DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4, 6-8 and 10-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chung et al. (US 2013/0187131) hereinafter “Chung” in view of Choi et al. (US 2004/0195963) hereinafter “Choi” and in further view of Nie (US 2019/0013377) hereinafter “Nie”.
Regarding claim 1, Figs. 5 and 7 of Chung teach a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (Item 1), having a first light-emitting region (Item PA2), a second light-emitting region (Item PA1) and a transparent region (Item TA), wherein an orthographic projection of the transparent region (Item TA) on the base substrate (Item 1) does not overlap an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting region on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the second light-emitting region on the base substrate (Item 1); and a light-emitting member, located on a side of the base substrate (Item 1) and comprising a bottom- emitting light-emitting unit (Combination of Items 222, 223’ and 225; Paragraph 0078) entirely located in the first light-emitting region (Item PA2) and a top-emitting light-emitting unit (Combination of Items 221, 223 and 224; Paragraph 0075) entirely located in the second light-emitting region (Item PA1); where the display substrate further comprises a plurality of repeating units distributed in array; the repeating unit comprises the first light emitting region (Item PA2), the second light emitting region (Item PA1) and the transparent region (Item TA); wherein an orthographic projection of the top emitting light emitting unit on the base substrate covers (Fig. 5 where the pixel circuitry is present under the top light emitting region) an orthographic projection of the driving unit on the base substrate.
Chung does not teach where the display substrate further comprises: a first color film part located between the base substrate and the light-emitting member and in the first light-emitting region, where the first driving unit is located between the first color film part and the base substrate.
Fig. 5 of Choi teaches a bottom-emitting light- emitting unit (Combination of Items PR, PG, PB and PW) comprises a plurality of auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices emitting white light (Paragraph 0038); and the display substrate further comprises: a first color film part (Item 900) located between a base substrate (Item 1010) and a light-emitting member (Combination of Items 700, 800 and 600) and in the first light-emitting region, and the first color film part comprises a plurality of first color filters (Items R, G, B and W) which are in one-to-one correspondence with the auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices, where a driving unit (Item 1061) is located between the first color film part (Item 900) and the base substrate (Item 1010).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display substrate further comprise: a first color film part located between the base substrate and the light-emitting member and in the first light-emitting region, where the first driving unit is located between the first color film part and the base substrate because this structure is known to result in improved luminance and light efficiency (Choi Paragraph 0009).
Chung does not explicitly teach where the display substrate further comprises a first driving unit located between the base substrate and the light emitting member, and a second driving unit between the base substrate and the light emitting member; where an entirety of the first driving unit is arranged in the first light emitting region and an entirety of the second driving unit is arranged in the second light emitting region; an orthographic projection of first driving unit on the base substrate does not coincide with an orthographic projection of the bottom emitting light emitting unit on the base substrate.
Figs. 2 of Nie teaches a display substrate further comprises a first driving unit (Item T2) located between a base substrate (Item 3) and a bottom light emitting member (Item D’), and a second driving unit (Item T1) between the base substrate (Item 3) and a top light emitting member (Item D); where an entirety of the first driving unit (Item T2) is arranged in a first light emitting region and an entirety of the second driving unit (Item T1) is arranged in a second light emitting region; an orthographic projection of first driving unit (Item T2) on the base substrate does not coincide with an orthographic projection of the bottom emitting light emitting unit (Item D') on the base substrate; an orthographic projection of the top light emitting member (Item D) on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the second driving unit on the base substrate (Item T1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display substrate further comprise a first driving unit located between the base substrate and the light emitting member, and a second driving unit between the base substrate and the light emitting member; where an entirety of the first driving unit is arranged in the first light emitting region and an entirety of the second driving unit is arranged in the second light emitting region; an orthographic projection of first driving unit on the base substrate does not coincide with an orthographic projection of the bottom emitting light emitting unit on the base substrate because this allows the top and bottom light emitting units to receive two different signals such that the top and bottom light emitting units can be operated as desired (Nie Paragraph 0065) and the first drive transistor not coinciding with the bottom light emitting unit allows for the light being emitted from the bottom light emitting unit to travel through the display more efficiently (Nie Paragraph 0054).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Chung, Choi and Nie teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above except.
