DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restriction and Claim Status
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, Claims 1–3 in the reply filed on 6 January 2026 is acknowledged. Claims 4–20 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1–3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu et al. (Liu, J.; Zhang, Q.; Wu, Z.-Y.; Wu, J.-H.; Li, J.-T.; Huang, L.; Sun, S.-G. A high-performance alginate hydrogel binder for the Si/C anode of a Li-ion battery, Chem. Commun. 50, p. 6386–6389, published 2014) in view of Kong et al. (Kong, H.J.; Mooney, D.J. The Effects of Poly(Ethyleneimine) (PEI) Molecular Weight on Reinforcement of Alginate Hydrogels, Cell Transplantation 12, p. 779–785, published 2003) and as evidenced by Siwick et al. (Siwick, B.J.; Cox, M.J.; Bakker, H.J. Long-Range Proton Transfer in Aqueous Acid–Base Reactions, J. Phys. Chem. B 112, p. 378–389, published 2008).
Regarding Claims 1 and 2, Liu discloses a hydrogel binder comprising an anionic polyacid (see alginate hydrogel binder, p. 6386 ¶ “Fig. 1a presents…” and Scheme 1) and a solvent (see deionized water, p. 6386 ¶ “Alginic acid, a…”).
Liu does not disclose wherein the hydrogel binder further comprises a cationic polyamine. However, Liu does disclose (p. 6388 ¶ “These improved…”) the importance of strong mechanical properties for binders used in Si/C-based electrodes.
Kong teaches a hydrogel (see alginate hydrogels reinforced with PEI, p. 780 ¶ “To prepare alginate…”) comprising an anionic polyacid (see alginate, p. 780 ¶ “Alginate rich in…”), a cationic polyamine (see PEIs, p. 780 ¶ “To prepare alginate…”), and a solvent (see deionized water, p. 780 ¶ “Alginate rich in…”). Kong teaches that the addition of cationic polyamine to the hydrogel comprising the anionic polyacid can reinforce and stabilize the hydrogel (p. 779 ¶ “We propose that…”), and enhance and maintain its elastic modulus (p. 781 ¶ “In contrast to…”, p. 783 ¶ “The deterioration in…”, Table 1, and Fig. 6).
Liu and Kong are analogous to the claimed invention as they are in the same field of alginate-based hydrogels. It would therefore have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydrogel binder of Liu such that it further comprises a cationic polyamine, for the purpose of reinforcing and stabilizing the hydrogel, and enhancing and maintaining its elastic modulus.
Regarding the limitation wherein the anionic polyacid and the cationic polyamine are derived from an acid-base reaction between a polyacid and a polyamine, it is first noted this is considered to be a product-by-process limitation, and even though product-by-process claims are limited by and defined by the process, determination of patentability is based on the product itself. The patentability of a product does not depend on its method of production. If the product in the product-by-process claim is the same as or obvious from a product of the prior art, the claim is unpatentable even though the prior product was made by a different process (In re Thorpe, 227 USPQ 964,966). Once the Examiner provides a rationale tending to show that the claimed product appears to be the same or similar to that of the prior art, although produced by a different process, the burden shifts to Applicant to come forward with evidence establishing an unobvious difference between the claimed product and the prior art product (In re Marosi, 710 F.2d 798, 802, 218 USPQ 289, 292 (Fed. Cir. 1983), MPEP § 2113). In the instant case, as also set forth above, modified Liu discloses an anionic polyacid (see alginate, Kong p. 780 ¶ “Alginate rich in…”; see also Na alginate (SA), Liu p. 6386 ¶ “To mitigate the…” and “Alginic acid, a…”, and Scheme 1) and a cationic polyamine (see PEIs, Kong p. 780 ¶ “To prepare alginate…”; note that Kong p. 783 ¶ “The minor changes…” discloses that the amines are protonated) which one of ordinary skill in the art will understand are necessarily formed by acid-base reaction(s) wherein the polyacid becomes deprotonated and the polyamine becomes protonated. However, modified Liu does not explicitly disclose that the anionic polyacid and the cationic polyamine are derived specifically from an acid-base reaction between the corresponding polyacid and polyamine, i.e. proton transfer from the polyacid directly to the polyamine. However, one of ordinary skill in the art will understand that regardless of whether the anionic polyacid and cationic polyamine of modified Liu is derived from direct proton transfer from one species to another or e.g. solvent-facilitated proton transfer (as is common for solutions formed in protic solvents such as water, as evidenced by Siwick (p. 378 ¶ “Proton-transfer (PT)…”)), the overall products, i.e. the anionic polyacid and cationic polyamine, of the acid-base reaction(s) will be the same.
Liu does not disclose wherein the anionic polyacid and the cationic polyamine are derived from an acid-base reaction between a polyacid and a polyamine at a weight ratio in the range of 10:100 to 40:100 (Claim 1), or more specifically at a weight ratio of 24:100 (Claim 2).
Kong teaches that the ratio of polyacid to polyamine (expressed by Kong as a concentration ratio) affects the elastic moduli of the formed hydrogels (p. 780 ¶ “Alginate rich…” and “To prepare alginate…”, p. 783 ¶ “The minor changes…”, and Table 1). One of ordinary skill in the art will understand that the concentration ratio of Kong could be equivalently expressed as a weight ratio, with the same trends observed.
A result-effective variable is a variable which achieves a recognized result. The determination of the optimum or workable ranges of a result-effective variable is routine experimentation and therefore obvious (MPEP § 2144.05.II). In the instant case, the weight ratio of polyacid and polyamine is a variable that achieves the recognized result of affecting the elastic moduli of the formed hydrogels, as taught by Kong, thus making the weight ratio of polyacid and polyamine a result-effective variable. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the hydrogel binder of modified Liu such that the weight ratio of polyacid and polyamine is in the range of 10:100 to 40:100, or more narrowly is 24:100, via routine experimentation, for the purpose of achieving a suitable elastic modulus of the hydrogel.
Regarding Claim 3, modified Liu discloses the hydrogel binder of Claim 1. Modified Liu further discloses wherein the polyacid is a salt of alginic acid (see Na alginate (SA), Liu p. 6386 ¶ “To mitigate the…” and “Alginic acid, a…”; see also alginate, Kong p. 780 ¶ “Alginate rich in…”) the polyamine is polyethyleneimine (see PEIs, Kong p. 780 ¶ “To prepare alginate…”; note that Kong p. 779 ¶ “To improve the…” identifies the acronym PEI as poly(ethyleneimine)), and the solvent is an aqueous medium (see deionized water, Liu p. 6386 ¶ “Alginic acid, a…”; see also deionized water, Kong p. 780 ¶ “Alginate rich in…”).
Conclusion
/J.M.F./Examiner, Art Unit 1725
/BASIA A RIDLEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1725