DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Request for Continued Examination correspondence filed on 10/20/2025.
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-14, & 16-21 are pending and rejected.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see REMARKS/Amendment Submitted, filed 10/20/2025, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-11, 13-14, & 16-21 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of amendments made to the claims that warrant further search and inquiry.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-14, &16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US20200145967) (hereinafter "Park") in view of Wang et al (US20220060283) (hereinafter "Wang") in further view of 3GPP TS 36.331 V10.5.0 (2012-03) (hereinafter “3GPP-1”) in further view of 3GPP TS 38.874 V16.0.0 (2018-12) (hereinafter “3GPP-2”) in further view of ATIS 3GPP Specification ATIS.3GPP.32.425.V1050-2012 (hereinafter “ATIS”) in further view of Yi et al (US20200128596A1).
Regarding claim 1, Park teaches a method performed by a receiving node (Fig. 3, 33-34, [0241] CU DU receiving nodes, relay nodes, wireless device or base stations as receiving transmitting nodes) in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB) ([0004] communication system comprises a IAB system), the method comprising:
receiving a configuration request message from a transmitting node ([0427], an access node…may receive, from a second access node…RRC configuration parameters…via one or more RRC messages, a configuration request (RRC message) is received from a transmitting node (another access node));
But the Park fails to teach and performing configuration of data duplication on a radio bearer based on the received configuration request message.
However, Wang teaches—
and performing configuration of data duplication on the radio bearer based on the received configuration request message and the number of access link ([0057]-[0087], [0085], describes methods for initiating data duplication based on information such as channel occupancy or LBT statistics, discusses an RRC connection reconfiguration message being used to activate packet duplication mode at the UE, use of RRC signaling to control PDCP duplication mode constitutes a configuration request message, and it configures duplication on radio bearers; the process of receiving a configuration request message (e.g. RRC Reconfiguration and performing configuration (enabling PD mode on a radio bearer) is clearly described).
Park and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices in wireless communication networks for wireless resource allocation and data duplication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park and Wang to create a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB).
Park discloses general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes. Furthermore, Wang discloses a method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication. Combining the references of Park and Wang would yield a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB). The motivation for combining these references would be to enable communication nodes to perform duplication configuration without needing to deduce or guess link parameters independently.
But Park and Wang fail to teach wherein the configuration request message comprising first configuration information related to a radio bearer and second configuration information related to a backhaul link channel, for the receiving node to generate configuration information related to the backhaul link channel; determining number of access link based on the configuration request message; and wherein the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprise mapping relationship information, and wherein the mapping relationship information comprises first mapping mode indicating that multiple backhaul link channels are mapped to one access link channel and a second mapping mode indicating that one backhaul link channel is mapped to multiple access link channel.
However, 3GPP-1 teaches wherein the configuration request message comprising first configuration information related to a radio bearer and second configuration information related to a backhaul link channel, for the receiving node to generate configuration information related to the backhaul link channel (Section 5.2.1.2 System information, Scheduling, 5.9.1.1 RN reconfiguration -purpose, 5.9.1.2 Initiation, Section 6 Message Spec RNReconfiguration; show RRC configuration request message (RNReconfiguration) from the donor/eNB that carries first information (system information/radio bearer-relevant control for the RN) and second information (RN subframe configuration impacting the backhaul Un link) used by the RN to (re)configure its backhaul behavior);
But 3GPP-1 fails to teach determining number of access link based on the configuration request message; and wherein each of the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprise mapping relationship information, and wherein the mapping relationship information comprises first mapping mode indicating that multiple backhaul link channels are mapped to one access link channel and a second mapping mode indicating that one backhaul link channel is mapped to multiple access link channel.
However, 3GPP-2 teaches and wherein each of the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprises mapping relationship information (Section 8.2.1 Adapt placement, 8.3.5 DL L2 structures, 8.2.10.2 design example—these sections show mapping relationships between access link entities (UE/access bearers) and backhaul link channels (BH RLC channels), including 1:1 and N:1 cases—i.e. “at least one backhaul link channel is mapped to at least one access link channel), wherein the mapping relationship information comprises first mapping mode indicating that multiple backhaul link channels are mapped to one access link channel and a second mapping mode indicating that one backhaul link channel is mapped to multiple access link channel (Section 8.2.1 Adapt placement, 8.3.5 DL L2 structures, 8.2.10.2 design example—these sections show mapping relationships between access link entities (UE/access bearers) and backhaul link channels (BH RLC channels), including 1:1 and N:1 cases—i.e. “at least one backhaul link channel is mapped to at least one access link channel).
