DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the communication(s) filed on 12/09/2025.
The claim(s) 18-27 and 29-48, have been canceled by the applicant.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17, 28, and 49-50 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (U.S. Pub. 20200119797).
Regarding claim 1 Wang disclose, a CSI measurement reporting method, comprising:
determining, by a terminal, an antenna port parameter according to a first predefined rule or configuration information of a network-side device para. 135, “the configuration information includes a resource set of one group of the at least two groups of CSI-RS resources, where the resource set includes identification information or antenna port information of the other group of the at least two groups of CSI-RS resources or a reporting set, a resource set, or association information corresponding to the other group of CSI-RS resources”;
wherein the antenna port parameter is used for receiving and measuring a Channel State Information, CSI, reference signal para. 158, “FIG. 4 includes the following steps. 410. A network device sends configuration information to a terminal device”,
receiving and measuring, by the terminal, a Channel State Information, CSI, reference signal in at least one resource element configured by the network-side device according to determined antenna port parameter para. 158, “after the terminal device obtains the configuration information, the terminal device jointly reports CSI, for example, reports one CQI, for the associated two groups of CSI-RS resources based on the association relationship between the two groups of CSI-RS resources”,
generating and reporting, by the terminal, a reporting quantity to the network-side device according to a measurement result of measuring the CSI reference signal in the at least one resource element para. 158, “Therefore, after the terminal device obtains the configuration information, the terminal device jointly reports CSI, for example, reports one CQI, for the associated two groups of CSI-RS resources based on the association relationship between the two groups of CSI-RS resources”.
wherein the reporting quantity comprises the measurement result of measuring the CSI reference signal and the antenna port parameter para. 261, “the terminal device reports a CQI for a CSI-RS resource corresponding to relatively small (or relatively large) identification information, reports a CQI for a CSI-RS resource corresponding to a relatively small (or relatively large) antenna port number, reports a CQI for a CSI-RS resource corresponding to relatively small (or relatively large) association information, or reports a CQI for a CSI-RS resource corresponding to relatively small (or relatively large) reporting set identification information. A specific reporting manner may be predefined in a protocol, or may be notified by the network device to the terminal device via signaling”.
Regarding claim 2 Wang disclose, further comprising:
determining, by the terminal, an association relationship between antenna port parameters and at least one resource element according to a second predefined rule or the configuration information of the network-side device para. 158, “the terminal device jointly reports CSI, for example, reports one CQI, for the associated two groups of CSI-RS resources based on the association relationship between the two groups of CSI-RS resources”.
Regarding claim 3 Na disclose, wherein the association relationship comprises at least one of:
one resource element is associated with an antenna port parameter para. 158, “for example, reports one CQI, for the associated two groups of CSI-RS resources based on the association relationship between the two groups of CSI-RS resources”;
at least two resource elements are associated with a same antenna port parameter;
at least two resource elements are associated with different antenna port parameters; or
each of at least two resource elements corresponds to one antenna port parameter. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 4 Wang disclose, wherein the configuration information of the network-side device comprises:
indication information for indicating the terminal to use a same antenna port parameter or different antenna port parameters to receive and measure the CSI reference signal in the at least one resource element para. 266, “if there are two antenna ports or antenna port groups, and there are two pieces of QCL indication information, a first antenna port or antenna port group corresponds to a first piece of QCL indication information, and a second antenna port or antenna port group corresponds to a second piece of QCL indication information.”; or
an antenna port parameter;
wherein the antenna port parameter is the antenna port parameter used by the terminal to receive and measure the CSI reference signal in the at least one resource element para. 266, “For example, QCL indication information is configured for each antenna port or antenna port group. In this case, same or different QCL indication information may be configured for all antenna ports or antenna port groups”. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 5 Wang disclose, wherein determining, by the terminal, the antenna port parameter according to the first predefined rule, comprises:
determining, by the terminal, the antenna port parameter from candidate antenna port parameters corresponding to the terminal according to the predefined rule, para. 135, “the configuration information includes a resource set of one group of the at least two groups of CSI-RS resources, where the resource set includes identification information or antenna port information of the other group of the at least two groups of CSI-RS resources or a reporting set, a resource set, or association information corresponding to the other group of CSI-RS resources”.
