DETAILED ACTION
This is a response to applicant’s amendment filed on February 3, 2026. Claims 71, 73, 75-76, 78, 82 and 84-88 have been amended. Claims 72, 74, 77, 79-81, 83 and 89 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 71, 73, 75-76, 78, 82 and 84-88 are pending in the application.
Response to Amendment
Objection to claims 71, 76 and 88 have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Objection to claims 77 and 89 have been withdrawn in view of cancellation of claims 77 and 89.
Claim interpretations under 35 USC 112(f) have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) of Claims 71, 73, 75-76, 78, 82 and 84-88 have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments.
Rejections under 35 USC § 112(b) of Claims 72, 74, 77, 79-81, 83 and 89 have been withdrawn in view of cancellation of claims 72, 74, 77, 79-81, 83 and 89.
Rejections under 35 USC § 103 of Claims 71, 73, 75-76, 78, 82 and 84-87 have been withdrawn in view of applicant’s amendments. However, upon further search and consideration, new grounds of rejection have been made.
Rejections under 35 USC § 103 of Claims 72, 74, 77, 79-81, 83 and 89 have been withdrawn in view of cancellation of claims 72, 74, 77, 79-81, 83 and 89.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 75 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 75 recites: “…wherein a clean water tank is in fluid communication with a pump, the pump configured to pump clean water into a solar heating system for heating prior to receipt by the body processing chamber.” This limitation is considered indefinite because it is unclear as to what applicant refers to. Is the clean water tank an additional water tank different from the first water tank for holding water as claimed in claim 1 or is it the same one?
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 71, 73, 75-76, 82, and 84-86 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2013/0178687, hereinafter Wilson) in view of Aboud et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2018/0327295, hereinafter Aboud).
In regards to Claim 71, Wilson discloses a body processing apparatus for treating a dead human body, the body processing apparatus (#10) comprising:
a first water tank for holding water (spray bar #21 injects water into vessel #12). Although there is no clear disclosure of the water source being a first water tank for holding water, having the water to come from a water source such as a water tank is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, since it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain water from any reasonable water source, such as a water tank for holding water, as this is a mere engineering design choice, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.) (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0039], [0051] and [0053]);
a body processing chamber (#12 vessel), for processing a body (human cadaver) by alkaline hydrolysis, the body processing chamber (#12) adapted to receive the body, and in fluid connection with the first water tank, able to receive water therefrom (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0039], [0042] and [0053]; Wilson discloses that water is introduced into the interior volume of the vessel through conventional means, such as interior piping and/or a spray bar #21. In view of this, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the body processing chamber #12 is reasonably in communication with the first water tank and able to receive water therefrom, as claimed by the applicant.);
an additive comprising an alkaline compound (potassium hydroxide or sodium hydroxide), the additive being present in the body processing chamber such that the water in the body processing chamber is alkaline (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0050] and [0054]; Wilson discloses that digestive chemical, for example dry alkali flake, may then be introduced into the interior of vessel #12 in powder form inserted through the open end of the upper basket portion #14a. A suitable alkali is 90% anhydrous potassium hydroxide (KOH) or a liquid 45% solution. In one embodiment, hot water is introduced so that it rinses all alkali from the interior side of door #16 and flushes the alkali down to the bottom of the vessel #12. It is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the water in the body processing chamber is alkaline, as claimed by the applicant.);
a tilt mechanism (#18, #20 #22) coupled to the body processing chamber (#12) and configured to selectively raise or lower an end of the body processing chamber (#12) (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0005]-[0006], [0040] and [0051]; Wilson discloses that vessel #12 is supported upon a support member, such as frame #18, and pivots or tilts with respect to the support member and may be moved into a tilted position by way of gear box #20, which may be electric-powered or operated manually via turn handle #22.);
A drain or discharge valve (#12a’) for removing liquid from vessel (#12) is provided in closed end (#12a) of the vessel (#12). Once the digestive cycle has been completed, the liquid (nutrient and water solution) within vessel (#12) can be drained through drain (#12a’) (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0052] and [0059]); and
wherein the body processing apparatus (#10) is configured such that water from the first water tank is supplied to the body processing chamber for alkaline hydrolysis processing (see figure 2 and paragraphs [0039], [0042], [0050]-[0054]; Although there is no clear disclosure of the water source being a first water tank for holding water, having the water to come from a water source such as a water tank is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, since it is obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art to obtain water from any reasonable water source, such as a water tank for holding water, as this is a mere engineering design choice, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.).