But 3GPP-2 fails to teach determining number of access link based on the configuration request message.
However, ATIS teaches determining number of access link based on the configuration request message (Section 5.1.1.1, pg. 64 A.17 Monitoring of RNReconfiguration; LTE relay specifies RN subframe configuration (to avoid conflicts between access and backhaul); this configuration is delivered via a dedicated RNReconfiguration message. The assigned subframe pattern effectively determines how many access-link subframes/resources the RN operates—based on the received configuration message)
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the combination of Park’s general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes, Wang’s method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication, 3GPP-1’s well-established RRC (re)configuration procedure for relay nodes, 3GPP-2’s explicit IAB requirements for mapping access flows to backhaul channels and supporting redundancy, and ATIS’s RN-specific OAM/PM counters ties to those same RRC messages. Furthermore, 3GPP-1 provides the configuration-request framework to deliver first information (radio bearer parameters) and second information (backhaul channel parameters) to the receiving node; 3GPP-2 supplies the IAB-specific mapping relationship information (including 1:1 and N:1 access[Wingdings font/0xE0]backhaul mappings) and redundancy concepts that inform determining the number of access links and enabling bearer-level duplication; and ATIS motivates such configuration by showing operators measure reconfigurations, PDCP loss, and RN traffic to trigger changes. Combining these known elements in their known manner would predictably yield the claimed method with configuration request carrying mapping data that the receiving node uses to set backhaul configuration, determine access-link count, and configure data duplication per bearer for reliability.
But ATS fails to teach wherein the configuration request message comprises the indication of a number of copies to be duplicated, and wherein the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the mapping relationship information.
However, Yi teaches wherein the configuration request message comprises the indication of a number of copies to be duplicated ([0013]-[0015], [0046]-[0047], transmitting device receives RB configuration information that includes configuration for PDCP entity and multiple lower layer entities; when packet duplication is activated, the PDCP entity submits the same PDCP PDU to each of the multiple lower layer entities—number of duplicate copies equals the number of configured lower layer entities; Fig 11-12 illustrate RB configuration where one PDCP entity is associated with three RLC entities and duplication results in three PDCP PDU copies being transmitted in parallel), and
wherein the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the mapping relationship information ([0013]-[0015], [0046]-[0047], the number of PDCP PDU copies transmitted is determined by how many lower layer entities are configured and selected for duplication; the configuration dynamically controls whether duplication is enabled or disabled, and to which/how many lower layer entities the PDCP PDU is submitted)
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the combination of Park’s general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes, Wang’s method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication, 3GPP-1’s well-established RRC (re)configuration procedure for relay nodes, 3GPP-2’s explicit IAB requirements for mapping access flows to backhaul channels and supporting redundancy, and ATIS’s RN-specific OAM/PM counters ties to those same RRC messages. Furthermore, 3GPP-1 provides the configuration-request framework to deliver first information (radio bearer parameters) and second information (backhaul channel parameters) to the receiving node; 3GPP-2 supplies the IAB-specific mapping relationship information (including 1:1 and N:1 access[Wingdings font/0xE0]backhaul mappings) and redundancy concepts that inform determining the number of access links and enabling bearer-level duplication; and ATIS motivates such configuration by showing operators measure reconfigurations, PDCP loss, and RN traffic to trigger changes. Lastly, Yi teaches that the number of PDCP PDU copies is controlled by configuration of multiple lower layer entities; therefore, the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the access-backhaul mapping information, since the mapping dictates how many parallel bearer entities must be supported. Combining these known elements in their known manner would predictably yield the claimed method with configuration request carrying mapping data that the receiving node uses to set backhaul configuration, determine access-link count, and configure data duplication per bearer for reliability.
