DETAILED ACTION
Claim Status
Claims 6-39, 48, and 58-63 are withdrawn.
Claims 1-5 and 38-41 are under current examination.
Applicants' arguments filed on 10/28/2025, have been fully considered. Rejections and/or objections not reiterated from previous office actions are hereby withdrawn. The following rejections and/or objections are either reiterated or newly applied. They constitute the complete set presently being applied to the instant application.
Maintained Rejections
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(b) Indefinite
Claims 1-5 and 38-41 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites: wherein when measured by releasing NO from the NORS for a period of 30 minutes into a flow of substantially inert carrier gas at a flow rate of 1 liter per minute and a pressure of 1 atmosphere, coupled to a chemiluminescence detector, said NORS releases NO in an amount of from about 1 ppm*min/mL to about 500 ppm*min/mL based on 1 mL of the NORS”. Claim 38 recites that the NO releases 10ppm*min/mL to about 60 ppm*min/mL based on 1mL of the NORS. Claim 3 recites a volume of from 0.1-10,000mL and claim 40 recites a volume from 0.5-10mL of the NORS. It is unclear what the intended volume and release amount of the NO from NORS is meant to encompass. It is unclear if the NORS in claim 1 constitutes a volume of 1mL and NO is released from 1ppm*min-500ppm*/min or if the volume of NORS is meant to be from 0.1-10,000mL and the NO is from 6-75,000ppm*min. The “when measured” renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if the volume of NORS is and the amount of NO released is meant to be required by the claim or not. For the purpose of examination of the claims, the total volume of claim 1 for the NORS is interpreted as when present 1mL with the release of NO being interpreted as 1ppm*min to 500ppm*min for a total volume of 1mL.
The term “substantially inert ” in claim 1 is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially inert” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear if the carrier gas is inert or to what degree the gas is inert to be considered substantially inert.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112(d) failure to further limit
Claims 3-4 and 39-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
Claim 3 recites wherein the volume of NORS if from about 0.1-10,000mL. However the volume of NORS of claim 1 is 1mL which releases NO in an amount of from 1-500ppm*min/mL. The volume of about 0.1-10,000mL appears to broaden the volume of the NORS of claim 1.
Claim 4 recites that the NO released by the volume of NORS administered is from 6-75,000ppm*min. However, the release of claim 1 based on a total volume of 1mL is from 1-500ppm. Thus the ppm of claim 4 appears to broaden the amount of claim 1.
Claim 39 recites that the total amount of NO released by the volume of NORS is from about 20-400ppm*min. However, the release of claim 38 is from 10-60ppm*min. Thus, the ppm of claim 39 appears to broaden the amount required by claim 38.
Claim 40 recite that the volume of NORS is administered from about 0.5-10mL. However, claim 1 and claim 38 suggests that the NORS is a 1mL concentration. The amount of NORS of claim 40 appears to broaden 1mL volume of claim 1 and 38.
Claim 41 recites that the volume of NORS releases a peak NO concentration of about 1-60ppm. The peak concentration appears to be broader than the amount of from 10-60ppm earlier recited in claim 38.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 3 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Miller et al. (WO2016027163).
Miller et al. teach administering nitric oxide to a subject’s mammary tissue from a nitric oxide releasing solution, see claim 1. The nitric oxide releasing solution is used to treat warts, see claims 1 and 14. The NORS can comprise a nitrite salt and acidifying agent, see claim 4. Example 2 teaches the antibacterial effect of NORS solution on a skin surface which contains sodium nitrate and citric acid as the preferred nitrite salt and citric acid as the preferred acidifying agent. The amount combined to form an activated solution is 10-50mL, page 13, lines 17-33 and claim 14 and claims 7, 37, and 78-79.
Regarding the limitation “when measured by releasing NO from the NORS for a period of 30 minutes into a flow of substantially inert carrier gas at a rate of 1 liter per minute and pressure of 1atm, coupled to a chemiluminescence detector, said NORS releases NO in an amount of from 1ppm*min to about 50 ppm*min per mL based on 1mL of the NORS, this limitation characterizes measurement of the solution after 30 minutes but the claim does not require measurement in view of “when measured”. Since Miller et al. teaches the exact same composition as claimed having NORS in an anticipatory amount with acidifying agent (citric acid) and nitrite salt (sodium nitrite), Miller anticipates the claimed invention.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 and 38-41 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Miller et al. (WO2016027163).
