Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed May 26, 2026 have been fully considered but they not persuasive.
Regarding claims 16 and 26, Applicant argues that Cirik does not disclose, "detecting beam failure for at least one of the multiple active BWPs comprising a [DL] BWP having a linked [UL] BWP, wherein the linked UL BWP of the serving cell is deactivated when the beam failure is detected for the DL BWP of the serving cell," as recited in independent claims 16 and 26, as currently amended. Applicant further argues that Cirik does not disclose, "whether each BWP of the at least two BWPs is experiencing beam failure, wherein the linked UL BWP of the serving cell is deactivated when the beam failure is detected for the DL BWP of the serving cell," as recited in independent claim 29, as currently amended.
However, the examiner respectfully disagrees with applicant’s arguments.
Cirik discloses detecting beam failure for at least one of the multiple active BWPs (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; Fig. 28B, step 2802B detect at least one beam failure according to BFR parameters; paragraph [0262], wireless device configured for a serving cell with resources for beam failure detection; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0314], BFR procedure of the first downlink BWP) comprising a downlink (“DL”) BWP of the serving cell having a linked uplink (“UL”) BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0315], the first cell may be a primary cell e.g. PCell, SpCell, PSCell; paragraph [0317], wireless device may activate downlink BWP 1 and uplink BWP 1 and wireless device may activate downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2 if there is a linkage between downlink BWP1 and uplink BWP 1 and/or downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2; paragraph [0361], BFR procedure for the DL-BWP-1 2612B or the DL-BWP-3 2616B may be performed; paragraph [0362], BFR for DL-BWP-3 configured to be performed on UL-BWP-3 if the UL BWP-3 and the DL-BWP-3 are linked), wherein the linked UL BWP of the serving cell is deactivated when the beam failure is detected for the DL BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0268], switch a first DL BWP and a first active UL BWP independently for a serving cell; paragraph [0270], BWP switching for a serving cell may be used to activate an inactive BWP and/or deactivate an active BWP; paragraph [0317], wireless device may need to switch from the uplink BWP 1 to the uplink BWP 2, for example, if the wireless device switches from the downlink BWP 1 to the downlink BWP 2; paragraph [0342], BFR procedure for the second downlink BWP, the wireless device may switch the active uplink BWP from the first uplink BWP to the second uplink BWP during the BFR procedure).
Regarding claims 16, 26 and 29, Applicant further asserts that, although Cirik states that an UL BWP of the first cell may be linked to a corresponding DL BWP of the first cell (See Cirik, Figure 26A and Figure 26B), Cirik fails to teach or suggest that the second downlink BWP of the second cell is linked to the second uplink BWP of the first cell. However, Cirik discloses, for example, in paragraph [0073], that SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; and in paragraph [0251], wireless device may autonomously select resource for transmitting BFR signal; and in paragraph [0270], that BWP switching may be used to activate an inactive BWP; and in Figs. 25, 26A, 26B, that multiple BWPs may be active on a serving cell and other BWPs may be inactive on the serving cell, and in paragraph [0316]-[0317], that a wireless device may activate downlink BWP 1 and uplink BWP 1 or a wireless device may activate downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2, and that a wireless device may need to switch from uplink BWP 1 to UL BWP 2; paragraph [0342], that in a BFR procedure for the second downlink BWP, the wireless device may switch the active uplink BWP from the first uplink BWP to the second uplink BWP during the BFR procedure.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16-21 and 23-36 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Cirik et al. (US 2020/0137821) in view of Wang et al. (US 2022/0394763).