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the method wherein the first configuration information related to the radio bearer comprises at least one of the following:
first information related to a tunnel of the radio bearer, information related to an access link, information related to the backhaul link channel ([0340]-[0343], [0347]-[0348], First, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Second, Radio Resources for backhaul/access—radio resources are part of MAC/RRC configuration, partitioning (TDM/FDM/SDM) may be governed by RRC config (though managed at MAC/PHY level); directed included in RRC messages, used in RRC procedures/configurations (resource allocation, UE context retrieval); lastly, discusses updating a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier for a bearer between the core and RAN—this is tunnel info related to the bearer; access link info – radio link between an IAB-node and wireless device; backhaul link channel info – radio resources may be partitioned between a backhaul link (parent link) and access link).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the method wherein the second configuration information related to the backhaul link channel comprises at least one of the following: information of a group of backhaul link channels, and configuration information of the backhaul link channels ([0340]-[0343], [0347-[0348], First, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Second, Radio Resources for backhaul/access—radio resources are part of MAC/RRC configuration, partitioning (TDM/FDM/SDM) may be governed by RRC config (though managed at MAC/PHY level); directed included in RRC messages, used in RRC procedures/configurations (resource allocation, UE context retrieval); lastly, backhaul link configuration info—disclosure refers to partitioning radio resources between backhaul and access links using TDM/FDM/SDM which is configuration information; Group of backhaul link channels – radio resources for backhaul link implies multiple channels or allocations).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the method wherein the configuration request message is a resource configuration request message ([0004], [0340]-[0343], [0347],, First, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Second, Radio Resources for backhaul/access—radio resources are part of MAC/RRC configuration, partitioning (TDM/FDM/SDM) may be governed by RRC config (though managed at MAC/PHY level); directed included in RRC messages, used in RRC procedures/configurations (resource allocation, UE context retrieval); lastly, describes an access node sending downlink resource information to another access node with the data, to reduce latency—functionally matches a resource configuration message notifying of downlink configuration), which is used to notify the receiving node of configuration information about downlink data transmission, and
wherein the resource configuration request message comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the radio bearer and information related to a tunnel of the radio bearer ([0347], tunnel information—disclosure discusses updating downlink tunnel endpoint identifiers for bearers-related to tunnel information; bearer information is implied via bearer context retrieval for the UE (suggests identification exists) which is bearer ID).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the method wherein the information related to the tunnel of the radio bearer comprises at least one of the following: an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a tunnel endpoint identifier of data, indication information of use of a tunnel, one or more Quality of Service (QoS) mapping information, and information related to duplication of a data packet ([0233], [0237], [0347], First, user plane protocol stack and Layer functions—explains service functions of SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC and PHY layers—MAC, RLC, PDCP and SDAP configuration parameters are typically signaled via RRC messages as part of RRC Connection Reconfiguration or RRC Setup procedures; logical channel states references to bearer configuration (e.g. QoS flow, Split bearer, duplication) imply these aspects are subject to RRC signaling; Second, connection setup/release, QoS flow to DRB mapping, paging, measurement configuration, session management, support for RRC_INACTIVE—these functions are core elements of RRC signaling, configuration; Third, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Lastly, disclosure mentions IP header compression, routing of user plane data and QoS flow management and mapping to data radio bearers, SDAP layer provides, mapping, explicit mention of IP-related processing, (IP header compression), Tunnel endpoint identifier updates, QoS mapping information, routing functions that imply tunnel use, duplication functions mentioned in PDCP services).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the method wherein the configuration request message is a first configuration message, which is used to help the receiving node determine a transmission method of user data on an access link ([0004], [0348], access node sends downlink resource information to another access node to transmit data to a device; disclosure differentiates between backhaul and access links; describes radio resource assignment; it is clear that configuration assists with access link transmission (e.g. resource assignment), link between a specific message and its purpose to determine access link transmission is implied).
Regarding claim 8, Park fails to disclose the method wherein the first configuration message comprises at least one of: indication information of duplication of data; and indication information of a number of copies to be duplicated into.
However, Wang discloses the method wherein the first configuration message comprises at least one of: indication information of duplication of data; and indication information of a number of copies to be duplicated into ([0056], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0092]-[0095], describes the RRC message triggering PD mode, and shows duplication process creating multiple packets, mentions the UE may receive multiple DL assignment messages and UL grants for the same packet implying multiple duplicates, suggests enabling/disabling duplication is informed by signaling—and includes duplication control information; indication information of duplication of data is present, number of copies to be duplicated is implied).
Park and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices in wireless communication networks for wireless resource allocation and data duplication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park and Wang to create a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB).
