DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges the reply filed on 11/10/2025 in which claims 1, 4, 5, 6, 8, 11, 17, 18, and 19 have been amended, claim 12 has been canceled. Currently, claims 1-11 and 13-20 are pending for examination in this application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant has resolved the claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 112.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the amended limitations of claim 1 in view of Li have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
A new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Kramer et al. (US 20070230927 A1). Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 14-16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20100154796 A1), Silver (US 4910384 A), and Kramer (US 20070230927 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Smith discloses a humidification tank (humidifier tub 50; figure 1-14), wherein the humidification tank comprises a tank body (50; figure 1-14) provided with a cavity (open space in tub 50; see figure 2B, 2D-8C, and 14), a joint pip (200) inserted into the cavity ([0046] inlet 54; figure 1-2);
wherein the humidification tank comprises an exhaust pipe (outlet 56; figure 1-4) connected to a hanging wall of the tank body (lid 60; figure 2-4).
Smith is silent as to comprising at least two branch pipes communicated with an outlet end of the joint pipe.
However, Silver teaches a humidification assembly (figure 1) comprising a joint pipe (bifurcated inlet junction 64; figure 1-2 and 5) inserted into the cavity (figure 2) and at least two branch pipes communicated with an outlet end of the joint pipe (The bifurcated inlet junction 64 is shown in FIGS. 2 and 5 comprising a channel 66 which splits into a pair of conduits 68 and 70; col. 4 line 9-11).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the Smith inlet to include a bifurcated inlet junction comprising a channel which splits into a pair of conduits, as taught by Silver, as it would have been obvious substitution of one known element for another, using the bifurcated inlet taught by Silver in place of the singular channel of Smith, and would provide predictable results, directing a gas supply into each side of the humidification assembly (see Silver figure 1-2 and col. 2 line 18-20). This configuration also has the added benefit of dispersing the airflow more evenly throughout the humidification tub.
Modified Smith is silent as to the cavity is provided with a baffle, one side edge of an inlet of the exhaust pipe far away from the baffle is connected to a flow guide plate, and a lower end of the flow guide plate is inclined towards the baffle, and a channel is formed between the flow guide plate and the baffle.
However, Kramer teaches a humidifier (title) wherein the humidifier cavity (figure 8) is provided with a baffle ([0037] a curved downwardly extending baffle 27; figure 8), one side edge of an inlet of the exhaust pipe (gases outlet 25; figure 8) far away from the baffle is connected to a flow guide plate (see Examiner Annotations 1), and a lower end of the flow guide plate is inclined toward the baffle (see Examiner Annotations 1, lower end/half of flow guide plate is inclined, from bottom to top, towards the baffle 27), and a channel is formed between the flow guide plate and the baffle (see figure 8 and Examiner Annotations 1, [0038] channel indicated by arrows 31).
Examiner Annotations 1
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the humidifier of Smith to implement a curved baffle extending downwardly from the top of the cavity and a flow guide plate extending from one side edge of an inlet of the exhaust pipe with a lower end inclined towards the baffle, in order to form a channel between the flow guide plate and the baffle and allowing the gases to follow a more tortuous path ensuring adequate humidification, as taught by Kramer [0037-0038].
Regarding claim 2, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 1, wherein the outlet end of the joint pipe is connected to the two branch pipes (see Silver, a channel 66 which splits into a pair of conduits 68 and 70; figure 1-2; col. 4 line 9-11) which extend horizontally (see Silver figure 1-2), and the two branch pipes and the joint pipe form a Y-shaped three-way pipe (see Silver figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 3, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 1, Smith teaches wherein the cavity is provided with a deflection plate (curved baffle 74; figure 3-6, 7C, and 8C) facing an outlet end of the branch pipe ([0055] The curved baffle 74 provides a concave surface 78 positioned in front of the outlet end of air inlet flow tube 54; see figure 3-6, 7C, and 8C. As modified above inlet of Smith includes a bifurcated inlet junction comprising a channel which splits into a pair of conduits, as such one of the outlet ends of the bifurcated inlet junction would face curved baffle 74), and the deflection plate is configured to change a direction of gas flowing out of an outlet of the branch pipe ([0056] The curved baffle 74 acts to deflect or force incoming air to travel over a larger surface area, thereby allowing increased moisturization of the flow of gas. The use of a curved baffle 74 having a concave surface 78 smoothly changes the direction of the air flow by gently guiding the air flow around the tub 50 in a swirling motion while limiting the loss of pressure).
Regarding claim 14, modified Smith teaches a ventilation treatment device (CPAP device 10; figure 1), Smith teaches wherein the ventilation treatment device comprises the humidification tank according to claim 1 ([0044] humidifier tub 50 for a humidifier 30 of a CPAP device 10; figure 1. See the rest of claim 1 rejection above).