Chung does not teach where the bottom-emitting light- emitting unit comprises a plurality of auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices emitting white light; and the first color film part comprises a plurality of first color filters which are in one-to-one correspondence with the auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices.
Fig. 5 of Choi teaches a bottom-emitting light- emitting unit (Combination of Items PR, PG, PB and PW) comprises a plurality of auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices emitting white light (Paragraph 0038); and the display substrate further comprises: a first color film part (Item 900) located between a base substrate (Item 1010) and a light-emitting member (Combination of Items 700, 800 and 600) and in the first light-emitting region, and the first color film part comprises a plurality of first color filters (Items R, G, B and W) which are in one-to-one correspondence with the auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the bottom-emitting light- emitting unit comprise a plurality of auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices emitting white light; and the first color film part comprises a plurality of first color filters which are in one-to-one correspondence with the auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices because this structure is known to result in improved luminance and light efficiency (Choi Paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 3, Fig. 7 of Chung further teaches where each auxiliary bottom light- emitting device comprises: a bottom-emitting transparent anode (Item 222), a bottom-emitting light- emitting layer (Item 223’) and a bottom-emitting reflective cathode (Item 225) in sequence; and in a same bottom-emitting light-emitting unit, bottom-emitting transparent anodes of all auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices are mutually spaced (See Fig. 5), bottom-emitting light-emitting layers (Item 223’) of all auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices are of an integrated structure, and bottom- emitting reflective cathodes (Item 225) of all auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices are of an integrated structure.
Regarding claim 4, Fig. 7 of Chung further teaches where the first driving unit comprises: a plurality of first thin-film transistors (Item PC2) which are electrically connected with the auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices in one-to-one correspondence.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Chung, Choi and Nie teaches all of the elements of the claimed invention as stated above.
Chung does not teach where the top-emitting light-emitting unit comprises a plurality of auxiliary top-emitting devices emitting white light; and the display substrate further comprises: a second color film part located on a side of the light-emitting member facing away from the base substrate and in the second light-emitting region, and the second color film part comprises a plurality of second color filters.
Fig. 5 of Choi further teaches where a top-emitting light-emitting unit (Paragraph 0038) comprises a plurality of auxiliary top-emitting devices emitting white light (Paragraph 0038); and the display substrate further comprises: a second color film part (Item 900) located on a side of the light-emitting member facing away from the base substrate (When top emission the color filter would be on an emission side of the light emitting unit [ie away from the base substrate]) and in the second light-emitting region, and the second color film part comprises a plurality of second color filters (Items R, G, B and W).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the top-emitting light-emitting unit comprise a plurality of auxiliary top-emitting devices emitting white light; and the display substrate further comprises: a second color film part located on a side of the light-emitting member facing away from the base substrate and in the second light-emitting region, and the second color film part comprises a plurality of second color filters because this structure is known to result in improved luminance and light efficiency (Choi Paragraph 0009).
Regarding claim 7, Fig. 7 of Chung further teaches where each auxiliary top-emitting device comprises a top-emitting reflective anode (Item 221), a top-emitting light-emitting layer (Item 223) and a top- emitting transparent cathode (Item 224) which are located on a side of the base substrate (Item 1) facing the second color film part (When combined with Choi as stated in the rejection of claim 6 above) in sequence; and in a same top-emitting light-emitting unit, top-emitting reflective anodes (Item 221) of all auxiliary top-emitting devices are mutually spaced (Fig. 5), top-emitting light-emitting layers (Item 223) of all auxiliary top- emitting devices are of an integrated structure, and top-emitting transparent cathodes (Item 224) of all auxiliary top-emitting devices are of an integrated structure.
Regarding claim 8, Fig. 7 of Chung further teaches where the second driving unit comprises: a plurality of second thin-film transistors (Items T3) which are electrically connected with the auxiliary top-emitting devices (Combination of Items 221, 223 and 224) in one-to-one correspondence.
Regarding claim 10, Fig. 7 of Chung further teaches where the bottom-emitting transparent anodes (Item 222) and the top-emitting transparent cathodes (Item 224) are on a same layer (See Examiner’s Note below) and made of a same material (Paragraphs 0110 and 0113 where highly transmissive films are used).
Examiner’s Note: Both the transparent anode and the transparent cathode are on the common light emitting layer.