Park discloses general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes. Furthermore, Wang discloses a method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication. Combining the references of Park and Wang would yield a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB). The motivation for combining these references would be to enable communication nodes to perform duplication configuration without needing to deduce or guess link parameters independently.
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches the method wherein the configuration request message is a second configuration message, which is used to help the receiving node determine a transmission method of user data on a backhaul link channel ([0231], [0348]-[0349], configuration message determine transmission method depending on transmission configuration requirements; describes backhaul link structure, radio resource allocation, and constraints like resource unavailability, described latency caused by unavailable radio resources, disclosure of transmission over backhaul and the challenged involved).
Regarding claim 10, Park fails to teach the method wherein the second configuration message comprises at least one of the following: indication information of duplication of data; and indication information of a number of copies to be duplicated into.
However, Wang teaches the method wherein the second configuration message comprises at least one of the following: indication information of duplication of data; and indication information of a number of copies to be duplicated into ([0085]-[0086], [0092]-[0095], second configuration message – the RRC Reconfiguration complete message interpreted as a second message in response, it is implied that after duplication mode is activated, additional messages may follow to carry configuration information (e.g. DL assignments or UL grants), indication information of duplication of data is present, number of copies to be duplicated is implied).
Park and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices in wireless communication networks for wireless resource allocation and data duplication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park and Wang to create a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB).
Park discloses general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes. Furthermore, Wang discloses a method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication. Combining the references of Park and Wang would yield a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB). The motivation for combining these references would be to enable communication nodes to perform duplication configuration without needing to deduce or guess link parameters independently.
Regarding claim 11, Park discloses a receiving node (Fig. 3, 33-34, [0241] CU DU receiving nodes, relay nodes, wireless device or base stations as receiving transmitting nodes) in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB) ([0004] communication system comprises a IAB system), comprising:
a transceiver ([0259] transceivers); and
a processor ([0260] processor) configured to:
receive a configuration request message from a transmitting node through the transceiver ([0427], an access node…may receive, from a second access node…RRC configuration parameters…via one or more RRC messages, a configuration request (RRC message) is received from a transmitting node (another access node)),
But Park fails to teach and perform configuration of data duplication on a radio bearer based on the received configuration request message.
However, Wang teaches and perform configuration of data duplication on the radio bearer based on the received configuration request message and the number of access link, ([0057]-[0087], [0085], describes methods for initiating data duplication based on information such as channel occupancy or LBT statistics, discusses an RRC connection reconfiguration message being used to activate packet duplication mode at the UE, use of RRC signaling to control PDCP duplication mode constitutes a configuration request message, and it configures duplication on radio bearers; the process of receiving a configuration request message (e.g. RRC Reconfiguration and performing configuration (enabling PD mode on a radio bearer) is clearly described).
Park and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices in wireless communication networks for wireless resource allocation and data duplication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park and Wang to create a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB).
Park discloses general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes. Furthermore, Wang discloses a method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication. Combining the references of Park and Wang would yield a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB). The motivation for combining these references would be to enable communication nodes to perform duplication configuration without needing to deduce or guess link parameters independently.
But Park and Wang fail to teach wherein the configuration request message comprising first configuration information related to a radio bearer or second configuration information related to a backhaul link channel, for the receiving node to generate configuration information related to the backhaul link channel; determining number of access link based on the configuration request message; and wherein the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprise mapping relationship information, and wherein the mapping relationship information comprises first mapping mode indicating that multiple backhaul link channels are mapped to one access link channel and a second mapping mode indicating that one backhaul link channel is mapped to multiple access link channel.
However, 3GPP-1 teaches wherein the configuration request message comprising first configuration information related to a radio bearer or second configuration information related to a backhaul link channel, for the receiving node to generate configuration information related to the backhaul link channel (Section 5.2.1.2 System information, Scheduling, 5.9.1.1 RN reconfiguration -purpose, 5.9.1.2 Initiation, Section 6 Message Spec RNReconfiguration; show RRC configuration request message (RNReconfiguration) from the donor/eNB that carries first information (system information/radio bearer-relevant control for the RN) and second information (RN subframe configuration impacting the backhaul Un link) used by the RN to (re)configure its backhaul behavior);
But 3GPP-1 fails to teach determining number of access link based on the configuration request message; and wherein the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprise mapping relationship information, and wherein the mapping relationship information comprises first mapping mode indicating that multiple backhaul link channels are mapped to one access link channel and a second mapping mode indicating that one backhaul link channel is mapped to multiple access link channel.
