DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-4 and 6-15 have been considered but are moot in view of the rejection below. Although the same art was applied, new citations and explanations are given as to why the amended limitations are obvious in view of the art.
Please note that one of the applicant’s key arguments is that “The claimed elements also enable the simultaneous acquisition of near offset and long offset datasets with the use of only one source/streamer vessel and one streamer-only vessel …” This appears to be what Tonchia teaches in figure 7. Tonchia discloses one source/streamer vessel 602 (towing source 630) and one streamer-only vessel (606). Paragraph 0062 of Tonchia states, “the first tow vessel 602 acquires at least short offset data from the first source 630 with a first part of its spread 604 while the second tow vessel 606 acquires at least long offset data from the first source 630 with a first part of its spread 608.” Second tow vessel 606 does not tow a source.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS’ of 07/08/25 and 10/27/25 have been considered.
Drawings
The applicant’s drawing amendments of 07/15/25 have overcome the previous objections and are accepted.
Examiner’s Note - 35 USC § 112
The applicant’s 07/15/25 amendments have rendered the previous 112 rejection moot.
Examiner’s Note - 35 USC § 101
The applicant’s 07/15/25 amendments have rendered the previous 101 rejection moot. Claims 1-15 remain eligible under 35 U.S.C. 101 for the reasons discussed in the previous action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 and 6-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tonchia (US PgPub 20160131785) (This reference was cited in the IDS of 06/17/24) in view of Kelly et al (US Pat 5136553).
With respect to claim 1, Tonchia discloses:
A method (Title discloses “Method and System for Marine Seismic Acquisition”), comprising:
operating a single source vessel along a survey path in a survey area, the source vessel towing a source and a first plurality of streamers (figure 7, references 602 and 630; Please note the similarities between figure 7 of Tonchia and figure 4D of the applicant’s drawings (which appears to be the representative embodiment that provides support for the current claims).)
operating a streamer vessel along the survey path in the survey area, the streamer vessel towing a second plurality of streamers (figure 7, reference 606) and not towing a source (figure 7 shows tow vessel 602 towing source 630; streamer vessel 606 is not towing any source)
actuating the source (paragraph 0004 states, “Marine reflection seismology is based on the use of a controlled source that sends energy waves into the earth.” Actuating the source is inherent to the technology.)
acquiring, in response to the actuation of the source, short-offset data with a first plurality of receivers on the first plurality of streamers (paragraph 0062 states, “the second tow vessel 606 follows the first tow vessel 602 along a same travel path 640 (or substantially in parallel along travel path 640) and the first tow vessel 602 acquires at least short offset data from the first source 630 with a first part of its spread 604 while the second tow vessel 606 acquires at least long offset data from the first source 630 with a first part of its spread 608. The first part of the first spread 604 may be operated with a first set of acquisition parameters and the first part of the second spread 608 may be operated with a different set of acquisition parameters.” Paragraph 0015 states, “The first spread area includes streamer sections having a first composition of seismic receivers, and the second spread area includes streamer sections having a second composition of seismic receivers.”)
acquiring, in response to the actuation of the source, long-offset data with a second plurality of receivers on the second plurality of streamers (paragraph 0062 states, “the second tow vessel 606 follows the first tow vessel 602 along a same travel path 640 (or substantially in parallel along travel path 640) and the first tow vessel 602 acquires at least short offset data from the first source 630 with a first part of its spread 604 while the second tow vessel 606 acquires at least long offset data from the first source 630 with a first part of its spread 608. The first part of the first spread 604 may be operated with a first set of acquisition parameters and the first part of the second spread 608 may be operated with a different set of acquisition parameters.” Paragraph 0015 states, “The first spread area includes streamer sections having a first composition of seismic receivers, and the second spread area includes streamer sections having a second composition of seismic receivers.”)
With respect to claim 1, Tonchia differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
acquiring, in response to the actuation of the source, near-offset data with a first plurality of receivers on the first plurality of streamers (As seen in the above cited section, Tonchia teaches the first tow vessel 602 acquiring at least “short offset data.” Although Tonchia discloses “near-offset data” in other sections of its disclosure (such as in paragraphs 0060 and 0101), it does not use the term “near-offset data” in paragraph 0062, which is being cited to reject the claimed limitation.)
wherein an offset between the source and an aft-most receiver on the second plurality of streamers is at least 20 km, and an inline offset gap between an aft-most receiver on the first plurality of streamers and a forward-most receiver on the second plurality of streamers is not more than 2 km
wherein the streamer vessel sails aft of an aft-most element of the first plurality of streamers such that an inline safety zone of at least about 1000 m is established between the streamer vessel and the aft-most-element of the first plurality of streamers; and
storing the near-offset data and the long-offset data in one or more non-transitory computer- readable media
With respect to claim 1, Kelly et al discloses:.
