DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the Applicant’s Arguments/REMARKS correspondence filed on 03/20/2026.
Claims 1, 3-7, 9, & 11 are pending and rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11, 13-14, &16-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Park et al (US20200145967) in view of Wu et al (US20220174535A1) in further view of Lianhai et al (US20220295341A1) in further view of Yi et al (US20200128596A1).
Regarding claim 11 (and method claim 1), Park teaches a receiving node in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB), comprising (Fig. 3, 33-34, [0241], ([0004] communication system comprises a IAB system, CU DU receiving nodes, relay nodes, wireless device or base stations as receiving transmitting nodes):
a transceiver ([0259] transceivers); and
a processor ([0260] processor) configured to:
receive, through a transceiver, a configuration request message from a transmitting node ([0427], an access node…may receive, from a second access node…RRC configuration parameters…via one or more RRC messages, a configuration request (RRC message) is received from a transmitting node (another access node));
But the Park fails to teach and performing configuration of data duplication on a radio bearer based on the received configuration request message.
However, Park fails to teach but Wu teaches—
receive, through the transceiver, a configuration request message from a transmitting node ([0051], [0081], [0106]-[0108], teaches an apparatus includes a receiver, transmitter and processer, a combined transceiver, where the apparatus may be a donor, IAB node or UE; further teaches that the donor node configures the UE and IAB nodes for duplication by RRC signaling; configuration request message mapped to donor node RRC signaling/configuration used to configuration duplication), wherein the configuration request message comprises a first indication for a number of first copies to be duplicated for a data packet in an access link channel ([0043]-[0046], [0050]-[0059], teaches duplication for a DRB between a donor node and UE, where the UE communicates through dual connectivity over first and second paths using accessing IAB nodes’ disclosure that an original packet is transmitted over a first DRB/path and a duplicate packet is transmitted over a second DRB/path; teaches configuring first/second logical channels and RLC entities for downlink packets and third/fourth logical channels and RLC entities for uplink packets which corresponds to configuration information indicating duplicate packet transmission over multiple data link channels) and a second indication for a number of second copies to be duplicated for a data packet in the backhaul link channel ([0050], [0060]-[0063], [0073]-[0075], teaches that where original and duplicate packets share a backhaul link, the IAB nodes need to transfer the original packet and the corresponding duplicate packet through different backhaul RLC channels/entities; further teaches that the donor node configures bearer mapping association between radio bearers associated with duplication, and backhaul RLC entities, or alternatively indicates which DRBs are configured for duplication so that the IAB node determines different backhaul RLC entities for the paired original and duplicate packets);
determine a number of access link channel and a number of the backhaul link channel, based on the configuration request message ([0052]-[0063], [0073]-[0075], teaches that donor-node configuration determines the logical channels, RLC entities, DRBs, and backhaul RLC entities used for duplication; specifically configured the UE with multiple logical channels/RLC entities for duplicated access-link transmission and configures IAB nodes with bearer mapping associations so the original and duplicate DRBs are mapped to different backhaul RLC entities; thus, the number of access-link channels and duplicate-link channels is determined from the duplication configuration).
and performing configuration of data duplication on the radio bearer based on the received configuration request message and the number of the access link channel, and the number of the backhaul link channel ([0045][0046], [0056]-[0063], [0073]-[0075], teaches performing PDCP duplication on a radio bearer based on the donor-node configuration; discloses that the transmitting PDCP entity delivers the same packet to two different RLC entities associated with paired DRBs, such that one RLC entity handles the original packet and another handles the duplicate packet; teaches that IAB nodes use bearer-specific IDs and donor-configured bearer mapping associations to map original and duplicate packets to corresponding backhaul RLC entities);
forward, based on the first indication, duplicated data packets in multiple access link channels between the receiving node and user equipment ([0044]-[0046], [0052]-[0059], [0073]-[0075], teaches that, in downlink duplication, the donor node transmits an original packet and corresponding duplicate packet over original and duplicate radio bearers, and the accessing node in the original radio bearer transfers the original packet to the UE while the accessing node in the duplicate radio bearer transfers the duplicate packet to the UE; also teaches that the UE receives packets through different RLC/logical channels associated with the same PDCP entity, allowing duplicate detection/discarding; maps to forwarding duplicate data packets over multiple access-link channels between the receiving/accessing node and the UE),
forward, based on the second indication, duplicated data packets in multiple backhaul link channels between the receiving node and the transmitting node ([0050], [0062]-[0063], [0073], [0075], discloses that IAB nodes receiving original and duplicate packets map the packets to different backhaul RLC channels/entities based on donor-node configured bearer mapping associations or information indicating which DRBs are configured for duplication; teaches that original and duplicate packets are transferred through different backhaul RLC channels/entities, that the donor node configures bearer mapping associations between duplication radio bearers and backhaul RLC entities, and that an IAB node uses that configuration to determine the appropriate backhaul RLC entity and transfer the packet to the next IAB node or donor node),
Park and Wu are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices in wireless communication networks for wireless resource allocation and data duplication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park and Wu to create a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB).
