Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Keister et al. U.S. PGPub 2022/0348101 A1 (hereinafter Keister).
Regarding Claim 1, Keister teaches a multi-channel charging system (Keister, Fig. 1A-1B, Element 100/100’; Paras. [0054] and [0070], “EV charging system”) comprising: a power source supplying power (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Element 54; Paras. [0060] – [0061], “Grid Network”); a transformer connected to the power source (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Element 130; Para. [0063], “transformer network”. Where the transformer has a single primary winding and multiple secondary windings.); a plurality of charging ports (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Elements 1401-140n, “Electrically Isolated Vehicle Charger”; Paras. [0065] and [0070], “vehicle chargers”) connected to the transformer and charging or discharging each object (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Elements 651-65n; Paras. [0054] and [0070], “directly connect to EVs 65”, and Para. [0096], “discharge stored energy from the EV to the grid”. Where the EVs are comparable to the claimed invention’s “objects”); a converter converting power between the power source and the transformer (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Element 120, “Grid-Tie Module”; Paras. [0061] – [0062], “power electronics-based converters”) or between the object and the transformer (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Elements 1401-140n,; Paras. [0065] - [0066], “power electronics converter”); and a controller (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Element 150; Paras. [0068] - [0069]) controlling the converter or each of the objects (Keister, Figs. 8-9; Paras. [0096] - [0097], and [0105]), wherein the controller transmits/receives a signal to or from each of the objects, controls power transmission/reception between each of the objects (Keister, Fig. 9; Paras. [0096] through [0102], in particular [0102], and Fig. 17A-B, Element 1700, paragraphs [0132] – [0138]).
Regarding Claim 2, The teaching of the Keister reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Keister teaches wherein the plurality of charging ports is connected in parallel (Keister, Para. [0078]), and the controller controls each of the objects to exchange power with each other through the plurality of charging ports (Keister, Figs. 8-9; Paras. [0096] - [0097], and [0105]).
Regarding Claim 3, The teaching of the Keister reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Keister teaches wherein the plurality of charging ports comprises: a first charging port; a second charging port; and a third charging port, wherein the controller controls one of the plurality of charging ports to transmit power to the other charging ports or receive power from the other charging ports (Keister, Figs. 8-9; Paras. [0096] - [0097], and [0105]).
Regarding Claim 4, The teaching of the Keister reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 3/1. Furthermore, Keister teaches wherein the controller controls a power transmission direction between each of the objects and the plurality of charging ports (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Element 150; Paras. [0068] - [0069], and Figs. 8-9; Paras. [0096] - [0097], and [0105]).
Regarding Claim 5, The teaching of the Keister reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 2/1. Furthermore, Keister teaches wherein the converter comprises an isolated converter or a direct current (DC)/DC converter (Keister, Fig. 4A, Element 400; Para. [0081]).
Regarding Claim 6, The teaching of the Keister reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 1. Furthermore, Keister teaches further comprising: an energy storage in which power is temporarily stored (Keister, Fig. 10, Element 1070; Paras. [0069] and [0103] – [0105]).
Regarding Claim 7, Keister teaches a multi-channel charging system (Keister, Fig. 1A-1B, Element 100/100’; Paras. [0054] and [0070], “EV charging system”) comprising: an integrated power source supplying power (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Element 54; Paras. [0060] – [0061], “Grid Network”, and Fig. 7; Para. [0089]. Multiple chargers with multiple ports.); a plurality of chargers connected to the integrated power source (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Elements 1401-140n, “Electrically Isolated Vehicle Charger”; Paras. [0065] and [0070], “vehicle chargers”) to transmit/receive power and charging or discharging each object (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Elements 651-65n; Paras. [0054] and [0070], “directly connect to EVs 65”, and Para. [0096], “discharge stored energy from the EV to the grid”. Where the EVs are comparable to the claimed invention’s “objects”); a controller (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Element 150; Paras. [0068] - [0069]) controlling power transmission/reception between the chargers (Keister, Figs. 8-9; Paras. [0096] - [0097], and [0105]); and an energy storage in which power is temporarily stored (Keister, Fig. 10, Element 1070; Paras. [0069] and [0103] – [0105]), wherein the plurality of chargers is connected in parallel (Keister, Para. [0078]), and the controller transmits/receives a signal to or from each of the objects, controls power transmission/reception between each of the objects (Keister, Fig. 9; Paras. [0096] through [0102], in particular [0102], and Fig. 17A-B, Element 1700, paragraphs [0132] – [0138]).