acquiring, in response to the actuation of the source, near-offset data with a first plurality of receivers on the first plurality of streamers (Kelly column 4, lines 57-59 state, “By convention, such short and long offset signals of a CMP gather are also referred to as near and far offset signals.” Kelly is being applied here to demonstrate that it is known for “short-offset” to be considered synonymous with “near-offset.” It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to therefore recognize the “short-offset data” teachings of Tonchia to also apply to the “near-offset data” teachings of the claimed invention. The claimed limitation is therefore obvious in view of the combination.)
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kelly et al into the invention of Tonchia. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of effective sorting of seismic data for geophysical exploration.
With respect to claim 1, the following limitations are obvious in view of the total teachings of Tonchia, as modified by Kelly et al:
wherein an offset between the source and an aft-most receiver on the second plurality of streamers is at least 20 km, and an inline offset gap between an aft-most receiver on the first plurality of streamers and a forward-most receiver on the second plurality of streamers is not more than 2 km (Paragraph 0039 of Tonchia states, “Streamers 204 may have any lengths, for example, from 2 to 20 km. Other values are possible depending on the type of the seismic survey.” Paragraphs 0055-0056 of Tonchia state, “According to another embodiment, depending on what one survey intends to achieve, it may be preferable to have more data, higher spatial density or receivers … According to this embodiment, the seismic operator has to choose one or more type of streamer sections or different combination of receivers in the sections … for the receivers in the sections to optimize the acquisition and to achieve the desired seismic data, i.e., the operator has to choose the set of acquisition parameters that need to be implemented.” Tonchia teaches the broad principle of adjusting various parameters depending on the goal of the survey. The claimed lengths and distances are obvious in view of this broad principle and the fact that Tonchia specifically and explicitly states that the streamers can have any lengths, such as between 2 to 20 km. The support in the applicant’s specification for the claimed limitation appears to be exemplary and has not established criticality for the values. One of ordinary skill in the art would recognize that the various claimed distances and spacing are dependent on the lengths of the streamers and the desired use case, which is what Tonchia discloses as a principle. Also, please note that one of the KSR rationales for obviousness is “Design Incentives or Market Forces Prompting Variations.” Modified Tonchia teaches a base device (or method, product) that is similar or analogous to the claims. Design incentives or market forces would have prompted change to the base device, such as the exact spacing, distances, and lengths, related to the vessels, the sources, the streamers, and the receivers. Known variations or principles would meet the difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, and the implementation would have been predictable.)
wherein the streamer vessel sails aft of an aft-most element of the first plurality of streamers such that an inline safety zone of at least about 1000 m is established between the streamer vessel and the aft-most-element of the first plurality of streamers (obvious for the reasons discussed above; figure 7 of Tonchia shows the streamer vessel sailing aft of an aft-most element of the first plurality of streamers. The specific inline safety zone distance would be dependent on the size of the streamers and the desired use case of the survey.)
storing the near-offset data and the long-offset data in one or more non-transitory computer-readable media (Tonchia paragraph 0107 discloses various forms of memory, such as RAM and ROM.)
With respect to claim 1, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the total teachings of Tonchia. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of flexibly optimizing the acquisition of desired seismic data for various survey goals.
With respect to claim 2, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein a streamer spacing density of the second plurality of streamers is no greater than a streamer spacing density of the first plurality of streamers (This limitation is obvious in view of the teachings of modified Tonchia. Paragraph 0062 of Tonchia states that “The first part of the first spread 604 may be operated with a first set of acquisition parameters and the first part of the second spread 608 may be operated with a different set of acquisition parameters.” Other sections of Tonchia specify that density can be considered to be one of these acquisition parameters and that different values can be assigned based on different needs. For example, paragraph 0038 states, “Examples of the at least one acquisition parameter include one or more of a configuration of the seismic sensors in a corresponding area, a depth profile of the seismic sensors in a corresponding area, a type of seismic survey acquisition in a corresponding area, a spatial density of the seismic receivers in a corresponding area, an offset of the seismic sensors in a corresponding area relative to a towing vessel, or a status of the seismic sensors in a corresponding area.” Similarly, paragraph 0055 states, “According to another embodiment, depending on what one survey intends to achieve, it may be preferable to have more data, higher spatial density of receivers (another example of an acquisition parameter), deeper streamers or shallower streamers …To achieve one or more of the above noted types of data, it is possible to define different areas in the acquisition system …”)
With respect to claim 3, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein the second plurality of streamers comprises two streamers towed with a cross-line separation of 800 m between them and the inline offset gap is not more than 1675 m (paragraph 0111 of Tonchia states, “The disclosed exemplary embodiments provide streamer spreads that can be configured to satisfy a large number of target seismic surveys. It should be understood that this description is not intended to limit the invention. On the contrary, the exemplary embodiments are intended to cover alternatives, modifications, and equivalents, which are included in the spirit and scope of the invention …” For the same reasons discussed with respect to claim 1 above, the claimed spacing/distance values are obvious in view of the broad principles disclosed by modified Tonchia. The claimed values were presented in the applicant’s specification as exemplary and not critical. They would be encompassed by the structure disclosed by Tonchia, depending on the desired use case.)