Park discloses general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes. Furthermore, Wu teaches an IAB duplication mechanism in which a donor node configures UEs and IAB nodes so that original and duplicate packets are carried over different DRBs/logical channels and mapped to different backhaul RLC entities to improve reliability and latency. Combining the references of Park and Wu would yield a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB). The motivation for combining these references would be to enable communication nodes to perform duplication configuration without needing to deduce or guess link parameters independently.
However, Park and Wu fails to teach but Lianhai teaches and wherein each of the first configuration information and the second configuration information comprises mapping relationship information ([0009]-[0011], [0081], teaches first/second configuration information from the base station, including information indicating associations of RLC channels and mapping of logical channels to logical channel groups; teaches transmitting first configuration information indicating association of RLC channels between the communication device and access communication device with at least two parent nodes and teaches second configuration information indicating mapping ingress logical channels to ingress logical channel groups; also teaches that operation 411 may include BS configuration information indicating association of RLC channels with parent nodes and mapping of logical channels to logical channel groups), wherein the mapping relationship information comprises first mapping mode indicating that multiple backhaul link channels are mapped to one access link channel ([0048]-[0049], [0121]-[0125], teaches that each RLC channel between the communication device and the access communication device is associated with two or more parent nodes, and the IAB node transmits duplicated data to the two or more associated parent nodes; in Fig 4 embodiment, an access-side RLC/logical channel between communication device 420C and access communication device 420D is associated with both communication devices 420A and 420B, and the uplink data may be transmitted to the BS via both routes; this supports a mapping mode where one access-side channel is mapped to multiple parent/backhaul channel/routes) and a second mapping mode indicating that one backhaul link channel is mapped to multiple access link channel ([0060]-[0062], teaches ingress logical channels from one or more child/access devices being mapped to egress logical channels toward parent nodes; the mapping relationship between one egress/backhaul logical channel and multiple ingress/egress logical channels satisfies the claimed one-backhaul-to-multiple-access mapping).
Park, Wu, and Lianhai are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices in wireless communication networks for wireless resource allocation and data duplication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park, Wu, and Lianhai to create a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB).
Park discloses general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes. Furthermore, Wu teaches an IAB duplication mechanism in which a donor node configures UEs and IAB nodes so that original and duplicate packets are carried over different DRBs/logical channels and mapped to different backhaul RLC entities to improve reliability and latency. Lastly, Lianhai teaches configuring an IAB/relay node with mapping or association information that maps access-side RLC/logical channels from a child/access device to one or more parent/backhaul nodes or egress logical channels, including multi-connectivity and duplicated uplink transmission schemes. Combining the references of Park ,Wu and Lianhai would yield a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB). The motivation for combining these references would be to enable communication nodes to perform duplication configuration without needing to deduce or guess link parameters independently.
However, Lianhai fails to teach but Yi teaches wherein the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the mapping relationship information ([0013]-[0015], [0046]-[0047], the number of PDCP PDU copies transmitted is determined by how many lower layer entities are configured and selected for duplication; the configuration dynamically controls whether duplication is enabled or disabled, and to which/how many lower layer entities the PDCP PDU is submitted)
Park, Wu, Lianhai, and Li are considered analogous to the claimed invention because they are in the same field of methods and devices in wireless communication networks for wireless resource allocation and data duplication. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine Park, Wu, and Lianhai to create a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB).
Park discloses general wireless communication techniques for radio resource allocation for access link contained a IAB system with transmitting and receiving nodes. Furthermore, Wu teaches an IAB duplication mechanism in which a donor node configures UEs and IAB nodes so that original and duplicate packets are carried over different DRBs/logical channels and mapped to different backhaul RLC entities to improve reliability and latency. Lianhai teaches configuring an IAB/relay node with mapping or association information that maps access-side RLC/logical channels from a child/access device to one or more parent/backhaul nodes or egress logical channels, including multi-connectivity and duplicated uplink transmission schemes. Lastly, Yi teaches that the number of PDCP PDU copies is controlled by configuration of multiple lower layer entities; therefore, the number of copies to be duplicated is determined based on the access-backhaul mapping information, since the mapping dictates how many parallel bearer entities must be supported. Combining the references of Park ,Wu, Lianhai, and Li would yield a method implemented by a receiving node and a subsequent transmitting node for communication in a communication system supporting integrated access and backhaul (IAB). The motivation for combining these references would be to enable communication nodes to perform duplication configuration without needing to deduce or guess link parameters independently.
