ratio, the method further comprises: performing an inter-frequency smoothing on the likelihood ratio to obtain a smoothed likelihood ratio (Section 2, Equations 8-11 and surrounding paragraphs: smoothing on hypotheses)
the calculating a speech presence probability based on the likelihood ratio and the prior probability of speech absence comprises: calculating the speech presence probability based on the smoothed likelihood ratio and the prior probability of speech absence. (Section 2, Equations 7-11).
Claim 9: Elements of parent claim 5 are addressed above. Cohen further teaches the method wherein after the calculating the speech presence probability based on the likelihood ratio, and the prior probability of speech absence, the method further comprises:
obtaining a probability threshold; (Section 3 Equation 21)
and determining whether to update the speech presence probability based on a relationship between the speech presence and the probability threshold. (Section 3 Equation 21).
Claim 10: Elements of parent claim 9 are addressed above. Cohen further teaches the method wherein a smoothed value of the speech presence probability is calculated as:
(Section 3 Equation 15)
and the speech presence probability is updated as:
(Section 3 Equations 21, 26) .
Claim 11: Elements of parent claim 1 are addressed above. Cohen further teaches the method wherein in a case that the estimated noise power spectrum does not contain the estimated noise power of the previous frame, the posterior signal-to-noise ratio is calculated by using a current real- time power as the estimated noise power of the previous frame. (Section 4 Paragraph 2: The noise spectrum estimate is initialized at the first frame by the real time power)
Claim 12: Elements of parent claim 1 are addressed above. Cohen further teaches the method wherein the calculating a gain coefficient based on the estimated noise power spectrum, and enhancing the frequency-domain signal based on the gain coefficient to obtain an enhanced frequency-domain signal comprises:
calculating a posterior signal-to-noise ratio of the frequency-domain signal based on the estimated noise power spectrum (Section 2 Equation 3), and updating the prior signal-to-noise ratio based on the posterior signal-to-noise ratio of the frequency-domain signal; (Section 4 Equation 32)
calculating a prior probability of speech absence based on the updated prior signal- to-noise ratio; (Section 2 Equation 7)
calculating an updated speech presence probability based on the posterior signal- to-noise ratio, the updated prior signal-to-noise ratio, and the prior probability of speech absence; (Section 2 Equation 7)
obtaining the gain coefficient based on the updated speech presence probability; (Section 4 Equation 33, Section 5 Figure 1: Calculate gain based on estimated noise power, which is based on updated speech presence probability)
and calculating a product of the frequency-domain signal and the gain coefficient to obtain the enhanced frequency-domain signal. (Section 4 Equation 33, Section 5 Figure 1: Calculate gain based on estimated noise power)
Claim 13: Elements of parent claim 12 are addressed above. Cohen further teaches the method wherein the prior probability of speech absence is calculated as:
(Section 3 Equation 29)
Claims 15-16, 19-21 are analogous to claims 1, 12-13 and are rejected in a similar fashion.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892.
/ALVIN ISKENDER/ Examiner, Art Unit 2654
/HAI PHAN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2654