Wilson fails to disclose:
a second water tank in fluid connection with the body processing chamber and configured to receive water from the body processing chamber, the water received in the second water tank being a nutrient and water solution;
a water cleaning system in fluid connection with the second water tank, the water cleaning system configured to separate nutrients from the water and comprising a physical filtration system to filter the water prior to recycling or recirculation; and
water from the body processing chamber is transferred to the second water tank, and water from the second water tank is treated by the water cleaning system to separate nutrients from the water prior to recycling or recirculation.
However, Aboud teaches a water treatment system including a primary tank configured to receive wastewater containing biological contaminants. The water treatment system (#100) comprises an influent storage tank (#105), i.e. first water tank holding water, and a primary tank (#115), i.e. body processing chamber for processing the wastewater containing biological contaminants (e.g. dead human body tissue), wherein the primary tank (#115) also includes a base dosing system, such as a KOH dosing system (#140) used to adjust pH level in the primary tank (#115) which aid in the removal of non-soluble organic solids and liquid in the primary tank (#115) (see figures 1-2 and paragraphs [0024]-[0025] and [0029]). The waste treatment system further comprises a secondary tank (#155), i.e. second water tank for receiving water from the body processing chamber, which receives wastewater after it has passed through the primary tank (#115). After passing through the secondary tank (#115), wastewater enters a series of bag filters (#160), for efficiently removing particles larger than the pore size of the filters, a tertiary tank (#170) for pathogen elimination, and further to additional bag filters (#180) and microfilter (#185), for removing particles of smaller sizes such as micron sized particles. The through-flow stream of wastewater is recirculated back into a tertiary tank (#170) via a recirculation line (#187) after passing through the microfilter (#185) (see paragraphs [0032]-[0033] and [0037]-[0038]). This is considered equivalent to a second water tank in fluid connection with the body processing chamber and configured to receive water from the body processing chamber, the water received in the second water tank being a nutrient and water solution, a water cleaning system in fluid connection with the second water tank, the water cleaning system configured to separate nutrients from the water and comprising a physical filtration system to filter the water prior to recycling or recirculation, and water from the body processing chamber is transferred to the second water tank, and water from the second water tank is treated by the water cleaning system to separate nutrients from the water prior to recycling or recirculation, as claimed by the applicant.
Since Wilson discloses a drain or discharge valve for removing liquid from vessel is provided in closed end of the vessel, and once the digestive cycle has been completed, the liquid (nutrient and water solution) within vessel can be drained through drain, it would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the body processing apparatus as disclosed by Wilson by a second water tank in fluid connection with the body processing chamber and configured to receive water from the body processing chamber, the water received in the second water tank being a nutrient and water solution, a water cleaning system in fluid connection with the second water tank, the water cleaning system configured to separate nutrients from the water and comprising a physical filtration system to filter the water prior to recycling or recirculation, and water from the body processing chamber is transferred to the second water tank, and water from the second water tank is treated by the water cleaning system to separate nutrients from the water prior to recycling or recirculation, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Aboud teaches a water treatment system comprising an influent storage tank, i.e. first water tank holding water, and a primary tank, i.e. body processing chamber for processing the wastewater containing biological contaminants (e.g. dead human body tissue), wherein the primary tank also includes a base dosing system, such as a KOH dosing system used to adjust pH level in the primary tank which aid in the removal of non-soluble organic solids and liquid in the primary tank, wherein the waste treatment system further comprises a secondary tank, i.e. second water tank for receiving water from the body processing chamber, which receives wastewater after it has passed through the primary tank, and after passing through the secondary tank, wastewater enters a series of bag filters, for efficiently removing particles larger than the pore size of the filters, a tertiary tank for pathogen elimination, and further to additional bag filters and microfilter, for removing particles of smaller sizes such as micron sized particles and the through-flow stream of wastewater is recirculated back into a tertiary tank via a recirculation line after passing through the microfilter, thereby obtaining a system having improved water cleaning strategies for reusing the water and hence, obtaining improved economic savings (see paragraphs [0032]-[0033] and [0037]-[0038]).