Regarding claim 11, Fig. 7 of Chung further teaches where the bottom-emitting reflective cathodes (Item 221) and the top-emitting reflective anodes (Item 225b) are on (See Examiner’s Note below) a same layer and made of a same material (Paragraphs 0107 and 0115 where both have same reflective materials) .
Examiner’s Note: Both the reflecting cathode and the reflecting anode are on the common light emitting layer.
Regarding claim 12, Fig. 5 of Chung further teaches where the orthographic projection of the transparent region (Item TA) on the base substrate (Item 1) is located between (See Examiner’s Note and Picture 2 below) the orthographic projection of the first light emitting region (Item PA2) on the base substrate (Item 1) and the orthographic projection of the second light emitting region (Item PA1) on the base substrate (Item 1).
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner notes that what is displayed in Fig. 5 is only one unit of the display. When the units are present in a display device as taught by Chung, the transparent region (Item TA) will be between the second and first light emitting regions.
Picture 2 (Two units (Fig. 5) of the display device as they would appear in a display)
Regarding claim 13, Fig. 5 of Chung further teaches where an area of the orthographic projection of the transparent region (Item TA) on the base substrate (Item 1) is approximately equal to an area of the orthographic projection of the first light emitting region (See Picture 2 above) on the base substrate (Item 1).
Regarding claim 14, Figs. 5 and 7 of Chung teach a display device (Paragraph 0003), comprising a display substrate, the display substrate comprising: a base substrate (Item 1), having a first light-emitting region (Item PA2), a second light-emitting region (Item PA1) and a transparent region (Item TA), wherein an orthographic projection of the transparent region (Item TA) on the base substrate (Item 1) does not overlap an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting region on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the second light-emitting region on the base substrate (Item 1); and a light-emitting member, located on a side of the base substrate (Item 1) and comprising a bottom- emitting light-emitting unit (Combination of Items 222, 223’ and 225; Paragraph 0078) entirely located in the first light-emitting region (Item PA2) and a top-emitting light-emitting unit (Combination of Items 221, 223 and 224; Paragraph 0075) entirely located in the second light-emitting region (Item PA1); where the display substrate further comprises a plurality of repeating units distributed in array; the repeating unit comprises the first light emitting region (Item PA2), the second light emitting region (Item PA1) and the transparent region (Item TA); wherein an orthographic projection of the top emitting light emitting unit on the base substrate covers (Fig. 5 where the pixel circuitry is present under the top light emitting region) an orthographic projection of the driving unit on the base substrate.
Chung does not teach where the display substrate further comprises: a first color film part located between the base substrate and the light-emitting member and in the first light-emitting region, where the first driving unit is located between the first color film part and the base substrate.
Fig. 5 of Choi teaches a bottom-emitting light- emitting unit (Combination of Items PR, PG, PB and PW) comprises a plurality of auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices emitting white light (Paragraph 0038); and the display substrate further comprises: a first color film part (Item 900) located between a base substrate (Item 1010) and a light-emitting member (Combination of Items 700, 800 and 600) and in the first light-emitting region, and the first color film part comprises a plurality of first color filters (Items R, G, B and W) which are in one-to-one correspondence with the auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices, where a driving unit (Item 1061) is located between the first color film part (Item 900) and the base substrate (Item 1010).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display substrate further comprise: a first color film part located between the base substrate and the light-emitting member and in the first light-emitting region, where the first driving unit is located between the first color film part and the base substrate because this structure is known to result in improved luminance and light efficiency (Choi Paragraph 0009).
Chung does not explicitly teach where the display substrate further comprises a first driving unit located between the base substrate and the light emitting member, and a second driving unit between the base substrate and the light emitting member; where an entirety of the first driving unit is arranged in the first light emitting region and an entirety of the second driving unit is arranged in the second light emitting region; an orthographic projection of first driving unit on the base substrate does not coincide with an orthographic projection of the bottom emitting light emitting unit on the base substrate.