Regarding Claim 8, The teaching of the Keister reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claim 7. Furthermore, Keister teaches wherein the charger comprises: a transformer connected to the integrated power source (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Element 130; Para. [0063], “transformer network”. Where the transformer has a single primary winding and multiple secondary windings.); a converter converting power between the integrated power source and the transformer (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Element 120, “Grid-Tie Module”; Paras. [0061] – [0062], “power electronics-based converters”) or between the object and the transformer (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Elements 1401-140n,; Paras. [0065] - [0066], “power electronics converter”); and a plurality of charging ports (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Elements 1401-140n, “Electrically Isolated Vehicle Charger”; Paras. [0065] and [0070], “vehicle chargers”) connected to the transformer and charging or discharging each object (Keister, Figs. 1A-1B, Elements 651-65n; Paras. [0054] and [0070], “directly connect to EVs 65”, and Para. [0096], “discharge stored energy from the EV to the grid”. Where the EVs are comparable to the claimed invention’s “objects”), wherein the controller controls each of the objects to exchange power with each other through the plurality of charging ports (Keister, Figs. 8-9; Paras. [0096] - [0097], and [0105]), and the converter comprises an isolated converter or a direct current (DC)/DC converter (Keister, Fig. 4A, Element 400; Para. [0081]).
Regarding Claim 9, The teaching of the Keister reference discloses the claimed invention as stated above in claims 8/7. Furthermore, Keister teaches wherein the charger comprises: a first charger; a second charger; and a third charger, wherein the controller controls power transmission/reception among the first charger, the second charger, and the third charger and controls power transmission/reception between the charger and the integrated power source, and the controller controls one of the first charger, the second charger, and the third charger to transmit power to the other chargers or receive power from the other chargers (Keister, Figs. 8-9; Paras. [0096] - [0097], and [0105]).
Response to Arguments
Drawings
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed February 23, 2026, with respect to Objections to the drawings have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the drawings has been withdrawn.
Specification
Applicant’s arguments, see page 8, filed February 23, 2026, with respect to Objections to the specification have been fully considered and are persuasive. The objection of the specification has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Applicant’s arguments, see page 9, filed February 23, 2026, with respect to rejection of claim 6-9 under 35 U.S.C. S112(a) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claim 6-9 under 35 U.S.C. S112(a) has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Applicant's arguments filed February 23, 2026, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s Arguments
Applicant argues, Keister merely discloses "), a consumer may choose to discharge stored energy from the EV to the grid, e.g., via an EV charging system in accordance with an embodiment, which does not mean "wherein the controller transmits/receives a signal to or from each of the objects, controls power transmission/reception between each of the objects" as recited in claim 1.
Keister discusses "[0097] As such, embodiments may provide a mechanism for reverse power flow from an EV to a grid via an EV charging system that can be dynamically re-configured to provide at least partial reverse power flow. For example, one or more EVs may couple to an EV charging system to provide this power flow while at the same time, one or more other EVs coupled to the EV charging system receive charging power ( e.g., in a fast charging mode at high power level."(see paragraph [0097] of Keister).
As clearly shown (See Keister Fig. 9), Keister discusses “one or more EVs may couple to an EV charging system to provide this power flow while at the same time, one or more other EVs coupled to the EV charging system receive charging power, fails to disclose "...wherein the controller transmits/receives a signal to or from each of the objects, controls power transmission/reception between each of the objects" recited in claim 1.
Keister discusses "[ 0105] Note that depending on configuration, the received energy can be transformed and passed through to grid-tie module 1020 before being converted and directed to one or more EV charging stations 1060. Such operation may occur where there are multiple independent transformers as shown in FIG. 10. In an implementation with a single transformer, its magnetic circuitry may be sufficient that the transformed AC voltage from one secondary winding can be directed to one or more other secondary windings and without being passed to grid-tie module 1020.
As clearly shown above, Keister fails to disclose "wherein the controller transmits/receives a signal to or from each of the objects, controls power transmission/reception between each of the objects" as recited in claim 1 since Keister fails to disclose
Accordingly, it is respectfully submitted that the rejection of claim 1 be withdrawn in view of the above reasons mentioned.
Claim 7 also amended by removing "or controls power transmission/reception between the integrated power source and the objects" from claim 7.
Accordingly, it is respectfully submitted that claims 1 and 7, and dependent claims from claims 1 and 7 be allowed since Keister fails to disclose "wherein the controller transmits/receives a signal to or from each of the objects, controls power transmission/reception between each of the objects.
Examiner’s Response
The examiner disagrees with applicants understanding of the Keister reference, in that clearly Fig. 9 (Keister) demonstrates power being received “from one or more EVs” in block 910, and power being provided “to one or more EV charging stations” in block 990. This power flow is described in paragraphs [0096] through [0102], in particular [0102]. It is clearly understood the controller, Fig. 17A-B, Element 1700, paragraphs [0132] – [0138], is controlling the entire power flow process.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JERRY D ROBBINS/ Examiner, Art Unit 2859