Regarding claim 16, Cirik discloses a User Equipment ("UE") (Cirik, Fig. 3, wireless device, base station; paragraph [0004], wireless device) comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory, and configured to cause the UE (Cirik, Fig. 3; paragraph [0072], memory and processor) to:
receive a configuration for a serving cell in a Radio Access Network ("RAN"), wherein the serving cell is configured with multiple Bandwidth Parts ("BWPs") (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; Fig. 28B, step 2800B, receive configuration parameters for BFR; paragraph [0361], plurality of simultaneous active BWPs; paragraph [0377], wireless device may receive configuration parameters for BFR), wherein a plurality of the multiple BWPs are activated (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; paragraph [0317], activate downlink BWP1 and UL BWP 1 and downlink BWP2 and uplink BWP2; paragraph [0361], plurality of BWPs may be active simultaneously in a cell, UL-BWP1 and UL-BWP may be active BWPs, DL-BWP1 and DL-BWP3 may be active BWPs);
detect beam failure for at least one of the multiple active BWPs (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; Fig. 28B, step 2802B detect at least one beam failure according to BFR parameters; paragraph [0262], wireless device configured for a serving cell with resources for beam failure detection; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0314], BFR procedure of the first downlink BWP) comprising a downlink (“DL”) BWP of the serving cell having a linked uplink (“UL”) BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0315], the first cell may be a primary cell e.g. PCell, SpCell, PSCell; paragraph [0317], wireless device may activate downlink BWP 1 and uplink BWP 1 and wireless device may activate downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2 if there is a linkage between downlink BWP1 and uplink BWP 1 and/or downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2; paragraph [0361], BFR procedure for the DL-BWP-1 2612B or the DL-BWP-3 2616B may be performed; paragraph [0362], BFR for DL-BWP-3 configured to be performed on UL-BWP-3 if the UL BWP-3 and the DL-BWP-3 are linked), wherein the linked UL BWP of the serving cell is deactivated when the beam failure is detected for the DL BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0268], switch a first DL BWP and a first active UL BWP independently for a serving cell; paragraph [0270], BWP switching for a serving cell may be used to activate an inactive BWP and/or deactivate an active BWP; paragraph [0317], wireless device may need to switch from the uplink BWP 1 to the uplink BWP 2, for example, if the wireless device switches from the downlink BWP 1 to the downlink BWP 2; paragraph [0342], BFR procedure for the second downlink BWP, the wireless device may switch the active uplink BWP from the first uplink BWP to the second uplink BWP during the BFR procedure);
transmit a signaling message to an entity in the RAN in response to detecting the beam failure, the signaling message identifying a serving cell identity ("ID") and active BWPs experiencing beam failure (Cirik, Fig. 28A, step 2808A BFR MAC CE transmission; Fig. 28B, steps 2812B, 2814B; paragraph [0385], wireless device may send a BFR MAC CE to the base station comprising the second cell index and the second downlink BWP index; paragraph [0393], wireless device may send a BFR MAC CE to the base station comprising the second cell index and the second downlink BWP index);
autonomously activate the linked UL BWP of the serving cell for a random-access procedure in response to detecting beam failure for the DL BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0251], wireless device may autonomously select resource for transmitting BFR signal; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0315], the first cell may be a primary cell e.g. PCell, SpCell, PSCell; paragraph [0317], wireless device may activate downlink BWP 1 and uplink BWP 1 and wireless device may activate downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2 if there is a linkage between downlink BWP1 and uplink BWP 1 and/or downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2; paragraph [0340], random access procedure for the BFR procedure; paragraph [0342], BFR procedure for the second downlink BWP, the wireless device may switch the active uplink BWP from the first uplink BWP to the second uplink BWP during the BFR procedure; paragraph [0361], BFR procedure for the DL-BWP-1 2612B or the DL-BWP-3 2616B may be performed; paragraph [0362], BFR for DL-BWP-3 configured to be performed on UL-BWP-3 if the UL BWP-3 and the DL-BWP-3 are linked); and
after autonomously activating the linked UL BWP of the serving cell, initiate a random-access procedure for beam failure recovery for the DL BWP of the serving cell using the linked UL BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0315], the first cell may be a primary cell e.g. PCell, SpCell, PSCell; paragraph [0317], wireless device may activate downlink BWP 1 and uplink BWP 1 and wireless device may activate downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2 if there is a linkage between downlink BWP1 and uplink BWP 1 and/or downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2; paragraph [0340], random access procedure for the BFR procedure; paragraph [0361], BFR procedure for the DL-BWP-1 2612B or the DL-BWP-3 2616B may be performed; paragraph [0362], BFR for DL-BWP-3 configured to be performed on UL-BWP-3 if the UL BWP-3 and the DL-BWP-3 are linked).
Cirik does not explicitly disclose to transmit a signaling message to an entity in the RAN in response to detecting the beam failure, the signaling message identifying a serving cell identity ("ID") and at least two BWPs of the multiple active BWPs and indicate, via a bitmap, whether each BWP of the at least two BWPs is experiencing beam failure.