In regards to Claim 73, Wilson discloses that any human cadaver or animal tissue tends to reduce the temperature of the water initially, and therefore, the temperature of the hot water introduced into the vessel (#12) is at 150ºF (see paragraph [0055]). Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that a water heater is necessary to introduce the hot water at a temperature of 150ºF into the vessel.
Examiner notes that although Wilson does not explicitly teach a solar water heater system to provide and configured to increase the temperature of the water received by the body processing chamber, substituting a known water heater system for another known water heater system, such as a solar water heater system, as claimed by the applicant, is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end-result, such as for saving money on electric bill utilities and lowering CO2 emissions and aligning with green burial practices, as it is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
In regards to Claim 75, Wilson discloses that any human cadaver or animal tissue tends to reduce the temperature of the water initially, and therefore, the temperature of the hot water introduced into the vessel (#12) is at 150ºF (see paragraph [0055]). Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that a water heater is necessary to introduce the hot water at a temperature of 150ºF into the vessel.
Examiner notes that although Wilson does not explicitly teach a pump connected to the first water tank to pump clean water to the heating system, it is considered prima facie obvious to include a pump and connect it to the first water tank to pump the clean water to the heating system, in order to maintain a proper flow of water and/or adjust the flow of clean water to the heating system to further maintain efficiency in the body processing process, absent evidence to the contrary.
In regards to Claim 76, Wilson discloses wherein the additive comprises potassium hydroxide (see paragraph [0050]).
In regards to Claim 82, Wilson, in view of Aboud, discloses the body processing apparatus as recited in claim 71. Aboud further teaches wherein the water cleaning system comprises a bag filtration system configured to remove nutrients from the water (see figures 1 and 4 and paragraphs [0032]-[0033]; Aboud teaches that after passing through the secondary tank (#115), wastewater enters a series of bag filters (#160), for efficiently removing particles larger than the pore size of the filters, a tertiary tank (#170) for pathogen elimination, and further to additional bag filters (#180) and microfilter (#185), for removing particles of smaller sizes such as micron sized particles. The through-flow stream of wastewater is recirculated back into a tertiary tank (#170) via a recirculation line (#187) after passing through the microfilter (#185). This is considered equivalent to wherein the water cleaning system comprises a bag filtration system configured to remove nutrients from the water, as claimed by the applicant.).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the body processing apparatus as disclosed by Wilson, by further having the water cleaning system to further comprise a bag filtration system configured to remove nutrients from the water, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Aboud teaches a water treatment system comprising an influent storage tank, i.e. first water tank holding water, and a primary tank, i.e. body processing chamber for processing the wastewater containing biological contaminants (e.g. dead human body tissue), wherein the primary tank also includes a base dosing system, such as a KOH dosing system used to adjust pH level in the primary tank which aid in the removal of non-soluble organic solids and liquid in the primary tank, wherein the waste treatment system further comprises a secondary tank, i.e. second water tank for receiving water from the body processing chamber, which receives wastewater after it has passed through the primary tank, and after passing through the secondary tank, wastewater enters a series of bag filters, for efficiently removing particles larger than the pore size of the filters, a tertiary tank for pathogen elimination, and further to additional bag filters and microfilter, for removing particles of smaller sizes such as micron sized, thereby obtaining a system having improved nutrient and particle removal efficiency (see paragraphs [0032]-[0033] and [0037]-[0038]).
