DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 3-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the first insertion hole" in line 2. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4-12 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim 3 recites the limitation "the second insertion hole" in lines 2-3. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. Claims 4-12 are rejected by virtue of their dependence on a rejected base claim.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-7, 10-12, 14 and 21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by United States Patent No. 5,795,547, hereinafter Moser.
Regarding claim 1, Moser teaches a thermal cycler (item 2) comprising: a thermal block housing (items 33, 34, 36 and 39) comprising a thermal block (item 33) accommodating a reaction vessel (figure 2) and a temperature control portion (item 36) for controlling a temperature of the thermal block (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in column 4, lines 41-51); a support frame (the housing enclosing the lower half in figure 2) provided at the lower side of the thermal block housing (figure 2); and at least one damping module (items 41-44) comprising a fastening member (items 42-44) coupled to the thermal block housing (figure 2) and the support frame (figure 2) and an elastic member (item 41) provided between the thermal block housing and the support frame (figure 2) and elastically supporting the thermal block housing while spaced apart from the support frame (figure 2).
Regarding claim 2, Moser teaches wherein the thermal block housing comprises a lower frame (item 39) coupled to the fastening member (figure 2) and an upper frame (item 34) in which the thermal block is accommodated (figure 2).
Regarding claim 3, Moser teaches wherein the fastening member is inserted into and coupled to the first insertion hole in the lower frame (figure 2, the hole where item 42 is and item 42 doing the coupling) and the second insertion hole in the support frame (figure 2, the hole where item 44 is and couple with item 44 to the support frame).
Regarding claim 4, Moser teaches wherein the first insertion hole comprises a first accommodating portion opened downward for accommodating the upper end of the elastic member (figure 2).
Regarding claim 5, Moser teaches wherein the second insertion hole comprises a second accommodating portion opened upward for accommodating the lower end of the elastic member (figure 2).
Regarding claim 6, Moser teaches wherein the elastic member is provided to be penetrated by the fastening member (figure 2).
Regarding claim 7, Moser teaches wherein the first insertion hole is provided to penetrate the lower frame up and down (figure 2), and the lower frame is provided to be movable up and down with respect to the fastening member (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and the lower frame would be able to be moved up and down with respect to the lower portion of the fastening member).
Regarding claim 10, Moser teaches wherein the second insertion hole is provided to penetrate the support frame up and down (figure 2), and the support frame is provided to be movable up and down with respect to the fastening member (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and the support frame would be able to be moved up and down with respect to the upper portion of the fastening member).
Regarding claim 11, Moser teaches wherein the support frame comprises a support portion (the portion connecting to item 42) protruding from the inner circumferential surface of the second insertion hole (figure 2), and the fastening member comprises a head portion supported by the support portion at the lower side of the second insertion hole (figure 2).
Regarding claim 12, Moser teaches wherein the fastening member is screwed to the lower frame (column 5, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 14, Moser teaches wherein at least one of the damping modules is provided to adjust the separation distance by adjusting the depth at which the fastening member is coupled to the thermal block housing or the support frame (column 5, lines 1-4).
Regarding claim 21, Moser teaches wherein the thermal block housing is provided with a heat dissipation fan (item 45) for supplying air to the thermal block through a space between an upper frame and a lower frame (figure 2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 8 and 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser in view of United States Application Publication No. 2017/0058245, hereinafter Shah.
Regarding claim 8, Moser teaches all limitations of claim 7; however, Moser fails to teach wherein the lower frame comprises a support portion protruding from the inner circumferential surface of the first insertion hole, and the fastening member comprises a head portion supported by the support portion at an upper side of the first insertion hole.
Shah teaches a heating device with each spring fixed at both ends of the spring which allows for the heating blocks and springs to move leftward and return to their original positions (Shah, paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fixed both ends of the spring in the same manner as the lower end of the spring of Moser (with the support portion being the portion connecting to item 42 protruding from the inner circumferential surface in the same manner as the second insertion hole (figure 2), and the fastening member comprises a head portion supported by the support portion at the lower side of the in the same manner as the second insertion hole (figure 2)) because it would allow for the heating blocks and springs to move leftward and return to their original positions (Shah, paragraph [0057]).