However, 3GPP-2 teaches and wherein the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprise mapping relationship information (Section 8.2.1 Adapt placement, 8.3.5 DL L2 structures, 8.2.10.2 design example—these sections show mapping relationships between access link entities (UE/access bearers) and backhaul link channels (BH RLC channels), including 1:1 and N:1 cases—i.e. “at least one backhaul link channel is mapped to at least one access link channel), and wherein the mapping relationship information comprises first mapping mode indicating that multiple backhaul link channels are mapped to one access link channel and a second mapping mode indicating that one backhaul link channel is mapped to multiple access link channel (Section 8.2.1 Adapt placement, 8.3.5 DL L2 structures, 8.2.10.2 design example—these sections show mapping relationships between access link entities (UE/access bearers) and backhaul link channels (BH RLC channels), including 1:1 and N:1 cases—i.e. “at least one backhaul link channel is mapped to at least one access link channel).
But 3GPP-2 fails to teach determining number of access link based on the configuration request message.
However, ATIS teaches determining number of access link based on the configuration request message (Section 5.1.1.1, pg. 64 A.17 Monitoring of RNReconfiguration; LTE relay specifies RN subframe configuration (to avoid conflicts between access and backhaul); this configuration is delivered via a dedicated RNReconfiguration message. The assigned subframe pattern effectively determines how many access-link subframes/resources the RN operates—based on the received configuration message)
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the combination of Park’s general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes, Wang’s method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication, 3GPP-1’s well-established RRC (re)configuration procedure for relay nodes, 3GPP-2’s explicit IAB requirements for mapping access flows to backhaul channels and supporting redundancy, and ATIS’s RN-specific OAM/PM counters ties to those same RRC messages. Furthermore, 3GPP-1 provides the configuration-request framework to deliver first information (radio bearer parameters) and second information (backhaul channel parameters) to the receiving node; 3GPP-2 supplies the IAB-specific mapping relationship information (including 1:1 and N:1 access[Wingdings font/0xE0]backhaul mappings) and redundancy concepts that inform determining the number of access links and enabling bearer-level duplication; and ATIS motivates such configuration by showing operators measure reconfigurations, PDCP loss, and RN traffic to trigger changes. Combining these known elements in their known manner would predictably yield the claimed method with configuration request carrying mapping data that the receiving node uses to set backhaul configuration, determine access-link count, and configure data duplication per bearer for reliability.
But ATS fails to teach wherein the configuration request message comprises the indication of a number of copies to be duplicated, and wherein the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the mapping relationship information.
However, Yi teaches wherein the configuration request message comprises the indication of a number of copies to be duplicated ([0013]-[0015], [0046]-[0047], transmitting device receives RB configuration information that includes configuration for PDCP entity and multiple lower layer entities; when packet duplication is activated, the PDCP entity submits the same PDCP PDU to each of the multiple lower layer entities—number of duplicate copies equals the number of configured lower layer entities; Fig 11-12 illustrate RB configuration where one PDCP entity is associated with three RLC entities and duplication results in three PDCP PDU copies being transmitted in parallel), and
wherein the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the mapping relationship information ([0013]-[0015], [0046]-[0047], the number of PDCP PDU copies transmitted is determined by how many lower layer entities are configured and selected for duplication; the configuration dynamically controls whether duplication is enabled or disabled, and to which/how many lower layer entities the PDCP PDU is submitted)
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the combination of Park’s general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes, Wang’s method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication, 3GPP-1’s well-established RRC (re)configuration procedure for relay nodes, 3GPP-2’s explicit IAB requirements for mapping access flows to backhaul channels and supporting redundancy, and ATIS’s RN-specific OAM/PM counters ties to those same RRC messages. Furthermore, 3GPP-1 provides the configuration-request framework to deliver first information (radio bearer parameters) and second information (backhaul channel parameters) to the receiving node; 3GPP-2 supplies the IAB-specific mapping relationship information (including 1:1 and N:1 access[Wingdings font/0xE0]backhaul mappings) and redundancy concepts that inform determining the number of access links and enabling bearer-level duplication; and ATIS motivates such configuration by showing operators measure reconfigurations, PDCP loss, and RN traffic to trigger changes. Lastly, Yi teaches that the number of PDCP PDU copies is controlled by configuration of multiple lower layer entities; therefore, the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the access-backhaul mapping information, since the mapping dictates how many parallel bearer entities must be supported. Combining these known elements in their known manner would predictably yield the claimed method with configuration request carrying mapping data that the receiving node uses to set backhaul configuration, determine access-link count, and configure data duplication per bearer for reliability.
