Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection below. The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S. Code not included in this action can be found in a prior Office action.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Denso (JP 2018-021880 cited in IDS, using applicant’s provided machine translation) in view of Kondo et al. (US Pub 2018/0269698 newly cited).
In regard to independent claim 1, Denso teaches an apparatus for detecting a battery state comprising: a first fuse (upper fuse 30) connected to a positive terminal of a battery 10; a second fuse (lower fuse 30) connected to a negative terminal of the battery; a high resistance resistor (resistors R1 and R2) connected to the first fuse and the second fuse and disposed in parallel with the battery; a sensor (comparator 43, cell monitor IC 32, capable of measuring cell voltage VCE) configured to measure a voltage applied to the high-resistance resistor; and a controller (including battery state monitoring unit 23) configured to determine a system voltage and determine whether any of the and second fuses is blown based on the voltage measured (see paragraphs [0011-0016, 0030-0058 and 0105-0122], annotated figure 3 below).
In regard to the amendment, Denso teaches voltage measurement through a parallel resistor as shown above, but does not teach the sensor is connected in series with the high resistance resistor and in parallel with the battery, and wherein the sensor is located between the high resistance resistor and one of the first fuse or the second fuse. However, Kondo et al. teach a similar cell monitoring system (protection circuit 10) including battery cells 1 with fuse 4 connected in series with electrodes (terminals 10) of the battery units 1 connected to a controlling IC 3, battery voltage detection circuit 7 and further the desirability to include a current detection resistor and high resistance resistor 17 in series with the assembled battery 5 and current sensor (current measurement circuit 8) which is in series with the high resistance resistor 17 and connected in parallel with the battery cell 1, which is located between resistor and fuse 4 depending on direction of current flow and fuse shunting) such that current flowing through the cells can be monitored and the IC 3 can more reliably ensure processing time after a blown fuse (paragraphs [0028-0047], figures 4-7).
FIG 4 of Kondo et al.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the before the effective filing date of the claimed invention filed to include a series resistor and sensor for monitoring current in the battery state detection apparatus of Denso as such allows for current measurement in the system and prolonged functioning of the IC as taught by Kondo et al.
In regard to claim 9, Denso and Kondo et al. teach the battery detection (i.e. protection system) of claim 1 above, Denso further includes in an energy storage system including a battery 10 and a power conversion system (power converter 5), a first main contactor (positive line to converter) configured to control a connection between the first fuse and the power conversion system; a second main contactor (negative line) configured to control a connection between the second fuse and the power conversion system (see annotated figure 1 below, paragraphs [0010-0021]).
In regard to claims 2, 3 and 10, Denso teaches the sensor (cell monitor IC 32) is a voltage sensor connected in parallel with the high resistance resistor to measure a (cell) voltage (measuring VCE) applied to the high resistance resistor (paragraph [0023]). Kondo et al. teach the current sensor (current circuit 8) is located between resistor and fuses 4 depending on direction of current flow and fuse shunting (paragraphs [0025-0047], figure 4).
In regard to claim 4, Denso teaches the controller is included in a battery management system (BMS) that manages the battery state (paragraph [0036]).
In regard to claim 5 and 7, Denso teaches the controller is configured to determine that at least one of the first fuse and the second fuse is blown when the current or voltage value measured by the current sensor is zero (cell is disconnected - see paragraphs [0112]). Kondo et al. teach the controller is configured to determine that at least one of the first fuse and the second fuse is blown when the current or voltage value measured by the current sensor is zero (i.e. fuse has blown, see paragraphs [0027-0047], figure 4).
In regard to claim 6, Denso teaches specifically measuring the voltage, however, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the controller calculate a system voltage provided by the battery using the current value measured by the current sensor and the resistance value of the high resistance resistor as V (Voltage in Volts) = I (current in Amps) x R (resistance in Ohm) is a commonly used and fundamentally understood concept in electrical engineering used to determine conditions in electrical circuits.
In regard to claim 8, Denso teaches the controller is configured to determine the voltage measured by the voltage sensor as a system voltage provided by the battery (cell voltage VCE, as noted above).
In regard to claim 11, Denso teaches the sensor (cell monitor IC 32) is a voltage sensor connected in parallel with the high resistance resistor to measure a (cell) voltage (measuring VCE) applied to the high resistance resistor (paragraph [0023]).
In regard to claim 12 and 14, Kondo et al. teach a first end of the sensor 8 is connected to and between an end of the first fuse 4 and an end of the first main contactor (current discharge terminal 10) through a first wire, and wherein the second end of the sensor is connected to an end of the high resistance resistor 13 through a second wire (illustrated in figure 4 above).
In regard to claim 13, Kondo et al. teach the controller IC 3 is directly connected to the sensor 8 (figure 4).
In regard to claim 15, Denso teaches a first main contactor configured to control a connection to the first fuse and a positive terminal of a direct current (DC) link (power converter); and a second main contactor configured to control a connection to the second fuse and a negative terminal of the DC link (figure 1 above).
In regard to claim 16, Denso teaches the high resistance resistor is connected between the second main contactor (second end above) and the second fuse (figure 1 above).
In regard to claim 17, Kondo et al. teach a current sensor 8 located between the first main contactor (terminal 10) and the positive terminal of the DC link (battery terminal – see figure 4 above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
US Pubs 2024/0204267 and 2008/0185994, teach similar voltage monitoring systems for batteries that can detect the presence of a blown fuse.
Smith (USP 6,531,846) teaches a similar fuse monitoring system.
/NICHOLAS P D'ANIELLO/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1723