DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Section 33(a) of the America Invents Act reads as follows:
Notwithstanding any other provision of law, no patent may issue on a claim directed to or encompassing a human organism.
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 and section 33(a) of the America Invents Act as being directed to or encompassing a human organism. See also Animals - Patentability, 1077 Off. Gaz. Pat. Office 24 (April 21, 1987) (indicating that human organisms are excluded from the scope of patentable subject matter under 35 U.S.C. 101). Claim 1 claims, “an outer surface of the shell has a concave-convex surface in contact with tissue” positively claims the human organism.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the following must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s):
Claim 1, “the surface has an arithmetic mean waviness (Wa) value of 3.00 pm or more in a waviness curve filtered under a measurement condition with a cut-off value of 0.08”. Please include in the drawing support for these limitations according to page 4, lines 14 et seq.
“The term "waviness 111" as used in the present specification refers to a surface curvature with a relatively long period compared to a roughness curve of the surface of the breast implant 100, and is commonly used interchangeably with "W" or "Wmax". The waviness 111 is also defined by a distance between two parallel lines that are parallel to the centerline of the cross-sectional curve and that touch the highest peak and the deepest valley, by taking as much as the standard length of waviness from the cross-sectional curve. In detail, under a measurement condition with a cut-off value of 0.08 mm, a cross-sectional curve, i.e., a height profile curve, recorded by enlarging the contour appearing in a cross-section perpendicular to the measurement plane of the breast implant 100 in the vertical and horizontal directions, is obtained, and then, the waviness 111 can be calculated from a curve filtered by passing only a frequency less than the cut- off frequency. In addition, the waviness parameter may be related to the adhesive strength throughout target tissue among the surrounding tissue into which the breast implant100 is inserted.”
In summary, add the distance between two parallel lines that are parallel to the centerline of the cross-sectional curve and that touch the highest peak and the deepest valley and a cut-off value of 0.08 mm to the drawing.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claims 1, 2, 4, 6, 8, 10, 11, should cut-off value of 0.08 be 0.08 mm?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Bayat et al (2020/0170771). Claims 10-11 are further evidenced by Munhoz et al (Breast Implant Surfaces and Their Impact on Current Practices: Where We are No and Where Are We Going)
Bayat et al teaches: [0251] Implant material according to the invention may optionally also comprise surface waviness (111), gradients or contours at a comparatively large-scale perspective on which the surface roughness features (112) discussed herein are superimposed.
This teaching is what applicant shows in figure 1 reproduced below.
Said implant is a breast implant comprising a shell constituting an outer skin (par. 0010) and a filler material accommodated inside the shell (inherent or at least obvious to one skilled in the art).
Said waviness of the outer surface of the shell inherently forms a concave-convex surface. Figures 16C, 20C, 21B are believed to show a Wa greater than 3.00 microns measured along the Y-axis. However, it is unclear if Bayat et al teaches the surface having an arithmetic mean waviness (Wa) value of 3.00 microns or more in a waviness curve filtered under a measurement condition with a cut-off value of 0.08.
A cut-off value of 0.08 appears to be arbitrary value and it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have tried any value, including 0.08, that is larger than that of the arithmetic mean waviness (Wa) value with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 12, wherein the shell is formed of silicone material; see claim 1.
Claim 13, the breast implant is fully capable of being implanted in tissue which is one or more selected from the group consisting of thin fascia, muscular fascia, breast fascia, supportive fiber, and transverse fibrolamella.
Claim 14, “wherein the breast implant suppresses breast implant-associated anaplastic large cell lymphoma (BIA-ALCL)” is interpreted as functional language which the breast implant of Bayat et al is fully capable of. The SUMMARY OF INVENTION
[0027] teaches, “The inventors propose new biomimetic textured surface topographies for implants, particularly breast implants. The inventors have found in particular that by controlling aspects of the surface texture, for example the surface roughness at macro, micro and/or nano scale to resemble corresponding features of the general surface topography of the basement membrane and/or papillary dermis of human skin, desirable and indeed improved cellular response, reduced capsular contraction and appropriate cellular anchoring/in-growth could be achieved compared to conventional smooth and textured implants.” This reduces BIA-ALCL.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The closes prior art of record is Bayat et al which fails to teach the combination of claim and:
Claim 2, wherein the surface has an arithmetic mean waviness (Wa) value in a range of 3.07 pm to 7.00 microns in the waviness curve filtered under a measurement condition with a cut-off value of 0.08.
Claim 10, Bayat et al teaches wherein the surface has a skewness (Wsk) value in a range of -0.48 microns to 0.41 pm (see claim 31), however, fails to teach a kurtosis (Wku) value in a range of 2.62 pm to 5.28 microns (see claim 32) in a waviness curve filtered under a measurement condition with a cut-off value of 0.08.
Claim 11, Bayat et al teaches wherein the surface has a skewness (Rsk) value in a range of -0.21 pm to 0.22 microns (see claim 31), however, fails to teach a kurtosis (Rku) value in a range of 2.72 pm to 3.86 mircons in a roughness curve filtered under a measurement condition with a cut-off value of 0.08.
Examiner’s Comment
The examiner finds that the arithmetic mean waviness (Wa) value (including all of claim 1) is not a typical value found in describing a breast implant. Applicant is invited to point out any particular reference(s) which they believe is relevant to the claimed invention and why they are relevant to claim 1. Further, applicant is invited for an interview.
/BRUCE E SNOW/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774