DETAILED ACTION
Withdrawn Objections/Rejections
Any objections/rejections made in the previous Office Action mailed 2/27/2025 and not repeated below are hereby withdrawn due to Applicant's amendment and argument filed in the response dated 6/5/2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 2, 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claims 2, 12 and 13 recite limitations which are now recited in independent claim 1 from which they depend from. Thus, claims 2, 12 and 13 fail to further limit the subject matter of claim 1 upon which they depend. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yamaga et al. (JP6635220B1) (refer to U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0270642 for English translation) [hereinafter Yamaga].
Regarding claim 1, Yamaga discloses the magnetic recording medium (Fig. 4) comprising a magnetic layer (43), a nonmagnetic layer (42), a base layer (41), and a back layer (44) in this order, wherein a thickness of the base layer is 4.5 µm or less (paragraph [0050]), wherein a thickness of the back layer is 0.6 µm or less (paragraph [0142]), and wherein the magnetic layer (43) and the nonmagnetic layer (42) are in contact with each other (Fig. 4), the nonmagnetic layer (42) and the base layer (41) are in contact with each other (Fig. 4), an average thickness of the magnetic recording medium is 5.74 µm or less (abstract; claim 21), a Young's modulus in an MD direction (longitudinal direction) of the base layer is 5.9 GPa or less (paragraph [0197]), and a water vapor transmission rate of the magnetic recording medium, measured according to a Lyssy method, is inherently 2.00 g/m2 - day or less, since the materials making up the magnetic layer, the nonmagnetic layer, the base layer and the back layer in Yamaga are substantially identical to that of the materials making up the layers of the claimed magnetic recording medium, and further the structure of the magnetic recording medium in Yamaga is substantially identical to that of the claimed magnetic recording medium as shown above.
Regarding claim 2, a water vapor transmission rate of the magnetic recording medium in Yamaga is inherently 2.00 g/m2-day or less, since the materials making up the magnetic layer, the nonmagnetic layer, the base layer and the back layer in Yamaga are substantially identical to that of the materials making up the layers of the claimed magnetic recording medium, and further the structure of the magnetic recording medium in Yamaga is substantially identical to that of the claimed magnetic recording medium as shown above.
Regarding claim 3, a water vapor transmission rate of the magnetic recording medium in Yamaga is inherently 1.84 g/m2 - day or less, since the materials making up the magnetic layer, the nonmagnetic layer, the base layer and the back layer in Yamaga are substantially identical to that of the materials making up the layers of the claimed magnetic recording medium, and further the structure of the magnetic recording medium in Yamaga is substantially identical to that of the claimed magnetic recording medium as shown above.
Regarding claim 4, a water vapor transmission rate of the base layer in Yamaga, measured according to a Lyssy method, is inherently 7.57 g/m2-day or less, since the material making up the base layer in Yamaga is substantially identical to that of the material making up the claimed base layer.
Regarding claim 5, a water vapor transmission rate of the base layer in Yamaga is inherently 4.00 g/m2 - day or less, since the material making up the base layer in Yamaga is substantially identical to that of the material making up the claimed base layer.
Regarding claim 6, a water vapor transmission rate of the base layer in Yamaga is inherently 3.00 g/m2 - day or less, since the material making up the base layer in Yamaga is substantially identical to that of the material making up the claimed base layer.
Regarding claim 7, a water vapor transmission rate of the base layer in Yamaga is inherently 2.19 g/m2 - day or less, since the material making up the base layer in Yamaga is substantially identical to that of the material making up the claimed base layer.
Regarding claim 8, Yamaga discloses the Young's modulus in an MD direction (longitudinal direction) of the base layer is 5.3 GPa or less (paragraph [0197]).
Regarding claim 9, Yamaga discloses the average thickness of the magnetic recording medium is 5.60 µm or less (claim 21).
Regarding claim 10, Yamaga discloses the average thickness of the magnetic recording medium is 5.30 µm or less (claim 21).
Regarding claim 11, Yamaga discloses a thickness of the nonmagnetic layer (42) is 1.2 µm or less (paragraphs [0132-0133].
Regarding claim 12, Yamaga discloses a thickness of the base layer (41) is 4.5 µm or less (paragraph [0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Yamaga discloses a thickness of the back layer (44) is 0.6 µm or less (paragraph [0142]).
Regarding claim 14, a humidity expansion coefficient β at a temperature of 10°C is inherently 6.5 ppm/%RH or less, since the structure and materials making up the magnetic recording medium in Yamaga are substantially identical to that of the claimed magnetic recording medium.
Regarding claim 15, Yamaga discloses the magnetic layer containing magnetic powder (paragraph [0058]).
Regarding claim 16, Yamaga discloses the magnetic layer and the nonmagnetic layer are vacuum thin films (abstract; claim 21).
Regarding claim 17, wherein the magnetic recording medium according to claim 1 is accommodated in a case, and the magnetic recording medium is wound around a reel (Fig. 2; paragraph [0039]).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 6/5/2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that “contrary to the Patent Office purported position, one skilled in the art would not consider that the claimed water vapor transmission rate is inherent in, let alone taught or suggested by, the Yamaga JP reference. Indeed, Applicant has recognized and demonstrated that the claimed water vapor transmission rate feature contributes to enhanced magnetic recording medium characteristics. See, published application, for example, Table 1: Example 1 (claimed water vapor transmission rate) in comparison to Example 2 and Comparative Examples 1 and 2 which each represent a magnetic recording medium having a configuration including a water vapor transmission rate outside of the claimed water vapor transmission rate range”.
This argument is not deemed persuasive. Arguments presented by Applicant cannot take place of evidence in the record. As shown in the 102 rejection above, the Yamaga JP reference teaches a magnetic recording medium having a structure substantially identical to that of the claimed magnetic recording medium. The Yamaga JP reference teaches substantially identical thickness ranges for the layers and substantially identical materials being used to form the layers. Additionally, the Yamaga JP reference teaches a substantially identical range for the Young’s modulus in an MD direction (longitudinal direction) of the base layer. There is no showing of a structural difference between the Yamaga JP reference and the claimed invention. Thus, the Yamaga JP reference inherently teaches a water vapor transmission rate of the magnetic recording medium, measured according to a Lyssy method, is 2.00 g/m2 ∙ day or less, as recited in claim 1. Accordingly, claims 1-17 are anticipated by Yamaga (JP6635220B1).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CATHERINE A. SIMONE
Examiner
Art Unit 1781
/Catherine A. Simone/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1781