Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I (claims 1-6) in the reply filed on 11/17/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 6 recites: cause the verification device to match the newly read first information with the first information stored in the database when the information stored in the RFID tag cannot be read in the second reading specifying the newly read first information; and
cause the verification device to match the newly read first information stored in the database when the information stored in the RFID tag can be read in the second reading specifying the newly read first information.
The claim is indefinite because it is not clear what the newly read first information is matched with when the information stored in the RFID tag can be read in the second reading specifying the newly read first information. It is assumed that it is matched with the first information store in the database. Furthermore, it is not clear what conditions the claim is claiming. It appears that the verification device matches the newly read first information regardless if the second reading specifies or is unable to specify the newly read first information.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Moore (US 2018/0075690) in view of Nagai (US 2011/0115608).
Claim 1. Moore discloses a management system for casino items equipped with RFID tags (chips with RFID tags; paragraphs 39, 48) , the management system comprising:
an RFID reading device configured to read part or all information stored in a RFID tag of a casino item that exists within a reading range (reader/antennas for reading information for RFID enable chips; paragraphs 32, 40-41); and
a control device configured to control the RFID reading device (484 in Fig. 4, paragraphs 61, 63-66),
wherein the control device is configured to cause the RFID reading device to repeatedly perform (repeat attempts to read the data of the chip, paragraph 110) a first reading to read first information that is a part of the information stored in the RFID tag (read various information or data from or about the RFID enable chip include identifier, currency, denomination, chip set identifier, casino identifier, site, company, casino site, etc., paragraphs 46-47).
Moore discloses the claimed invention as discussed above but fails to teach that when new first information is read in the first reading, the control device is configured to cause the RFID reading device to perform a second reading to read all the information stored in the RFID tag. However, such modification would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art. In an analogous art to RFID tags, Nagai discloses a system of communicating with RFID tags. Nagai discloses that system communicates with a plurality of RFID tags (paragraph 47). Nagai discloses that during a first reading of the RFID tag in which a portion of the information is read (paragraphs 16-17, 69, 73). A second reading of the tag is performed to read the entire identification (paragraphs 16-17, 69, 73). Nagai discloses the communication device/reader and specify which tag to read by transmitting sending a command signal to the tag. This reduces the time to read all the IDs of the RFID tags (paragraphs 69, 73). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skilled in the art before the effective filing date to modify Moore’s invention and cause the RFID reading device to perform a second reading to read all the information stored in the RFID tag after the new first information is read in order to provide the predictable result of reducing the time to read all the information in the RFID tags.
Claim 2. Moore in view of Nagai discloses the management system according to claim 1, wherein the control device is configured to cause the RFID reading device to perform the second reading of the casino items for which the first information is newly read in the first reading (Nagai discloses the a first information is newly read in the first reading in which a command is sent for a second reading; paragraphs 16-17, 69, 73).
Claim 3. Moore in view of Nagai discloses the management system according to claim 1, wherein the control device is configured to determine whether to cause the RFID reading device to perform the second reading for all the casino items or only for the casino items for which the first information is newly read, based on number of the first information read in the first reading and number of the first newly read (Nagai discloses the communication device/reader specifies which tag to read by transmitting sending a command signal to the tag; paragraphs 69, 73. Therefore the second reading is based on the on number of the first information read in the first reading and number of the first newly read in order to identify the command for the second reading.).
Claim 4. Moore in view of Nagai discloses the management system according to claim 2, wherein the control device is configured to specify the newly read first information and read all the information of the casino item in the second reading of the casino item for which the first information has been newly read in the first reading (Nagai discloses the a first information is newly read in the first reading in which a command is sent for a second reading; paragraphs 16-17, 69, 73).
Claim 5. Claim 4. Moore discloses the management system according to claim 4, wherein the control device is configured to repeatedly perform the second reading specifying the newly read first information when the information stored in the RFID tag cannot be read in the second reading specifying the newly read item first (Moore discloses that the attempt to read the data from the chip is repeated if it is unable to read the data, paragraph 110.).
Conclusion
/JASSON H YOO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715