Figs. 2 of Nie teaches a display substrate further comprises a first driving unit (Item T2) located between a base substrate (Item 3) and a bottom light emitting member (Item D’), and a second driving unit (Item T1) between the base substrate (Item 3) and a top light emitting member (Item D); where an entirety of the first driving unit (Item T2) is arranged in a first light emitting region and an entirety of the second driving unit (Item T1) is arranged in a second light emitting region; an orthographic projection of first driving unit (Item T2) on the base substrate does not coincide with an orthographic projection of the bottom emitting light emitting unit (Item D') on the base substrate; an orthographic projection of the top light emitting member (Item D) on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the second driving unit on the base substrate (Item T1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display substrate further comprise a first driving unit located between the base substrate and the light emitting member, and a second driving unit between the base substrate and the light emitting member; where an entirety of the first driving unit is arranged in the first light emitting region and an entirety of the second driving unit is arranged in the second light emitting region; an orthographic projection of first driving unit on the base substrate does not coincide with an orthographic projection of the bottom emitting light emitting unit on the base substrate because this allows the top and bottom light emitting units to receive two different signals such that the top and bottom light emitting units can be operated as desired (Nie Paragraph 0065) and the first drive transistor not coinciding with the bottom light emitting unit allows for the light being emitted from the bottom light emitting unit to travel through the display more efficiently (Nie Paragraph 0054).
Claims 1 and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Song et al. (US 2016/0233282) hereinafter “Song” in view of Choi et al. (US 2004/0195963) hereinafter “Choi” and in further view of Nie (US 2019/0013377) hereinafter “Nie”.
Regarding claim 1, Fig 10 of Song teaches a display substrate, comprising: a base substrate (Item 10), having a first light-emitting region (See Picture 3 below; See Examiner’s Note 2 below), a second light-emitting region (See Picture 3 below) and a transparent region (See Picture 3 below), wherein an orthographic projection of the transparent region on the base substrate does not overlap an orthographic projection of the first light-emitting region on the base substrate and an orthographic projection of the second light-emitting region on the base substrate; and a light-emitting member, located on a side of the base substrate (Item 10) and comprising a bottom- emitting light-emitting unit (Combination of Items 221b, 223b, portions of 225b and 229 over Item 223b) entirely located in the first light-emitting region and a top-emitting light- emitting unit (Combination of Items 221a, 223a, portions of 225a and 227 over Item 223a) entirely located in the second light-emitting region; wherein the display substrate further comprises a first driving unit (Item TR2) located between the base substrate (Item 10) and the light emitting member, and a second driving unit (Item TR1) between the base substrate (Item 1) and the light emitting member, where an entirety of the first driving unit (Item TR2) is arranged in the first light emitting region and an entirety of the second driving unit (Item TR1) is arranged in the second light emitting region; where the display substrate further comprises a plurality of repeating units distributed in array; the repeating unit comprises the first light emitting region, the second light emitting region and the transparent region (See Picture 3 below; See also Fig. 1 where the repeating units would be arrayed along the border between Items A1 and A2); where an orthographic projection of the top emitting light emitting unit (Combination of Items 221a, 223a, portions of 225a and 227 over Item 223a) on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the second driving unit (Item TR1) on the base substrate (Item 10).
Song does not teach where the display substrate further comprises a first color film part between the base substrate and the light emitting member and the first light emitting region, where the first driving unit is located between the first color film part and the base substrate.
Fig. 5 of Choi teaches a bottom-emitting light- emitting unit (Combination of Items PR, PG, PB and PW) comprises a plurality of auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices emitting white light (Paragraph 0038); and the display substrate further comprises: a first color film part (Item 900) located between a base substrate (Item 1010) and a light-emitting member (Combination of Items 700, 800 and 600) and in the first light-emitting region, and the first color film part comprises a plurality of first color filters (Items R, G, B and W) which are in one-to-one correspondence with the auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices, where a driving unit (Item 1061) is located between the first color film part (Item 900) and the base substrate (Item 1010).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the display substrate further comprise: a first color film part located between the base substrate and the light-emitting member and in the first light-emitting region, where the first driving unit is located between the first color film part and the base substrate because this structure is known to result in improved luminance and light efficiency (Choi Paragraph 0009).
Song does not teach where an orthographic projection of the first driving unit on the base substrate does not coincide with an orthographic projection of the bottom emitting light emitting unit on the base substrate.
