DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Office action is in response to the applicant’s communication filed 11/10/2025.
Status of the claims:
Claims 1, 4 – 11 are pending in the application.
Claims 1, 5, 7, 8, and 10 are amended.
Claim 11 is new.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The rejection of claims 5 and 6 under U.S.C 35 112(a) for failing to comply with the written description requirement, recited in the previous action dated 08/12/2025 have been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s amendments filed 11/10/2025. Specifically, the rejection of claim 5, regarding the phrase “one end of the tapered part connected to the main body part towards the other end of the tapered part which is not connected to the main body part”, has been withdrawn as the claim no longer requires the main body part to not be connected to the tapered part and the rejection of claim 6 has been withdrawn as claim 6 is no longer dependent on a claim rejected under 112(a).
The rejection of claims 5, 6, and 8 under U.S.C 35 112(b) regarding indefiniteness, recited in the previous action dated 08/12/2025 have been withdrawn in light of the Applicant’s arguments filed 11/10/2025. Specifically, the rejection of claims 5 and 8, regarding the phrase "two of the plurality of supporting main bodies”, have been withdrawn as the appropriate corrections have been made, the rejection of claim 5 regarding being dependent on a cancelled claim (i.e., claim 2), has been withdrawn as claim 5 is now dependent on claim 1, and the rejection of claim 6 for being dependent on an indefinite claim has been withdrawn as the claim has been cancelled. However, new rejections have been set forth below in light of Applicant’s amendments.
Claims 9 and 11 are is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 9 and 11, the phrases "the supporting main body is provided with a hollow cavity, and one end of the supporting main body is provided with a through hole; or, two ends of the supporting main body are provided with through holes" and “wherein the supporting main body includes a thin wall”, respectively, renders the claim indefinite because it is unclear if Applicant is intending for the “supporting main body” to be one of the plurality of the supporting main bodies or if Applicant is intending for the “supporting main body” to be the “supporting main body” which comprises “the plurality of main bodies” such that all of the plurality of main bodies comprise the structural limitations of claims 9 and 11. For the purpose of examination, the Examiner will read the claims to mean the latter, such that the claims require the plurality of supporting main bodies to comprise the structure and/or function recited in the claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 4 – 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Okada (US 2002/0038100 A1) in view of Taylor et al (US 5,925,054).
Regarding claim 1 and 4 – 6, Okada discloses a lumen anastomosis supporting dilator (shunt tube 10) (abstract, paragraphs [0038 – 0039], Figs. 1 – 5, 7, and claim 4), wherein the lumen anastomosis supporting dilator comprises:
a supporting main body (large diameter sections 14) made of a shape memory material (shape memory resin) and used for at least being partially placed in a lumen to dilate a lumen wall (paragraphs [0043 – 0044] and Fig. 4); and
a single connecting rod (tube 12) connected to the supporting main body (large diameter sections 14) (paragraphs [0036], [0038], [0042], and Figs. 1–5,7);
wherein the supporting main body (large diameter sections 14) comprises a plurality of supporting main bodies (large diameter sections 14 on each end of ube 12) (paragraphs [0036], [0038], [0042], and Figs. 1–5,7), wherein the plurality of supporting main bodies (large diameter sections 14) are [claim 4] rotary bodies and are connected to the single connecting rod (paragraphs [0036], [0038], [0042], and Figs. 1–5,7) (Examiner’s note: the large diameter sections 14 (i.e., the supporting main bodies) are rotatable about an axis, and are thus rotary bodies);
wherein two ends of the single connecting rod (tube 12) are each provided with one of the plurality of supporting main bodies (large diameter sections 14) (paragraphs [0036], [0038], [0042], and Figs. 1–5,7);
wherein the supporting main bodies (large diameter sections 14) can self-expand to their initial shape (paragraphs [0043 – 0044] and Fig. 4);
[claim 5] wherein each of the plurality of supporting main bodies comprises a main body part (proximal portion / proximal end), at least one end of the main body part is provided with a tapered part (distal portion / distal end), and an outer diameter of the tapered part decreases outward from the main body part (Fig. 7), and the maximum outer diameter of the main body part is larger than the maximum outer diameter of the tapered part (Fig. 7) and an included angle between axis lines of the two of the plurality of supporting main bodies (large diameter sections 14) at the ends of the single connecting rod (tube 12) is 0-180 degrees (180 degrees - Fig. 7).