Regarding claim 9, Moser teaches all limitations of claim 7; however, Moser fails to teach wherein the fastening member is screwed to the support frame.
Shah teaches a heating device with each spring fixed at both ends of the spring which allows for the heating blocks and springs to move leftward and return to their original positions (Shah, paragraph [0057]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have fixed both ends of the spring in the same manner as the lower end of the spring of Moser (wherein the fastening member is screwed in the same manner as the lower frame (column 5, lines 1-4)) because it would allow for the heating blocks and springs to move leftward and return to their original positions (Shah, paragraph [0057]).
Claim(s) 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser in view of United States Application Publication No. 2004/0065655, hereinafter Brown.
Regarding claim 13, Moser teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Moser fails to teach a plurality of damping modules.
Brown teaches a device in which a plurality of springs are utilized to distribute the force uniformly on the plate (Brown, paragraph [0012]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized a plurality of damping modules because it would uniformly distribute the force on the thermal block housing uniformly (Brown, paragraph [0012]).
Claim(s) 15 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser in view of CN 108587897, hereinafter Nie.
Regarding claims 15 and 18, Moser teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Moser fails to teach a rail frame coupled to the support frame and a driving unit for providing power in the linear direction.
Nie teaches a PCR amplification device in which a temperature control component is connected to a first guide rail (Nie, item 11) so that the temperature control module can move horizontally (Nie, page 5, paragraph 11) and a drive mechanism so that the device is able to move each component (Nie, page 6, paragraph 3).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added a rail connected to the support frame because it would allow for the thermal block housing to move horizontally (Nie, page 5, paragraph 11) and a driving unit connected to the rail because it would allow the device to control and move the thermal housing (Nie, page 6, paragraph 3).
Claim(s) 19 and 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser in view of United States Application Publication No. 2001/0019826, hereinafter Ammann.
Regarding claims 19 and 20, Moser teaches all limitations of claim 1; however, Moser fails to teach a sensor module for generating a signal when the distance between the thermal block housing and the support frame is less than or equal to a predetermined distance; wherein the sensor module comprises a tab provided in the thermal block housing and a sensor positioned in a movement path of the tab, the sensor is provided with a receiving portion and a transmitting portion facing each other, and the tab is inserted between the receiving portion and the transmitting portion as the thermal block housing is lowered.
Ammann teaches an automated device which has a sensor module (Ammann, items 424 and 426) for generating a signal when the distance between the thermal block housing and the support frame is less than or equal to a predetermined distance (intended use MPEP § 2114 (II) and is taught in Ammann, paragraph [0216]); wherein the sensor module comprises a tab (Ammann, item 424) provided in the thermal block housing and a sensor (Ammann, item 426) positioned in a movement path of the tab (Ammann, paragraph [0216]), the sensor is provided with a receiving portion and a transmitting portion facing each other (Ammann, paragraph [0216]), and the tab is inserted between the receiving portion and the transmitting portion as the thermal block housing is lowered (Ammann, paragraph [0216]) as this allows for the system to know the location of the containers (Ammann, paragraph [0216]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have added the sensor module of Ammann to the device of Moser because it would allow for the thermal cycler to know the position of the thermal block housing (Ammann, paragraph [0216]).
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Moser in view of United States Application Publication No. 2016/0144366, hereinafter Sugiyama.
Regarding claim 22, Moser teaches all limitations of claim 21; however, Moser fails to teach the lower frame is provided with an inclined surface that is inclined to lower the height on the side facing the heat dissipation fan and the opposite side.
Sugiyama teaches a nucleic acid amplification device with a fin cover which is included toward a direction away from the fan (Sugiyama, claim 26) to increase the intake/discharge efficiency of the fan (Sugiyama, paragraph [0053]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made the lower frame with an inclined surface as described because it would increase the intake/discharge efficiency of the fan (Sugiyama, paragraph [0053]).
Conclusion
/MATTHEW D KRCHA/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1796