Wang discloses to transmit a signaling message to an entity in the RAN in response to detecting the beam failure, the signaling message identifying a serving cell identity ("ID") and at least two BWPs of the multiple active BWPs and indicate, via a bitmap, whether each BWP of the at least two BWPs is experiencing beam failure (Wang, paragraph [0220], UE can report failure using MAC CE; paragraph [0242], fields to indicate identity of serving cell, the identify of BWP; paragraph [0245], more fields to indicate identities of BWPs in the MAC CE, the UE can report failure events for multiple BWPs belonging to the same serving cell; paragraph [0247], bitmap field defined in the MAC CE to indicate trigger event for BWPs, each position in the bitmap corresponds to a BWP; paragraph [0248], bitmap field, each bit represents a specific BWP, the bit takes the value of “1” indicating a failure event, while the value of “0” indicating no failure event for the corresponding BWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wang into the system of Cirik in order to improve latency and power consumption, and thereby provide benefits such as lower complexity, reduced time required to access a cell, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime, etc. (Wang, [0287])
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein at least one of the multiple active BWPs does not experience beam failure, wherein to transmit the signaling message, the processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a Medium Access Control ("MAC") Control Element ("CE"), wherein the MAC CE indicates a BWP index for each active BWP experiencing beam failure (Cirik, Fig. 28A, step 2808A BFR MAC CE transmission; Fig. 28B, Fig. 28B, step 2802B detect at least one beam failure according to BFR parameters, steps 2812B, 2814B; paragraph [0385], wireless device may send a BFR MAC CE to the base station comprising the second cell index and the second downlink BWP index; paragraph [0393], wireless device may send a BFR MAC CE to the base station comprising the second cell index and the second downlink BWP index).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein the signaling message additionally contains candidate beam information for each active BWP experiencing beam failure (Cirik, paragraph [0378], wireless device may indicate candidate beam selection).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein the serving cell is a special cell, the special cell being one of a Primary Cell ("PCell") and a Primary Secondary Cell (" PSCell") (Cirik, paragraph [0294], wireless device may perform BFR for an SpCell (e.g., PCell or PSCell)).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein all the multiple active BWPs experience beam failure (Cirik, Fig. 28B, step 2802B detect at least one beam failure according to BFR parameters; paragraph [0377], step 2802B detect a beam failure of the second downlink BWP of the second cell), wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform beam failure recovery by performing the random-access procedure (Cirik, paragraph [0340], random access procedure for the BFR procedure).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to perform beam failure recovery for the DL BWP of the serving cell by performing the random-access procedure for beam failure recovery using the linked UL BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, paragraph [0340], random access procedure for the BFR procedure; paragraph [0362], BFR for DL-BWP-3 configured to be performed on UL-BWP-3 if the UL BWP-3 and the DL-BWP-3 are linked).
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the UE to: autonomously clear a configured grant on the linked UL BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, paragraph [0245], clear one or more configured uplink grants if SR-counter indicates a number greater than the maximum) in response to detecting beam failure for the linked DL BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, paragraph [0350], increment the sr-counter for a BFR response).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein the serving cell is a secondary cell ("SCell") (Cirik, paragraph [0294], BFR for an SCell).
Regarding claim 25, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein all of the multiple active BWPs experience beam failure, wherein to transmit the signaling message, the processor is configured to cause the UE to transmit a Beam Failure Recovery ("BFR") Medium Access Control ("MAC") Control Element ("CE"), wherein the BFR MAC CE indicates beam failure on the serving cell (Cirik, Fig. 28A, step 2808A BFR MAC CE transmission; Fig. 28B, steps 2812B, 2814B; paragraph [0385], wireless device may send a BFR MAC CE to the base station comprising the second cell index and the second downlink BWP index; paragraph [0393], wireless device may send a BFR MAC CE to the base station comprising the second cell index and the second downlink BWP index).
Claim 26 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 16.
Claim 27 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 17.
Claim 28 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 18.
