DETAILED ACTION
Status of the Application
Claims 1, 44-48, 50-52, 54-55, and 57 are pending and represent all claims currently under consideration.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Remarks (pages 3-7), filed 07/23/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1, 44-48, 50-52, 54-55, and 57 under 35 U.S.C. 103 over Gewehr, PubChem, Demassey, and More have been fully considered and are persuasive due to the amendments. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Gewehr, Demassey, and More.
Applicant argues that Gewehr does not disclose or suggest the specific combination of a diamide insecticide, a plant health additive, and a second insecticide, and states that Gewehr does not disclose or suggest the use of a plant health additive, only jasmonic acid which has a different purpose and function (Remarks, pages 3-4). Applicant further states that Gewehr does not provide any disclosure or motivation that would have led a person of ordinary skill in the art to arrive at the presently claimed combination (Remarks, page 5). This argument is not persuasive, because Gewehr teaches all of the elements of the current invention as stated in the rejection below. While Gewehr does not use the specific term “plant health additive”, Gewehr does teach a compound III, which can be sulfur (Gewehr, claim 2), which is a plant health additive as defined by the instant claim 1.
Applicant argues that Gewehr’s pesticidal mixture comprises fungicides, and the present invention does not (Remarks, page 3). This argument is not persuasive, because there is no limitation in the current claims which excludes the presence of fungicides.
Applicant argues that Table 26 merely summarizes the most effective or representative results obtained for the claimed compositions and should not be construed as limiting the invention to only those specific combinations, and states that the present specification pages 59-94 demonstrates synergistic activity over the claimed combinations (Remarks, pages 4-5). This argument is not persuasive, because the evidence relied upon should establish "that the differences in results are in fact unexpected and unobvious and of both statistical and practical significance." Applicants also have the burden of explaining the data offered as evidence of non-obviousness. See MPEP 716.02(b). In the instant case, Applicant referenced 35 pages of the instant specification as evidence without explanation, which is not sufficient not establish that the results are in fact unexpected and unobvious. The only specific data pointed to by the Applicant was Table 26 in the Remarks filed 06/23/2026. As stated in the Advisory Action mailed 07/08/2026, Table 26 demonstrates specific combinations of the claimed composition which do or do not result in a synergistic effect, while Gewehr teaches the compounds are used in synergistically effective amounts (Gewehr, claim 1). Therefore, a synergistic effect would be expected based on the teachings of Gewehr.
New Claim Objections
Claims 1, 52, and 54 are objected to because of the following informalities. Appropriate correction is required.
Regarding claim 1, “an inactive formulation excipients” should read “inactive formulation excipients” or “an inactive formulation excipient”.
Regarding claim 52, “alkoxylated alkyl phenols” should read “and alkoxylated alkyl phenols”.
Regarding claim 54, “polysaccharides-“ should read “polysaccharides”; and “acrylate polymers” should be followed by a comma.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 48 and 52 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 48, the claim recites the limitation "the agrochemical composition". There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim. It is the Examiner’s interpretation that this limitation was intended to read “the agrochemical mixture”.
Regarding claim 52, the term “ethoxylated derivatives” is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “derivatives” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is unclear what the parent compound is that is being ethoxylated.
New Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 44-55, 47-48, 50-52, and 54 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gewehr (WO 2015055752 A1). The reference was previously cited by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 1, Gewehr teaches a pesticidal mixture wherein at least one active compound II can be thiamethoxam (i.e., a second insecticide “c” from the claimed list) or chlorantraniliprole (i.e., an insecticide “a” from the claimed list; Gewehr, claim 5). The recitation of “at least one” suggests it would be obvious to utilize both thiamethoxam and chlorantraniliprole together as claimed. Gewehr teaches preferred formulations comprise from 0.1-80% by weight of active ingredients (Gewehr, page 54, lines 28-29), which encompasses the claimed amounts of each active ingredient “a” and “c”, and further teaches the active ingredients are used in synergistically effective amounts (Gewehr, claim 1). Therefore, it would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to have optimized the composition of Gewehr to determine a synergistically effective amount of the two ingredients “a” and “c” based on the total amount of 0.1-80%, and it would be reasonable to expect this would result in an amount of each insecticide as claimed.
Gewehr teaches a compound III, which can be sulfur (i.e., sulphur, a plant health additive “b” from the claimed list; Gewehr, claim 2), which is admixed in a ratio of active compounds (i.e., compounds I and II):further pesticides (i.e., compound III) of 1:10 to 10:1 (Gewehr, page 46, lines 4-8), encompassing the claimed range of 0.001-20% by weight; and a dispersing agent and an anti-freeze agent (i.e., inactive formulation excipients as listed in the instant claim 44; Gewehr, page 54, line 31). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Gewehr is considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because both Gewehr and the instant invention are in the same field of insecticide mixtures. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have arrived at the claimed invention based on the teachings of Gewehr under the meaning of 35 U.S.C. 103.