Regarding claim 15, modified Smith teaches the ventilation treatment device according to claim 14, the outlet end of the joint pipe is connected to the two branch pipes (see Silver, a channel 66 which splits into a pair of conduits 68 and 70; figure 1-2; col. 4 line 9-11) which extend horizontally (see Silver figure 1-2), and the two branch pipes and the joint pipe form a Y-shaped three-way pipe (see Silver figure 1-2).
Regarding claim 16, modified Smith teaches the ventilation treatment device according to claim 14, Smith teaches wherein the cavity is provided with a deflection plate (curved baffle 74; figure 3-6, 7C, and 8C) facing an outlet end of the branch pipe ([0055] The curved baffle 74 provides a concave surface 78 positioned in front of the outlet end of air inlet flow tube 54; see figure 3-6, 7C, and 8C. As modified above inlet of Smith includes a bifurcated inlet junction comprising a channel which splits into a pair of conduits, as such one of the outlet ends of the bifurcated inlet junction would face curved baffle 74), and the deflection plate is configured to change a direction of gas flowing out of an outlet of the branch pipe ([0056] The curved baffle 74 acts to deflect or force incoming air to travel over a larger surface area, thereby allowing increased moisturization of the flow of gas. The use of a curved baffle 74 having a concave surface 78 smoothly changes the direction of the air flow by gently guiding the air flow around the tub 50 in a swirling motion while limiting the loss of pressure).
Claim(s) 4-11, 13, and 17-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Smith et al. (US 20100154796 A1), Silver (US 4910384 A), and Kramer (US 20070230927 A1) as applied to claim 3 and 16 above, and further in view of Austin et al. (US 20020020930 A1).
Regarding claim 4, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 3, but is silent as to wherein ends of two deflection plates close to each other are spaced to form a flow channel.
However, Austin teaches a humidifier (10; figure 1-6) comprising a plurality of arced baffles 22 ([0027] figure 3-5), wherein ends of the arced baffles close to each other are spaced to form a flow channel ([0030] Openings 32 are provided between adjacent baffles 22 to allow adjacent chambers 24-30 to communicate with one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Smith to implement another curved baffle adjacent to the first curved baffle with an opening between the two curved baffles acting as a flow channel in order to allow adjacent sections of the humidifier chamber to communicate with each other, as taught by Austin [0030].
Regarding claim 5, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 4, wherein ends of the two deflection plates (as modified above, there are two curved baffle adjacent to each other) far away from each other are both connected to a side wall of the tank body ([0057] As shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, the curved baffle 74 includes an end portion 80 that is joined to the side wall 62 of the tub 50. Examiner notes: the additional curved baffle would follow the teachings of the curved baffle of Smith).
Regarding claim 6, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 4, Smith teaches wherein the deflection plate (74) is connected to the hanging wall (lid 60; figure 2-4) of the tank body ([0055] The curved baffle 74 is provided within the interior of the tub 50 and extends downwardly from the lid 60; figure 3-4), and the deflection plate is spaced from a bottom wall (a base plate 52 sealed to the bottom of the tub 50; figure 1) of the tank body ([0055] the curved baffle 74 protrudes past the bottom edge of the air inlet flow tube 54. In an embodiment, the curved baffle 74 may protrude to the water filling indication mark 66; figure 3-4, also see figure 13-14).
Regarding claim 7, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 4, Smith teaches wherein the deflection plate (74) is recessed towards the outlet end of the branch pipe ([0055] The curved baffle 74 provides a concave surface 78 positioned in front of the outlet end of air inlet flow tube 54; see figure 3-4 6, 7C, and 8C. As modified above inlet of Smith includes a bifurcated inlet junction comprising a channel which splits into a pair of conduits, as such one of the outlet ends of the bifurcated inlet junction would face concave surface of curved baffle 74).
Regarding claim 8, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 4, but is silent as to wherein the baffle faces the flow channel and is configured to change the direction of the gas flowing out of the outlet of the branch pipe.
However, Kramer teaches wherein the baffle faces a flow channel at an outlet of the inlet tube ([0037] the chamber further includes a curved downwardly extending baffle 27 located between the gases outlet 25 and the termination of the inlet extension tube 26 to ensure against gases short circuiting the chamber by flowing directly from the extension 26 to the outlet 25; figure 8) and is configured to change the direction of the gas flowing out of the outlet of the inlet tube ([0037] The lower edge 28 of the baffle 27 preferably extends lower than the lower edge of the inlet extension tube 26. With the baffle 27 in place the gases are forced to follow a more tortuous path ensuring adequate humidification during their journey through the chamber 20; figure 8).