Regarding claim 29, Cirik discloses a base station for wireless communication (Cirik, Fig. 3, wireless device, base station) comprising:
at least one memory; and at least one processor coupled with the at least one memory, and configured to cause the base station (Cirik, Fig. 3; paragraph [0072], memory and processor) to:
configure a user equipment (“UE”) with multiple Bandwidth Parts ("BWPs") for a serving cell
comprising a downlink (“DL”) BWP of the serving cell having a linked uplink (“UL”) BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0315], the first cell may be a primary cell e.g. PCell, SpCell, PSCell; paragraph [0317], wireless device may activate downlink BWP 1 and uplink BWP 1 and wireless device may activate downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2 if there is a linkage between downlink BWP1 and uplink BWP 1 and/or downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2; paragraph [0361], plurality of BWPs may be active simultaneously in a cell, UL-BWP1 and UL-BWP may be active BWPs, DL-BWP1 and DL-BWP3 may be active BWPs paragraph [0362], BFR for DL-BWP-3 configured to be performed on UL-BWP-3 if the UL BWP-3 and the DL-BWP-3 are linked);
communicate with the UE using multiple active BWPs (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0315], the first cell may be a primary cell e.g. PCell, SpCell, PSCell; paragraph [0317], wireless device may activate downlink BWP 1 and uplink BWP 1 and wireless device may activate downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2 if there is a linkage between downlink BWP1 and uplink BWP 1 and/or downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2; paragraph [0361], plurality of BWPs may be active simultaneously in a cell, UL-BWP1 and UL-BWP may be active BWPs, DL-BWP1 and DL-BWP3 may be active BWPs paragraph [0362], BFR for DL-BWP-3 configured to be performed on UL-BWP-3 if the UL BWP-3 and the DL-BWP-3 are linked);
receive a signaling message from the UE (Cirik, Fig. 28A, step 2808A BFR MAC CE transmission; Fig. 28B, steps 2812B, 2814B; paragraph [0385], wireless device may send a BFR MAC CE to the base station comprising the second cell index and the second downlink BWP index; paragraph [0393], wireless device may send a BFR MAC CE to the base station comprising the second cell index and the second downlink BWP index) in response to the UE detecting beam failure for at least one of the multiple active BWPs (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; Fig. 28B, step 2802B detect at least one beam failure according to BFR parameters; paragraph [0262], wireless device configured for a serving cell with resources for beam failure detection; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0314], BFR procedure of the first downlink BWP) comprising a downlink (“DL”) BWP of the serving cell having a linked uplink (“UL”) BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0315], the first cell may be a primary cell e.g. PCell, SpCell, PSCell; paragraph [0317], wireless device may activate downlink BWP 1 and uplink BWP 1 and wireless device may activate downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2 if there is a linkage between downlink BWP1 and uplink BWP 1 and/or downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2; paragraph [0361], BFR procedure for the DL-BWP-1 2612B or the DL-BWP-3 2616B may be performed; paragraph [0362], BFR for DL-BWP-3 configured to be performed on UL-BWP-3 if the UL BWP-3 and the DL-BWP-3 are linked), wherein the linked UL BWP of the serving cell is deactivated when the beam failure is detected for the DL BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0268], switch a first DL BWP and a first active UL BWP independently for a serving cell; paragraph [0270], BWP switching for a serving cell may be used to activate an inactive BWP and/or deactivate an active BWP; paragraph [0317], wireless device may need to switch from the uplink BWP 1 to the uplink BWP 2, for example, if the wireless device switches from the downlink BWP 1 to the downlink BWP 2; paragraph [0342], BFR procedure for the second downlink BWP, the wireless device may switch the active uplink BWP from the first uplink BWP to the second uplink BWP during the BFR procedure); and
receive a random-access message on the linked UL BWP of the serving cell after the UE autonomously activates the linked UL BWP of the serving cell for a random-access procedure in response to detecting the beam failure for the DL BWP of the serving cell (Cirik, Figs. 25, 26A, 26B; paragraph [0073], SCells may be configured to from together with a PCell a set of serving cells; paragraph [0251], wireless device may autonomously select resource for transmitting BFR signal; paragraph [0272], active DL BWP of the activated serving cell, second active DL BWP DL BWP of an SpCell if the activated Serving Cell is an SCell other than a PSCell; paragraph [0315], the first cell may be a primary cell e.g. PCell, SpCell, PSCell; paragraph [0317], wireless device may activate downlink BWP 1 and uplink BWP 1 and wireless device may activate downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2 if there is a linkage between downlink BWP1 and uplink BWP 1 and/or downlink BWP 2 and uplink BWP 2; paragraph [0340], random access procedure for the BFR procedure; paragraph [0342], BFR procedure for the second downlink BWP, the wireless device may switch the active uplink BWP from the first uplink BWP to the second uplink BWP during the BFR procedure; paragraph [0361], BFR procedure for the DL-BWP-1 2612B or the DL-BWP-3 2616B may be performed; paragraph [0362], BFR for DL-BWP-3 configured to be performed on UL-BWP-3 if the UL BWP-3 and the DL-BWP-3 are linked).
