DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant's election with traverse of Group I in the reply filed on 9/9/2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the grounds that the subject matter of all claims is sufficiently related and that there not a serious search burden. Applicants cite MPEP §803 when making this argument. This is not found persuasive because it is noted MPEP §803 deals with applications filed under 35 USC 111(a), and the instant application is a national stage application filed under 35 USC 371, subject to unity of invention analysis regarding restrictions. Unity of invention has not been addressed (or rebutted) by the Applicant’s arguments submitted 9/9/2025.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 9-14, and 16-19are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and (a)(2) as being anticipated by Harper et al. (US 2016/0141669).
Regarding claim 1, Harper et al. discloses in Figs 1-3, a valve structure (ref 7) comprising: a passage (ref 6) communicating an inside (“inside”, Fig 2 below) of a container (“container”, Fig 2 below) housing a power storage device element (refs 3, 4, 5) with outside (ref 2); and a liquid reservoir part (ref 16) located inside (Fig 2) the passage (ref 6) and storing a liquid (ref 14) through which gas generated ([0036]) by the power storage device element (refs 3, 4, 5) is permeable ([0036]).
Regarding claim 2, Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the passage (ref 6) includes an opening (ref 17) that discharges the gas ([0037]) to outside (ref 2) the container (“container”, Fig 2 above), and the liquid reservoir part (ref 16) is located toward the inside (“inside”, Fig 2 above) of the container (“container”, Fig 2 above), away from (Fig 2) the opening (ref 17).
Regarding claims 3 and 14, Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a valve outer body ([0036], pipeline itself) inside which the passage (ref 6) is formed, wherein the valve outer body ([0036], pipeline) includes an attachment part (“AP”, Fig 2 above) configured to be fixed (Fig 2) to the container (“container”, Fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 4, Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the valve outer body ([0036], pipeline itself) further includes a tubular part (all of pipes of ref 16, 12) joined to the attachment part (“AP”, Fig 2 above) and disposed outside (Fig 2) the container (“container”, Fig 2 above), the tubular part (all of pipes refs 16, 12) includes a curved portion (ref 12, Fig 2), and the liquid reservoir part (ref 16) is located in the curved portion (ref 2, Fig 2).
Regarding claim 5, Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the valve outer body ([0036], pipeline itself) further includes a tubular part (“pipes”, Fig 2 above) joined to the attachment part (“AP”, Fig 2 above) and a casing (outer structure of ref 7, Fig 2) into which the tubular part (“pipes”, Fig 2 above) is inserted (Fig 2), and the liquid reservoir part (ref 16) is located inside the casing (outer structure of ref 7, Fig 2).
Regarding claims 9 and 16-19, Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a check valve (ref 27, [0046]) disposed toward an inside (“inside”, Fig 2 above) of the container (“container”, Fig 2 above) relative to (Fig 2, ref 27 closer, upstream of ref 16 fluidly) the liquid reservoir part (ref 16), and configured to open when an internal pressure ([0046]) of the container (“container”, Fig 2 above) increases due to the gas ([0046]) generated inside the container (“container”, Fig 2 above), and pass the gas ([0046]) toward the outside (ref 2) from nearer the inside (“inside”, Fig 2 above) of the container (“container”, Fig 2 above).
Regarding claim 10, Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a melting point of the liquid is 0C or lower ([0016], materials listed meet this limitation).
Regarding claim 11, Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a boiling point of the liquid is 150°C or higher ([0016], materials listed meet this limitation).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 6-7, 15 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper et al. (US 2016/0141669) as applied to claims 3 and 4 above, and further in view of You et al. (US 2019/0245174).
Regarding claims 6-7 and 15, Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses the liquid reservoir part (erf 16) includes a holding member supported (Fig 2, see double layer / over-packed pipe at the U-shaped curve section 12) by the valve outer body ([0036], pipeline itself) and configured to hold the liquid ([0037]-[0040]), but does not explicitly disclose material constituting the holding member includes a porous material, nor the liquid reservoir part further includes a partitioning member supported by the valve outer body and partitioning a housing space housing the liquid inside the passage.