In regards to Claim 84, Wilson, in view of Aboud, discloses the body processing apparatus as recited in claim 71. Aboud further teaches wherein the water cleaning system is further configured to reduce alkalinity of water (see figure 4 and paragraphs [0044]-[0045]; Aboud teaches the water treatment system includes a backwash system (#210) for implementing a cleaning process in microfilters and nanofilters to maintain proper function. The backwash system #210 includes acid tank #215, fresh water tank #220, base tank #225, and pumps (not shown). Acid tank #215 holds an acid solution, base tank #225 holds a base solution, and fresh water tank #220 holds clean (treated) water. A backwash cleaning procedure begins by isolating the filter or filters from the process, depressurizing the filters and draining them. Next, the acid solution in tank #215 is pumped through the filters in a direction opposite to the normal process direction. The solution is permitted to dwell within the filters for a set time. After the acid solution passes through the filters, it is drained to backwash tank #235 and then to basket strainer #240. Backwash tank #235 aids in further settling backwash water, so that the contaminants and pollutants fall to the bottom of the tank and move on to basket strainer #240. The filters are then backflushed with clean (treated) water from fresh water tank #220, and the clean water is permitted to dwell within the filters for a set time. After this step, the filters are backflushed with a base solution from base tank #225, and the base solution is permitted to dwell within the filters for a set time. Next, the filters are again backflushed with clean (treated) water from fresh water tank #220 and permitted to dwell for a set time. After the cleaning process is complete, the dirty water and settled contaminants in backwash tank #235 are pumped to the discharge drum #130. After the contaminants have settled at the bottom of backwash tank #235, the remaining water is pumped to the primary tank #115 to be passed through the wastewater treatment system #100 again. The filters are then re-connected to the main treatment process and the main treatment process continues. In view of this, it is considered reasonably obvious that the water cleaning system is further configured to reduce alkalinity of the water, as claimed by the applicant.).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the body processing apparatus as disclosed by Wilson, by further having the water cleaning system to be further configured to reduce alkalinity of the water, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Aboud teaches the water treatment system includes a backwash system for implementing a cleaning process in microfilters and nanofilters to maintain proper function, wherein the backwash system includes acid tank, fresh water tank, base tank, and pumps, whereby the acid tank holds an acid solution, base tank holds a base solution, and fresh water tank holds clean (treated) water, and a backwash cleaning procedure begins by isolating the filter or filters from the process, depressurizing the filters and draining them, and treating them so that the contaminants and pollutants fall to the bottom of the tank and are removed from the filters and then re-connected to the main treatment process and the main treatment process continues (see figure 4 and paragraphs [0044]-[0045]).
In regards to Claim 85, Wilson, in view of Aboud, discloses the body processing apparatus as recited in claim 71. Aboud further teaches a recycling pipe configured to convey water from the water cleaning system to the first water tank for further use (see paragraph [0042]; Aboud teaches wherein a portion of the influent water passes through nanofilters (#190), which is a membrane separator, and exits as a clean “permeate” or clean product water. Product water passes to water holding tanks #200 or to other apparatus for other uses. Although Aboud does not explicitly disclose wherein the recycling pipe conveys water from the water cleaning system to the first water tank for further use, Aboud clearly teaches that the product water is passed to holding tanks #200 or to other apparatus for other uses. Therefore, it is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, to recycle the water to the first water tank for further use, in order to reuse the water in the body processing vessel and thereby save money by minimizing the use of water from outside sources.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the body processing apparatus as disclosed by Wilson, by further including a recycling pipe configured to convey water from the water cleaning system to the first water tank for further use, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Aboud teaches a water treatment system comprising an influent storage tank, i.e. first water tank holding water, and a primary tank, i.e. body processing chamber for processing the wastewater containing biological contaminants (e.g. dead human body tissue), wherein the primary tank also includes a base dosing system, such as a KOH dosing system used to adjust pH level in the primary tank which aid in the removal of non-soluble organic solids and liquid in the primary tank, wherein the waste treatment system further comprises a secondary tank, i.e. second water tank for receiving water from the body processing chamber, which receives wastewater after it has passed through the primary tank, and after passing through the secondary tank, wastewater enters a series of bag filters, for efficiently removing particles larger than the pore size of the filters, a tertiary tank for pathogen elimination, and further to additional bag filters and microfilter, for removing particles of smaller sizes such as micron sized, and then further to a quaternary tank, and a booster pump passes the water to nanofilters to remove pollutant particles in the nanometer scale and the influent water passing through the nanofilters exit as clean “permeate” or product water and the product water passes to product water holding tanks or to other apparatus for other uses, thereby obtaining a system that can thoroughly clean its water, thereby saving money on external water sources (see paragraphs [0032]-[0033], [0037]-[0038] and [0041]-[0042]).