Miller et al. teach administering nitric oxide to a subject’s mammary tissue from a nitric oxide releasing solution, see claims 1-14 and entire document. The nitric oxide releasing solution can be liquid and is used to treat warts, see claims 1, 4-5 and 14 and page 31, line 33. The NORS can comprise a nitrite salt and acidifying agent, see claim 4. The nitrate salt can comprise sodium nitrate, see page 10, lines 23-33. Example 2 teaches the antibacterial effect of NORS solution on a skin surface which contains sodium nitrate and citric acid as the preferred nitrite salt and citric acid as the preferred acidifying agent.. In one example, Miller teaches treating a mammary condition in a subject is described, which comprises a first component configured to release gNO upon acidification thereof; a second component configured to acidify the first component; and a device for administering the first and second component such that when combined, the components form a composition that releases a therapeutically effective amount of gNO to the subject, see paged 31, lines 13-20, 32, lines 20-30, page 33, lines 9-10, page 35, lines 15-20 and claims 28-47. The acidifying agent and nitrile salt are combined to form an activated composition in amounts from 10-50mL, see pages 31, lines 13-20 and entire document. The NORS can also be administered from 0.25-50mL, see page 31, lines 19-20. The NORS can release a therapeutically amount of gNO which includes from 4-10,000ppm, see page 12, lines 17-33. In one embodiment the concentration can be from 100-500ppm and in another 50-200ppm, see page 13, lines 17-33. The NORS can be configured to release between 1 minute an 24 hours, see page 19, lines 10-12. Since the NORS can comprise 4-10,000ppm and can be administered from 10-50mL, this inclusive of a range of 200-1000ppm/mL (when 10,000ppm administered at a concentration from 10-50mL). Since the NORS is taught to be administered from 1 min to 24 hours this is inclusive of from 200-1000ppm*min per mL. When utilizing 100ppm which overlaps the range of 4-10,000ppm taught by Miller at a concentration of 10-50mL, the concentration per min is from 2-10ppm/mL (for 50mL). In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
Miller teaches the claimed invention having overlapping ranges for releasing NO (ppm) and the volume of NORS (mL). In view of the teachings of Miller it would have been prima facie obvious to treat warts with a nitric oxide releasing solution that comprises citric acid and sodium nitrite and to provide the NORS in an amount from 10-50mL an amount of NO from 4-10,000ppm for a time period inclusive of from 1 minute to 24 hours as suggested by miller. . Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990).
According to the instant invention, the acidifying agent can be present from 0.1-4w/v with the (paragraph [0067] with the sodium nitrate present from 0.1-1.5w/v. (paragraph 0065). Miller teaches overlapping amounts as acidifying agent such as citric acid can be present from 0.07-10% w/v, with a mounts of sodium nitrate from 0.07-2 w/v, see page 13, lines 18-20 and page 11, lines 1-35. Since Miller renders obvious the instantly claimed invention and utilizes a NORS solution in overlapping amounts with overlapping amounts of acidifying agent and sodium nitrate, the property of “when measured by releasing NO from the NORS for a period of 30 minutes into a flow of substantially inert carrier gas at a rate of 1 liter per minute and pressure of 1atm, coupled to a chemiluminescence detector, said NORS releases NO in an amount of from 1ppm*min to about 50 ppm*min per mL based on 1mL of the NORS would necessarily follow. It is further noted that this limitation recites “when measured” characterizes measurement of the solution after 30 minutes but does not appear to require the measurement. Since Miller et al. teaches the same composition as claimed having the same volume of NORS with overlapping amounts of citric acid and sodium nitrite, Miller renders obvious the claimed release of NO based on 1mL of NORS.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-5 and 38-41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 15-16, and 21 of copending Application No. 18207099 (reference application) in view of Miller et al. (WO2016027163).
Claims 1-5 and 38-41 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 15-16, and 21 commonly assigned 18207099.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned 18207099, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Both the instant claims and that of Application ‘099 deliver NORS, an acidifying agent and a nitric oxide releasing compound to treat skin. The claims of ‘099 do not teach the presence of sodium nitrite with citric acid as the acidifying agent in amounts that include 1mL NORS in solution and from 1-500ppm per min per mL.
