Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Both claims depend from cancelled claims claim 8 and 18 respectively. There meets and bounds of the claims can not be determined. Correction required.
For purposes of examination the claims are considered met by the art to the extent definable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-10, 12, 14, 16-17, 19-22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Grandhee (US 2008/0187725) in view of (Sehoon) A-SiN/a-SiN:H Thin film coating polycarbonate glazing applications (2016- cited by applicant), further in view of Kim (KR 2014/0102345)
Grandhee (US 2008/0187725) (cited by applicant) teaches a polycarbonate automobile panel (or window system per claim 22) with multiplayer coating comprising Silicon Oxy Carbide (see claim 9) and SiN (see claims).
forming a multilayer coating (which would encompass a first and second coating that may be formed from Magnetron sputtering or Plasma Enhanced Chemical Vapor Deposition (PECVD) (See claims).
The substrate can be a polycarbonate (See claims).
Regarding claim 20, one of the layers (or substrates) can be a polymethylmethacrylate (PMMA), a combination of PC/PMMA, polysiloxane, polyurethane, polyurethane acrylate, or any other suitable material (see [0026]).
Grandhee may not teach an Al-Si-N layer.
(Sehoon) A-SiN/a-SiN:H Thin film coating polycarbonate glazing applications (2016- cited by applicant), teaches an Al-Si-N coating for scratch resistance and UV protection of a polycarbonate such as in motor vehicles (See abstract).
The coating uses Magnetron Sputtering to deposit (see abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to provide the layer of Al-Si-N coating for scratch resistance and UV protection of a polycarbonate such as in motor vehicles (See abstract).
The above references do not teach a RF plasma.
Kim (KR 2014/0102345) teaches providing an abrasion resistant coating to a polycarbonate substrate using sputtering techniques but first treating the surface with a Radio Frequency (RF) plasma using Argon and N2 gasses to form plasma (See abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill at the time of the invention to provide Radio Frequency (RF) plasma using Argon and N2 gasses to form plasma (See abstract) to treat the surface of a polycarbonate substrate for forming a sputtering wear resistant coating.
Applicant has argued that the references do not teach a pretreatment as claimed. Specifically, Kim (KR 2014/0102345) does no teach pre plasma treatment with the claimed gasses. The Examiner disagrees.
Kim (KR 2014/0102345) teaches flooding the deposition chamber with Argon and Nitr9ogen bringing it to pressure and particular gas pressure then forming a plasma BEFORE starting the deposition process. This process is done to form desirable layers with desirable properties (see page 4 translation).
Secondly claim 16 and its dependents are product claims wherein the limitation is a product by process limitation only. Therefore, they do not carry patentable weight in this instance. Secondly, even if the Examiner accepted a processing difference it is not clear that there is a distinct product formed with evidence on the record.
Finally, the Examiner position is that, even if a difference were found, given the above teachings of treatment Before deposition it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a period of “pre-treatment” as claimed to optimize pressure and gas composition before deposition.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 12/10/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant has argued that the references do not teach a pretreatment as claimed. Specifically, Kim (KR 2014/0102345) does no teach pre plasma treatment with the claimed gasses. The Examiner disagrees.
Kim (KR 2014/0102345) teaches flooding the deposition chamber with Argon and Nitr9ogen bringing it to pressure and particular gas pressure then forming a plasma BEFORE starting the deposition process. This process is done to form desirable layers with desirable properties (see page 4 translation).
Secondly claim 16 and its dependents are product claims wherein the limitation is a product by process limitation only. Therefore, they do not carry patentable weight in this instance. Secondly, even if the Examiner accepted a processing difference it is not clear that there is a distinct product formed with evidence on the record.
Finally, the Examiner position is that, even if a difference were found, given the above teachings of treatment Before deposition it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to provide a period of “pre-treatment” as claimed to optimize pressure and gas composition before deposition.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DANIEL H MILLER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1783