In regards to Claim 86, Wilson discloses further comprising one or more heating elements (#30 electric or steam coils) configured to heat the water in the body processing chamber (see figure 6 and paragraph [0056]).
Claims 78 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, in view of Aboud, and further in view of Ross et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0306643, hereinafter Ross)
In regards to Claim 78, Wilson, in view of Aboud, discloses the body processing apparatus as recited in claim 71, but fails to disclose further comprising a food acid, the food acid being present in the second water tank such that the alkalinity of the water in the second water tank is decreased as compared to the alkalinity of the water in the body processing chamber.
However, Ross teaches an apparatus decomposing a body of a deceased person by alkaline hydrolysis, the apparatus comprises a primary processing vessel (#12) for receiving a human body (#15) for treatment, injectors (#23) for injecting water from a water source into the primary vessel (#12), an additive comprising an alkaline compound is added to the primary vessel (#12) to make the water alkaline in the primary vessel (#12), and a secondary processing vessel (#40), i.e. second water tank, arranged to receive liquid (nutrient and water solution) from the primary vessel (#12) after a first part of the treatment has been completed in the primary vessel (#12) (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0028]-[0033).
Ross further teaches wherein in the second vessel #40 the pH of liquid can then be adjusted to a desirable level so that it may be cooled and properly disposed as into a sanitary sewer, or otherwise. For example, by introducing CO2 gas or liquid into the liquid, the pH of the liquid may be lowered. However, other methods of pH adjustment may be used. An example is using mineral acids (see paragraph [0026]). It is considered reasonably obvious, absent evidence to the contrary, that the acid in the second water tank will reasonably decrease the alkalinity of the water in the second water tank as compared to the alkalinity of water in the body processing chamber, as claimed by the applicant.
Examiner notes that although Ross is silent in regards to use of food acid instead of mineral acid for lowering the pH, changing a known type of acid for another known type of acid, such as using food acid, is a mere engineering design choice in order to obtain a desired end result, and is considered prima facie obvious, absent evidence to the criticality or new or unexpected results. See MPEP 2144.04.
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the body processing apparatus as disclosed by Wilson, in view of Aboud, by further comprising a food acid, the food acid being present in the second water tank such that the alkalinity of the water in the second water tank is decreased as compared to the alkalinity of the water in the body processing chamber, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Ross teaches an apparatus decomposing a body of a deceased person by alkaline hydrolysis comprising a primary processing vessel for receiving a human body for treatment, injectors for injecting water from a water source into the primary vessel, an additive comprising an alkaline compound is added to the primary vessel to make the water alkaline in the primary vessel, and a secondary processing vessel, i.e. second water tank, arranged to receive liquid (nutrient and water solution) from the primary vessel after a first part of the treatment has been completed in the primary vessel, wherein in the second vessel the pH of liquid can then be adjusted to a desirable level so that it may be cooled and properly disposed as into a sanitary sewer or otherwise (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0026] and [0028]-[0033).
Claim 87 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wilson, in view of Aboud, and further in view of Sullivan, A. (US Pat. Pub. No. 2011/0130612, hereinafter Sullivan).
In regards to Claim 87, Wilson, in view of Aboud, discloses the body processing apparatus as recited in claim 71, but fails to disclose wherein a water-soluble body bag is used to contain the body before processing.