Regarding claim 13, Park discloses a transmitting node (Fig. 3, 33-34, [0241] CU DU receiving/transmitting nodes, relay nodes, wireless device or base stations as receiving /transmitting nodes) in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB) ([0004] communication system comprises a IAB system), the transmitting node comprising:
a transceiver ([0259] transceivers); and
a processor ([0260] processor) configured to transmit a configuration request message to a receiving node through the transceiver (([0427], an access node…may receive, from a second access node…RRC configuration parameters…via one or more RRC messages, a configuration request (RRC message) is received from a transmitting node (another access node)),
But Park fails to teach wherein the configuration request message comprising a message for the receiving node to perform configuration of data duplication of the radio bearer.
However, Wang teaches wherein the configuration request message comprising a message for the receiving node to perform configuration of data duplication of radio bearer ([0057]-[0087], [0085], describes methods for initiating data duplication based on information such as channel occupancy or LBT statistics, discusses an RRC connection reconfiguration message being used to activate packet duplication mode at the UE, use of RRC signaling to control PDCP duplication mode constitutes a configuration request message, and it configures duplication on radio bearers; the process of receiving a configuration request message (e.g. RRC Reconfiguration and performing configuration (enabling PD mode on a radio bearer) is clearly described).
Park and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices in wireless communication networks for wireless resource allocation and data duplication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park and Wang to create a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB).
Park discloses general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes. Furthermore, Wang discloses a method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication. Combining the references of Park and Wang would yield a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB). The motivation for combining these references would be to enable communication nodes to perform duplication configuration without needing to deduce or guess link parameters independently.
But Park and Wang fail to teach wherein the configuration request message comprising first configuration information related to a radio bearer or second configuration information related to a backhaul link channel, for the receiving node to generate configuration information related to the backhaul link channel; and wherein the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprise mapping relationship information, and wherein the mapping relationship information indicates that at least one backhaul link channel is mapped to at least one access link channel.
However, 3GPP-1 teaches wherein the configuration request message comprising first configuration information related to a radio bearer or second configuration information related to a backhaul link channel, for the receiving node to generate configuration information related to the backhaul link channel (Section 5.2.1.2 System information, Scheduling, 5.9.1.1 RN reconfiguration -purpose, 5.9.1.2 Initiation, Section 6 Message Spec RNReconfiguration; show RRC configuration request message (RNReconfiguration) from the donor/eNB that carries first information (system information/radio bearer-relevant control for the RN) and second information (RN subframe configuration impacting the backhaul Un link) used by the RN to (re)configure its backhaul behavior);
But 3GPP-1 fails to teach determining number of access link based on the configuration request message; and wherein the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprise mapping relationship information, wherein the mapping relationship information comprises first mapping mode indicating that multiple backhaul link channels are mapped to one access link channel and a second mapping mode indicating that one backhaul link channel is mapped to multiple access link channel.
However, 3GPP-2 teaches and wherein the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprise mapping relationship information (Section 8.2.1 Adapt placement, 8.3.5 DL L2 structures, 8.2.10.2 design example—these sections show mapping relationships between access link entities (UE/access bearers) and backhaul link channels (BH RLC channels), including 1:1 and N:1 cases—i.e. “at least one backhaul link channel is mapped to at least one access link channel), and wherein the mapping relationship information comprises first mapping mode indicating that multiple backhaul link channels are mapped to one access link channel and a second mapping mode indicating that one backhaul link channel is mapped to multiple access link channel (Section 8.2.1 Adapt placement, 8.3.5 DL L2 structures, 8.2.10.2 design example—these sections show mapping relationships between access link entities (UE/access bearers) and backhaul link channels (BH RLC channels), including 1:1 and N:1 cases—i.e. “at least one backhaul link channel is mapped to at least one access link channel).
But 3GPP-2 fails to teach determining number of access link based on the configuration request message.