However, Miller et al. teach administering gashouse nitric oxide to a subject’s mammary tissue from a nitric oxide releasing solution, see claim 1. The nitric oxide releasing solution is used to treat warts, see claims 1 and 14. The NORS can comprise a nitrite salt and acidifying agent, see claim 4. Example 2 teaches the antibacterial effect of NORS solution on a skin surface which contains sodium nitrate and citric acid as the preferred nitrite salt and citric acid as the preferred acidifying agent.. In one example, a system for treating a mammary condition in a subject, as recited in any of the previous examples, is described, which comprises a first component configured to release gNO upon acidification thereof; a second component configured to acidify the first component; and a device for administering the first and second component such that when combined, the components form a composition that releases a therapeutically effective amount of gNO to the subject. The acidifying agent and nitrile salt are combined to form an activated composition in amounts from 10-50mL. The NORS can also be administered from 0.25-50mL. The NORS can release a therapeutically amount of gNO which includes from 4-10,000ppm. In one embodiment the concentration can be from 100-500ppm and in another 50-200ppm. The NORS can be configured to release between 1 minute an 24 hours. Since the NORS can comprise 4-10,000ppm and can be administered from 10-50mL, this inclusive of a range of 200-1000ppm/mL (when 10,000ppm administered at a concentration from 10-50mL). Since the NORS is taught to be administered from 1 min to 24 hours this is inclusive of from 200-1000ppm per min per mL. When utilizing 100ppm which overlaps the range of 4-10,000ppm taught by Miller at a concentration of 10-50mL, the concentration per min is from 2-50ppm/mL. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The nitrate salt which includes sodium nitrate can be present from 0.07-2w/v with acidifying agent taught to be from 0.07-10% w/v. The addition of the acidifying agent including citric acid helps increase production of NO. The nitric oxide releasing compound includes sodium nitrite.
It would have been obvious to provide the nitric oxide composition of Application ‘099 as a NORS that comprises citric acid and sodium nitrite as the nitric oxide releasing compound in the method of treating warts in an amount that includes 1mL as suggested by Miller and from 4-10,000ppm of NORS administered from 10-50mL (inclusive of 200-1000ppm per min per mL or from 2-50ppm per min per ML).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Miller teaches that the NORS composition having acidifying agent and nitrite salt including sodium nitrate are useful in treating viral infections such as warts and the composition of Application ‘485 treats a skin surface.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1-5 and 38-41 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-4 of copending Application No. 19/031,893 (reference application).
Claims 1-5 and 38-41 are directed to an invention not patentably distinct from claims 1-4 commonly assigned 19/031,893.
The U.S. Patent and Trademark Office may not institute a derivation proceeding in the absence of a timely filed petition. The USPTO normally will not institute a derivation proceeding between applications or a patent and an application having common ownership (see 37 CFR 42.411). Commonly assigned 19/031,893, discussed above, may form the basis for a rejection of the noted claims under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 if the commonly assigned case qualifies as prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and the patentably indistinct inventions were not commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention.
In order for the examiner to resolve this issue the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(i) to the effect that the subject matter and the claimed invention, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, were owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person. Alternatively, the applicant or patent owner can provide a statement under 35 U.S.C. 102(c) and 37 CFR 1.104(c)(4)(ii) to the effect that the subject matter was developed and the claimed invention was made by or on behalf of one or more parties to a joint research agreement that was in effect on or before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, and the claimed invention was made as a result of activities undertaken within the scope of the joint research agreement; the application must also be amended to disclose the names of the parties to the joint research agreement.
A showing that the inventions were commonly owned or deemed to be commonly owned not later than the effective filing date under 35 U.S.C. 100(i) of the claimed invention will preclude a rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102 or 103 based upon the commonly assigned case. Alternatively, applicant may take action to amend or cancel claims such that the applications, or the patent and the application, no longer contain claims directed to patentably indistinct inventions.
Both the instant claims and that of Application ‘893 teach delivery of nitric oxide releasing agent, acidifier that releases NO. The conditions being treated include viruses. The claims of ‘893 do not teach the presence of sodium nitrite with citric acid as the acidifying agent in amounts that include 1mL NORS in solution and from 1-500ppm per min per mL.