However, Okada is silent regarding (i) [claims 1 and 6] wherein the one of the plurality of supporting main bodies at one end of the single connecting rod is larger than the one of the plurality of supporting main bodies at another end of the singe connecting rod and wherein the maximum outer diameters of the main body parts of each supporting main body are different.
As to the above, Taylor teaches, in the same field of endeavor, a lumen anastomosis supporting dilator (shunt of Fig. 17) comprising two supporting main bodies (bulbous structures on tapered ends 294,296) wherein one of the supporting main bodies is larger / has a maximum outer diameter, at the main body part, being larger than that of the other of the supporting main body for the purpose of matching the changing shape of the blood vessel (abstract, col. 19 lines 20 – 30, and Fig. 17).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to modify one of the supporting main bodies of Okada to be larger / have a maximum outer diameter, at the main body part, be larger than the other of the supporting main bodies, based on the teachings of Taylor, for the purpose of being able to accommodate a change in the vessel diameter that occurs along the length of the vessel (col. 19 lines 20 – 30 – Taylor).
Regarding claim 7, as discussed above, the combination of Okada and Taylor make obvious the device of claim 1. Additionally, Okada discloses wherein the lumen anastomosis supporting dilator (shunt tube 10) further comprises an operating rod (string 16) and an end of the operating rod is connected to the middle of the single connecting rod (tube 12) (paragraph [0036] and Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 8, as discussed above, the combination of Okada and Taylor make obvious the device of claim 1. Additionally, Okada discloses wherein the single connecting rod (tube 12) can be bent so that the relative positions between the two of the plurality of the supporting main bodies can be adjusted (Examiner’s note: as stated in paragraph [0036] and shown in Fig. 4, the tube 12 (i.e., the singular connecting rod) is flexible and bendable).
Regarding claim 9, as discussed above, the combination of Okada and Taylor make obvious the device of claim 1. Additionally, Okada discloses wherein the supporting main body (large diameter sections 14) is provided with a hollow cavity (channel running through the large diameter sections 14) (Fig. 7), and two ends of the supporting main body (large diameter sections 14 on each end of ube 12) are respectively provided with through holes (openings on the proximal and distal end of the larger diameter sections) communicating with the hollow cavity (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 10, as discussed above, the combination of Okada and Taylor make obvious the device of claim 1. Additionally, Okada discloses wherein the single connecting rod (tube 12) is provided with a fluid channel (lumen 26) (paragraph [0038] and Figs. 1 – 7), and the fluid channel is communicated with the hollow cavity of the supporting main body (Fig. 7).
Regarding claim 11, as discussed above, the combination of Okada and Taylor make obvious the device of claim 1. Additionally, Okada discloses wherein the supporting main body (large diameter sections 14) includes a thin wall defining an open hollow cavity (channel running through the large diameter sections 14) (Fig. 7) (Examiner’s note: thin is a relative term, and the wall of the large diameter sections is/are considered to be thin since they are sized to fit within the body).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 11/10/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 4 – 11 under Kim and, separately, under Snow have been considered but are moot as the arguments are directed to Applicant’s amendments, and the previous rejection of the claims has been withdrawn in light of said amendments. Specifically, the rejections were withdrawn because neither Kim or Snow teach wherein the supporting main bodies can self-expand. It is noted that a new rejection has been made under Okada and Taylor. Wherein the teachings of Okada are relied upon for teaching the newly added limitations as discussed above.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure:
Lepley, Jr. et al (US 4,168,708), Jessen (US 5,192,289), and Rosengart (US 5,868,764) teach lumen anastomosis supporting dilators with a plurality of supporting main bodies attached to a single control rod.
Contact Information
/Andrew Restaino/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3771