However, Sullivan teaches an alkaline hydrolysis unit and method of using the same to dispose a cadaver. There is provided a coffin for use in an alkaline hydrolysis process, the coffin comprising a dissolvable receptacle for a cadaver, the dissolvable receptacle being dissolvable in the alkaline hydrolysis process. By “coffin”, it is means to mean any receptacle adapted to receive a cadaver, which may encompass cadaver receptacles such as bags and rigid/flexible containers, and substantially all of the dissolvable receptacle is decomposable in the alkaline hydrolysis process, together with the cadaver (see paragraphs [0001] and [0006]-[0008]). The coffin may comprise a flexible bag and may be made of a dissolvable starch based biopolymer, or may be bags made of silk or wool or other dissolvable materials (see paragraph [0020]). A cadaver is placed inside the coffin comprising the flexible bag with dissolvable material is placed in an alkaline hydrolysis unit to break down the cadaver into a fluid component and a bone residue component and to dissolve the dissolvable bag of the coffin by alkaline hydrolysis (see paragraphs [0054]-[0058]).
It would have been obvious by one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the applicant’s invention to modify the body processing apparatus as disclosed by Wilson, in view of Aboud, by including a water-soluble bag used to contain the body before processing, as claimed by the applicant, with a reasonable expectation of success, as Sullivan teaches an alkaline hydrolysis unit and method of using the same to dispose a cadaver, wherein a coffin for use in an alkaline hydrolysis process comprises a dissolvable receptacle for a cadaver, wherein by “coffin”, it is meant to include any receptacle adapted to receive a cadaver, which may encompass cadaver receptacles such as bags and rigid/flexible containers, and substantially all of the dissolvable receptacle is decomposable in the alkaline hydrolysis process, together with the cadaver, whereby the coffin may comprise a flexible bag and may be made of a dissolvable starch based biopolymer, or may be bags made of silk or wool or other dissolvable materials, and a cadaver is placed inside the coffin comprising the flexible bag with dissolvable material is placed in an alkaline hydrolysis unit to break down the cadaver into a fluid component and a bone residue component and to dissolve the dissolvable bag of the coffin by alkaline hydrolysis, thereby making the process more time-efficient since there is no need to clean and return any parts of the coffin for future use and allows more rapid emptying and cleaning of the alkaline hydrolysis unit (see paragraph [0014]).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 88 is allowed.
Reasons for Allowance
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In regards to Claim 88, Ross et al. (US Pat. Pub. No. US Pat. Pub. No. 2015/0306643)-which is considered the closest prior art of record, discloses a body processing apparatus for treating a dead human body, the body processing apparatus comprising:
a clean water tank (injector #23 for spraying water into the vessel #12 from a water source) for holding water (see figure 1 and paragraph [0033]; since Ross discloses water is sprayed through injector #23, it is considered reasonably obvious, that a water tank is reasonably present for holding the water to be sprayed by injectors #23.);
a body processing chamber (#12) comprising a heater (#27) and adapted to receive a body in a basket (bone shadow reclamation basket) for processing by alkaline hydrolysis, the body processing chamber (#12) (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0023] and [0034]),
an additive comprising potassium hydroxide, the additive being present in the body processing chamber (#12) such that water is in the body processing chamber is alkaline (see figure 1 and paragraphs [0022]-[0023]),
a second water tank (#40) in fluid communication with the body processing chamber (#12) and configured to receive water from the body processing chamber (#12) (see figure 1 and paragraph [0041]).
The differences between Ross and the instant inventio is that Ross fails to disclose: (1) a second water tank for holding water, the second water tank being a rain water tank, (2) a solar heating system in fluid connection with the clean water tank and configured to heat water received therefrom, (3) the body processing chamber being in fluid communication with the solar water heating system, and configured to receive heated water therefrom, (4) a water cleaning system, in fluid communication with the second water tank, the water cleaning system comprising at least one physical filtration unit configured to clean the water, (5) a recycling pipe configured to convey water from the water cleaning system to the clean water tank, and (6) wherein, the body processing apparatus is configured such that water from the clean water tank is heated by the solar water heating system and supplied to the body processing chamber for alkaline hydrolysis processing, water from the body processing chamber is transferred to the second water tank, and water from the second water tank is conveyed to the water cleaning system and returned to the clean water tank for reuse.