However, Miller et al. teach administering gashouse nitric oxide to a subject’s mammary tissue from a nitric oxide releasing solution, see claim 1. The nitric oxide releasing solution is used to treat warts, see claims 1 and 14. The NORS can comprise a nitrite salt and acidifying agent, see claim 4. Example 2 teaches the antibacterial effect of NORS solution on a skin surface which contains sodium nitrate and citric acid as the preferred nitrite salt and citric acid as the preferred acidifying agent.. In one example, a system for treating a mammary condition in a subject, as recited in any of the previous examples, is described, which comprises a first component configured to release gNO upon acidification thereof; a second component configured to acidify the first component; and a device for administering the first and second component such that when combined, the components form a composition that releases a therapeutically effective amount of gNO to the subject. The acidifying agent and nitrile salt are combined to form an activated composition in amounts from 10-50mL. The NORS can also be administered from 0.25-50mL. The NORS can release a therapeutically amount of gNO which includes from 4-10,000ppm. In one embodiment the concentration can be from 100-500ppm and in another 50-200ppm. The NORS can be configured to release between 1 minute an 24 hours. Since the NORS can comprise 4-10,000ppm and can be administered from 10-50mL, this inclusive of a range of 200-1000ppm/mL (when 10,000ppm administered at a concentration from 10-50mL). Since the NORS is taught to be administered from 1 min to 24 hours this is inclusive of from 200-1000ppm per min per mL. When utilizing 100ppm which overlaps the range of 4-10,000ppm taught by Miller at a concentration of 10-50mL, the concentration per min is from 2-50ppm/mL. In the case where the claimed ranges "overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art" a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). The nitrate salt which includes sodium nitrate can be present from 0.07-2w/v with acidifying agent taught to be from 0.07-10% w/v. The addition of the acidifying agent including citric acid helps increase production of NO. The nitric oxide releasing compound includes sodium nitrite.
It would have been obvious to provide the nitric oxide composition of Application ‘893 as a NORS that comprises citric acid and sodium nitrite as the nitric oxide releasing compound in the method of treating warts in an amount that includes 1mL as suggested by Miller and from 4-10,000ppm of NORS administered from 10-50mL (inclusive of 200-1000ppm per min per mL or from 2-50ppm per min per ML).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Miller teaches that the NORS composition having acidifying agent and nitrite salt including sodium nitrate are useful in treating viral infections such as warts and the composition of Application ‘893 treats viruses.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Response to Remarks
Regarding the 112(b) and 112(d) rejections, Applicants argue that it is important to note that this is not supposed to limit the amount of NORS or NO being administered as it is simply a rate in which the NO is being released can be measured for the purpose of monitoring.
Examiner respectfully submits that claim 1 is directed to when measured said NORS releases NO in an amount of from about 1ppm*min/mL to about 500ppm*min/mL based on a 1mL sample. This is measuring a release rate of NORS based on a 1mL volume of NORS. Yet claim 3 appears to broaden the volume of NORS. It also remains unclear which volume of NORS is intended to be met by the claim. Claim 4 recites a total amount released “by the volume of NORS” however claim 1 has a volume measured of NORS that is a total volume based on 1mL of NORS. Similarly, claim 38 has a total volume of NORS of 1mL yet the volume administered is 0.5-10mL. Claims 1 and 38 releases a set amount of NO. Accordingly, the claims remain indefinite and appear to broaden the release rate earlier reared by the claim based on a 1mL NORS. Applicants argue that the limitations of claim 1 do not limit the amount of NORS or NO being administered. However, claim 1 measures releasing NO from NORS for a period of 30 minutes when administered into a flow of substantially inert carrier gas at a flow rate of 1liter per minute and a pressure of 1atm coupled to a chemiluminescence detector it does release NO in an amount of 1pppm*min/ml to about 500ppm*min/mL based on a 1mL of NORS.
Regarding the 112(b) rejection over substantially inert, Applicants argue that the specification at page 7, line 26- page 8, line 5 defines a composition that is substantially free of particles would either completely lack particles or so nearly completely lack particles that the effect would be the same as if completely lacked particles. Applicants argue that a composition that is substantially free of an ingredient or element may still actually contain such item as long as there is no measurable effect.