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the combination of Park’s general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes, Wang’s method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication, 3GPP-1’s well-established RRC (re)configuration procedure for relay nodes, and 3GPP-2’s explicit IAB requirements for mapping access flows to backhaul channels and supporting redundancy. Furthermore, 3GPP-1 provides the configuration-request framework to deliver first information (radio bearer parameters) and second information (backhaul channel parameters) to the receiving node; 3GPP-2 supplies the IAB-specific mapping relationship information (including 1:1 and N:1 access[Wingdings font/0xE0]backhaul mappings) and redundancy concepts that inform determining the number of access links and enabling bearer-level duplication. Combining these known elements in their known manner would predictably yield the claimed method with configuration request carrying mapping data that the receiving node uses to set backhaul configuration, determine access-link count, and configure data duplication per bearer for reliability.
But ATS fails to teach wherein the configuration request message comprises the indication of a number of copies to be duplicated, and wherein the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the mapping relationship information.
However, Yi teaches wherein the configuration request message comprises the indication of a number of copies to be duplicated ([0013]-[0015], [0046]-[0047], transmitting device receives RB configuration information that includes configuration for PDCP entity and multiple lower layer entities; when packet duplication is activated, the PDCP entity submits the same PDCP PDU to each of the multiple lower layer entities—number of duplicate copies equals the number of configured lower layer entities; Fig 11-12 illustrate RB configuration where one PDCP entity is associated with three RLC entities and duplication results in three PDCP PDU copies being transmitted in parallel), and
wherein the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the mapping relationship information ([0013]-[0015], [0046]-[0047], the number of PDCP PDU copies transmitted is determined by how many lower layer entities are configured and selected for duplication; the configuration dynamically controls whether duplication is enabled or disabled, and to which/how many lower layer entities the PDCP PDU is submitted)
A POSITA would have been motivated to combine the combination of Park’s general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes, Wang’s method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication, 3GPP-1’s well-established RRC (re)configuration procedure for relay nodes, 3GPP-2’s explicit IAB requirements for mapping access flows to backhaul channels and supporting redundancy, and ATIS’s RN-specific OAM/PM counters ties to those same RRC messages. Furthermore, 3GPP-1 provides the configuration-request framework to deliver first information (radio bearer parameters) and second information (backhaul channel parameters) to the receiving node; 3GPP-2 supplies the IAB-specific mapping relationship information (including 1:1 and N:1 access[Wingdings font/0xE0]backhaul mappings) and redundancy concepts that inform determining the number of access links and enabling bearer-level duplication; and ATIS motivates such configuration by showing operators measure reconfigurations, PDCP loss, and RN traffic to trigger changes. Lastly, Yi teaches that the number of PDCP PDU copies is controlled by configuration of multiple lower layer entities; therefore, the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the access-backhaul mapping information, since the mapping dictates how many parallel bearer entities must be supported. Combining these known elements in their known manner would predictably yield the claimed method with configuration request carrying mapping data that the receiving node uses to set backhaul configuration, determine access-link count, and configure data duplication per bearer for reliability.
Regarding claim 14, Park teaches the transmitting node wherein the transmitting node is a central unit of an anchor node, control plane part of the central unit of the anchor node, or user plane part of the central unit of the anchor node ([0337]-[0339], [0340]-[0345], [0352] CU-DU transmitting node as CU, anchor node as CU, control plane as gNB-CU and user plane as gNB-CU-UP, access nodes).
Regarding claim 16, Park teaches the receiving node wherein the first configuration information related to the radio bearer comprises at least one of the following: first information related to a tunnel of the radio bearer, information related to an access link, information related to the backhaul link channel ([0340]-[0343], [0347]-[0348], First, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Second, Radio Resources for backhaul/access—radio resources are part of MAC/RRC configuration, partitioning (TDM/FDM/SDM) may be governed by RRC config (though managed at MAC/PHY level); directed included in RRC messages, used in RRC procedures/configurations (resource allocation, UE context retrieval); lastly, discusses updating a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier for a bearer between the core and RAN—this is tunnel info related to the bearer; access link info – radio link between an IAB-node and wireless device; backhaul link channel info – radio resources may be partitioned between a backhaul link (parent link) and access link).
