DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Adams et al. (US 5878752).
Adams discloses in reference to claim:
1. (Original) A heating structure of an aerosol generating device, comprising:
a heating tube 84 having a heating cavity (within sleeve 200) configured to accommodate an aerosol forming substrate 23, the heating tube being configured to heat a side of the aerosol forming substrate; and an electromagnetic heater 120 mounted at an end of the heating tube, wherein the electromagnetic heater has a first air inlet 87 in communication with the heating cavity and is configured to heat air entering the aerosol forming substrate by electromagnetic heating.
10. An aerosol generating device, comprising the heating structure of the aerosol generating device according to claim 1.
Claim(s) 1, 2, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Yoon et al. (US 2022/0338540A1)
Yoon discloses in reference to claim:
1. (Original) A heating structure of an aerosol generating device, comprising:
a heating tube 110 having a heating cavity (within sleeve 200) configured to accommodate an aerosol forming substrate 20000, the heating tube being configured to heat a side of the aerosol forming substrate; and an electromagnetic heater 210 mounted at an end of the heating tube, wherein the electromagnetic heater has a first air inlet (see fig.1 showing air flow) in communication with the heating cavity and is configured to heat air entering the aerosol forming substrate by electromagnetic heating.
10. An aerosol generating device, comprising the heating structure of the aerosol generating device according to claim 1.
2. (Original) The heating structure of the aerosol generating device according to claim 1, wherein one end of the heating tube is provided with a heating body 220, and the heating body is configured to convert electric energy into heat energy, the other end of the heating tube is provided with the electromagnetic heater 210.
Claim(s) 1, 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by ZHENG (CN 111264911 A)
ZHENG discloses in reference to claim:
1. (Original) A heating structure of an aerosol generating device, comprising:
a heating tube 300 having a heating cavity 303 configured to accommodate an aerosol forming substrate 305, the heating tube being configured to heat a side of the aerosol forming substrate; and
an electromagnetic heater 202 mounted at an end of the heating tube, wherein the electromagnetic heater has a first air inlet 204 in communication with the heating cavity and is configured to heat air entering the aerosol forming substrate by electromagnetic heating.
10. An aerosol generating device, comprising the heating structure of the aerosol generating device according to claim 1.
ZHENG discloses an electromagnetic air heating smoking device (i.e., an aerosol generation apparatus, having a heating structure), and discloses (description, paragraphs [0024]-[0029], and figures 1 and 2) that: an aerosol-forming substrate heating chamber 300 comprises a heating compartment 303 (i.e., a heating chamber) and a substrate heat-insulating sleeve 302 (i.e., a heating tube, the heating tube being provided with the heating chamber) sleeved outside the heating compartment 303; the heating compartment 303 is used for accommodating an aerosol-forming substrate 305, and the bottom of the heating compartment is provided with a hot air channel 306 in communication with an upper port of a hot air heat-insulating sleeve 201; an induction coil 202 is wound on the cylindrical hot air heat-insulating sleeve 201; a plurality of metal heating meshes 203 are arranged inside the hot air heat-insulating sleeve 201; air passes through an air inlet 204 and exchanges heat with the plurality of metal heating meshes 203, so that the air is heated to form high-temperature air, and the temperature of the high-temperature air is about 300°C (i.e., an electromagnetic heater, wherein the electromagnetic heater is mounted at an end portion of the heating tube, and is used for heating, by means of electromagnetic heating, air entering an aerosol- forming substrate); and when the high-temperature air passes through the heating compartment 303 from bottom to top, the high-temperature air heats the aerosol-forming substrate 305 in the aerosol-forming substrate heating chamber 300, so as to generate aerosol for a consumer to inhale (it can be directly and unambiguously determined that the electromagnetic heater has first air inlet holes in communication with the heating chamber, and the heating tube is used for heating a side surface of the aerosol-forming substrate).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The Supreme Court in KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007) identified a number of rationales to support a conclusion of obviousness which are consistent with the proper “functional approach” to the determination of obviousness as laid down in Graham. The key to supporting any rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 is the clear articulation of the reason(s) why the claimed invention would have been obvious. The Supreme Court in KSR noted that the analysis supporting a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 should be made explicit.
EXEMPLARY RATIONALES
Exemplary rationales that may support a conclusion of obviousness include:
(A) Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results;
(B) Simple substitution of one known element for another to obtain predictable results;
(C) Use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way;
(D) Applying a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results;
(E) “Obvious to try” – choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success;
(F) Known work in one field of endeavor may prompt variations of it for use in either the same field or a different one based on design incentives or other market forces if the variations are predictable to one of ordinary skill in the art;
(G) Some teaching, suggestion, or motivation in the prior art that would have led one of ordinary skill to modify the prior art reference or to combine prior art reference teachings to arrive at the claimed invention.
Claim(s) 2-9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ZHENG (CN 111264911 A in view of ZHAO (CN 112806620 A)
ZHENG discloses the claimed invention as described above except with reference to claims 2-9
Regarding claim 2: Zheng discloses that the electromagnetic heater is arranged at one end of the substrate heat-insulating sleeve 302 (i.e., the heating tube). Regarding the remaining technical features, Zhao discloses an aerosol heating apparatus (description, paragraphs [0038]-[0047], and figures 1 and 7): an isolation tube 8 (i.e., the heating tube) is comprised, and one end in the isolation tube 8 is provided with a heating body 9 (i.e., a heating body, being used for converting electric energy into heat energy). Moreover, the described features disclosed in Zhao have the same function in Zhao as those in the present application, i.e., both for obtaining a better baking effect. Zhao provides the technical motivation for further solving the technical problem.
With regard to claims 3-9: Zhao further discloses (see Zhao citation above) that: an upper fixing frame 6 (i.e., an upper mounting cylinder) and an air channel tube 41 (i.e., a lower mounting cylinder) are arranged in the isolation tube 8; the heating body 9 is of a cylindrical structure and is located between the upper fixing frame 6 and the air channel tube 41; a heating chamber is located in the heating body 9; a lower fixing frame 7 (i.e., a fixing member for fixing the heating body) is arranged between the heating body 9 and the air channel tube 41 in an engagement manner; an upper connecting cap is arranged at one end of the upper fixing frame 6; the upper connecting cap is provided with a through hole in communication with the heating chamber; and a lower connecting cap is arranged at the end of the air channel tube 41 away from the upper fixing frame 6. Zheng further discloses (see citation above) that: the induction coil 202 is located on the outer side of the hot air heat-insulating sleeve 201, the metal heating meshes 203 (..e., a heating core) are located inside the hot air heat-insulating sleeve 201, and the induction coil 202 is used for heating the metal heating meshes 203 by means of electromagnetic induction. The remaining features are common means well known to skilled artisans.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/THOR S CAMPBELL/
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 3761
tsc