Figs. 2 of Nie teaches a display substrate further comprises a first driving unit (Item T2) located between a base substrate (Item 3) and a bottom light emitting member (Item D’), and a second driving unit (Item T1) between the base substrate (Item 3) and a top light emitting member (Item D); where an entirety of the first driving unit (Item T2) is arranged in a first light emitting region; an orthographic projection of first driving unit (Item T2) on the base substrate does not coincide with an orthographic projection of the bottom emitting light emitting unit (Item D') on the base substrate; an orthographic projection of the top light emitting member (Item D) on the base substrate covers an orthographic projection of the second driving unit on the base substrate (Item T1).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have where an orthographic projection of the first driving unit on the base substrate does not coincide with an orthographic projection of the bottom emitting light emitting unit on the base substrate because the first drive transistor not coinciding with the bottom light emitting unit allows for the light being emitted from the bottom light emitting unit to travel through the display more efficiently (Nie Paragraph 0054).
Examiner’s Note 2: The Examiner notes that the language of the claim does not specifically define the metes and bounds of what is the first light emitting region and the second light emitting region. Therefore, the Examiner may interpret any region of the display that emits light as being the respective first or second light emitting region even if a single light emitting region includes parts of more than one light emitting unit.
Picture 3 (Labeled version of Song Fig. 10)
Regarding claim 15, Figs. 5-10 of Song (when combined with Choi and Nie as stated in the rejection of claim 1 above) teach a fabrication method of the display substrate according to claim 1 (For purposes of brevity the rejection of claim 1 will not be repeated here; See rejection of claim 1 above), comprising: providing the base substrate (Item 10), wherein the base substrate (Item 10) has the first light-emitting region, the second light-emitting region and the transparent region; forming a plurality of bottom-emitting transparent anodes (Item 221b) of a plurality of auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices in the first light-emitting region on the side of the base substrate (Item 10) through a first one-time patterning process; forming a plurality of top-emitting reflective anodes (Item 221a) of a plurality of auxiliary top-emitting devices in the second light-emitting region on the side of the base substrate (Item 10) through a second one-time patterning process; forming a plurality of bottom-emitting light-emitting layers (Item 223b) of the plurality of auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices and a plurality of top-emitting light-emitting layers (Item 223a) of the plurality of auxiliary top-emitting devices on one sides of the bottom-emitting transparent anodes away from the base substrate (Item 10) through a third one-time patterning process; forming a plurality of bottom-emitting reflective cathodes (Item 229) of the plurality of auxiliary bottom light-emitting devices in the first light-emitting region on one sides of the bottom- emitting light-emitting layers (Item 223b) away from the bottom-emitting transparent anodes (Item 221b) through a fourth one-time patterning process; and forming a plurality of top-emitting transparent cathodes (Item 225a) of the plurality of auxiliary top- emitting devices in the second light-emitting region on one sides of the top-emitting light- emitting layers away from the top-emitting reflective anodes (Item 221a) through fifth a one-time patterning process.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant’s REMARKS, filed 007/01/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1 and 14 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Nie.
Examiner’s Note: The Examiner notes that while the overall combination of references previously relied upon to reject previous claims 1 and 14 does not read on amended claims 1 and 14, the Examiner does not agree with all of the Applicant’s specific agreements with regard to the references. Firstly, the Applicant argued that none of Chuang, Choi Nie, Liu, Song and Zhu fail to disclose “the display substrate further comprises a plurality of repeating units distributed in array; the repeating unit comprises the first light emitting region, the second light emitting region and the transparent region. The Examiner disagrees. Both Chuang and Song teach arrays of the three regions, Chuang throughout the entire display and Song along the border between top emission and bottom emission regions of the display device. Secondly, the Applicant argues that Chuang does not teach where the top emitting light emitting unit covers a driving TFT. The Examiner disagrees. Chuang teaches where the driving TFT T1 is included in the pixel circuit and Fig. 5 of Chuang teaches where the top emitting light emitting unit covers the pixel circuit, not just T3 and T4, which are shown in merely one cross section of Fig. 5. In the plan view of Fig. 5, the entire pixel circuit (which includes the driving TFT) is covered by the top emitting light emitting unit. Lastly, the Applicant argues at length about the references failure to teach a top gate transistor and a bottom gate transistor. However, no where in the claim language are a top gate transistor and a bottom gate transistor required. Instead, the claim language is directed to a top emission light emitting unit and a bottom emission light emitting unit which are taught by the references. As such, the Applicant’s specific arguments concerning these three issues are not persuasive.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ERIC K ASHBAHIAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2891