With respect to claim 4, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein the second plurality of streamers comprises three streamers towed with a cross-line separation of 525 m between them and the inline offset gap is not more than 1772 m (This limitation is obvious for the same reasons as discussed, with respect to claim 1, above. The claimed values were presented in the applicant’s specification as exemplary and not critical. The claimed limitation is obvious in view of the broad principles disclosed by Tonchia.)
With respect to claim 6, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
further comprising building a velocity model based on the long-offset data; and imaging with the velocity model (This limitation is obvious in view of the teachings of modified Tonchia. Paragraph 0105 of Tonchia states, “Seismic data generated by the seismic source arrays discussed above and acquired with the streamers also noted above may be processed in a corresponding processing device for generating a final image of the surveyed subsurface … the main processing takes place, e.g., deconvolution, amplitude analysis, statics determination, common middle point gathering, velocity analysis …” Building a velocity model and imaging with the velocity model is obvious to the velocity analysis that Tonchia discloses in relation to generating a final image of the surveyed subsurface. This is especially true, since no details of the velocity model are claimed.)
With respect to claim 7, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein the long-offset data is indicative of a target in a subsurface formation of the survey area, the target having a formation depth of at least 4 km (This limitation is obvious in view of the teachings of modified Tonchia. The applicant’s specification has not established any criticality for this value, and Tonchia teaches flexibility in choosing a variety of depths, depending on goal and purpose. For example, paragraph 0007 states, “Depending on the interest in the low frequency content or the high frequency content, the depth of the streamer and the receiver composition may also be adapted to maximize the quality of the seismic data.”)
With respect to claim 8, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein the second plurality of streamers comprises four streamers towed with a cross-line separation of 400 m between them and the inline offset gap is not more than 1816 m (This limitation is obvious for the same reasons as discussed, with respect to claim 1, above. The claimed values were presented in the applicant’s specification as exemplary and not critical. The claimed limitation is obvious in view of the broad principles disclosed by Tonchia. Tonchia supports flexibility in terms of number of streamers used. For example, paragraph 0039 states, “Although this embodiment is exemplified with plural streamers, those skilled in the art would recognize that the system also works with a single streamer.”)
With respect to claim 9, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein the second plurality of streamers comprises the same number of streamers as does the first plurality of streamers (Tonchia figure 7 shows the same number of streamers in spreads 604 and 608) and the inline offset gap is approximately equal to 2 km (obvious for same reasons as discussed above)
With respect to claim 10, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein the survey path comprises multiple sail lines, and a common midpoint (“CMP”) brush along a first sail line overlaps with a CMP brush along a second sail line, the second sail line being adjacent to the first sail line (This limitation is obvious in view of the teachings of modified Tonchia. Paragraph 0066 of Tonchia states, “the distribution of one or several of the receivers is random or pseudo-random in the first part of the first spread … In one application, the second source array is not far from the first source array so as to illuminate in between the first source array common middle point (CMP) lines.” The claim has not defined “CMP brush.” For the purposes of examination, the examiner has interpreted the limitation to be obvious in view of teachings of CMP lines resulting from spread-related actions, such as taught here in Tonchia.)