Cirik does not explicitly disclose to receive a signaling message from the UE in response to the UE detecting the beam failure, the signaling message identifying a serving cell identity ("ID") and at least two BWPs of the multiple active BWPs and indicate, via a bitmap, whether each BWP of the at least two BWPs is experiencing beam failure.
Wang discloses to receive a signaling message from the UE in response to the UE detecting the beam failure, the signaling message identifying a serving cell identity ("ID") and at least two BWPs of the multiple active BWPs and indicate, via a bitmap, whether each BWP of the at least two BWPs is experiencing beam failure (Wang, paragraph [0220], UE can report failure using MAC CE; paragraph [0242], fields to indicate identity of serving cell, the identify of BWP; paragraph [0245], more fields to indicate identities of BWPs in the MAC CE, the UE can report failure events for multiple BWPs belonging to the same serving cell; paragraph [0247], bitmap field defined in the MAC CE to indicate trigger event for BWPs, each position in the bitmap corresponds to a BWP; paragraph [0248], bitmap field, each bit represents a specific BWP, the bit takes the value of “1” indicating a failure event, while the value of “0” indicating no failure event for the corresponding BWP).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add the features taught by Wang into the system of Cirik in order to improve latency and power consumption, and thereby provide benefits such as lower complexity, reduced time required to access a cell, better responsiveness, extended battery lifetime, etc. (Wang, [0287])
Regarding claim 30, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, to the UE, at least one of: a separate active Transmission Configuration Indicator ("TCI") per active DL BWP, a separate set of beam failure detection reference signals ("BFD-RS") per active DL BWP, a separate set of DL reference signal ("RS") resources corresponding to candidate beams per active BWP, separate one or more Sounding Reference Signals ("SRS") resource sets per active UL BWP, or a combination thereof (Cirik, paragraph [0482], configuration parameters comprise candidate RSs for candidate beam selection and parameters of an uplink BWP and a downlink BWP).
Claim 31 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 17.
Regarding claim 32, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein the at least one processor is configured to cause the base station to transmit, to the UE, a scheduling request ("SR") resource configuration for the MAC CE, wherein the signaling message is received on configured SR resources (Cirik, Fig. 28A, step 2808A BFR MAC CE transmission; Fig. 28B, steps 2812B, 2814B; paragraph [0385], wireless device may send a BFR MAC CE to the base station comprising the second cell index and the second downlink BWP index; paragraph [0237] SR configurations; paragraph [0252], BFR signal may be a scheduling request).
Claim 33 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 17.
Claim 34 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 25.
Claim 35 is rejected under substantially the same rationale as claim 21.
Regarding claim 36, the combination of Cirik and Wang, particularly Cirik discloses wherein the at least one processor is further configured to cause the UE to detect candidate beam information for each active BWP experiencing beam failure (Cirik, paragraph [0378], wireless device configured with candidate beam list; paragraph [0379], wireless device may asses radio link quality of the candidate RSs, candidate RSs may have quality better than a threshold; paragraph [0482], configuration parameters comprise candidate RSs for candidate beam selection and parameters of an uplink BWP and a downlink BWP).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Awadin et al. (US 20220039158) discloses (paragraph [0062], configuring the UE with BWPs and telling the UE which BWPs are active; paragraph [0133], UE is configured with multiple DL BWPs and multiple of those DL BPWs are activated at one time); (Awadin, paragraph [0079], beam failure recovery procedure with beam failure recovery request that supports UL BWP; paragraph [0233], UE transmits BFRQ); (Awadin, paragraph [0079], beam failure recovery procedure with beam failure recovery request that supports UL BWP; paragraph [0233], UE transmits BFRQ).
Cirik et al. (US 20200145280) discloses that a wireless device may switch an active uplink BWP of the first cell from the second uplink BWP (e.g., UL-BWP-2 2506 in FIG. 25B) to the first uplink BWP (e.g., UL-BWP-1 2504 in FIG. 25B) during the BFR procedure of the second downlink BWP of the second cell. The switching may be autonomously performed by the wireless device, for example, based on a determination that no uplink resources exist for the BFRQ using dedicated uplink BFR resources or SR resources, or based on a determination that a second uplink BWP may be configured with the uplink resources for the BFR procedure.
/A.L.L/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413