Regarding claim 6 Wang disclose, wherein the first predefined rule comprises at least one of:
Rule 1: determining that antenna port parameters corresponding to different resource elements or CSI reference signals in resource elements are same or different according to a quantity of resource elements or a quantity of CSI reference signals in resource elements para. 52, “in an implementation of the first aspect, a quantity of CQIs in the jointly reported CSI is determined based on a quantity of reporting sets or resource sets of the M groups of CSI-RS resources, or a quantity of CQIs in the CSI is determined based on a quantity of reported CQIs that is configured in a reporting set of the M groups of CSI-RS resources”;
Rule 2: determining that antenna port parameters are different according to at least two resource elements with a same index or CSI reference signals in the resource elements;
Rule 3: determining that antenna port parameters are same or different according to at least two resource elements with different indexes or CSI reference signals in the resource elements;
Rule 4: determining that antenna port parameters are different according to at least two resource elements with a same spatial Quasi-Co-Location, QCL, relation or CSI reference signals in the resource elements;
Rule 5: determining that antenna port parameters are same or different according to at least two resource elements with different spatial QCL relations or CSI reference signals in the resource elements; or
Rule 6: a predefined correspondence between resource elements and antenna port parameters. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 7 Wang disclose, wherein the reporting, by the terminal, the generated reporting quantity to the network-side device, comprises: reporting, by the terminal, the reporting quantity comprising an antenna port parameter to the network-side device para. 102-103, “The CSI reporting set is used to indicate reported parameter information. Configuration information of a CSI-RS resource includes a mapped resource element (RE), a quantity of antenna ports, time domain behavior, and the like”,
wherein the antenna port parameter comprised in the reporting quantity is the antenna port parameter used by the terminal to measure and obtain the measurement result, para. 264-274, “When a plurality of CSI parameters are fed back together, priorities are predefined in a protocol. For example, first, the S RIs are fed back, then the T PMIs are fed back, and then the N CQIs are fed back. When a plurality of PMIs are fed back together, a joint coding manner may be used… the terminal device reports, based on the result of measuring the CSI-RSs carried on the at least two groups of CSI-RS resources, a CQI of a reference resource and a CQI difference or difference indication information corresponding to the other group of resources”.
Regarding claim 8 Wang disclose, wherein the terminal generates the reporting quantity in a following way:
reporting, by the terminal, one reporting quantity for each resource element; or reporting, by the terminal, one reporting quantity for all resource elements. para. 52, “in an implementation of the first aspect, a quantity of CQIs in the jointly reported CSI is determined based on a quantity of reporting sets or resource sets of the M groups of CSI-RS resources”; or
reporting, by the terminal, one reporting quantity for every N/M resource elements, wherein N is a quantity of resource elements, and M is a quantity of reporting quantities configured or predefined by network. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 9 Wang disclose, wherein types of the resource elements comprise at least one of CSI resource setting, CSI resource set in the CSI resource setting, CSI resource or SSB resource para. 102, “the CSI reporting set is used to indicate reported parameter information (for example, an RI, a PMI, a CQI, or a CSI-RS resource indicator (CRI))”. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 10 Wang disclose, wherein in response to the network-side device configuring at least two resource elements
the at least two resource elements are resource elements with same or different time-domain transmission characteristics para. 24, “where the association relationship between the at least two groups of CSI-RS resources includes an association relationship between identifiers of the at least two groups of CSI-RS resources or an association relationship between antenna ports of the at least two resources”; or
the at least two resource elements are CSI resource sets corresponding to a same periodic CSI resource setting; or
the at least two resource elements are CSI resource sets corresponding to a same semi-persistent CSI resource setting; or
the at least two resource elements are aperiodic CSI resource sets associated with an aperiodic trigger state; or
the at least two resource elements are CSI resources comprised in a same CSI resource setting or CSI resource set. The claim list features in the alternative. While the claim lists a number of optional limitations only one limitation from the list is required and needs to be met by the prior art. The Examiner has chosen the first of the alternatives.
Regarding claim 11 Wang disclose, wherein the terminal receives the CSI reference signal in the at least one resource element configured by the network-side device in a following way. para. 12, “receiving, by the terminal device, the CSI-RSs carried on the at least two groups of CSI-RS resources”: receiving, by the terminal, the CSI reference signal in the at least one resource element configured by the network-side device on a same time domain resource or different time domain resources para. 103, “Configuration information of a CSI-RS resource includes a mapped resource element (RE), a quantity of antenna ports, time domain behavior”.
Claim 12 recites a method corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claims 13-14 the limitations of claims 13-14, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 4-5, respectively.
Regarding claims 15-16 the limitations of claims 15-16, respectively, are rejected in the same manner as analyzed above with respect to claims 9-10, respectively.
Regarding claim 17 Wang disclose, a terminal, comprising a processor para. 336, “processor 110”, a memory “memory 120” and a transceiver “transceiver unit 101”; furthermore claim 17 recites an apparatus corresponding to the system of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Regarding claim 28 Wang disclose, a network-side device, comprising a processor read as: “processor 210”, a memory read as: “the memory 220” see para. 349; furthermore claim 28 recites an apparatus corresponding to the system of claim 12 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 12.
Claim 49 recites a computer–program product corresponding to the method of claim 1 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 1.
Claim 50 recites a computer–program product corresponding to the method of claim 12 and thus is rejected under the same reason set forth in the rejection of claim 12.
Conclusion
/RR/
Examiner, Art Unit 2471
/MOHAMMAD S ADHAMI/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471