With respect to claim 11, Tonchia discloses:
A system (Title states, “Method and System …) comprising:
a source vessel (figure 7, reference 602) coupled to:
a source (figure 7, reference 630); and
a short-offset survey spread (paragraph 0062)
a streamer vessel coupled to a long-offset survey spread and not coupled to a source (figure 7, reference 606, 608)
With respect to claim 11, Tonchia differs from the claimed invention in that it does not explicitly disclose:
a near-offset survey spread
wherein a streamer spacing density of the long-offset survey spread is no greater than a streamer spacing density of the near-offset survey spread
a survey plan including navigation information for the source vessel and the streamer vessel, wherein the navigation information directs the source vessel and the streamer vessel along a common survey path while the source is actuated
wherein an offset between the source and an aft-most receiver in the long-offset survey spread is at least 20 km
wherein the streamer vessel sails aft of an aft-most element of the near-offset survey spread such that an inline safety zone of at least about 1000 m is established between the streamer vessel and the aft-most-element of the near-offset survey spread
wherein an inline offset gap between an aft-most receiver in the near-offset survey spread and a forward-most receiver in the far-offset survey spread is not more than 2 km
With respect to claim 11, Kelly et al discloses:.
a near-offset survey spread (obvious in view of combination, for reasons discussed in claim 1 above)
wherein a streamer spacing density of the long-offset survey spread is no greater than a streamer spacing density of the near-offset survey spread (obvious in view of combination, for reasons discussed in claim 2 above)
a survey plan including navigation information for the source vessel and the streamer vessel, wherein the navigation information directs the source vessel and the streamer vessel along a common survey path while the source is actuated (paragraph 0005 of Tonchia states, “Positioning devices (birds) 128 are attached along the streamer and controlled by a controller 126 for adjusting a position of the streamer according to a survey plan.” Although Tonchia does not specifically disclose this survey plan with respect to the embodiment in figure 7, the same principle applies. It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have a survey plan for all of the embodiments.)
With respect to claim 11, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the teachings of Kelly et al into the invention of Tonchia. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of effective sorting of seismic data for geophysical exploration.
With respect to claim 11, the following limitations are obvious in view of the total teachings of Tonchia, as modified by Kelly et al:
wherein an offset between the source and an aft-most receiver in the long-offset survey spread is at least 20 km (obvious for the reasons discussed in claim 1 above)
wherein the streamer vessel sails aft of an aft-most element of the near-offset survey spread such that an inline safety zone of at least about 1000 m is established between the streamer vessel and the aft-most-element of the near-offset survey spread (obvious for the reasons discussed in claim 1 above)
wherein an inline offset gap between an aft-most receiver in the near-offset survey spread and a forward-most receiver in the far-offset survey spread is not more than 2 km (obvious for the reasons discussed in claim 1 above)
With respect to claim 11, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to incorporate the total teachings of Tonchia. The motivation for the skilled artisan in doing so is to gain the benefit of flexibly optimizing the acquisition of desired seismic data for various survey goals.
With respect to claim 12, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
the long-offset survey spread comprises two streamers towed with a cross-line separation of 800 m between them and the inline offset gap is not more than 1675 m (obvious for reasons discussed above)
With respect to claim 13, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein the long-offset survey spread comprises three streamers towed with a cross-line separation of 525 m between them and the inline offset gap is not more than 1772 m (obvious for reasons discussed above)
With respect to claim 14, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein the long-offset survey spread comprises four streamers towed with a cross-line separation of 400 m between them and the inline offset gap is not more than 1816 m (figure 7, references 606, 608; paragraph 0062) and an acoustic bracing network (Paragraph 0031 of the applicant’s specification defines “acoustic bracing” by stating, “As used herein, the phrase ‘acoustic bracing’ or simply ‘bracing’ refers to determining relative positions of, and/or distances between, elements of a marine survey system by measuring the traveltime between transducers … and detectors located at the different elements … The combination of acoustic generators and detectors may be referred to as an ‘acoustic bracing network.’” This is obvious in view of the teachings of modified Tonchia. Paragraph 0004 of Tonchia states, “By measuring the time it takes for the reflections to come back to plural receivers, it is possible to estimate the depth and/or composition of the features causing such reflections.” Figure 5, reference 506 and paragraph 0057 of Tonchia discloses generation of acoustic waves. Paragraph 0063 of Tonchia continues to describe figure 7 by stating, “the first set of acquisition parameters includes acquiring hydrophone data with a certain spatial density or distribution in the spread or different number of receivers per section and the second set of acquisition parameters includes acquiring hydrophone data with a different spatial density or distribution in the spread or a different number of receivers per section.”)
With respect to claim 15, Tonchia, as modified, discloses:
wherein the long-offset survey spread comprises the same number of streamers as does the near-offset survey spread and the inline offset gap is approximately equal to 2 km (obvious for the reasons discussed above)
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Meech (US PgPub 20160139284) discloses marine seismic patterns for coordinated turning of towing vessels and methods therefor.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LEONARD S LIANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2857 11/01/25
/ARLEEN M VAZQUEZ/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2857