Regarding claim 44, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 1. Gewehr further teaches a dispersing agent in 0.5-15% by weight (Gewehr, page 54, line 31), which encompasses the claimed range of 1-6%. In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding claim 45, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches the formulation comprises surfactants (Gewehr, page 54, line 30) and teaches ethoxylated sorbitans (i.e., sorbitan ester ethoxylates) as suitable surfactants (Gewehr, page 44, lines 12-19).
Regarding claim 47, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches suitable solvents and liquid carriers include mineral oil (i.e., a solvent or diluting agent from the claimed list; Gewehr, page 43, lines 21-22).
Regarding claim 48, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches the formulation comprises an anti-freeze agent (Gewehr, page 54, line 31) and teaches suitable anti-freezing agents include glycerin (i.e., glycerine, an anti-freezing agent from the claimed list; Gewehr, page 45, line 1).
Regarding claim 50, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches surfactants as wetters (i.e., wetting agents; Gewehr, page 43, lines 35-37), and teaches suitable surfactants include phosphate esters (i.e., wetting agents form the claimed list; Gewehr, page 44, lines 1-8).
Regarding claim 51, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches the formulation comprises a binder (Gewehr, page 54, line 34) and teaches polyvinyl acetate (i.e., a controlled/slow releasing agent from the claimed list) as a suitable binder (Gewehr, page 54-55).
Regarding claim 52, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches alkoxylated alkylphenols (i.e., an emulsifier from the claimed list) as suitable surfactants (Gewehr, page 44, lines 12-15).
Regarding claim 54, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches the formulation comprises dispersing agents (Gewehr, page 54, line 31) and teaches the use of surfactants such as polymers of vinylpyrrolidone (i.e., poly(vinylpyrrolidone), a dispersing agent from the claimed list; Gewehr, page 44, lines 12-21).
Claim 55 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gewehr (WO 2015055752 A1) as applied to claims 1, 44-55, 47-48, 50-52, and 54, and further in view of Demassey (US 6013837 A). The references were previously cited by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 55, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches the composition comprises a buffer (Gewehr, page 46, line 11), but does not specify a buffering agent from the claimed list. Gewehr does teach the use of suitable auxiliaries such as kaolins (Gewehr, page 43, lines 16-29). Demassey teaches pesticide compositions (Demassey, column 1, lines 6-8), which comprise an active compound mixed with inert excipients such as kaolin or tricalcium phosphate (Demassey, column 11, lines 14-20).
Gewehr and Demassey are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because all are in the same field of insecticide compositions. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the kaolin taught by Gewehr with tricalcium phosphate as taught by Demassey, because Demassey teaches the two excipients to be equivalent, and it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(I).
Claims 46 and 57 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gewehr (WO 2015055752 A1) as applied to claims 1, 44-55, 47-48, 50-52, and 54, and further in view of More (WO 2019243927 A1). The references were previously cited by the Examiner.
Regarding claim 46, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches the formulation comprises an anti-foam agent (Gewehr, page 54, line 34) and teaches suitable anti-foaming agents are silicones (Gewehr, page 45, line 3), but does not specify an agent from the claimed list. More, however, teaches an insecticide formulation (More, claim 1), and teaches suitable deforming agents include silicones and polydimethylsiloxanes (i.e., an antifoaming agent from the claimed list; More, page 27, lines 1-5).
Gewehr and More are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention, because all are in the same field of insecticide compositions. It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have substituted the silicones taught by Gewehr with polydimethylsiloxanes as taught by More, because More teaches the two antifoaming agents to be equivalent, and it is prima facie obvious to substitute equivalents taught by the prior art to be useful for the same purpose. See MPEP 2144.06(I).
Regarding claim 57, Gewehr teaches all the elements of the current invention as applied to claim 44. Gewehr teaches the formulation can be a capsule (Gewehr, page 43, line 3), but does not specifically list capsule wall forming agents. More, however, teaches an insecticide formulated as a capsule (More, abstract), and teaches wall forming components such as hexamethylene diisocyanate (More, page 12, lines 21-32). It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have utilized the method taught by More to form the capsule taught by Gewehr, because Gewehr identifies the need to reduce unfavorable environmental or toxicological effects as a problem in the field (Gewehr, page 1, lines 6-9) and More teaches the use of polymeric shell walls is ideal for a faster release profile and decreased toxicity (More, page 10, lines 15-29).
Conclusion
/C.P.J./Examiner, Art Unit 1613
/JENNIFER A BERRIOS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1613