Regarding claim 17, Park teaches the receiving node wherein the first configuration information related to the backhaul link channel comprises at least one of the following: information of a group of backhaul link channels, and configuration information of the backhaul link channels ([0340]-[0343], [0347-[0348], First, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Second, Radio Resources for backhaul/access—radio resources are part of MAC/RRC configuration, partitioning (TDM/FDM/SDM) may be governed by RRC config (though managed at MAC/PHY level); directed included in RRC messages, used in RRC procedures/configurations (resource allocation, UE context retrieval); lastly, backhaul link configuration info—disclosure refers to partitioning radio resources between backhaul and access links using TDM/FDM/SDM which is configuration information; Group of backhaul link channels – radio resources for backhaul link implies multiple channels or allocations).
Regarding claim 18, Park teaches the receiving node wherein the configuration request message is a resource configuration request message ([0004], [0340]-[0343], [0347],, First, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Second, Radio Resources for backhaul/access—radio resources are part of MAC/RRC configuration, partitioning (TDM/FDM/SDM) may be governed by RRC config (though managed at MAC/PHY level); directed included in RRC messages, used in RRC procedures/configurations (resource allocation, UE context retrieval); lastly, describes an access node sending downlink resource information to another access node with the data, to reduce latency—functionally matches a resource configuration message notifying of downlink configuration), which is used to notify the receiving node of configuration information about downlink data transmission,
wherein the resource configuration request message comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the radio bearer and information related to a tunnel of the radio bearer ([0347], tunnel information—disclosure discusses updating downlink tunnel endpoint identifiers for bearers-related to tunnel information; bearer information is implied via bearer context retrieval for the UE (suggests identification exists) which is bearer ID).
Regarding claim 19, Park teaches the receiving node wherein the information related to the tunnel of the radio bearer comprises at least one of the following: an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a tunnel endpoint identifier of data, indication information of use of a tunnel, one or more Quality of Service (QoS) mapping information, and information related to duplication of a data packet ([0233], [0237], [0347], First, user plane protocol stack and Layer functions—explains service functions of SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC and PHY layers—MAC, RLC, PDCP and SDAP configuration parameters are typically signaled via RRC messages as part of RRC Connection Reconfiguration or RRC Setup procedures; logical channel states references to bearer configuration (e.g. QoS flow, Split bearer, duplication) imply these aspects are subject to RRC signaling; Second, connection setup/release, QoS flow to DRB mapping, paging, measurement configuration, session management, support for RRC_INACTIVE—these functions are core elements of RRC signaling, configuration; Third, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Lastly, disclosure mentions IP header compression, routing of user plane data and QoS flow management and mapping to data radio bearers, SDAP layer provides, mapping, explicit mention of IP-related processing, (IP header compression), Tunnel endpoint identifier updates, QoS mapping information, routing functions that imply tunnel use, duplication functions mentioned in PDCP services).
Regarding claim 20, Park teaches the receiving node wherein the configuration request message is a first configuration message, which is used to help the receiving node determine a transmission method of user data on an access link ([0004], [0348], access node sends downlink resource information to another access node to transmit data to a device; disclosure differentiates between backhaul and access links; describes radio resource assignment; it is clear that configuration assists with access link transmission (e.g. resource assignment), link between a specific message and its purpose to determine access link transmission is implied).
Regarding claim 21, Park fails to teach the receiving node wherein the first configuration message comprises at least one of: indication information of duplication of data; and indication information of a number of copies to be duplicated into.
However, Wang teaches the receiving node wherein the first configuration message comprises at least one of: indication information of duplication of data; and indication information of a number of copies to be duplicated into ([0056], [0079], [0085]-[0086], [0092]-[0095], describes the RRC message triggering PD mode, and shows duplication process creating multiple packets, mentions the UE may receive multiple DL assignment messages and UL grants for the same packet implying multiple duplicates, suggests enabling/disabling duplication is informed by signaling—and includes duplication control information; indication information of duplication of data is present, number of copies to be duplicated).
Park and Wang are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices in wireless communication networks for wireless resource allocation and data duplication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park and Wang to create a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB).
Park discloses general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes. Furthermore, Wang discloses a method performed by a communication device that controls data duplication. Combining the references of Park and Wang would yield a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB). The motivation for combining these references would be to enable communication nodes to perform duplication configuration without needing to deduce or guess link parameters independently.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Chen et al (WO2019158059A1) discloses methods for packet data convergence protocol (PDCP) duplication operations and devices using the same
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/PAO SINKANTARAKORN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2409