Applicant discloses on paragraphs [0058]-[0065] of published specification that: “Accordingly, the present invention provides in a variant, a body processing apparatus for treating a dead body, the body processing apparatus including: two first water tanks for holding water, one being a rain water tank and one being a clean water tank; a solar water heating system that receives clean water from the clean water tank and heats it, a body processing chamber including a heating means, the body processing chamber adapted to receive the dead body in a basket, and in fluid connection with the first clean water tank water from the solar heating system, able to receive clean heated water therefrom; an additive treatment means, whereby necessary Potassium Hydroxide may be added to the body processing chamber to increase the alkalinity of the water before processing, and food acid may be added to the water after body processing to increase the acidity and return the pH of the water to substantially neutral; at least one second water tank for receiving water from the body processing chamber, through a fluid connection therewith; a water cleaning system, in fluid connection with the second water tank, including at least one physical filtration unit and a UV treatment unit to substantially clean the water; and a recycling pipe to take clean water from the water cleaning system to be used in the clean water tank, wherein, the body is placed within the body treatment chamber with the Potassium Hydroxide, and hot water enters from the first water tank, and the hot water is kept heated so processing occurs until the body breaks down, food acid is added to return the water to substantially neutral before the water is drained to the second water tank and enters the water cleaning system for cleaning, and once cleaned is returned to the clean water tank for reuse.”
Applicant further discloses on paragraph [0083] of published specification that: “Referring to FIGS. 1 to 5, a preferred embodiment of the invention will be described, where body processing system 1, includes rain water tank 10, clean water tank 12 and valve control 14, which includes 2 valves and a handle to operate. Rain water tank 10 is adapted to collect rain water, such as from a roof, or direct into the tank as shown through use of rain catching system 16. Clean water from the tap could be used, or any other water source. In fact both of these tanks could be omitted in an inferior form of the invention, and mains water could be used, and the clean water resulting from the system could be used elsewhere. However, it is of particular use to include a rain water tank in the system as it adds to the overall recycling, recirculation, and environmentally friendly nature of the process. Further, inclusion of clean water tank 12 enables recycled clean water from the system to be used for future processing, reducing the resources required to run the system, an environmental and cost benefit, in keeping with the intended business model of the inventor. Rain water can be controlled between rain water tank 10 and clean water tank 12 through use of valve control 14 directly manually or by computer control thorough the control panel. As is described elsewhere, the system produces water itself such that the rain water may only be needed to be used initially, or top up clean water tank 12 as required. Use of sparkling clean recycled water, derived from the body from the body processing in the chamber, then cleaned for further processing is one of many advantages to the system.”
Applicant further discloses on paragraph [0088] of published specification that: “Solar water heating system 27 is used, and may be mounted on the same roof as the roof collection part for rain water tank 10. Solar water heating system 27 as illustrated is a SOLARHART (Trade Mark) system which heats water mounted on a roof through use of the sun and has a storage tank. The 150 litres of heated water, heated through use of solar water heating system 27, is for use in body processing to specifically save the cost to the environment, and the expense of heating the water. Heating water uses a significant amount of power and electric cost, and so warming or heating the water through use of solar heating as part of the system is highly advantageous.”
There is no reason, motivation or suggestion in Ross, alone or in combination, which would motivate one of ordinary skill in the art to have a body processing apparatus with the above configuration, as claimed by the applicant, in order to arrive at the claimed invention. For this reason, the claim 88 is considered allowable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to Ross and Aboud have been considered but are moot because Ross and Aboud are now used under a different interpretation.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JELITZA M PEREZ/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1774