DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
2. Applicant’s election without traverse of Group 3, claims 17-21 in the reply filed on 9/8/2025 is acknowledged. Claims 1-16 are withdrawn.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 1/17/2023, 6/4/2024, 9/18/2024 and 4/14/2025 were filed timely. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
6. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by (US 2017/0159416 A1) to Sheng (hereinafter Sheng).
Sheng is directed toward huff-n-puff method of oil recovery. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0013] that the gas is injected into the reservoir to reach maximum pressure. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0051] that the reservoir undergoes soaking for 10 days, which reads on Applicants range of 5 to 35 days. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0052] that oil is recovered using huff-n-puff gas injection. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0072] that pressure is decreased until oil production falls off. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0011] that methane and other gases may be used. Sheng discloses each and every element of claims 17 and 18.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
9. Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2017/0159416 A1) to Sheng (hereinafter Sheng).
Sheng is directed toward huff-n-puff method of oil recovery. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0013] that the gas is injected into the reservoir to reach maximum pressure. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0051] that the reservoir undergoes soaking for 10 days, which reads on Applicants range of 5 to 35 days. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0052] that oil is recovered using huff-n-puff gas injection. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0072] that pressure is decreased until oil production falls off. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0011] that methane and other gases may be used.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the disclosure of Sheng to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 17 and 18.
10. Claims 17-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over (US 2017/0159416 A1) to Sheng (hereinafter Sheng) in view of the teachings of (US 2012/0085555 A1) to Collins (hereinafter Collins).
Sheng is directed toward huff-n-puff method of oil recovery. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0013] that the gas is injected into the reservoir to reach maximum pressure. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0051] that the reservoir undergoes soaking for 10 days, which reads on Applicants range of 5 to 35 days. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0052] that oil is recovered using huff-n-puff gas injection. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0072] that pressure is decreased until oil production falls off. Sheng discloses at paragraph [0011] that methane and other gases may be used.
Collins is directed toward hydrocarbon recovery using a huff and puff method. Sheng and Collins are both directed toward hydrocarbon recovery using a huff and puff method and therefore are analogous art. Collins teaches at paragraph [0011] that the methods disclosed are applicable for use in a “huff and puff” technique of oil recovery. Collins teaches at paragraph [0069] that the pore pressure was decreased above live oil pressure point. Collins teaches at paragraph [0072] that the brine was equilibrated to the reservoir pore pressure. Collins teaches at paragraph [0064] that the cores were pressurized with nitrogen and then saturated with brine. Collins teaches brine and water saturation techniques for use with a huff and puff method to optimize oil recovery, which would motivate one skilled in the art to combine the teachings.
It would be obvious to one skilled in the art at the time of the disclosure of Sheng in view of the teachings of Collins to select each and every element of claims to form a prime facie case of obviousness for claims 17-21.
Conclusion
/JEFFREY D WASHVILLE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766