Examiner respectfully disagrees there is a clear definition of “substantially inert”. The definition that substantially refers to the complete or nearly complete extent or degree of an action does not clarify the indefiniteness for substantially inert because “nearly” is also a relative term. Thus, it is unclear to what degree the composition must be inert to meet “substantially inert”.
Regarding the 102 and 103 rejections citing Miller (WO2016027163), Applicants argue that the claimed limitation “when measured by releasing NO from the NORS for a period of 30 minutes into a flow of substantially inert carrier gas at a flow rate of 1 liter per minute and a pressure of 1 atmosphere, coupled to a chemiluminescence detector, said NORS releases NO in an amount of from about 1 ppm*min/mL to about 500 ppm*min/mL based on 1 mL of the NORS” is important and allows for monitoring of NO released which is substantially different than a result obtained during testing, but instead are basic compositional traits being viewed through an analytical instrument. These features which relate to the released amounts of NO are not merely obtained during testing and are not found in the Miller reference.
Examiner respectfully disagrees and maintains that “when measured by releasing NO from the NORS for a period of 30 minutes into a flow of substantially inert carrier gas at a flow rate of 1 liter per minute and a pressure of 1 atmosphere, coupled to a chemiluminescence detector, said NORS releases NO in an amount of from about 1 ppm*min/mL to about 500 ppm*min/mL based on 1 mL of the NORS” is taking a measurement of releasing NO from NORS under certain conditions and that this limitation characterizes measurement of the solution after 30 minutes but the claim does not require measurement in view of “when measured”. Since Miller et al. teaches the exact same composition as claimed having NORS in an anticipatory amount with acidifying agent (citric acid) and nitrite salt (sodium nitrite), Miller anticipates the claimed invention. From MPEP 2112.01, "Products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Here, Miller teaches an identical composition, thus the same release rate would necessarily follow. It is noted that Applicants argument with regards to the 112b and 112d is that claims 1 and 38 do not give a concentration of NORS or NO released during administration but are instead parameters with which NO release can be measured. Examiner submits that these are parameters in which said NORS releases NO in a certain concentration based on a mL, but are not necessarily required in view of the “when measured”. It remains unclear as discussed above what the release amount for NORS releasing NO is required by the claims and in what mL amount. In addition, since Miller renders obvious the instantly claimed invention and utilizes a NORS solution in overlapping amounts with overlapping amounts of acidifying agent and sodium nitrate, the property of “when measured by releasing NO from the NORS for a period of 30 minutes into a flow of substantially inert carrier gas at a rate of 1 liter per minute and pressure of 1atm, coupled to a chemiluminescence detector, said NORS releases NO in an amount of from 1ppm*min to about 50 ppm*min per mL based on 1mL of the NORS would necessarily follow. It is further noted that this limitation recites “when measured” characterizes measurement of the solution after 30 minutes but does not appear to require the measurement. Since Miller et al. teaches the same composition as claimed having the same volume of NORS with overlapping amounts of citric acid and sodium nitrite, Miller renders obvious the claimed release of NO based on 1mL of NORS. Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977). "When the PTO shows a sound basis for believing that the products of the applicant and the prior art are the same, the applicant has the burden of showing that they are not." In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). Therefore, the prima facie case can be rebutted by evidence showing that the prior art products do not necessarily possess the characteristics of the claimed product. In re Best, 562 F.2d at 1255, 195 USPQ at 433. See also Titanium Metals Corp. v. Banner, 778 F.2d 775, 227 USPQ 773 (Fed. Cir. 1985).
Applicants wish to hold the Double Patenting rejections in abeyance.
Examiner respectfully submits that a request to hold a rejection in abeyance is not a proper response to a rejection. Rather, a request to hold a matter in abeyance may only be made in response to an OBJECTION or REQUIREMENTS AS TO FORM (see MPEP 37 CFR 1.111(b) and 714.02). Thus, the double patenting rejections of record have been maintained as no action regarding these rejections has been taken by applicants at this time
Conclusion
Applicant’s arguments/remarks are considered unpersuasive. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Currently, no claims are allowed and all claims are rejected.
Correspondence
/SARAH ALAWADI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1619