You et al. discloses in Figs 1-8, a battery (Abstract) including a valve structure ([0032]) for controlling fluid release therein ([0032]). The valve structure includes a valve body (ref 1) including an inlet (ref 1a) and an outlet (ref 1b) with a passage way (ref 12, Fig 5). Within the passage way, a partition member (ref 5) is supported by the valve body (ref 1, Fig 5). This partition member (ref 5) is made of a porous material ([0052]-[0053]). This configuration allows a filtering of the fluid/liquid prior to discharge and enhances the overall performance efficiency of the battery ([0052]-[0053]).
You et al. and Harper et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the porous / separator partition member (filter) of You et al. into the valve structure of Harper et al. to allow filtering of the fluid/liquid prior to discharge and enhance the overall performance efficiency of the battery.
Regarding claim 20, modified Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above and also discloses a check valve (ref 27, [0046]) disposed toward an inside (“inside”, Fig 2 above) of the container (“container”, Fig 2 above) relative to (Fig 2, ref 27 closer, upstream of ref 16 fluidly) the liquid reservoir part (ref 16), and configured to open when an internal pressure ([0046]) of the container (“container”, Fig 2 above) increases due to the gas ([0046]) generated inside the container (“container”, Fig 2 above), and pass the gas ([0046]) toward the outside (ref 2) from nearer the inside (“inside”, Fig 2 above) of the container (“container”, Fig 2 above).
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harper et al. (US 2016/0141669) as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of Mosso et al. (US 2014/0057141).
Regarding claim 8, Harper et al. discloses all of the claim limitations as set forth above but does not explicitly disclose the valve outer body further includes a nozzle joined to the attachment part and tapered proceeding toward the liquid reservoir part.
Mosso et al. discloses in Figs 1-12, a battery (Abstract, [0048]) including liquid filled tanks (refs 12, 14, [0048]). Flow is controlled between the tanks (refs 12, 14) utilizing conduits/piping valve structures fitted with nozzles ([0048]). This configuration enhances fluid control and piping connection, enhancing overall battery performance.
Mosso et al. and Harper et al. are analogous since both deal in the same field of endeavor, namely, batteries.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to incorporate the nozzle of Mosso et al. into the structure of Harper et al. to enhance fluid control and piping connection, enhancing overall battery performance.
Double Patenting
The non-statutory double patenting rejection is based on a judicially created doctrine grounded in public policy (a policy reflected in the statute) so as to prevent the unjustified or improper timewise extension of the “right to exclude” granted by a patent and to prevent possible harassment by multiple assignees. A non-statutory double patenting rejection is appropriate where the conflicting claims are not identical, but at least one examined application claim is not patentably distinct from the reference claim(s) because the examined application claim is either anticipated by, or would have been obvious over, the reference claim(s). See, e.g., In re Berg, 140 F.3d 1428, 46 USPQ2d 1226 (Fed. Cir. 1998); In re Goodman, 11 F.3d 1046, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993); In re Longi, 759 F.2d 887, 225 USPQ 645 (Fed. Cir. 1985); In re Van Ornum, 686 F.2d 937, 214 USPQ 761 (CCPA 1982); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Thorington, 418 F.2d 528, 163 USPQ 644 (CCPA 1969).
Claim 1 is provisionally rejected on the ground of non-statutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1 of co-pending Application No. 18/032,249 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claim of the ‘249 application anticipates all of the limitations of instant claim 1. Note below, all of the elements of instant claim 1 are found within claim 1 of the reference application.
Instant claim 1:
Application #: 18/032,249:
This is a provisional non-statutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Daniel (US 2014/0220463) discloses in Figs 1-8, a flow battery (Abstract) including liquids held in tanks and fluid control implemented via valves and nozzles ([0067], Fig 3).
Williams (US 2017/0025697) discloses in Figs 1-6, a flow battery (ref 500D) including tanks and fluid passages/piping including valves and nozzles ([0115]).
/KENNETH J DOUYETTE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1725