Regarding claim 3, Park teaches the method wherein the first configuration information related to the radio bearer comprises at least one of the following:
first information related to a tunnel of the radio bearer, information related to the access link channel, information related to the backhaul link channel ([0340]-[0343], [0347]-[0348], First, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Second, Radio Resources for backhaul/access—radio resources are part of MAC/RRC configuration, partitioning (TDM/FDM/SDM) may be governed by RRC config (though managed at MAC/PHY level); directed included in RRC messages, used in RRC procedures/configurations (resource allocation, UE context retrieval); lastly, discusses updating a downlink tunnel endpoint identifier for a bearer between the core and RAN—this is tunnel info related to the bearer; access link info – radio link between an IAB-node and wireless device; backhaul link channel info – radio resources may be partitioned between a backhaul link (parent link) and access link).
Regarding claim 4, Park discloses the method wherein the second configuration information related to the backhaul link channel comprises at least one of the following: information of a group of backhaul link channels, and configuration information of the backhaul link channels ([0340]-[0343], [0347-[0348], First, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Second, Radio Resources for backhaul/access—radio resources are part of MAC/RRC configuration, partitioning (TDM/FDM/SDM) may be governed by RRC config (though managed at MAC/PHY level); directed included in RRC messages, used in RRC procedures/configurations (resource allocation, UE context retrieval); lastly, backhaul link configuration info—disclosure refers to partitioning radio resources between backhaul and access links using TDM/FDM/SDM which is configuration information; Group of backhaul link channels – radio resources for backhaul link implies multiple channels or allocations).
Regarding claim 5, Park discloses the method wherein the configuration request message is a resource configuration request message ([0004], [0340]-[0343], [0347],, First, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Second, Radio Resources for backhaul/access—radio resources are part of MAC/RRC configuration, partitioning (TDM/FDM/SDM) may be governed by RRC config (though managed at MAC/PHY level); directed included in RRC messages, used in RRC procedures/configurations (resource allocation, UE context retrieval); lastly, describes an access node sending downlink resource information to another access node with the data, to reduce latency—functionally matches a resource configuration message notifying of downlink configuration), which is used to notify the receiving node of configuration information about downlink data transmission, and
wherein the resource configuration request message comprises at least one of the following: identification information of the radio bearer and information related to a tunnel of the radio bearer ([0347], tunnel information—disclosure discusses updating downlink tunnel endpoint identifiers for bearers-related to tunnel information; bearer information is implied via bearer context retrieval for the UE (suggests identification exists) which is bearer ID).
Regarding claim 6, Park teaches the method wherein the information related to the tunnel of the radio bearer comprises at least one of the following: an Internet Protocol (IP) address, a tunnel endpoint identifier of data, indication information of use of a tunnel, one or more Quality of Service (QoS) mapping information, and information related to duplication of a data packet ([0233], [0237], [0347], First, user plane protocol stack and Layer functions—explains service functions of SDAP, PDCP, RLC, MAC and PHY layers—MAC, RLC, PDCP and SDAP configuration parameters are typically signaled via RRC messages as part of RRC Connection Reconfiguration or RRC Setup procedures; logical channel states references to bearer configuration (e.g. QoS flow, Split bearer, duplication) imply these aspects are subject to RRC signaling; Second, connection setup/release, QoS flow to DRB mapping, paging, measurement configuration, session management, support for RRC_INACTIVE—these functions are core elements of RRC signaling, configuration; Third, discusses the identifiers are included in or directly associated with RRC messages, RRC configuration parameters or RRC procedures; AS context identifier is used by a base station to identify the UE and request its context from another anchor base station included RRC-level-config, RNA identifier is received via RRC signaling, base station identifier, resume identifier and cell identifier are mentioned. These identifiers are either (1) transmitted in RRC signaling (RRCResumeRequest, UEContextRequest), or (2) serve as parameters in procedures tightly ties to RRC state transitions (e.g resume, context fetch) confirming they are associated with RRC messaging. Lastly, disclosure mentions IP header compression, routing of user plane data and QoS flow management and mapping to data radio bearers, SDAP layer provides, mapping, explicit mention of IP-related processing, (IP header compression), Tunnel endpoint identifier updates, QoS mapping information, routing functions that imply tunnel use, duplication functions mentioned in PDCP services).
Regarding claim 7, Park teaches the method wherein the configuration request message is a first configuration message, which is used to help the receiving node determine a transmission method of user data on an access link ([0004], [0348], access node sends downlink resource information to another access node to transmit data to a device; disclosure differentiates between backhaul and access links; describes radio resource assignment; it is clear that configuration assists with access link transmission (e.g. resource assignment), link between a specific message and its purpose to determine access link transmission is implied).
Regarding claim 9, Park teaches the method wherein the configuration request message is a second configuration message, which is used to help the receiving node determine a transmission method of user data on a backhaul link channel ([0231], [0348]-[0349], configuration message determine transmission method depending on transmission configuration requirements; describes backhaul link structure, radio resource allocation, and constraints like resource unavailability, described latency caused by unavailable radio resources, disclosure of transmission over backhaul and the challenged involved).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Applicant Arguments/REMARKS, filed 03/20/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 3-7, 9, & 11 under 35 USC 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new grounds of rejection is made in view of further search and inquiry.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL WILLIAM ABBATINE JR./Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419