Additionally, Austin further teaches wherein a baffle (deflector baffle 36) faces the flow channel [0030] the baffles 22 do not extend completely to the base 20, leaving a space connecting all of the chambers 24-30. Each of the openings 32, excluding one opening 34 that is in closest proximity to the air outlet 14, is provided with a deflector baffle 36 spaced away from the opening 32. The deflector baffle 36 is provided as part of the dividing wall and defines a serpentine flow path between two adjacent chambers. The term serpentine, as used herein, refers to a path which is not linear, having at least one bend. As an alternative, a deflector baffle could be provided at opening 34; figure 3-5. [0035] The deflectors 36 create back-pressure and prevent the air from passing to the second chamber 26 too quickly. The deflectors 36 also direct the air outward from the openings 32 and around the arced baffles 22. [0036] a cooperation between the arced shape of the baffles 22, the position of the openings 32 and the deflection of the deflectors 36 causes the airflow to enter in an indirect serpentine fashion and circle a number of times within each chamber 24-30 before it exits through the opening 32. The indirect airflow and circling or eddying 44 causes additional turbulence, resulting in increased airflow velocity and significantly extending the duration of contact between the air and water. All of these effects taken together lead to enhanced evaporation and humidification of the air within the chamber.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to further modify Smith to implement the baffle facing the flow channel formed by the opening between the two deflection plates at the outlet of the branch pipe in order to ensure against gases short circuiting the chamber by flowing directly from the inlet pipe to the exhaust pipe and forcing the gases to follow a more tortuous path ensuring adequate humidification, as taught by Kramer [0037] and resulting in increased airflow velocity and significantly extending the duration of contact between the air and water, as taught by Austin [0036].
Regarding claim 9, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 8, Kramer teaches wherein two lateral sides of the baffle are spaced from the side wall of the tank body ([0037] a curved downwardly extending baffle 27. see figure 8, sides of baffle 27 in this view are clearly separate from side wall of chamber 20).
Regarding claim 10, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 9, Kramer teaches wherein the baffle is connected to the hanging wall of the tank body ([0037] a curved downwardly extending baffle 27; figure 8), and the baffle is spaced from the bottom wall of the tank body (see figure 8).
Regarding claim 11, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 9, the baffle is located between the flow channel and an inlet end of the exhaust pipe (see modification of claim 8 above and Kramer figure 8).
Regarding claim 13, modified Smith teaches the humidification tank according to claim 11, Kramer teaches wherein the baffle is recessed towards the inlet end of the exhaust pipe ([0037] curved downwardly extending baffle 27; figure 8. The concave side of the curved shape of the baffle 27 is facing towards the inlet end of the gases outlet 25).
Regarding claim 17, modified Smith teaches the ventilation treatment device according to claim 16, but is silent as to wherein ends of two deflection plates close to each other are spaced to form a flow channel.
However, Austin teaches a humidifier (10; figure 1-6) comprising a plurality of arced baffles 22 ([0027] figure 3-5), wherein ends of the arced baffles close to each other are spaced to form a flow channel ([0030] Openings 32 are provided between adjacent baffles 22 to allow adjacent chambers 24-30 to communicate with one another).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Smith to implement another curved baffle adjacent to the first curved baffle with an opening between the two curved baffles acting as a flow channel in order to allow adjacent sections of the humidifier chamber to communicate with each other, as taught by Austin [0030].
Regarding claim 18, modified Smith teaches the ventilation treatment device according to claim 17, wherein ends of the two deflection plates (as modified above, there are two curved baffle adjacent to each other) far away from each other are both connected to a side wall of the tank body ([0057] As shown in FIGS. 3 and 4, the curved baffle 74 includes an end portion 80 that is joined to the side wall 62 of the tub 50. Examiner notes: the additional curved baffle would follow the teachings of the curved baffle of Smith).
Regarding claim 19, modified Smith teaches the ventilation treatment device according to claim 17, Smith teaches wherein the deflection plate (74) is connected to the hanging wall (lid 60; figure 2-4) of the tank body ([0055] The curved baffle 74 is provided within the interior of the tub 50 and extends downwardly from the lid 60; figure 3-4), and the deflection plate is spaced from a bottom wall (a base plate 52 sealed to the bottom of the tub 50; figure 1) of the tank body ([0055] the curved baffle 74 protrudes past the bottom edge of the air inlet flow tube 54. In an embodiment, the curved baffle 74 may protrude to the water filling indication mark 66; figure 3-4, also see figure 13-14).
Regarding claim 20, modified Smith teaches the ventilation treatment device according to claim 17, Smith teaches wherein the deflection plate (74) is recessed towards the outlet end of the branch pipe ([0055] The curved baffle 74 provides a concave surface 78 positioned in front of the outlet end of air inlet flow tube 54; see figure 3-4 6, 7C, and 8C. As modified above inlet of Smith includes a bifurcated inlet junction comprising a channel which splits into a pair of conduits, as such one of the outlet ends of the bifurcated inlet junction would face concave surface of curved baffle 74).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/M.I.A./Examiner, Art Unit 3785
/VALERIE L WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3785